PDA

View Full Version : Warning: MVP.org is not an MSoft MVP site


Kelly
January 11th 04, 05:42 AM
The Microsoft MVPs have a web domain, mvps.org, which contains what
we hope are a lot of useful articles aimed at being of help to users
of Windows.

We have become aware that there is another domain, mvp.org *without*
the s, and would advise you all that this has no connection with the
Microsoft MVP program or its members, and may put visitors at risk.

Alex Nichol
Doug Knox
Kelly Theriot
Ken Blake


--
All the Best,
Kelly

MS-MVP Win98/XP
[AE-Windows® XP]

Troubleshooting Windows XP
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com

Utilities for Windows XP
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_u.htm#xp_util

+-J
January 12th 04, 12:21 AM
"Kelly" > wrote:
| The Microsoft MVPs have a web domain, mvps.org, which contains what
| we hope are a lot of useful articles aimed at being of help to users
| of Windows.
|
| We have become aware that there is another domain, mvp.org *without*
| the s, and would advise you all that this has no connection with the
| Microsoft MVP program or its members, and may put visitors at risk.

I will not be visiting that web domain. Do you mean that they give questionable advice relating to Microsoft products, or do you
mean that it is unsafe to visit that web domain?

| Alex Nichol
| Doug Knox
| Kelly Theriot
| Ken Blake
| --
| All the Best,
| Kelly
|
| MS-MVP Win98/XP
| [AE-Windows® XP]

--
Jan

John Barnett - MVP
January 12th 04, 02:42 AM
Well so far all i get when i type in mvp.org is a 'sorry there are no
results for.' the web page itself is simply web-100.com advertising. Also
using XPSP2 a security warning appears saying Windows has found that the
publisher of this software is unknown. HitQNavigator.
There is certainly no advice petaining to windows xp.


--
John Barnett MVP
Associate Expert
www.freelanceit.glowinternet.com

"+-J" > wrote in message
...
> "Kelly" > wrote:
> | The Microsoft MVPs have a web domain, mvps.org, which contains what
> | we hope are a lot of useful articles aimed at being of help to users
> | of Windows.
> |
> | We have become aware that there is another domain, mvp.org *without*
> | the s, and would advise you all that this has no connection with the
> | Microsoft MVP program or its members, and may put visitors at risk.
>
> I will not be visiting that web domain. Do you mean that they give
> questionable advice relating to Microsoft products, or do you
> mean that it is unsafe to visit that web domain?
>
> | Alex Nichol
> | Doug Knox
> | Kelly Theriot
> | Ken Blake
> | --
> | All the Best,
> | Kelly
> |
> | MS-MVP Win98/XP
> | [AE-Windows® XP]
>
> --
> Jan
>
>

Google