PDA

View Full Version : Re: WHATS RELATED - how do i turn off?


Grahammer
January 7th 04, 11:34 PM
Well... I finally figured out what kind of crap was causing the advertising
links to mysteriously appear in webpages. It's something called "Intellitxt"
from the slime at Vibrant Media.

If you value you privacy and want to avoid yet another security risk add the
following line to your HOSTS file. You can usually find this file at
C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\Etc. Just open notepad and drag the HOSTS file
into the notepad and add the line:

127.0.0.1 itxt.vibrantmedia.com #Block that stupid Intellitxt from Vibrant
Media

(you can also use 0.0.0.0 instead of 127.0.0.1)

If you want to see a sample, visit the following site. If you're being
watched you will see "computer" and "PC" and "video card" underlined. Moving
the mouse over these links will pop up a little advertising blurb.

http://www.devhardware.com/c/a/How_To/Making_a_Blowhole/1

For more info, use Google and search for Intellitxt.

Hope this helps someone!




"Noozer" > wrote in message
...
> How do I get the stupid whats related stuff out of my computer?
>
> I ran adaware and other spyware killers yet I still get links on my
webpages
> that aren't really links. These are being processed and added at my end -
> they are NOT actually on the webpage.
>
> I don't have anything under my TOOLS menu for Whats Related and I've
killed
> the ALEXA registry entry... ITS STILL HAPPENING!
>
>
>

Mike Burgess
January 7th 04, 11:44 PM
Grahammer,
Thanks for the feedback ...........
You may need to add a few entries to your HOSTS file:

127.0.0.1 vibrantmedia.com #[Restricted Zone site]
127.0.0.1 itxt.vibrantmedia.com
127.0.0.1 usads.vibrantmedia.com
127.0.0.1 usnews.vibrantmedia.com
127.0.0.1 www.vibrantmedia.com

__________________________________________________ __________
Mike Burgess [MVP Windows Shell\User] http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/
Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers, Trojans, with a HOSTS file
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm [updated 12-26-03]
Please post replies to this Newsgroup, email address is invalid
--

"Grahammer" > wrote in message
...
> Well... I finally figured out what kind of crap was causing the
advertising
> links to mysteriously appear in webpages. It's something called
"Intellitxt"
> from the slime at Vibrant Media.
>
> If you value you privacy and want to avoid yet another security risk add
the
> following line to your HOSTS file. You can usually find this file at
> C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\Etc. Just open notepad and drag the HOSTS file
> into the notepad and add the line:
>
> 127.0.0.1 itxt.vibrantmedia.com #Block that stupid Intellitxt from Vibrant
> Media
>
> (you can also use 0.0.0.0 instead of 127.0.0.1)
>
> If you want to see a sample, visit the following site. If you're being
> watched you will see "computer" and "PC" and "video card" underlined.
Moving
> the mouse over these links will pop up a little advertising blurb.
>
> http://www.devhardware.com/c/a/How_To/Making_a_Blowhole/1
>
> For more info, use Google and search for Intellitxt.
>
> Hope this helps someone!
>
>
>
>
> "Noozer" > wrote in message
> ...
> > How do I get the stupid whats related stuff out of my computer?
> >
> > I ran adaware and other spyware killers yet I still get links on my
> webpages
> > that aren't really links. These are being processed and added at my
end -
> > they are NOT actually on the webpage.
> >
> > I don't have anything under my TOOLS menu for Whats Related and I've
> killed
> > the ALEXA registry entry... ITS STILL HAPPENING!
> >
> >
> >
>
>

Google