A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows XP Help and Support
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

programs stop reponding



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old April 12th 04, 09:54 AM
roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskbar but

not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck
Ads
  #47  
Old April 12th 04, 10:53 AM
roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskbar but

not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck
  #48  
Old April 12th 04, 11:54 AM
roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskbar but

not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck
  #49  
Old April 12th 04, 12:57 PM
roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskbar but

not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck
  #50  
Old April 13th 04, 05:24 PM
roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskbar but

not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck
  #51  
Old April 13th 04, 05:48 PM
Kim M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding



----- roger wrote: -----

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskba

r but not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck

Roger,

I am having a similar problem, however, my computer will not open IExplorer at all. I have tried several ways of getting this program to open but am unable to accomplish it. I am able to connect to the internet because my MSN IM still connects and m
y network tray icon says that I am connected. The problem just appeared out of nowhere one day about an hour after I was using it normally. Now all that happens when I try to open these things is that the hour glass appears for a few seconds but nothing
else happens. When I try opening the control panel, the desktop disappears for a second then reappears without any change. Please let me know if there is anyway of fixing this problem or at least connecting to the internet to try the above solutions.

Thanks, Kim M.

  #52  
Old April 13th 04, 06:24 PM
Lance Joiner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Try going to internet options..advanced tab..uncheck enable third party
extensions. Boot to safe mode and try it if you have to.

"Wayne" wrote in message
...
Hi everyone
Ihave the same problem on 2 different computers one only ie 6 quits
responding on the other exactly as you describe i have done all the
online scans ad adware and spybots nothing helps i can only run non
microsopft programs use netscape to get on line i suspect a virus that
no one knows how to fix this problem seems to be getting wider spread
according to the news groups



  #53  
Old April 13th 04, 07:03 PM
Kim M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding



----- roger wrote: -----

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskba

r but not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck

Roger,

I am having a similar problem, however, my computer will not open IExplorer at all. I have tried several ways of getting this program to open but am unable to accomplish it. I am able to connect to the internet because my MSN IM still connects and m
y network tray icon says that I am connected. The problem just appeared out of nowhere one day about an hour after I was using it normally. Now all that happens when I try to open these things is that the hour glass appears for a few seconds but nothing
else happens. When I try opening the control panel, the desktop disappears for a second then reappears without any change. Please let me know if there is anyway of fixing this problem or at least connecting to the internet to try the above solutions.

Thanks, Kim M.

  #54  
Old April 13th 04, 07:32 PM
roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 17:21:02 -0700, Kim M.
wrote:


Roger,

I am having a similar problem, however, my computer will not open IExplorer at all. I have tried several ways of getting this program to open but am unable to accomplish it. I am able to connect to the internet because my MSN IM still connects and

my network tray icon says that I am connected. The problem just appeared out of nowhere one day about an hour after I was using it normally. Now all that happens when I try to open these things is that the hour glass appears for a few seconds but nothing
else happens. When I try opening the control panel, the desktop disappears for a second then reappears without any change. Please let me know if there is anyway of fixing this problem or at least connecting to the internet to try the above solutions.


Thanks, Kim M.

Kim, follow Lance's advice. Go to Control Panel (In safe mode (F8) if
necessary) Internet Options Advanced options tab and check 'Unable
third-party browser extensions.'

The problem might be caused by an Explorer extension (malware) that
loads with it and crashes.

Also check this program that deals with BHO (Browser helper objects)
BHODemon, available at
http://www.definitivesolutions.com/bhodemon.htm .

It does not need installing - simply unzip and run the EXE program. It
is easy to use. It will find the hijackware DLL files, and give you
the ability to disable them.

Hope this helps.
  #55  
Old April 13th 04, 08:00 PM
Esteban R.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

I am finally done with all the scans. I did have spyware and and one virus; I had to download a "Panda trial version" to eliminate it cause none of the others were able to (including my own norton). If I don't post anything else here is becasue the proble
m was fixed. thanks roger!
  #56  
Old April 13th 04, 08:04 PM
Lance Joiner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Try going to internet options..advanced tab..uncheck enable third party
extensions. Boot to safe mode and try it if you have to.

"Wayne" wrote in message
...
Hi everyone
Ihave the same problem on 2 different computers one only ie 6 quits
responding on the other exactly as you describe i have done all the
online scans ad adware and spybots nothing helps i can only run non
microsopft programs use netscape to get on line i suspect a virus that
no one knows how to fix this problem seems to be getting wider spread
according to the news groups



  #57  
Old April 13th 04, 08:14 PM
roger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Hi Esteban.

Glad to help, and also glad you got your problem fixed :-)
Thank you for your feedback.

On Sat, 10 Apr 2004 11:16:02 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

I am finally done with all the scans. I did have spyware and and one virus; I had to download a "Panda trial version" to eliminate it cause none of the others were able to (including my own norton). If I don't post anything else here is becasue the probl

em was fixed. thanks roger!

  #58  
Old April 13th 04, 08:17 PM
Kim M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding



----- roger wrote: -----

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskba

r but not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck

Roger,

I am having a similar problem, however, my computer will not open IExplorer at all. I have tried several ways of getting this program to open but am unable to accomplish it. I am able to connect to the internet because my MSN IM still connects and m
y network tray icon says that I am connected. The problem just appeared out of nowhere one day about an hour after I was using it normally. Now all that happens when I try to open these things is that the hour glass appears for a few seconds but nothing
else happens. When I try opening the control panel, the desktop disappears for a second then reappears without any change. Please let me know if there is anyway of fixing this problem or at least connecting to the internet to try the above solutions.

Thanks, Kim M.

  #59  
Old April 13th 04, 09:29 PM
Kim M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding



----- roger wrote: -----

Hi Esteban,

On Fri, 9 Apr 2004 13:11:03 -0700, "Esteban R."
wrote:

Hi.
Sometimes after using the computer for a while, or sometimes soon after I strat it up; I owuld try to open IE, dreamweaver, etc, any kind of program but none will come up; if I try openning the Task Manager, the green square will appear in the taskba

r but not in the desktop. When this occur, i can still shut down the computer normally (sort of).
This use to happen every once in a while, now is every day.
Help will be most welcome! thanks.


Perform an online scan for viruses with one of the following:
Trend Micro HouseCall:
http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

Panda Active Scan:
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/

RAV AntiVirus Online Virus Scan
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

BitDefender Free Online Virus Scan
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/license.php

Perform a scan for malware using updated versions of ad-aware and
spybot

Ad-aware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

Spybot S&D
http://www.safer-networking.org/inde...&page=download

Good luck

Roger,

I am having a similar problem, however, my computer will not open IExplorer at all. I have tried several ways of getting this program to open but am unable to accomplish it. I am able to connect to the internet because my MSN IM still connects and m
y network tray icon says that I am connected. The problem just appeared out of nowhere one day about an hour after I was using it normally. Now all that happens when I try to open these things is that the hour glass appears for a few seconds but nothing
else happens. When I try opening the control panel, the desktop disappears for a second then reappears without any change. Please let me know if there is anyway of fixing this problem or at least connecting to the internet to try the above solutions.

Thanks, Kim M.

  #60  
Old April 13th 04, 10:14 PM
Lance Joiner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default programs stop reponding

Try going to internet options..advanced tab..uncheck enable third party
extensions. Boot to safe mode and try it if you have to.

"Wayne" wrote in message
...
Hi everyone
Ihave the same problem on 2 different computers one only ie 6 quits
responding on the other exactly as you describe i have done all the
online scans ad adware and spybots nothing helps i can only run non
microsopft programs use netscape to get on line i suspect a virus that
no one knows how to fix this problem seems to be getting wider spread
according to the news groups



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.