A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows Service Pack 2
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

SP2 CD + SP1a product code ?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 22nd 05, 07:27 PM
Cuzman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default SP2 CD + SP1a product code ?


I have a full retail version of XP Pro, and the CD is the SP1a version.
I've had this on an 80GB drive for a couple of years, but now is the
time to upgrade my hard drive.

I'm going to be re-installing XP Pro onto my new 200GB drive, and I'll
obviously be using my existing product code. My friend has an XP Pro
SP2 CD, but will my product code work with this? It would make things a
lot easier if I can install from that disc, instead of having to update
my version from SP1a.
Ads
  #2  
Old August 22nd 05, 07:31 PM
Carey Frisch [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

All you need to do is make a slipstreamed version of your
current Windows XP.

Either one of the following utilities makes slipstreaming
(integrating) SP2 into Windows XP a breeze:

Windows Slipstreaming and Bootable CD Guide
http://www.msfn.org/articles.php?act...showarticle=49

or

AutoStreamer 1.0.33 (preferred)
http://www.wbeta.com/comments.php?shownews=1063&catid=2

Windows XP Service Pack 2 - Direct Download
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Cuzman" wrote:

| I have a full retail version of XP Pro, and the CD is the SP1a version.
| I've had this on an 80GB drive for a couple of years, but now is the
| time to upgrade my hard drive.
|
| I'm going to be re-installing XP Pro onto my new 200GB drive, and I'll
| obviously be using my existing product code. My friend has an XP Pro
| SP2 CD, but will my product code work with this? It would make things a
| lot easier if I can install from that disc, instead of having to update
| my version from SP1a.
  #3  
Old August 22nd 05, 08:48 PM
Donald McDaniel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 22 Aug 2005 19:27:01 +0100, Cuzman
wrote:


I have a full retail version of XP Pro, and the CD is the SP1a version.
I've had this on an 80GB drive for a couple of years, but now is the
time to upgrade my hard drive.

I'm going to be re-installing XP Pro onto my new 200GB drive, and I'll
obviously be using my existing product code. My friend has an XP Pro
SP2 CD, but will my product code work with this? It would make things a
lot easier if I can install from that disc, instead of having to update
my version from SP1a.


That really depends on whether your friend's XP distribution media kit
is the same "type" as your XP distribution media kit.

To illustrate:
There are several types of distribution media.
1) "Full Retail" This will require a CD key which was provided with
any "Full Retail" distribution media kit. Can't use a CD key from ANY
other type of media, nor can you use ANY other type of XP distribution
media with your "Full Retail" key. This applies specifically to YOUR
particular distribution kit and CD key, since you report that this is
the type of distribution media kit you possess.
2) "Retail Upgrade" You MUST provide an XP installation disc and CD
key which was provided in any "Retail Upgrade" distribution media
kit.
3) "Volume License" This will require a Volume License CD key. NO
other CD Key provided with ANY OTHER type of XP distribution media
will work, nor will any other type of distribution media work with a
Volume license key. These kits usually don't need to be activated.
4) OEM "Restore disc" or other XP installation disc provided by an
OEM. This will require an OEM CD key. Only CD keys provided with
THAT brand of OEM distribution media will work. (That is, you MUST
use a Restore disc provided by the OEM who sold you the computer.)
Restore discs are usually "BIOS LOCKED", and do not require activation
or insertion of a CD key when using them. Such installations almost
always must be activated via telephone, if they are even activated by
the enduser.
5) So-called "Full OEM". This key will only work with so-called "Full
OEM" kits.

IF you borrow your friend's XP installation media for the install, and
YOUR XP distribution media is NOT the same type, you will be unable to
use your CD key to install and activate XP. YOU MUST use a CD key
provided with the SAME type of distribution media.

By the way, there is no need to "update" your copy of SP1a, or even
have SP1a installed, since SP2 contains all the fixes of SP1a. Just
install XP clean, then install SP2. However, your "Full Retail"
distribution media is slipstreamed with SP1a. There is no way to
extricate SP1a from the installation, nor will you be unable to
uninstall SP1a after the installation, so you MUST "update" your SP1a
installation by applying the SP2 update, unless you use a DIFFERENT
type of install disc (e.g. same type as yours, but without SP1a
slipstreamed, or with SP2 slipstreamed instead of SP1a)

Donald L McDaniel
Please reply to the original thread
so that conversations may be kept in order
================================================== =====
  #4  
Old August 22nd 05, 10:37 PM
Gerry
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi, Carey, it certainly is not a breeze. I have Sonic's "DLA" and "Record
Now" installed on my PC and unless I buy Nero it does not seem to work for
me.
Gerry

"Carey Frisch [MVP]

" wrote in message
...
All you need to do is make a slipstreamed version of your
current Windows XP.

Either one of the following utilities makes slipstreaming
(integrating) SP2 into Windows XP a breeze:

Windows Slipstreaming and Bootable CD Guide
http://www.msfn.org/articles.php?act...showarticle=49

or

AutoStreamer 1.0.33 (preferred)
http://www.wbeta.com/comments.php?shownews=1063&catid=2

Windows XP Service Pack 2 - Direct Download
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Cuzman" wrote:

| I have a full retail version of XP Pro, and the CD is the SP1a version.
| I've had this on an 80GB drive for a couple of years, but now is the
| time to upgrade my hard drive.
|
| I'm going to be re-installing XP Pro onto my new 200GB drive, and I'll
| obviously be using my existing product code. My friend has an XP Pro
| SP2 CD, but will my product code work with this? It would make things a
| lot easier if I can install from that disc, instead of having to update
| my version from SP1a.



  #5  
Old August 23rd 05, 03:57 AM
Jaymon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You can also use an imaging software like Norton Ghost, Drive Image, True
Image to copy/clone the entire c: drive partition to the new HD. Set the new
drive as the slave and create your partitions and just use the first
partition as the destination for the copy/clone..Then reset the new HD as
master and remove the old drive or set it up as a slave and format it's first
partition to remove the original XP.

j;-)

"Cuzman" wrote:


I have a full retail version of XP Pro, and the CD is the SP1a version.
I've had this on an 80GB drive for a couple of years, but now is the
time to upgrade my hard drive.

I'm going to be re-installing XP Pro onto my new 200GB drive, and I'll
obviously be using my existing product code. My friend has an XP Pro
SP2 CD, but will my product code work with this? It would make things a
lot easier if I can install from that disc, instead of having to update
my version from SP1a.

  #6  
Old August 23rd 05, 01:33 PM
Peter A. Stavrakoglou
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Gerry" [email protected] wrote in message
...
Hi, Carey, it certainly is not a breeze. I have Sonic's "DLA" and "Record
Now" installed on my PC and unless I buy Nero it does not seem to work for
me.
Gerry


I used AutoStreamer to slipstream my original XP Pro disk with SP2. It was
a breeze.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Product key hassles with Windows XP SP2 Angus Comber Windows Service Pack 2 2 June 21st 05 11:54 PM
SFC is useless Steve N. General XP issues or comments 24 March 8th 05 08:33 PM
Product Key on slipstreamed XP Pro SP2 ? Jeff Windows Service Pack 2 4 January 21st 05 11:51 AM
XP SP2 fails to install at Checking Product Key stage Terry Jones Windows Service Pack 2 3 September 18th 04 11:44 PM
Unable to activate Office with product code maggie ted New Users to Windows XP 2 September 18th 04 10:36 PM






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.