PDA

View Full Version : Dir command help? /s attribute keeps seaching full drive?


acem77
January 30th 09, 06:58 PM
Here is what I am trying to run.

example
> dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\ /s *.jpg

I only want it to find jpegs in tjones home folder and all its sub folders.
When I run the command it will 1st search the above path and all subfolders
then it will continue to search the full D: drive grr.
I do not want it do search the complete drive just the home folder and all
subs.

The only time it works is if the command prompt is in the
d:\Users\tjones\Home\ dir and I run > dir /s *.jpg

Looks like this "D:\Users1\tjones\Home>dir /s *.jpg"

I want the full path in the command to work so I can make a batch file to
scan multiple user folders their subs to create a list of files found.

thanks

3c273
January 30th 09, 08:34 PM
Try dir /s d:\users\tjones\home\*.jpg
Louis

"acem77" > wrote in message
...
> Here is what I am trying to run.
>
> example
> > dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\ /s *.jpg
>
> I only want it to find jpegs in tjones home folder and all its sub
folders.
> When I run the command it will 1st search the above path and all
subfolders
> then it will continue to search the full D: drive grr.
> I do not want it do search the complete drive just the home folder and all
> subs.
>
> The only time it works is if the command prompt is in the
> d:\Users\tjones\Home\ dir and I run > dir /s *.jpg
>
> Looks like this "D:\Users1\tjones\Home>dir /s *.jpg"
>
> I want the full path in the command to work so I can make a batch file to
> scan multiple user folders their subs to create a list of files found.
>
> thanks
>

John Wunderlich
January 30th 09, 08:36 PM
=?Utf-8?B?YWNlbTc3?= > wrote in
:

> Here is what I am trying to run.
>
> example
>> dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\ /s *.jpg
>
> I only want it to find jpegs in tjones home folder and all its sub
> folders. When I run the command it will 1st search the above path
> and all subfolders then it will continue to search the full D:
> drive grr. I do not want it do search the complete drive just the
> home folder and all subs.
>
> The only time it works is if the command prompt is in the
> d:\Users\tjones\Home\ dir and I run > dir /s *.jpg
>
> Looks like this "D:\Users1\tjones\Home>dir /s *.jpg"
>
> I want the full path in the command to work so I can make a batch
> file to scan multiple user folders their subs to create a list of
> files found.
>
> thanks
>
>

Did you try:

dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\*.jpg /s

?
-- John

acem77
January 30th 09, 08:55 PM
"John Wunderlich" wrote:

> =?Utf-8?B?YWNlbTc3?= > wrote in
> :
>
> > Here is what I am trying to run.
> >
> > example
> >> dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\ /s *.jpg
> >
> > I only want it to find jpegs in tjones home folder and all its sub
> > folders. When I run the command it will 1st search the above path
> > and all subfolders then it will continue to search the full D:
> > drive grr. I do not want it do search the complete drive just the
> > home folder and all subs.
> >
> > The only time it works is if the command prompt is in the
> > d:\Users\tjones\Home\ dir and I run > dir /s *.jpg
> >
> > Looks like this "D:\Users1\tjones\Home>dir /s *.jpg"
> >
> > I want the full path in the command to work so I can make a batch
> > file to scan multiple user folders their subs to create a list of
> > files found.
> >
> > thanks
> >
> >
>
> Did you try:
>
> dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\*.jpg /s
>
> ?
> -- John
>
>

does not work
Try dir /s d:\users\tjones\home\*.jpg

need a space after home\
and then it will scan every dir after the path.

same with this one
dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\*.jpg /s

It does this on server 2k3 and xp

John Wunderlich
January 30th 09, 09:13 PM
=?Utf-8?B?YWNlbTc3?= > wrote in
:

>
>
> "John Wunderlich" wrote:
>
>> =?Utf-8?B?YWNlbTc3?= > wrote in
>> :
>>
>>> Here is what I am trying to run.
>>>
>>> example
>>>> dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\ /s *.jpg
>>>
>>> I only want it to find jpegs in tjones home folder and all its sub
>>> folders. When I run the command it will 1st search the above path
>>> and all subfolders then it will continue to search the full D:
>>> drive grr. I do not want it do search the complete drive just the
>>> home folder and all subs.
>>>
>>> The only time it works is if the command prompt is in the
>>> d:\Users\tjones\Home\ dir and I run > dir /s *.jpg
>>>
>>> Looks like this "D:\Users1\tjones\Home>dir /s *.jpg"
>>>
>>> I want the full path in the command to work so I can make a batch
>>> file to scan multiple user folders their subs to create a list of
>>> files found.
>>>
>>> thanks
>>>
>>>
>>
>> Did you try:
>>
>> dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\*.jpg /s
>>
>> ?
>> -- John
>>
>>
>
> does not work
> Try dir /s d:\users\tjones\home\*.jpg

It works fine on my XP without the space after home\
It doesn't seem to matter if /s is at end or after "dir".

> need a space after home\
> and then it will scan every dir after the path.

That I've verified.


-- John

acem77
January 30th 09, 09:36 PM
"John Wunderlich" wrote:

> =?Utf-8?B?YWNlbTc3?= > wrote in
> :
>
> >
> >
> > "John Wunderlich" wrote:
> >
> >> =?Utf-8?B?YWNlbTc3?= > wrote in
> >> :
> >>
> >>> Here is what I am trying to run.
> >>>
> >>> example
> >>>> dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\ /s *.jpg
> >>>
> >>> I only want it to find jpegs in tjones home folder and all its sub
> >>> folders. When I run the command it will 1st search the above path
> >>> and all subfolders then it will continue to search the full D:
> >>> drive grr. I do not want it do search the complete drive just the
> >>> home folder and all subs.
> >>>
> >>> The only time it works is if the command prompt is in the
> >>> d:\Users\tjones\Home\ dir and I run > dir /s *.jpg
> >>>
> >>> Looks like this "D:\Users1\tjones\Home>dir /s *.jpg"
> >>>
> >>> I want the full path in the command to work so I can make a batch
> >>> file to scan multiple user folders their subs to create a list of
> >>> files found.
> >>>
> >>> thanks
> >>>
> >>>
> >>
> >> Did you try:
> >>
> >> dir d:\Users\tjones\Home\*.jpg /s
> >>
> >> ?
> >> -- John
> >>
> >>
> >
> > does not work
> > Try dir /s d:\users\tjones\home\*.jpg
>
> It works fine on my XP without the space after home\
> It doesn't seem to matter if /s is at end or after "dir".
>
> > need a space after home\
> > and then it will scan every dir after the path.
>
> That I've verified.
>
>
> -- John
>

Really?
it is searching all sub dirs under your root folder?
on mine a xp system and server 2k3 box it stops at the root dir if no space
is entered.

John Wunderlich
January 31st 09, 06:01 AM
=?Utf-8?B?YWNlbTc3?= > wrote in
:

> Really?
> it is searching all sub dirs under your root folder?
> on mine a xp system and server 2k3 box it stops at the root dir
> if no space is entered.
>

I also tried this on my XP machine at home with same results.
With no space, it only displays files in subdirectories below the
specified one and no more.
-- John

acem77
January 31st 09, 03:53 PM
"John Wunderlich" wrote:

> =?Utf-8?B?YWNlbTc3?= > wrote in
> :
>
> > Really?
> > it is searching all sub dirs under your root folder?
> > on mine a xp system and server 2k3 box it stops at the root dir
> > if no space is entered.
> >
>
> I also tried this on my XP machine at home with same results.
> With no space, it only displays files in subdirectories below the
> specified one and no more.
> -- John
>

Thanks i did get it woking on my xp pc at home.
ill have to take a closer look at work monday.
The only thing it does not let you do is multiple files types in one command.

Adam
February 1st 09, 08:01 PM
Is there anyway to make it scan the full C:\ drive and make the results or
whatever come up in a .txt document? I need it for some school work.

Twayne[_2_]
February 1st 09, 08:32 PM
> Is there anyway to make it scan the full C:\
> drive and
> make the results or whatever come up in a .txt
> document?
> I need it for some school work.

Sure. Redirect the DIR output to a file.
dir (path) /s > x:\folder\fname.txt

The > creates a new file each time, and >> creates
first, then appends to the existing file after
that.

This's a bad place to ask for school work help;
you could get some destructive responses since you
apparently don't know better. And thanks for
being honest about it being school work.

See
http://commandwindows.com/command1.htm
for some more details. Go down to the table.

Twayne

Adam
February 2nd 09, 06:07 AM
So like dir C:/ /s > C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\scan.txt
or other way around?
dir C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop /s > C:\

"Twayne" wrote:

> > Is there anyway to make it scan the full C:\
> > drive and
> > make the results or whatever come up in a .txt
> > document?
> > I need it for some school work.
>
> Sure. Redirect the DIR output to a file.
> dir (path) /s > x:\folder\fname.txt
>
> The > creates a new file each time, and >> creates
> first, then appends to the existing file after
> that.
>
> This's a bad place to ask for school work help;
> you could get some destructive responses since you
> apparently don't know better. And thanks for
> being honest about it being school work.
>
> See
> http://commandwindows.com/command1.htm
> for some more details. Go down to the table.
>
> Twayne
>
>
>

Twayne[_2_]
February 2nd 09, 04:45 PM
> So like dir C:/ /s > C:\Documents and
> Settings\Administrator\Desktop\scan.txt or other
> way
> around?
> dir C:\Documents and
> Settings\Administrator\Desktop /s >
> C:\

No.
Dir /s "c:documents and... "
In the Command prompt, type dir /? to see all
possibilities/forms of the commend. Just type
help and it'll display all the available
commands.



>
> "Twayne" wrote:
>
>>> Is there anyway to make it scan the full C:\
>>> drive and
>>> make the results or whatever come up in a .txt
>>> document?
>>> I need it for some school work.
>>
>> Sure. Redirect the DIR output to a file.
>> dir (path) /s > x:\folder\fname.txt
>>
>> The > creates a new file each time, and >>
>> creates
>> first, then appends to the existing file after
>> that.
>>
>> This's a bad place to ask for school work help;
>> you could get some destructive responses since
>> you
>> apparently don't know better. And thanks for
>> being honest about it being school work.
>>
>> See
>> http://commandwindows.com/command1.htm
>> for some more details. Go down to the table.
>>
>> Twayne

Adam
February 2nd 09, 06:55 PM
Sorry but that doesn't help me much, Could you just tell me the proper way to
type the command?
Thanks
-Adam

"Twayne" wrote:

> > So like dir C:/ /s > C:\Documents and
> > Settings\Administrator\Desktop\scan.txt or other
> > way
> > around?
> > dir C:\Documents and
> > Settings\Administrator\Desktop /s >
> > C:\
>
> No.
> Dir /s "c:documents and... "
> In the Command prompt, type dir /? to see all
> possibilities/forms of the commend. Just type
> help and it'll display all the available
> commands.
>
>
>
> >
> > "Twayne" wrote:
> >
> >>> Is there anyway to make it scan the full C:\
> >>> drive and
> >>> make the results or whatever come up in a .txt
> >>> document?
> >>> I need it for some school work.
> >>
> >> Sure. Redirect the DIR output to a file.
> >> dir (path) /s > x:\folder\fname.txt
> >>
> >> The > creates a new file each time, and >>
> >> creates
> >> first, then appends to the existing file after
> >> that.
> >>
> >> This's a bad place to ask for school work help;
> >> you could get some destructive responses since
> >> you
> >> apparently don't know better. And thanks for
> >> being honest about it being school work.
> >>
> >> See
> >> http://commandwindows.com/command1.htm
> >> for some more details. Go down to the table.
> >>
> >> Twayne
>
>
>
>

Adam
February 2nd 09, 07:48 PM
I need to know if theres a way to create a "submit" button that on click goes
to another website?
Thanks,
Adam

Tim Slattery
February 2nd 09, 09:04 PM
Adam > wrote:

>I need to know if theres a way to create a "submit" button that on click goes
>to another website?

Where clicking "Submit" sends the data is controlled by the "action"
property of the "form" tag.

--
Tim Slattery
MS MVP(Shell/User)

http://members.cox.net/slatteryt

Adam
February 3rd 09, 06:00 AM
No its not homework ... It's kinda just because i'm making a website where
theres a Disclaimer first and then a Check-box to agree and submit, so
thatthe submit button goes to the main site is all i need.

"G. Morgan" wrote:

> Adam wrote:
>
> >I need to know if theres a way to create a "submit" button that on click goes
> >to another website?
>
> Are you asking for someone to do your homework for you again?
>
> --
>
> "Newspaper claims car thief transformed into a goat"
> http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090124/ap_on_fe_st/odd_goat_thief_5
>

Adam
February 3rd 09, 06:01 AM
What? Sorry but can't you just write the full tag? Please it would be a lot
of help.

"Tim Slattery" wrote:

> Adam > wrote:
>
> >I need to know if theres a way to create a "submit" button that on click goes
> >to another website?
>
> Where clicking "Submit" sends the data is controlled by the "action"
> property of the "form" tag.
>
> --
> Tim Slattery
> MS MVP(Shell/User)
>
> http://members.cox.net/slatteryt
>

Tim Slattery
February 3rd 09, 02:04 PM
Adam > wrote:

>What? Sorry but can't you just write the full tag? Please it would be a lot
>of help.

Look in any HTML reference, or google it, this stuff is very common.

<form action="http://somethingorother.com">

--
Tim Slattery
MS MVP(Shell/User)

http://members.cox.net/slatteryt

Adam
February 3rd 09, 07:00 PM
Is there a way to create a vote, like a forum where you write your email and
age or whatever and then it sends automaticly to your email?
Thanks.
-Adam

"Tim Slattery" wrote:

> Adam > wrote:
>
> >What? Sorry but can't you just write the full tag? Please it would be a lot
> >of help.
>
> Look in any HTML reference, or google it, this stuff is very common.
>
> <form action="http://somethingorother.com">
>
> --
> Tim Slattery
> MS MVP(Shell/User)
>
> http://members.cox.net/slatteryt
>

Tim Slattery
February 3rd 09, 09:01 PM
Adam > wrote:

>Is there a way to create a vote, like a forum where you write your email and
>age or whatever and then it sends automaticly to your email?

That would be a server-side process. You'd have to work with your
hoisting company.

--
Tim Slattery
MS MVP(Shell/User)

http://members.cox.net/slatteryt

Lem[_2_]
February 3rd 09, 09:17 PM
Tim Slattery wrote:

> That would be a server-side process. You'd have to work with your
> hoisting company.
>

Would that be the Petard Hoisting Company?
Or the piano hoisting company
http://www.markstivers.com/cartoons/Cartoons%202006/Stivers-6-17-06-Falling-pia.gif
?

--
Lem -- MS-MVP

To the moon and back with 2K words of RAM and 36K words of ROM.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apollo_Guidance_Computer
http://history.nasa.gov/afj/compessay.htm

Adam
February 4th 09, 06:39 AM
I'm just making a practis .html start-up page on my browser.
But does anyone know the code for what i'm in need for?
"Lem" wrote:

> Tim Slattery wrote:
>
> > That would be a server-side process. You'd have to work with your
> > hoisting company.
> >
>
> Would that be the Petard Hoisting Company?
> Or the piano hoisting company
> http://www.markstivers.com/cartoons/Cartoons%202006/Stivers-6-17-06-Falling-pia.gif
> ?
>
> --
> Lem -- MS-MVP
>
> To the moon and back with 2K words of RAM and 36K words of ROM.
> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apollo_Guidance_Computer
> http://history.nasa.gov/afj/compessay.htm
>

Adam
February 4th 09, 06:57 AM
<FORM ">
Name: <INPUT name="Name" value="" size="10"><BR>
Email: <INPUT name="Email" value="" size="10"><BR>
<CENTER><INPUT type="submit"></CENTER>
</FORM>

That was the code i found on: http://web-source.net/html_codes_chart.htm The
side just shows a couple of easy and basic HTML commands theres also
JavaScripts and stuff. Feel free to check it out.

Tim Slattery
February 4th 09, 02:23 PM
Adam > wrote:

><FORM ">

First: they want you to replace " with your email
address. Second: this depends on the user having a properly configured
email program installed. It will popup the user's email program (if
one exists) and he will have to send it. Third: you won't get the
values of name and email.

The only way to do this reliably is with server-side processing. ASP
(IIS only, can be coded in VB Script or Javascript), Perl, or Java EE
or .Net for more complex stuff. Not all hosters allow server-side
processing, it depends on the hoster and on how much you pay.

>That was the code i found on: http://web-source.net/html_codes_chart.htm The
>side just shows a couple of easy and basic HTML commands theres also
>JavaScripts and stuff. Feel free to check it out.

They're showing you how to do client-side stuff, and that's very good.
But forms usually need server-side processing.

All of which is outside the scope of this group.

--
Tim Slattery
MS MVP(Shell/User)

http://members.cox.net/slatteryt

Google