View Full Version : suspicious email
runemaker
December 17th 03, 10:17 PM
I just received an email entitled "Microsoft OPublic
Bulleting" purporting to come from Microsoft that includes
a "security patch".
It was sent to an email address I have never given
Microsoft and I do not believe you would contact me in
this way.
Please advise whether this is genuine.
Mike Brannigan [MSFT]
December 17th 03, 10:17 PM
Search this group and you will see that any e-mail that purports to be from
Microsoft but contains an attachment is not genuine.
--
Regards,
Mike
--
Mike Brannigan [Microsoft]
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights
Please note I cannot respond to e-mailed questions, please use these
newsgroups
"runemaker" > wrote in message
...
> I just received an email entitled "Microsoft OPublic
> Bulleting" purporting to come from Microsoft that includes
> a "security patch".
>
> It was sent to an email address I have never given
> Microsoft and I do not believe you would contact me in
> this way.
>
> Please advise whether this is genuine.
>
Larry Samuels MS-MVP XP \(Shell/User\)
December 17th 03, 10:17 PM
Microsoft never sends unsolicited files by email.
DO NOT open the file--it is NOT from MS.
REPEAT:Microsoft NEVER sends unsolicited files by email.
It is a virus masquerading as MS security.
The most recent is W32/Swen@MM which can be removed with Stinger
http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/
The others circulating are dumaru.b
or a variant of the gibe worm.
Removal tool for gibe is at
--
Larry Samuels MS-MVP (Windows-Shell/User)
Associate Expert
Unofficial FAQ for Windows Server 2003 at
http://home.earthlink.net/~larrysamuels/WS2003FAQ.htm
Expert Zone - www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
"runemaker" > wrote in message
...
> I just received an email entitled "Microsoft OPublic
> Bulleting" purporting to come from Microsoft that includes
> a "security patch".
>
> It was sent to an email address I have never given
> Microsoft and I do not believe you would contact me in
> this way.
>
> Please advise whether this is genuine.
>
vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.