PDA

View Full Version : VIrus warning, genuine!


Kenny
December 5th 03, 07:49 AM
Have been getting many e-mails this last week or so with the following text,
supposedly from

and "your account" in the subject line.
I do have a LineOne account. There's an attachment named
"message.zip"(19KB) which contains what appears to be a blank HTML page, it
comes up clean in Norton scan and passes incoming mail scan. This is a
recent virus, look here:
http://www.datafellows.fi/v-descs/mimail.shtml
Watch out for it and update your anti-virus, which I intend to do right now.


"Hello there,

I would like to inform you about important information regarding your
email address. This email address will be expiring.
Please read attachment for details.

---
Best regards, Administrator
oskoaoaa"


--

Kenny

Kenny
December 5th 03, 07:49 AM
Scanned attachment again after updating Norton and it's infected with
W32.Mimail@mm virus.


--

Kenny


"Kenny" > wrote in message
...
> Have been getting many e-mails this last week or so with the following
text,
> supposedly from
>
> and "your account" in the subject line.
> I do have a LineOne account. There's an attachment named
> "message.zip"(19KB) which contains what appears to be a blank HTML page,
it
> comes up clean in Norton scan and passes incoming mail scan. This is a
> recent virus, look here:
> http://www.datafellows.fi/v-descs/mimail.shtml
> Watch out for it and update your anti-virus, which I intend to do right
now.
>
>
> "Hello there,
>
> I would like to inform you about important information regarding your
> email address. This email address will be expiring.
> Please read attachment for details.
>
> ---
> Best regards, Administrator
> oskoaoaa"
>
>
> --
>
> Kenny
>
>
>

Spinner
December 5th 03, 07:49 AM
Yes, this has been out about a week now..


"Kenny" > wrote in message
...
> Scanned attachment again after updating Norton and it's infected with
> W32.Mimail@mm virus.
>
>
> --
>
> Kenny
>
>
> "Kenny" > wrote in message
> ...
> > Have been getting many e-mails this last week or so with the following
> text,
> > supposedly from
> >
> > and "your account" in the subject line.
> > I do have a LineOne account. There's an attachment named
> > "message.zip"(19KB) which contains what appears to be a blank HTML page,
> it
> > comes up clean in Norton scan and passes incoming mail scan. This is a
> > recent virus, look here:
> > http://www.datafellows.fi/v-descs/mimail.shtml
> > Watch out for it and update your anti-virus, which I intend to do right
> now.
> >
> >
> > "Hello there,
> >
> > I would like to inform you about important information regarding your
> > email address. This email address will be expiring.
> > Please read attachment for details.
> >
> > ---
> > Best regards, Administrator
> > oskoaoaa"
> >
> >
> > --
> >
> > Kenny
> >
> >
> >
>
>

djmasala.com
December 5th 03, 07:49 AM
Yep, I got it aswell. its a blank email . it also comes from the address:
, with [NO SUBJECT] in the subject line. I have an
another.com account, and I thought it was from the support team! Got rid of
the virus now though... :D



"Spinner" > wrote in message
news:wZVYa.31276$5f.25816@lakeread05...
> Yes, this has been out about a week now..
>
>
> "Kenny" > wrote in message
> ...
> > Scanned attachment again after updating Norton and it's infected with
> > W32.Mimail@mm virus.
> >
> >
> > --
> >
> > Kenny
> >
> >
> > "Kenny" > wrote in message
> > ...
> > > Have been getting many e-mails this last week or so with the following
> > text,
> > > supposedly from
> > >
> > > and "your account" in the subject line.
> > > I do have a LineOne account. There's an attachment named
> > > "message.zip"(19KB) which contains what appears to be a blank HTML
page,
> > it
> > > comes up clean in Norton scan and passes incoming mail scan. This is
a
> > > recent virus, look here:
> > > http://www.datafellows.fi/v-descs/mimail.shtml
> > > Watch out for it and update your anti-virus, which I intend to do
right
> > now.
> > >
> > >
> > > "Hello there,
> > >
> > > I would like to inform you about important information regarding your
> > > email address. This email address will be expiring.
> > > Please read attachment for details.
> > >
> > > ---
> > > Best regards, Administrator
> > > oskoaoaa"
> > >
> > >
> > > --
> > >
> > > Kenny
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

Google