A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

trouble with script generated by AU3Recorder within SciTE4



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 28th 15, 07:21 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Ab
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default trouble with script generated by AU3Recorder within SciTE4


I recently used SciTE4AutoIt3 to create a script for opening a program,
performing a couple of tasks within the program via mouse clicks and
file selection, and then closing the program. I used the AU3Recorder
within SciTE to create the script. Although creation went well, I
notice that sometimes, the wrong files are clicked on and opened. Why
is this and how can I get the script to open the same files identically
each time?

Thanks,
Ab
Ads
  #2  
Old April 28th 15, 07:46 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Char Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,449
Default trouble with script generated by AU3Recorder within SciTE4

On Tue, 28 Apr 2015 14:21:20 -0400, Ab wrote:


I recently used SciTE4AutoIt3 to create a script for opening a program,
performing a couple of tasks within the program via mouse clicks and
file selection, and then closing the program. I used the AU3Recorder
within SciTE to create the script. Although creation went well, I
notice that sometimes, the wrong files are clicked on and opened. Why
is this and how can I get the script to open the same files identically
each time?


Post your script. Not having seen it, my guess is that the script is simply
opening the Nth file without regard to its filename, so as files are added
or removed the Nth file becomes different.

In some cases, programs can be opened with command line arguments that tell
them which file they should open, so that may be an option rather than
trying to select the file from within the program.

The answer probably depends on what, exactly, you're trying to do.

--

Char Jackson
  #3  
Old April 28th 15, 08:19 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Ab
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default trouble with script generated by AU3Recorder within SciTE4

On 04/28/2015 02:46 PM, Char Jackson wrote:
On Tue, 28 Apr 2015 14:21:20 -0400, Ab wrote:


I recently used SciTE4AutoIt3 to create a script for opening a program,
performing a couple of tasks within the program via mouse clicks and
file selection, and then closing the program. I used the AU3Recorder
within SciTE to create the script. Although creation went well, I
notice that sometimes, the wrong files are clicked on and opened. Why
is this and how can I get the script to open the same files identically
each time?


Post your script. Not having seen it, my guess is that the script is simply
opening the Nth file without regard to its filename, so as files are added
or removed the Nth file becomes different.

In some cases, programs can be opened with command line arguments that tell
them which file they should open, so that may be an option rather than
trying to select the file from within the program.

The answer probably depends on what, exactly, you're trying to do.

Ok, thanks, what I'm trying to do is automate the process to allow
sharing a Win file or location (in this case, my Win desktop) with my
Ubuntu VM. My host is Win Xp with Ubuntu guest. The process involves
opening up the Virtualbox control program and then through a series of
mouse clicks, allowing the file or location to be shared. Here is the
script:

#region --- Internal functions Au3Recorder Start ---
Func _Au3RecordSetup()
Opt('WinWaitDelay',300)
Opt('WinDetectHiddenText',1)
Opt('MouseCoordMode',0)
Local $aResult = DllCall('User32.dll', 'int', 'GetKeyboardLayoutNameW',
'wstr', '')
If $aResult[1] '00000409' Then
MsgBox(64, 'Warning', 'Recording has been done under a different
Keyboard layout' & @CRLF & '(00000409-' & $aResult[1] & ')')
EndIf

EndFunc

Func _WinWaitActivate($title,$text,$timeout=0)
WinWait($title,$text,$timeout)
If Not WinActive($title,$text) Then WinActivate($title,$text)
WinWaitActive($title,$text,$timeout)
EndFunc

_AU3RecordSetup()
#endregion --- Internal functions Au3Recorder End ---


Run('C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VirtualBox.exe')
_WinWaitActivate("Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager","")
MouseClick("left",359,625,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Nov6_2014enhanced Clone - Settings","")
MouseClick("left",619,110,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Add Share","")
MouseClick("left",278,51,1)
MouseClick("left",202,79,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Browse For Folder","Select a directory")
MouseMove(407,130)
MouseDown("left")
MouseMove(403,105)
MouseUp("left")
MouseClick("left",60,98,1)
MouseClick("left",291,291,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Add Share","")
MouseClick("left",171,213,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Nov6_2014enhanced Clone - Settings","")
MouseClick("left",447,451,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager","")
MouseMove(1138,21)
MouseDown("left")
MouseMove(1139,21)
MouseUp("left")
#endregion --- Au3Recorder generated code End ---

  #4  
Old April 28th 15, 09:12 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Char Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,449
Default trouble with script generated by AU3Recorder within SciTE4

On Tue, 28 Apr 2015 15:19:09 -0400, Ab wrote:

On 04/28/2015 02:46 PM, Char Jackson wrote:
On Tue, 28 Apr 2015 14:21:20 -0400, Ab wrote:


I recently used SciTE4AutoIt3 to create a script for opening a program,
performing a couple of tasks within the program via mouse clicks and
file selection, and then closing the program. I used the AU3Recorder
within SciTE to create the script. Although creation went well, I
notice that sometimes, the wrong files are clicked on and opened. Why
is this and how can I get the script to open the same files identically
each time?


Post your script. Not having seen it, my guess is that the script is simply
opening the Nth file without regard to its filename, so as files are added
or removed the Nth file becomes different.

In some cases, programs can be opened with command line arguments that tell
them which file they should open, so that may be an option rather than
trying to select the file from within the program.

The answer probably depends on what, exactly, you're trying to do.

Ok, thanks, what I'm trying to do is automate the process to allow
sharing a Win file or location (in this case, my Win desktop) with my
Ubuntu VM. My host is Win Xp with Ubuntu guest. The process involves
opening up the Virtualbox control program and then through a series of
mouse clicks, allowing the file or location to be shared. Here is the
script:

#region --- Internal functions Au3Recorder Start ---
Func _Au3RecordSetup()
Opt('WinWaitDelay',300)
Opt('WinDetectHiddenText',1)
Opt('MouseCoordMode',0)
Local $aResult = DllCall('User32.dll', 'int', 'GetKeyboardLayoutNameW',
'wstr', '')
If $aResult[1] '00000409' Then
MsgBox(64, 'Warning', 'Recording has been done under a different
Keyboard layout' & @CRLF & '(00000409-' & $aResult[1] & ')')
EndIf

EndFunc

Func _WinWaitActivate($title,$text,$timeout=0)
WinWait($title,$text,$timeout)
If Not WinActive($title,$text) Then WinActivate($title,$text)
WinWaitActive($title,$text,$timeout)
EndFunc

_AU3RecordSetup()
#endregion --- Internal functions Au3Recorder End ---


Run('C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VirtualBox.exe')
_WinWaitActivate("Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager","")
MouseClick("left",359,625,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Nov6_2014enhanced Clone - Settings","")
MouseClick("left",619,110,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Add Share","")
MouseClick("left",278,51,1)
MouseClick("left",202,79,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Browse For Folder","Select a directory")
MouseMove(407,130)
MouseDown("left")
MouseMove(403,105)
MouseUp("left")
MouseClick("left",60,98,1)
MouseClick("left",291,291,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Add Share","")
MouseClick("left",171,213,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Nov6_2014enhanced Clone - Settings","")
MouseClick("left",447,451,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager","")
MouseMove(1138,21)
MouseDown("left")
MouseMove(1139,21)
MouseUp("left")
#endregion --- Au3Recorder generated code End ---


I haven't used Virtualbox, Au3Recorder, or SciTE4, but just looking at the
script it seems to me that the primary issue is that the mouse is being
moved to specific coordinates and being clicked, but it has no awareness of
what it's clicking on.

My thought is don't try to do this with a mouse macro because surely there's
a better way, but I'll have to defer to the specialists here. Let's see what
others have to say.

BTW, how did you end up here, in a Win 7 group?

--

Char Jackson
  #5  
Old April 28th 15, 09:21 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Ab
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default trouble with script generated by AU3Recorder within SciTE4

On 04/28/2015 04:12 PM, Char Jackson wrote:
On Tue, 28 Apr 2015 15:19:09 -0400, Ab wrote:

On 04/28/2015 02:46 PM, Char Jackson wrote:
On Tue, 28 Apr 2015 14:21:20 -0400, Ab wrote:


I recently used SciTE4AutoIt3 to create a script for opening a program,
performing a couple of tasks within the program via mouse clicks and
file selection, and then closing the program. I used the AU3Recorder
within SciTE to create the script. Although creation went well, I
notice that sometimes, the wrong files are clicked on and opened. Why
is this and how can I get the script to open the same files identically
each time?

Post your script. Not having seen it, my guess is that the script is simply
opening the Nth file without regard to its filename, so as files are added
or removed the Nth file becomes different.

In some cases, programs can be opened with command line arguments that tell
them which file they should open, so that may be an option rather than
trying to select the file from within the program.

The answer probably depends on what, exactly, you're trying to do.

Ok, thanks, what I'm trying to do is automate the process to allow
sharing a Win file or location (in this case, my Win desktop) with my
Ubuntu VM. My host is Win Xp with Ubuntu guest. The process involves
opening up the Virtualbox control program and then through a series of
mouse clicks, allowing the file or location to be shared. Here is the
script:

#region --- Internal functions Au3Recorder Start ---
Func _Au3RecordSetup()
Opt('WinWaitDelay',300)
Opt('WinDetectHiddenText',1)
Opt('MouseCoordMode',0)
Local $aResult = DllCall('User32.dll', 'int', 'GetKeyboardLayoutNameW',
'wstr', '')
If $aResult[1] '00000409' Then
MsgBox(64, 'Warning', 'Recording has been done under a different
Keyboard layout' & @CRLF & '(00000409-' & $aResult[1] & ')')
EndIf

EndFunc

Func _WinWaitActivate($title,$text,$timeout=0)
WinWait($title,$text,$timeout)
If Not WinActive($title,$text) Then WinActivate($title,$text)
WinWaitActive($title,$text,$timeout)
EndFunc

_AU3RecordSetup()
#endregion --- Internal functions Au3Recorder End ---


Run('C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VirtualBox.exe')
_WinWaitActivate("Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager","")
MouseClick("left",359,625,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Nov6_2014enhanced Clone - Settings","")
MouseClick("left",619,110,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Add Share","")
MouseClick("left",278,51,1)
MouseClick("left",202,79,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Browse For Folder","Select a directory")
MouseMove(407,130)
MouseDown("left")
MouseMove(403,105)
MouseUp("left")
MouseClick("left",60,98,1)
MouseClick("left",291,291,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Add Share","")
MouseClick("left",171,213,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Nov6_2014enhanced Clone - Settings","")
MouseClick("left",447,451,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager","")
MouseMove(1138,21)
MouseDown("left")
MouseMove(1139,21)
MouseUp("left")
#endregion --- Au3Recorder generated code End ---


I haven't used Virtualbox, Au3Recorder, or SciTE4, but just looking at the
script it seems to me that the primary issue is that the mouse is being
moved to specific coordinates and being clicked, but it has no awareness of
what it's clicking on.

My thought is don't try to do this with a mouse macro because surely there's
a better way, but I'll have to defer to the specialists here. Let's see what
others have to say.

BTW, how did you end up here, in a Win 7 group?


I'm brand new to scripts, so it was fun to create something automated
like the above which pretty much works but with this minor inconsistent
issue. I ended up here because I have visited before with nearly OT
subjects, but find quite a few knowledgeable folks here. And I have
used the group archives as a great reference too.


  #6  
Old April 30th 15, 02:13 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Ab
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default trouble with script generated by AU3Recorder within SciTE4

On 04/28/2015 04:21 PM, Ab wrote:
On 04/28/2015 04:12 PM, Char Jackson wrote:
On Tue, 28 Apr 2015 15:19:09 -0400, Ab wrote:

On 04/28/2015 02:46 PM, Char Jackson wrote:
On Tue, 28 Apr 2015 14:21:20 -0400, Ab wrote:


I recently used SciTE4AutoIt3 to create a script for opening a
program,
performing a couple of tasks within the program via mouse clicks and
file selection, and then closing the program. I used the AU3Recorder
within SciTE to create the script. Although creation went well, I
notice that sometimes, the wrong files are clicked on and opened. Why
is this and how can I get the script to open the same files
identically
each time?

Post your script. Not having seen it, my guess is that the script is
simply
opening the Nth file without regard to its filename, so as files are
added
or removed the Nth file becomes different.

In some cases, programs can be opened with command line arguments
that tell
them which file they should open, so that may be an option rather than
trying to select the file from within the program.

The answer probably depends on what, exactly, you're trying to do.

Ok, thanks, what I'm trying to do is automate the process to allow
sharing a Win file or location (in this case, my Win desktop) with my
Ubuntu VM. My host is Win Xp with Ubuntu guest. The process involves
opening up the Virtualbox control program and then through a series of
mouse clicks, allowing the file or location to be shared. Here is the
script:

#region --- Internal functions Au3Recorder Start ---
Func _Au3RecordSetup()
Opt('WinWaitDelay',300)
Opt('WinDetectHiddenText',1)
Opt('MouseCoordMode',0)
Local $aResult = DllCall('User32.dll', 'int', 'GetKeyboardLayoutNameW',
'wstr', '')
If $aResult[1] '00000409' Then
MsgBox(64, 'Warning', 'Recording has been done under a different
Keyboard layout' & @CRLF & '(00000409-' & $aResult[1] & ')')
EndIf

EndFunc

Func _WinWaitActivate($title,$text,$timeout=0)
WinWait($title,$text,$timeout)
If Not WinActive($title,$text) Then WinActivate($title,$text)
WinWaitActive($title,$text,$timeout)
EndFunc

_AU3RecordSetup()
#endregion --- Internal functions Au3Recorder End ---


Run('C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VirtualBox.exe')
_WinWaitActivate("Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager","")
MouseClick("left",359,625,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Nov6_2014enhanced Clone - Settings","")
MouseClick("left",619,110,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Add Share","")
MouseClick("left",278,51,1)
MouseClick("left",202,79,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Browse For Folder","Select a directory")
MouseMove(407,130)
MouseDown("left")
MouseMove(403,105)
MouseUp("left")
MouseClick("left",60,98,1)
MouseClick("left",291,291,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Add Share","")
MouseClick("left",171,213,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Nov6_2014enhanced Clone - Settings","")
MouseClick("left",447,451,1)
_WinWaitActivate("Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager","")
MouseMove(1138,21)
MouseDown("left")
MouseMove(1139,21)
MouseUp("left")
#endregion --- Au3Recorder generated code End ---


I haven't used Virtualbox, Au3Recorder, or SciTE4, but just looking at
the
script it seems to me that the primary issue is that the mouse is being
moved to specific coordinates and being clicked, but it has no
awareness of
what it's clicking on.

My thought is don't try to do this with a mouse macro because surely
there's
a better way, but I'll have to defer to the specialists here. Let's
see what
others have to say.

BTW, how did you end up here, in a Win 7 group?


I'm brand new to scripts, so it was fun to create something automated
like the above which pretty much works but with this minor inconsistent
issue. I ended up here because I have visited before with nearly OT
subjects, but find quite a few knowledgeable folks here. And I have
used the group archives as a great reference too.

After using the script for a couple of days, I find that , for the most
part, it seems to be working. Where I start having errors or hesitation
is when another program is running at the same time the script is, seems
to slow it down, make it so I have to complete it manually, etc.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.