A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Windows 10 » Windows 10 Help Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old January 29th 18, 01:54 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Mad Roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

On Sun, 28 Jan 2018 23:48:43 -0000 (UTC),
Mad Roger wrote:

Notice two things:
a. Nvidis is somehow involved, and,
b. autoupdate.geo.opera.com is somehow involved.


http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=5674780whatishang6.jpg

I removed the line for autoupdate.geo.opera.com from the HOSTS file (which
has been there for more than a year so that couldn't have been the
proximate cause) and now the problem moved down a notch.

Hang report for C:\apps\browser\ch-based\opera2\50.0.2762.67\opera.exe
Generated by using WhatIsHang on 28-Jan-18 4:50:01 PM
Web site: http://www.nirsoft.net

Remarks:
* The program hangs in a single system call. You can look in the call stack
and stack data to find out which API function cause this hang.

Strings found in the stack:
0.10K+-+APg-,H
NVIDIA
runtime.onMessageExternal
chrome://gpu/GpuProcessTransportFactory::CreateContextCommon=

Modules found in the stack:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\KERNELBASE.dll , Microsoft Corporation , Microsoft+AK4-
Windows+AK4- Operating System, Windows NT BASE API Client DLL
C:\apps\browser\ch-based\opera2\50.0.2762.67\opera_browser.dll

ThreadID: 4788

Execute Address:
771D6C1C ntdll.dll!NtWaitForSingleObject+-0xc

Call Stack:
04BDEB8C 74E8E262 KERNELBASE.dll!WaitForSingleObject+-0x12
Ads
  #17  
Old January 29th 18, 02:03 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Mad Roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

On Mon, 29 Jan 2018 00:54:59 -0000 (UTC),
Mad Roger wrote:

Strings found in the stack:
0.10K+-+APg-,H
NVIDIA
runtime.onMessageExternal
chrome://gpu/GpuProcessTransportFactory::CreateContextCommon=


This URL gives interesting information but I'm not sure what good it is:
chrome://gpu/GpuProcessTransportFactory::CreateContextCommon

This is the result after pasting into Opera (or any Chrome-based browser):
http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=3464818whatishang7.jpg

  #18  
Old January 29th 18, 02:21 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Ken Blake[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,221
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

On Sat, 27 Jan 2018 19:54:31 -0000 (UTC), Mad Roger
wrote:


I've been using the Opera browser for a very long time but all of a sudden
(after an automatic Windows update), Opera hangs within a minute or two of
bringing it up.

It doesn't matter what I do with Opera, it hangs within a minute or two,
but it never hangs right away.



Just a clarification: to debug a program is to find the code in it
that is wrong, and fix it. It's almost impossible to do that with a
program you didn't write. You can't even see the source code.
  #19  
Old January 29th 18, 04:58 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

Mad Roger wrote:

2. A recent windows update is what "seems" to have started the hanging
http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=4002673update1.jpg


Is that an update, or an OS Upgrade ?

I haven't seen that dialog, because I "force install" all
my OS Upgrades as soon as they're available.

Your dialog almost looks like a transition from 15063 to 16299.

Running "winver" on the before and after, would tell you.

Using the "revert" function within 10 days of an Upgrade,
would allow you to go back to the previous release.

Paul


  #20  
Old January 29th 18, 05:06 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

Mad Roger wrote:
On Mon, 29 Jan 2018 00:54:59 -0000 (UTC),
Mad Roger wrote:

Strings found in the stack:
0.10K+-+APg-,H
NVIDIA
runtime.onMessageExternal
chrome://gpu/GpuProcessTransportFactory::CreateContextCommon=


This URL gives interesting information but I'm not sure what good it is:
chrome://gpu/GpuProcessTransportFactory::CreateContextCommon

This is the result after pasting into Opera (or any Chrome-based browser):
http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=3464818whatishang7.jpg


So it looks like attempts to "disable hardware acceleration"
just don't work, and the damn program keeps putzing with
the GPU anyway. Even though you told it not to.

The 16299 OS likely uses WDM 2.3 (if available). Maybe the
Opera people haven't considered all these permutations
in their "GPU abuse code" ?

Paul
  #21  
Old January 29th 18, 06:48 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Mad Roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

On Sun, 28 Jan 2018 22:58:58 -0500,
Paul wrote:

Is that an update, or an OS Upgrade ?

I haven't seen that dialog, because I "force install" all
my OS Upgrades as soon as they're available.

Your dialog almost looks like a transition from 15063 to 16299.

Running "winver" on the before and after, would tell you.

Using the "revert" function within 10 days of an Upgrade,
would allow you to go back to the previous release.


Long sordid story. It's probably "somewhat" related, but almost certainly
not completely related.

It's not related because Opera has been working for about a year (or so),
and only recently (days) started hanging.

It's perhaps related because my Win 10 Pro has *everything* possible turned
off. That means all cortana, all suggestions, all tracking, all updates,
etc.

So *every* Windows-forced update fails in the end, even those I let go
through fruition.
Start Run cmd winver
Version 1511 (OS Build 10586.1106)

Here's a screenshot:
http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=1320968winver.jpg

Note: Microsoft *says* you can't stave off an update forever - but you
certainly can - as mine has *never* updated and it's a perfectly valid
release (I just turned off one too many things - and I don't know what it
was that finally killed *all* Windows updates - but they're dead).

I'm not worried about the Windows update, nor really about Opera hanging.

What I'd like to know is how to debug *any* process that hangs.
We've got a good start with this Nirsoft tool - but - what next?
  #22  
Old January 29th 18, 06:52 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Mad Roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

On Sun, 28 Jan 2018 23:06:09 -0500,
Paul wrote:

So it looks like attempts to "disable hardware acceleration"
just don't work, and the damn program keeps putzing with
the GPU anyway. Even though you told it not to.


I think whomever it was that suggested the graphics card hardware
acceleration was on the money (was that you?).

I agree with you that, "something" is holding this up, and from the looks
of the results of pasting this URL into any Chrome-based browser - there
are a *lot* of hacks going on with respect to the GPUs (mine is Nvidia):
chrome://gpu/GpuProcessTransportFactory::CreateContextCommon

The 16299 OS likely uses WDM 2.3 (if available). Maybe the
Opera people haven't considered all these permutations
in their "GPU abuse code" ?


I have to agree with you that it's shocking to see the number of "hacks"
that the chrome-based browsers seem to be undergoing when you type that URL
into any Chrome-based browser.

They all seem to output the same information - so it's odd that the only
chrome-based browser that is hanging is Opera - but I'm going to agree with
you.

They probably never saw a system like mine - but - the oddity is that it
was working until recently. So something changed in the past few days, but
what?

It's probably too late to go back so at this point, it's really just a
question of how to debug Windows when a Windows app hangs.
  #23  
Old January 29th 18, 07:52 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

Mad Roger wrote:
On Sun, 28 Jan 2018 22:58:58 -0500,
Paul wrote:

Is that an update, or an OS Upgrade ?

I haven't seen that dialog, because I "force install" all
my OS Upgrades as soon as they're available.

Your dialog almost looks like a transition from 15063 to 16299.

Running "winver" on the before and after, would tell you.

Using the "revert" function within 10 days of an Upgrade,
would allow you to go back to the previous release.


Long sordid story. It's probably "somewhat" related, but almost certainly
not completely related.

It's not related because Opera has been working for about a year (or so),
and only recently (days) started hanging.

It's perhaps related because my Win 10 Pro has *everything* possible turned
off. That means all cortana, all suggestions, all tracking, all updates,
etc.

So *every* Windows-forced update fails in the end, even those I let go
through fruition.
Start Run cmd winver
Version 1511 (OS Build 10586.1106)

Here's a screenshot:
http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=1320968winver.jpg

Note: Microsoft *says* you can't stave off an update forever - but you
certainly can - as mine has *never* updated and it's a perfectly valid
release (I just turned off one too many things - and I don't know what it
was that finally killed *all* Windows updates - but they're dead).

I'm not worried about the Windows update, nor really about Opera hanging.

What I'd like to know is how to debug *any* process that hangs.
We've got a good start with this Nirsoft tool - but - what next?


But that picture is an OS upgrade coming in. That's why it
says "your files are right where you left them".

http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=9976681update2.jpg

Part of that sequence, is pulling in a new graphics driver.
If you upgrade with a DVD, it doesn't pull in a new graphics
driver. If you let Windows Update do an OS upgrade, or
if you use the standalone EXE, those will download
a new graphics driver.

*******

I think the Nifsoft one, expects the program to have opened
a window. And at the same time, expects the program to be using
the standard event loop. A program will go to the "Not responding"
state, if the Event Loop is not eating incoming events on a
timely basis. This includes your mouse touching the program
window and so on. If an event sits in an OS event queue for
too long, that's how the OS knows it is "not responding".

That could be why my attempt to make an artificial test case
failed, because I should have been using my one sample program
that has the event loop in it.

Now the part I don't get, is how Nir gets a stack trace out
of that. If I were to TaskKill a program, the program state
would be neatly cleaned up, and there'd be no log. I wonder
how else you can do that ?

I think the Event Loop idea, is merely to help populate
the viewing window in the Nirsoft dialog. I don't know that
it's essential for the trace generation step. Whatever mechanism
that is being used there, should probably work with anything in
Ring 3 (applications).

Maybe I should have been testing with this against the Nirsoft thing:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sys...ads/notmyfault

*******

If you run Sysinternals Process Explorer as Administrator, you
can "probe" a program for a snapshot of the current stack trace.
I used this against the svchost hosting wuaueng.dll (Windows
Update on an earlier OS). While the result wasn't very useful,
it did work, and it could have given a similar hint about
your NVidia driver. Even getting the name of a DLL is
better than nothing.

https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/vij...cess-explorer/

I've set up the Symbol Server a number of times, and while it's
nice and all, I generally ZIP it up and remove it as it's
generally just a waste of space at other times.

Paul
  #24  
Old January 29th 18, 07:36 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Mad Roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

On Mon, 29 Jan 2018 01:52:02 -0500,
Paul wrote:

But that picture is an OS upgrade coming in. That's why it
says "your files are right where you left them".

http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=9976681update2.jpg


You know this better than I do, so I appreciate the advice.
All I know is that I let microsoft do whatever it wants to do in that
situation and it *never* updates the operating system.

Are you saying I missed a manual step somewhere?
(Because if I did, just tell me what I am supposed to do, as I'm not
against Microsoft updating the OS - I'm just against losing privacy.)

Part of that sequence, is pulling in a new graphics driver.
If you upgrade with a DVD, it doesn't pull in a new graphics
driver. If you let Windows Update do an OS upgrade, or
if you use the standalone EXE, those will download
a new graphics driver.


Paul - what do I need to do to make the current Microsoft update just
finish? It never seems to update anything (and I've been though this
sequence many times). Many reboots. Many failures.

Maybe I'm missing a *manual* step to updating Windows?

Here's a snapshot of a *new* directory "C:\Windows10Upgrade".
http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=755...owsupgrade.jpg

Is there something I can manually do to *finish* that upgrade?
  #25  
Old January 29th 18, 07:47 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

Mad Roger wrote:
On Mon, 29 Jan 2018 01:52:02 -0500,
Paul wrote:

But that picture is an OS upgrade coming in. That's why it
says "your files are right where you left them".

http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=9976681update2.jpg


You know this better than I do, so I appreciate the advice.
All I know is that I let microsoft do whatever it wants to do in that
situation and it *never* updates the operating system.

Are you saying I missed a manual step somewhere?
(Because if I did, just tell me what I am supposed to do, as I'm not
against Microsoft updating the OS - I'm just against losing privacy.)

Part of that sequence, is pulling in a new graphics driver.
If you upgrade with a DVD, it doesn't pull in a new graphics
driver. If you let Windows Update do an OS upgrade, or
if you use the standalone EXE, those will download
a new graphics driver.


Paul - what do I need to do to make the current Microsoft update just
finish? It never seems to update anything (and I've been though this
sequence many times). Many reboots. Many failures.

Maybe I'm missing a *manual* step to updating Windows?

Here's a snapshot of a *new* directory "C:\Windows10Upgrade".
http://www.bild.me/bild.php?file=755...owsupgrade.jpg

Is there something I can manually do to *finish* that upgrade?


To do a Win10 Upgrade install:

1) Download the 16299 DVD
2) Put it in the tray while the Win10 OS is running.
Double-click Setup.exe.

If it still fails, after the reboot

1) dism... restorehealth thing
2) sfc /scannow thing
3) Then repeat the above attempt.

*******

Two log files are created during install. The
first step, the file copying one, uses one
log file. The other reboot-steps use a second
log file. But you won't learn all that much
from the log files.

Paul
  #26  
Old January 29th 18, 07:59 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Mad Roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default How do we debug a program that is constantly hanging?

On Mon, 29 Jan 2018 13:47:17 -0500,
Paul wrote:

To do a Win10 Upgrade install:

1) Download the 16299 DVD
2) Put it in the tray while the Win10 OS is running.
Double-click Setup.exe.

If it still fails, after the reboot

1) dism... restorehealth thing
2) sfc /scannow thing
3) Then repeat the above attempt.


Hi Paul,
I should have mentioned I know how to do a *full* install (I wouldn't
bother with an upgrade if I'm going to do it from an ISO file or DVD).

I *already* have the ISO files, where the full install only awaits my back
up of my data (which is the biggest step in *any* Windows installation).

That's why I wanted to know if there was a way to make the automatic update
actually work - but no need to ponder that fully as I'd just do a full
install if it bothered me that Windows can't update itself.

Thanks.

BTW, here's how I would do a full install (if you have improvements).

Overview:
1. Download the MS MediaCreationTool.exe (& run as Administrator)
2. Use that tool to download the right Windows 10 ISO file to your HDD
3. Burn that resulting ISO file to a bootable DVD disc

Steps:
01) Go to https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
02) Select the blue button labeled "Download tool now"
(http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=691209)
This downloads "MediaCreationTool.exe" 17,928KB
03) Run a hash on the MediaCreationTool.exe & save locally as "hash.txt"
Algorithm: SHA256
Hash: 00665B36D7B75B896D3F45BB99F0FCF93461023CACC7D83113 CF5661725C1371
Path: MediaCreationTool.exe
04) Right click on "MediaCreationTool.exe" to select "Run as Administrator"
05) Select Accept to the license agreement
06) When it asks "What do you want to do?", you have only two choices
( ) Upgrade this PC now
( ) Create installation media (USB flash drive, DVD, or ISO file)
for another PC
07) Select Create installation media for another PC
08) Select Next
09) Uncheck the box [ ]Use the recommended options for this PC
10) Select the language = English (United States)
11) Select the edition = Windows 10
Choices are Windows 10, Windows 10 Home Single Language, & Windows 10 N
12) Select the architecture = Both
Choices are 64-bit (x64), 32-bit (x86), Both
The size for "both" is 6.4GB
13) Select Next
14) Select the media = ISO file
Choices are USB flash drive (it needs to be at least 8 GB) or
ISO file (you'll need to burn the ISO file to a DVD later)
15) Select Next
16) Windows Explorer will ask where to save the file.
Default name will be "Windows.iso" which you may rename as desired
Windows_x64.iso 3,553,536 KB, or, Windows_x32-x64.iso 6,362,368 KB
17) The user interface will say "Downloading Windows 10" Progress x%
18) When done the GUI will ask "Burn the ISO file to a DVD"
Where your only 3 choices a
C:\path\Windows.iso (click this to open to that file)
Open DVD burner (click this to bring up the DVD burner
[Finish]
(Disconnect the network to prevent the next step from happening.)
19) Hit Finish & Microsoft will immediately be notified over the network
20) When done, run a hash on the downloaded ISO file (save as hash.txt)
21) Burn the ISO file to DVD disc
22) Run a hash on the ISO disc (compare with the original hash.txt)
23) Set the F10 BIOS boot order to put the DVD before the HDD
24) Insert the DVD on the PC where you want to install Windows 10 Pro
25) Restart your PC
26) Press any key to boot from the DVD
27) On the Install Windows page, select your language
28) Select the time
29) Select the keyboard preferences
30) Select Next
31) Select Install Windows

Note that if Win10 was previously installed on the same device no product
key is required when performing a subsequent clean install. During
installation choose the Skip option and the digital license stored on
Microsoft's servers will be used to activate Windows 10 when installed.

This seems to be for updates but not for a bootable Windows 10 Pro ISO:
http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/Home.aspx
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.