A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows XP Help and Support
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Using 1TB Drive with Win2000



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 11th 15, 04:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Snuffy \Hub Cap\ McKinney
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Using 1TB Drive with Win2000

First, just so you know.... I realize this is an old PC and OS. It's used in an industrial application, not for normal use. The software can't be transferred to another system for various non-software reasons I won't go into it. Anyway.....

I installed a 1TB slave drive and started using it for backup. I know I should partitioned it or something else to be able to use all the space, but had to backup data right away before I could research and see how to do it.

Anyway, now My Computer shows total size 127GB and 2GB available.

My question is.... what can I do to access the rest of that drive? Or is backing it up to another drive and reformatting the quickest way?

Thanks in advance.
Ads
  #2  
Old October 11th 15, 09:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,881
Default Using 1TB Drive with Win2000

Snuffy McKinney wrote:

NOTE: Quoted-printable is for e-mails, not for Usenet posts.

NOTE: The Windows 2000 newsgroups are over at:
alt.os.windows2000
microsoft.public.win2000.general

I installed a 1TB slave drive and started using it for backup. I
know I should partitioned it or something else to be able to use all
the space, but had to backup data right away before I could research
and see how to do it.

Anyway, now My Computer shows total size 127GB and 2GB available.

My question is.... what can I do to access the rest of that drive?
Or is backing it up to another drive and reformatting the quickest
way?


2 GB is the maximum partition size when using FAT. You'll need to
convert the partition(s) you are using to NTFS to get bigger than 2 GB
for a partition. Because this is an old computer using MBR, the max
size of a partition is 2 TB (which is not of concern to you with a 1 TB
drive)

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/214579

Then use a 3rd party partition manager (e.g., Easeus Partition Master,
Minitool Partition Wizard) to eliminate the partition you no longer need
(I'm assuming you only use 1 partition on the slave drive) and resize
the remaining partition. You'll have to use a 3rd partition manager
that either works under Windows 2000 or get one that uses bootable media
to run from.
  #3  
Old October 12th 15, 12:28 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Snuffy \Hub Cap\ McKinney
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Using 1TB Drive with Win2000

"VanguardLH" wrote in message ...
Snuffy McKinney wrote:

NOTE: Quoted-printable is for e-mails, not for Usenet posts.

NOTE: The Windows 2000 newsgroups are over at:
alt.os.windows2000
microsoft.public.win2000.general

I installed a 1TB slave drive and started using it for backup. I
know I should partitioned it or something else to be able to use all
the space, but had to backup data right away before I could research
and see how to do it.

Anyway, now My Computer shows total size 127GB and 2GB available.

My question is.... what can I do to access the rest of that drive?
Or is backing it up to another drive and reformatting the quickest
way?


2 GB is the maximum partition size when using FAT. You'll need to
convert the partition(s) you are using to NTFS to get bigger than 2 GB
for a partition. Because this is an old computer using MBR, the max
size of a partition is 2 TB (which is not of concern to you with a 1 TB
drive)

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/214579

Then use a 3rd party partition manager (e.g., Easeus Partition Master,
Minitool Partition Wizard) to eliminate the partition you no longer need
(I'm assuming you only use 1 partition on the slave drive) and resize
the remaining partition. You'll have to use a 3rd partition manager
that either works under Windows 2000 or get one that uses bootable media
to run from.


Thank VLH. What if I backup the data, then reformat the drive? Would that give me an option of setting up partitions? If not, can you recommend a partition manager program to use?



  #4  
Old October 12th 15, 01:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,881
Default Using 1TB Drive with Win2000

Snuffy McKinney wrote:

VanguardLH wrote...

NOTE: Quoted-printable is for e-mails, not for Usenet posts.


Still using quoted-printable, I see.

What if I backup the data, then reformat the drive? Would that give
me an option of setting up partitions? If not, can you recommend a
partition manager program to use?


Backing up whatever files are in an partition before modifying the
partition is always recommended. However, the files you say are on your
1 TB hard disk partition are not unique. There would be nothing lost if
they disappeared. They are already backups of other files (which are
the critical files). So it is up to you if you want to backup your
backups. Microsoft's partitioning tools are usually destructive and why
I mentioned using 3rd party partition tools.

Formatting does not create partitions. Formatting lays a file system in
an existing partition. You would need to use a partition manager to
delete, create, or modify partitions. Been way too long for me to
remember what Windows 2000 has for a partition manager. See:

http://windowsitpro.com/windows-clie...isk-management

Microsoft's partitioning tools have always been crippled, like not
allowing repositioning of a partition or resizing wipes the partition.
I already recommended a couple of 3rd party partition managers, one of
which can be used from bootable media.
  #5  
Old October 14th 15, 10:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Uwe Sieber
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 609
Default Using 1TB Drive with Win2000

Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:
First, just so you know.... I realize this is an old PC and OS. It's used in an industrial application, not for normal use. The software can't be transferred to another system for various non-software reasons I won't go into it. Anyway.....

I installed a 1TB slave drive and started using it for backup. I know I should partitioned it or something else to be able to use all the space, but had to backup data right away before I could research and see how to do it.

Anyway, now My Computer shows total size 127GB and 2GB available.

My question is.... what can I do to access the rest of that drive? Or is backing it up to another drive and reformatting the quickest way?


Windows 2000 needs a registry setting for IDE/ATA drives larger than
127GB. Save this as reg file and execute it and restart Windows.
REGEDIT4 must be the first line in the file:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Atapi\Parameters]
"EnableBigLBA"=dword:00000001


Or just enter it manually in RegEdit.


Uwe
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.