A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Windows 10 » Windows 10 Help Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Windows10 Boot menus.



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 11th 19, 11:12 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Peter Jason
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,082
Default Windows10 Boot menus.

I have two instances of Windows10 on the one
motherboard.

Each is on its own 500GB Samsung SSD.

It's confusing when booting up and switching from
one SSD to another because the labeling is
identical for each on the boot menu.

Is there a way to label each SSD distinctively on
this menu?
Ads
  #2  
Old January 11th 19, 11:14 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Big Al[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,353
Default Windows10 Boot menus.

On 1/11/19 6:12 PM, Peter Jason wrote:
I have two instances of Windows10 on the one
motherboard.

Each is on its own 500GB Samsung SSD.

It's confusing when booting up and switching from
one SSD to another because the labeling is
identical for each on the boot menu.

Is there a way to label each SSD distinctively on
this menu?

Are you using a Dual Boot, or are you changing the Bios to get to the
other drive?

If you are dual booting, BCDEdit would help fix the dual boot menu.

  #3  
Old January 12th 19, 02:09 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,832
Default Windows10 Boot menus.

Big Al wrote:
On 1/11/19 6:12 PM, Peter Jason wrote:
I have two instances of Windows10 on the one
motherboard.

Each is on its own 500GB Samsung SSD.

It's confusing when booting up and switching from
one SSD to another because the labeling is
identical for each on the boot menu.

Is there a way to label each SSD distinctively on
this menu?

Are you using a Dual Boot, or are you changing the Bios to get to the
other drive?

If you are dual booting, BCDEdit would help fix the dual boot menu.


Tenforums Tutorial section will have an example.

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html

That's not a spoon feeding. You have to keep your wits
about you when using bcdedit (if you screw up, you'll
need to learn even more to fix it :-/ )

Another tool is third-party "Easybcd", but there are different
versions, and perhaps the most recent one is needed for working
with GPT/UEFI setups. The older copy I have here, kept claiming
absolutely no entries were in the menu at all, which at
the time was wrong. So I couldn't use Easybcd to do what
needed doing. The current version likely fixes that (but
would require me to register or whatever to get a copy).

Paul
  #4  
Old January 12th 19, 02:19 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Peter Jason
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,082
Default Windows10 Boot menus.

On Fri, 11 Jan 2019 18:14:45 -0500, Big Al
wrote:

On 1/11/19 6:12 PM, Peter Jason wrote:
I have two instances of Windows10 on the one
motherboard.

Each is on its own 500GB Samsung SSD.

It's confusing when booting up and switching from
one SSD to another because the labeling is
identical for each on the boot menu.

Is there a way to label each SSD distinctively on
this menu?

Are you using a Dual Boot, or are you changing the Bios to get to the
other drive?


Thanks; I use the BIOS only to set the default OS.

If you are dual booting, BCDEdit would help fix the dual boot menu.


I can get bye just with the "Channel No" on the
menu.
  #5  
Old January 12th 19, 02:34 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Rene Lamontagne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,800
Default Windows10 Boot menus.

On 01/11/2019 8:09 PM, Paul wrote:
Big Al wrote:
On 1/11/19 6:12 PM, Peter Jason wrote:
I have two instances of Windows10 on the one
motherboard.

Each is on its own 500GB Samsung SSD.

It's confusing when booting up and switching from
one SSD to another because the labeling is
identical for each on the boot menu.

Is there a way to label each SSD distinctively on
this menu?

Are you using a Dual Boot, or are you changing the Bios to get to the
other drive?

If you are dual booting, BCDEdit would help fix the dual boot menu.


Tenforums Tutorial section will have an example.

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html


That's not a spoon feeding. You have to keep your wits
about you when using bcdedit (if you screw up, you'll
need to learn even more to fix it :-/ )

Another tool is third-party "Easybcd", but there are different
versions, and perhaps the most recent one is needed for working
with GPT/UEFI setups. The older copy I have here, kept claiming
absolutely no entries were in the menu at all, which at
the time was wrong. So I couldn't use Easybcd to do what
needed doing. The current version likely fixes that (but
would require me to register or whatever to get a copy).

** Paul


Hi Paul, Just for info I downloaded Ver 2.4 recently with no fuss or
registration.

Rene


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.