PDA

View Full Version : Email purporting to come from Microsoft


Gordon Burgess-Parker
December 6th 03, 02:12 PM
Are these emails generated by someone who is already infected by a virus, in
which case I shall just carry on deleting, or are they malicious spam in
which case I shall certainly report them? (Although most of them seem to
come from Charternet who appear to totally disregard anything sent to their
abuse email address)

Cheers

--
Google is your Friend
Email address deliberately false to avoid spam:
gordonATgbpcomputingDOTcoDOTuk
www.gbpcomputing.co.uk

Rob Schneider
December 6th 03, 02:12 PM
Gordon Burgess-Parker wrote:

> Are these emails generated by someone who is already infected by a virus, in
> which case I shall just carry on deleting, or are they malicious spam in
> which case I shall certainly report them? (Although most of them seem to
> come from Charternet who appear to totally disregard anything sent to their
> abuse email address)
>
> Cheers
>
> --
> Google is your Friend
> Email address deliberately false to avoid spam:
> gordonATgbpcomputingDOTcoDOTuk
> www.gbpcomputing.co.uk
>
>
>

Probably best to simply ignore and delete.

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
December 6th 03, 02:12 PM
Hi,

They are from infected users - delete them.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers aka "Nutcase" MS-MVP - Win9x
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WinXP - Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Win98 Help - www.rickrogers.org

"Gordon Burgess-Parker" > wrote in message
...
> Are these emails generated by someone who is already infected by a virus,
in
> which case I shall just carry on deleting, or are they malicious spam in
> which case I shall certainly report them? (Although most of them seem to
> come from Charternet who appear to totally disregard anything sent to
their
> abuse email address)
>
> Cheers
>
> --
> Google is your Friend
> Email address deliberately false to avoid spam:
> gordonATgbpcomputingDOTcoDOTuk
> www.gbpcomputing.co.uk
>
>
>

Malvern
December 6th 03, 02:12 PM
"Gordon Burgess-Parker" > wrote in message
...
> Are these emails generated by someone who is already infected by a virus,
in
> which case I shall just carry on deleting, or are they malicious spam in
> which case I shall certainly report them? (Although most of them seem to
> come from Charternet who appear to totally disregard anything sent to
their
> abuse email address)
>
> Cheers
>
> --
> Google is your Friend
> Email address deliberately false to avoid spam:
> gordonATgbpcomputingDOTcoDOTuk
> www.gbpcomputing.co.uk
>
Definitely possible virus. Microsoft never has and currently does NOT
originate email for this very reason. So you should delete upon receipt and
that means the Deleted Items folder as well to prevent accidental opening.

Malv

Gordon Burgess-Parker
December 6th 03, 02:13 PM
Gordon Burgess-Parker wrote:

> Are these emails generated by someone who is already infected by a
> virus, in which case I shall just carry on deleting, or are they
> malicious spam in which case I shall certainly report them? (Although
> most of them seem to come from Charternet who appear to totally
> disregard anything sent to their abuse email address)
>
> Cheers
>
> --
> Google is your Friend
> Email address deliberately false to avoid spam:
> gordonATgbpcomputingDOTcoDOTuk
> www.gbpcomputing.co.uk

Thanks for the replies guys, my finger's on the "Delete" button as we
speak.....

--
Google is your Friend
Email address deliberately false to avoid spam:
gordonATgbpcomputingDOTcoDOTuk
www.gbpcomputing.co.uk

Google