PDA

View Full Version : help with reg add in batch file


pete0085
January 26th 08, 05:37 AM
I am trying to run a reg add command in a batch file but it does not execute.
The command runs fine in the command prompt.

REG ADD "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v Start /t
REG_DWORD /d 4 /f

What am I missing here?

Mark L. Ferguson
January 26th 08, 03:31 PM
The quote mark may be interpreted as an 'escape' character. I would use two
in a row, or perhaps the 'single quote mark' character.

ADD ""HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR"" /v

ADD 'HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR' /v
--
Was this helpful? Then click the "Yes" button below. Voting helps the web
interface. http://www.microsoft.com/wn3/locales/help/help_en-us.htm#RateAPost

Mark L. Ferguson


"pete0085" wrote:

> I am trying to run a reg add command in a batch file but it does not execute.
> The command runs fine in the command prompt.
>
> REG ADD "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v Start /t
> REG_DWORD /d 4 /f
>
> What am I missing here?

pete0085
January 26th 08, 04:25 PM
Still can't get it to work. This is weird, I have run similar commands from
a batch file to edit the reg before. Is there another setting in the
registry that allows or denies you to excute a batch file?

I will take a look at my other batch file to see if there is any difference
in the syntax.

If it runs via command prompt, it should, in theory, run from a batch file.

"Mark L. Ferguson" wrote:

> The quote mark may be interpreted as an 'escape' character. I would use two
> in a row, or perhaps the 'single quote mark' character.
>
> ADD ""HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR"" /v
>
> ADD 'HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR' /v
> --
> Was this helpful? Then click the "Yes" button below. Voting helps the web
> interface. http://www.microsoft.com/wn3/locales/help/help_en-us.htm#RateAPost
>
> Mark L. Ferguson
>
>
> "pete0085" wrote:
>
> > I am trying to run a reg add command in a batch file but it does not execute.
> > The command runs fine in the command prompt.
> >
> > REG ADD "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v Start /t
> > REG_DWORD /d 4 /f
> >
> > What am I missing here?

Claymore
January 26th 08, 05:04 PM
On Jan 26, 11:25*am, pete0085 >
wrote:
> Still can't get it to work. *This is weird, I have run similar commands from
> a batch file to edit the reg before. *Is there another setting in the
> registry that allows or denies you to excute a batch file?
>
> I will take a look at my other batch file to see if there is any difference
> in the syntax.
>
> If it runs via command prompt, it should, in theory, run from a batch file.. *
>
>
>
> "Mark L. Ferguson" wrote:
> > The quote mark may be interpreted as an 'escape' character. I would use two
> > in a row, or perhaps the 'single quote mark' character.
>
> > ADD ""HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR"" /v
>
> > ADD 'HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR' /v
> > --
> > Was this helpful? Then click the "Yes" button below. Voting helps the web
> > interface.http://www.microsoft.com/wn3/locales/help/help_en-us.htm#RateAPost
>
> > Mark L. Ferguson
>
> > "pete0085" wrote:
>
> > > I am trying to run a reg add command in a batch file but it does not execute.
> > > *The command runs fine in the command prompt.
>
> > > REG ADD "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v Start /t
> > > REG_DWORD /d 4 /f
>
> > > What am I missing here?- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -

First, in this paricular forum I'm using it's hard to see if it's all
on one line because of text wrapping, but the command is all on one
line, like this:

reg add "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v "Start" /t
REG_DWORD /d 4 /f

Note the quotes around the Value.

/v specifies the value to change, /t the type of the value, /d the
data to write, and /f will force the data to be written, even if the
value exists already.

pete0085
January 26th 08, 06:32 PM
The command is one line. I have tried the extra quotes and without. I
looked at a previous batch file and it didn't have any quotes and would run
without a problem.

The previous batch files I used added a new entry. I am not "adding" a new
entry, but modifying it. The data is changing from 3 to 4.

Maybe this helps, but I am lost at the moment. I can export the setting and
run it as a .reg file. I would like to someone use it as a startup script
via group policy and a batch file seemed to be the easiest.

"Claymore" wrote:

> On Jan 26, 11:25 am, pete0085 >
> wrote:
> > Still can't get it to work. This is weird, I have run similar commands from
> > a batch file to edit the reg before. Is there another setting in the
> > registry that allows or denies you to excute a batch file?
> >
> > I will take a look at my other batch file to see if there is any difference
> > in the syntax.
> >
> > If it runs via command prompt, it should, in theory, run from a batch file..
> >
> >
> >
> > "Mark L. Ferguson" wrote:
> > > The quote mark may be interpreted as an 'escape' character. I would use two
> > > in a row, or perhaps the 'single quote mark' character.
> >
> > > ADD ""HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR"" /v
> >
> > > ADD 'HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR' /v
> > > --
> > > Was this helpful? Then click the "Yes" button below. Voting helps the web
> > > interface.http://www.microsoft.com/wn3/locales/help/help_en-us.htm#RateAPost
> >
> > > Mark L. Ferguson
> >
> > > "pete0085" wrote:
> >
> > > > I am trying to run a reg add command in a batch file but it does not execute.
> > > > The command runs fine in the command prompt.
> >
> > > > REG ADD "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v Start /t
> > > > REG_DWORD /d 4 /f
> >
> > > > What am I missing here?- Hide quoted text -
> >
> > - Show quoted text -
>
> First, in this paricular forum I'm using it's hard to see if it's all
> on one line because of text wrapping, but the command is all on one
> line, like this:
>
> reg add "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v "Start" /t
> REG_DWORD /d 4 /f
>
> Note the quotes around the Value.
>
> /v specifies the value to change, /t the type of the value, /d the
> data to write, and /f will force the data to be written, even if the
> value exists already.
>

Claymore
January 26th 08, 08:46 PM
On Jan 26, 1:32*pm, pete0085 >
wrote:
> The command is one line. *I have tried the extra quotes and without. *I
> looked at a previous batch file and it didn't have any quotes and would run
> without a problem.
>
> The previous batch files I used added a new entry. *I am not "adding" a new
> entry, but modifying it. *The data is changing from 3 to 4.
>
> Maybe this helps, but I am lost at the moment. *I can export the setting and
> run it as a .reg file. *I would like to someone use it as a startup script
> via group policy and a batch file seemed to be the easiest.
>
>
>
> "Claymore" wrote:
> > On Jan 26, 11:25 am, pete0085 >
> > wrote:
> > > Still can't get it to work. *This is weird, I have run similar commands from
> > > a batch file to edit the reg before. *Is there another setting in the
> > > registry that allows or denies you to excute a batch file?
>
> > > I will take a look at my other batch file to see if there is any difference
> > > in the syntax.
>
> > > If it runs via command prompt, it should, in theory, run from a batch file.. *
>
> > > "Mark L. Ferguson" wrote:
> > > > The quote mark may be interpreted as an 'escape' character. I would use two
> > > > in a row, or perhaps the 'single quote mark' character.
>
> > > > ADD ""HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR"" /v
>
> > > > ADD 'HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR' /v
> > > > --
> > > > Was this helpful? Then click the "Yes" button below. Voting helps the web
> > > > interface.http://www.microsoft.com/wn3/locales/help/help_en-us.htm#RateAPost
>
> > > > Mark L. Ferguson
>
> > > > "pete0085" wrote:
>
> > > > > I am trying to run a reg add command in a batch file but it does not execute.
> > > > > *The command runs fine in the command prompt.
>
> > > > > REG ADD "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v Start /t
> > > > > REG_DWORD /d 4 /f
>
> > > > > What am I missing here?- Hide quoted text -
>
> > > - Show quoted text -
>
> > First, in this paricular forum I'm using it's hard to see if it's all
> > on one line because of text wrapping, but the command is all on one
> > line, like this:
>
> > reg add "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\USBTOR" /v "Start" /t
> > REG_DWORD /d 4 /f
>
> > Note the quotes around the Value.
>
> > /v specifies the value to change, /t the type of the value, /d the
> > data to write, and /f will force the data to be written, even if the
> > value exists already.- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -

Hello again,

I'm looking at that reg key you have. Is that just a typo as it should
be USBSTOR, not USBTOR.

pete0085
January 26th 08, 10:11 PM
It was a typo on my part.

I am not sure how or why, but it works now. I created a new text document,
retyped everything in lower case and saved it as a .bat.

There are no quotes around the text. This doesn't make any sense, but I
tested in a few times and it works. Only difference is the lower case.
Should I blame the gremlins for this one?

All I care about is it works :)

Thanks for your assistance on this. Now my next problem is figuring out why
it doesn't work as a startup script in group policy, but it works if I double
click the file. I actually have other reg add scripts that didn't work via
group policy, so I'm guessing it's a universal issue.
> Hello again,
>
> I'm looking at that reg key you have. Is that just a typo as it should
> be USBSTOR, not USBTOR.
>

Claymore
January 26th 08, 10:26 PM
On Jan 26, 5:11*pm, pete0085 >
wrote:
> It was a typo on my part.
>
> I am not sure how or why, but it works now. *I created a new text document,
> retyped everything in lower case and saved it as a .bat. *
>
> There are no quotes around the text. *This doesn't make any sense, but I
> tested in a few times and it works. *Only difference is the lower case. *
> Should I blame the gremlins for this one? *
>
> All I care about is it works :)
>
> Thanks for your assistance on this. *Now my next problem is figuring out why
> it doesn't work as a startup script in group policy, but it works if I double
> click the file. *I actually have other reg add scripts that didn't work via
> group policy, so I'm guessing it's a universal issue. *
>
>
>
> > Hello again,
>
> > I'm looking at that reg key you have. Is that just a typo as it should
> > be USBSTOR, not USBTOR.- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -

Would it not be easier to just add a shortcut to the batch file to
your Startup folder? (It's what I do myself.)

pete0085
January 26th 08, 11:00 PM
I need to be able to easily push it out to all the workstations. I can put
it in the startup folder, but I would need to go around to each pc and that
is time consuming.

"Claymore" wrote:

> On Jan 26, 5:11 pm, pete0085 >
> wrote:
> > It was a typo on my part.
> >
> > I am not sure how or why, but it works now. I created a new text document,
> > retyped everything in lower case and saved it as a .bat.
> >
> > There are no quotes around the text. This doesn't make any sense, but I
> > tested in a few times and it works. Only difference is the lower case.
> > Should I blame the gremlins for this one?
> >
> > All I care about is it works :)
> >
> > Thanks for your assistance on this. Now my next problem is figuring out why
> > it doesn't work as a startup script in group policy, but it works if I double
> > click the file. I actually have other reg add scripts that didn't work via
> > group policy, so I'm guessing it's a universal issue.
> >
> >
> >
> > > Hello again,
> >
> > > I'm looking at that reg key you have. Is that just a typo as it should
> > > be USBSTOR, not USBTOR.- Hide quoted text -
> >
> > - Show quoted text -
>
> Would it not be easier to just add a shortcut to the batch file to
> your Startup folder? (It's what I do myself.)
>
>

Google