A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Hoversnap v08



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 23rd 12, 05:59 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Boris[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Hoversnap v08

Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running. She
downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and 64-bit?

Thanks.
Ads
  #2  
Old March 23rd 12, 06:11 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Seth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 437
Default Hoversnap v08


"Boris" wrote in message
...
Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running. She
downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and 64-bit?


Sounds like she is trying to run it from within the ZIP. When you do that
it unpacks the file being run (only that file) a temp location. Try
unpacking all the files into to a single folder and run it form there. It
should then see it's DLL right next to it.


  #3  
Old March 23rd 12, 08:06 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Boris[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 87
Default Hoversnap v08

"Seth" wrote in
:


"Boris" wrote in message
...
Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running.
She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and
64-bit?


Sounds like she is trying to run it from within the ZIP. When you do
that it unpacks the file being run (only that file) a temp location.
Try unpacking all the files into to a single folder and run it form
there. It should then see it's DLL right next to it.




We put the .zip in:

Downloads\hoversnap and unpacked it in the hoversnap folder, which gave the
three files mentioned, in the hoversnap folder. Then she double clicked
HoverSnap.exe. Do you think this still be incorrect? I won't be at her
machine until Monday to try anything differently.

Does Win7 have it's own screen grabbing tool, like SnipIt? I believe she's
running Win7 Pro, 64-bit.
  #4  
Old March 23rd 12, 08:36 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Seth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 437
Default Hoversnap v08


"Boris" wrote in message
4.100...
"Seth" wrote in
:


"Boris" wrote in message
...
Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running.
She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and
64-bit?


Sounds like she is trying to run it from within the ZIP. When you do
that it unpacks the file being run (only that file) a temp location.
Try unpacking all the files into to a single folder and run it form
there. It should then see it's DLL right next to it.


We put the .zip in:

Downloads\hoversnap and unpacked it in the hoversnap folder, which gave
the
three files mentioned, in the hoversnap folder. Then she double clicked
HoverSnap.exe. Do you think this still be incorrect? I won't be at her
machine until Monday to try anything differently.


Nope, that sounds right and exactly what I was describing.

Does Win7 have it's own screen grabbing tool, like SnipIt? I believe
she's
running Win7 Pro, 64-bit.


Yes. Hit the START Orb and type "snipping tool" (without the quotes).
Before you are done typing it you will see it listed in the pick list above.


  #5  
Old March 23rd 12, 08:56 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Bob Hatch
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 206
Default Hoversnap v08

On 3/23/2012 1:06 PM, Boris wrote:
wrote in
:


wrote in message
...
Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running.
She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and
64-bit?


Sounds like she is trying to run it from within the ZIP. When you do
that it unpacks the file being run (only that file) a temp location.
Try unpacking all the files into to a single folder and run it form
there. It should then see it's DLL right next to it.




We put the .zip in:

Downloads\hoversnap and unpacked it in the hoversnap folder, which gave the
three files mentioned, in the hoversnap folder. Then she double clicked
HoverSnap.exe. Do you think this still be incorrect? I won't be at her
machine until Monday to try anything differently.

Does Win7 have it's own screen grabbing tool, like SnipIt? I believe she's
running Win7 Pro, 64-bit.


Yes, it's listed as "Snipping Tool" and is found under the Accessories
Folder in the Menu.



--
“There is no worse tyranny than to force a man
to pay for what he does not want merely because
you think it would be good for him.”
? Robert A. Heinlein
  #6  
Old March 23rd 12, 11:35 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Boris[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 87
Default Hoversnap v08

Bob Hatch wrote in
b.com:

On 3/23/2012 1:06 PM, Boris wrote:
wrote in
:


wrote in message
...
Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08
running. She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and
64-bit?

Sounds like she is trying to run it from within the ZIP. When you
do that it unpacks the file being run (only that file) a temp
location. Try unpacking all the files into to a single folder and
run it form there. It should then see it's DLL right next to it.




We put the .zip in:

Downloads\hoversnap and unpacked it in the hoversnap folder, which
gave the three files mentioned, in the hoversnap folder. Then she
double clicked HoverSnap.exe. Do you think this still be incorrect?
I won't be at her machine until Monday to try anything differently.

Does Win7 have it's own screen grabbing tool, like SnipIt? I believe
she's running Win7 Pro, 64-bit.


Yes, it's listed as "Snipping Tool" and is found under the Accessories
Folder in the Menu.




Many thanks to both you and Seth.
  #7  
Old March 23rd 12, 11:50 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Gene E. Bloch[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,720
Default Hoversnap v08

On 3/23/2012, Boris posted:
"Seth" wrote in
:



"Boris" wrote in message
...
Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running.
She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and
64-bit?


Sounds like she is trying to run it from within the ZIP. When you do
that it unpacks the file being run (only that file) a temp location.
Try unpacking all the files into to a single folder and run it form
there. It should then see it's DLL right next to it.




We put the .zip in:


Downloads\hoversnap and unpacked it in the hoversnap folder, which gave the
three files mentioned, in the hoversnap folder. Then she double clicked
HoverSnap.exe. Do you think this still be incorrect? I won't be at her
machine until Monday to try anything differently.


Does Win7 have it's own screen grabbing tool, like SnipIt? I believe she's
running Win7 Pro, 64-bit.


Is she clicking on the exe in the new folder or in the zip file?

--
Gene E. Bloch (Stumbling Bloch)


  #8  
Old March 24th 12, 03:05 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,551
Default Hoversnap v08

Boris wrote:

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running. She
downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.


And what does your friend say is mentioned in the readme.txt file on how
to use the program? You sure it doesn't tell the user to *register* the
..dll file (by running regsvr32.exe)?
  #9  
Old March 24th 12, 06:06 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
Boris[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 87
Default Hoversnap v08

Gene E. Bloch wrote in
:

On 3/23/2012, Boris posted:
"Seth" wrote in
:



"Boris" wrote in message
...
Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08
running. She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and
64-bit?

Sounds like she is trying to run it from within the ZIP. When you
do that it unpacks the file being run (only that file) a temp
location. Try unpacking all the files into to a single folder and
run it form there. It should then see it's DLL right next to it.




We put the .zip in:


Downloads\hoversnap and unpacked it in the hoversnap folder, which
gave the three files mentioned, in the hoversnap folder. Then she
double clicked HoverSnap.exe. Do you think this still be incorrect?
I won't be at her machine until Monday to try anything differently.


Does Win7 have it's own screen grabbing tool, like SnipIt? I believe
she's running Win7 Pro, 64-bit.


Is she clicking on the exe in the new folder or in the zip file?


The .exe file itself. I've installed this, and many executables that
were packed/zipped/compressed/etc. I just wonder if HoverSnap, because
it's so old, (or any HoverDesk apps) are compatilble with Win7. I
thought I had it on a Vista Home 32-bit machine, long ago did a clean
intall of Win7 on it. I've never tried to install HoverSnap on anything
newer than Vista, until today.

Thanks.
  #10  
Old March 24th 12, 06:12 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
Boris[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 87
Default Hoversnap v08

VanguardLH wrote in :

Boris wrote:

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running.
She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.


And what does your friend say is mentioned in the readme.txt file on
how to use the program? You sure it doesn't tell the user to
*register* the .dll file (by running regsvr32.exe)?


Nope.

It's only a copyright notice and a 2 paragraph 'Help' file describing how
to use the app, like what keys do what. There are no install
instrucions. The .txt file and the app itself were copyright in 2003.
  #11  
Old March 24th 12, 07:28 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12,034
Default Hoversnap v08

Boris wrote:
VanguardLH wrote in :

Boris wrote:

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running.
She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

And what does your friend say is mentioned in the readme.txt file on
how to use the program? You sure it doesn't tell the user to
*register* the .dll file (by running regsvr32.exe)?


Nope.

It's only a copyright notice and a 2 paragraph 'Help' file describing how
to use the app, like what keys do what. There are no install
instrucions. The .txt file and the app itself were copyright in 2003.


Does the program need to run elevated (i.e. "Run As Administrator) ?

The "...KHook" in the DLL name, implies it's doing something that
needs more privilege. Just a guess.

Paul
  #12  
Old March 24th 12, 05:57 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,551
Default Hoversnap v08

Boris wrote:

VanguardLH wrote in :

Boris wrote:

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running.
She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.


And what does your friend say is mentioned in the readme.txt file on
how to use the program? You sure it doesn't tell the user to
*register* the .dll file (by running regsvr32.exe)?


Nope. It's only a copyright notice and a 2 paragraph 'Help' file
describing how to use the app, like what keys do what. There are no
install instrucions. The .txt file and the app itself were copyright
in 2003.


Boris wrote:

VanguardLH wrote:

Boris wrote:

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08 running.
She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.


And what does your friend say is mentioned in the readme.txt file on
how to use the program? You sure it doesn't tell the user to
*register* the .dll file (by running regsvr32.exe)?


Nope. It's only a copyright notice and a 2 paragraph 'Help' file
describing how to use the app, like what keys do what. There are no
install instrucions. The .txt file and the app itself were copyright
in 2003.


Has your friend tried registering the DLL file? Although the .dll file
is in the same folder as the executable, the executable may not be first
looking in its own folder but looking in the registry to find the path
to the .dll file. Register it and see what happens.

cd hoversnapfolder
regsvr32.exe hoverkhook.dll

Then run the program to see if now works. If it doesn't work then
unregister the DLL file since it's just a waste of space in the
registry.

regsvr32.exe /u hoverkhook.dll

Did you happen to notice that this is *BETA* software. Read their
freeware page at http://www.hoverdesk.net/freeware.htm. Does your
friend really want to use betaware? PicPick is freeware but not
betaware and looks to do more functions than HoverSnap.

PicPick
http://wiziple.net/

A feature that PicPick has that HoverSnap does not is scrolling a window
to capture all of it. Taking a snapshot of a web page presented in your
web browser only works if the whole page can be displayed within the web
browser's window. If there is more, and usually there is, then you have
to scroll, take another snapshot, and then use an editor to paste them
together. PicPick lets you have it scroll the window will taking a
snapshot of the entire page. HoverSnap looks like an application that
is available only when you load it, so when there's something you want
to snapshot then you have to load HoverSnap. PicPick, like many screen
capture programs, remains resident as a background process with a tray
icon to let you decide what, when, and how to capture. Of course, if
you don't want to leave the screen capture utility loaded all the time
then just exit it.

There are a lot of screen capture utilities available as freeware
without having to get stuck with one that have no decent installer, no
instructions on manual installation or use, and is betaware. If you,
er, your friend doesn't like PicPick then go ask in the
alt.comp.freeware newsgroup on other choices (just be prepared to wade
through a bunch of bitch and insult noise there).

There are much better screen capture freeware available. It's time to
bury the kludge software.
  #13  
Old March 24th 12, 09:31 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Gene E. Bloch[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,720
Default Hoversnap v08

On 3/23/2012, Boris posted:
Gene E. Bloch wrote in
:


On 3/23/2012, Boris posted:
"Seth" wrote in
:

"Boris" wrote in message
...
Hi,

A friend has a new Win7 machine and can't get Hoversnap v08
running. She downloaded the zip file, ran it, with gives

Readme.txt
HoverSnap.exe
HoverKHook.dll

Then when she launches the .exe, she gets a messages saying that
HooverKHook.dll cannot be found.

Anyone ideas? Is this program compatible with Win7, both 32- and
64-bit?

Sounds like she is trying to run it from within the ZIP. When you
do that it unpacks the file being run (only that file) a temp
location. Try unpacking all the files into to a single folder and
run it form there. It should then see it's DLL right next to it.




We put the .zip in:


Downloads\hoversnap and unpacked it in the hoversnap folder, which
gave the three files mentioned, in the hoversnap folder. Then she
double clicked HoverSnap.exe. Do you think this still be incorrect?
I won't be at her machine until Monday to try anything differently.
Does Win7 have it's own screen grabbing tool, like SnipIt? I believe
she's running Win7 Pro, 64-bit.


Is she clicking on the exe in the new folder or in the zip file?


The .exe file itself. I've installed this, and many executables that
were packed/zipped/compressed/etc. I just wonder if HoverSnap, because
it's so old, (or any HoverDesk apps) are compatilble with Win7. I
thought I had it on a Vista Home 32-bit machine, long ago did a clean
intall of Win7 on it. I've never tried to install HoverSnap on anything
newer than Vista, until today.


Thanks.


I'm not sure that you addressed my concern, so I'll rephrase what I
said for better clarity - and emphasis...

The exe file itself IN THE NEW EXTRACTED FOLDER, or the exe file itself
IN THE ZIP FOLDER?

Sorry if you did mean in the extracted folder, but I thought I saw
ambiguity on both ends of this transaction :-)

--
Gene E. Bloch (Stumbling Bloch)


  #14  
Old March 25th 12, 05:11 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
Yousuf Khan[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,546
Default Hoversnap v08

On 24/03/2012 2:06 AM, Boris wrote:
The .exe file itself. I've installed this, and many executables that
were packed/zipped/compressed/etc. I just wonder if HoverSnap, because
it's so old, (or any HoverDesk apps) are compatilble with Win7. I
thought I had it on a Vista Home 32-bit machine, long ago did a clean
intall of Win7 on it. I've never tried to install HoverSnap on anything
newer than Vista, until today.


Yeah, I used to use HoverSnap in the XP days, I absolutely loved it, it
was everything I was looking for in a screen capture utility, especially
it's hotkey activation was the most convenient.

The Snipping Tool that comes with Windows 7 is not nearly as good in my
opinion, but it'll do.

Yousuf Khan
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2014 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.