A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows XP Help and Support
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 5th 15, 11:10 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 208
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

I reinstalled XP pro 32bit after a HD failure on
a new HD, but windows update says the page cannot
be displayed.

Using the version 6 internet explorer.

How do I get past this roadblock?

I'd like to get the SP3 updates for the version on
the restore DVD but can't get windows update to
work.

I take it something about the old v6 doesn't like
the windows update site.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
Ads
  #2  
Old September 6th 15, 03:05 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Linux User
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 66
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

On 05/09/15 23:10, Ron Hardin wrote:
I reinstalled XP pro 32bit after a HD failure on
a new HD, but windows update says the page cannot
be displayed.

Using the version 6 internet explorer.

How do I get past this roadblock?

I'd like to get the SP3 updates for the version on
the restore DVD but can't get windows update to
work.

I take it something about the old v6 doesn't like
the windows update site.



XP SP3:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=24

You have SP1a or SP2 right? If not then you might need to install
something from here first:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/322389

After this updates should be straight forward.

You might need IE8 to work for other updates.


  #3  
Old September 6th 15, 04:28 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 208
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

Linux User wrote:

On 05/09/15 23:10, Ron Hardin wrote:
I reinstalled XP pro 32bit after a HD failure on
a new HD, but windows update says the page cannot
be displayed.

Using the version 6 internet explorer.

How do I get past this roadblock?

I'd like to get the SP3 updates for the version on
the restore DVD but can't get windows update to
work.

I take it something about the old v6 doesn't like
the windows update site.


XP SP3:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=24

You have SP1a or SP2 right? If not then you might need to install
something from here first:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/322389

After this updates should be straight forward.

You might need IE8 to work for other updates.


No, I have SP3. The problem is IE6 doesn't work with microsoft update. I think this is
new.

Explain the "something from here first," which sounds like the right path.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #4  
Old September 6th 15, 05:13 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Linux User
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 66
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

On 06/09/15 04:28, Ron Hardin wrote:
Linux User wrote:

On 05/09/15 23:10, Ron Hardin wrote:
I reinstalled XP pro 32bit after a HD failure on
a new HD, but windows update says the page cannot
be displayed.

Using the version 6 internet explorer.

How do I get past this roadblock?

I'd like to get the SP3 updates for the version on
the restore DVD but can't get windows update to
work.

I take it something about the old v6 doesn't like
the windows update site.


XP SP3:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=24

You have SP1a or SP2 right? If not then you might need to install
something from here first:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/322389

After this updates should be straight forward.

You might need IE8 to work for other updates.


No, I have SP3. The problem is IE6 doesn't work with microsoft update. I think this is
new.

Explain the "something from here first," which sounds like the right path.



I was simply suggesting that you need SP1a or SP2. I suggest install
this small file and your SP3 will go smoothly:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=19751

This will install SP1a and then you can install SP3.

After that you need to download IE8 from he

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/internet-explorer-8-details.aspx

If the above link doesn't work then try from he

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=IE8+download&ie=UTF-8&sa=Search&channel=fe&client=browser-ubuntu&hl=en-gb&gws_rd=cr,ssl&ei=tbzrVYiZO-3X7Aa166SQBA

The first item is for the official IE8 download from Microsoft. I am
using Linux so I can't test the links as Microsoft doesn't allow me to
download IE8 for obvious reasons.


  #5  
Old September 6th 15, 12:10 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 208
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

Linux User wrote:

No, I have SP3. The problem is IE6 doesn't work with microsoft update. I think this is
new.

Explain the "something from here first," which sounds like the right path.


I was simply suggesting that you need SP1a or SP2. I suggest install
this small file and your SP3 will go smoothly:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=19751

This will install SP1a and then you can install SP3.

After that you need to download IE8 from he

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/internet-explorer-8-details.aspx


The microsoft link says I need to upgrade to windows 7 or up, which is new.
Apparently Microsoft is trying to make XP more obsolete than it should be by
refusing to apply fixes from SP3 to the end of support.

That is, if you use your reinstall disc for XP after a crash, you're stuck with
the SP3 that was on the disc. No upgrade to 2014.

(I don't understand why I'd want to go back to SP2 or SP1a and then go back to SP3)??
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #6  
Old September 6th 15, 06:54 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Linux User
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 66
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

On 06/09/15 12:10, Ron Hardin wrote:
Linux User wrote:



(I don't understand why I'd want to go back to SP2 or SP1a and then go back to SP3)??


Are you saying that your machine has already got SP3 installed? If so
then you DON'T need SP1a or SP2.

Assuming you already have SP3, you now need to install IE8 . Without
IE8 you won't get any updates. Have you tried installing IE8 yet? I
suggest try it first otherwise please re-post your question on:

news://news.aioe.org:119/microsoft.public.windowsxp.general

or simply search for microsoft.public.windowsxp.general in your news portal.

Good luck.


  #7  
Old September 6th 15, 07:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 208
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

Linux User wrote:

On 06/09/15 12:10, Ron Hardin wrote:
Linux User wrote:



(I don't understand why I'd want to go back to SP2 or SP1a and then go back to SP3)??


Are you saying that your machine has already got SP3 installed? If so
then you DON'T need SP1a or SP2.

Assuming you already have SP3, you now need to install IE8 . Without
IE8 you won't get any updates. Have you tried installing IE8 yet? I
suggest try it first otherwise please re-post your question on:

news://news.aioe.org:119/microsoft.public.windowsxp.general

or simply search for microsoft.public.windowsxp.general in your news portal.

Good luck.


Right, then we're on the same page.

Microsoft recently changed their pages not to let you download ie8 unless you're
running win7 or higher.

Unless somebody has a link to a file that retrieves it from microsoft that they're
just not linking to.

recently = it worked last year but not now.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #8  
Old September 6th 15, 09:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Cash[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

Ron Hardin wrote:
I reinstalled XP pro 32bit after a HD failure on
a new HD, but windows update says the page cannot
be displayed.

Using the version 6 internet explorer.

How do I get past this roadblock?

I'd like to get the SP3 updates for the version on
the restore DVD but can't get windows update to
work.

I take it something about the old v6 doesn't like
the windows update site.


Ron,

A few days ago, after a computer crash, I had to reinstall XP Home SP2 and
had problems connecting to the update site until I installed SP3. Once that
was done, all went without a hitch downloadind and installing over a 130
updates.

Whilst this is not your version of Windows, I hope this helps?

Cash


  #9  
Old September 6th 15, 09:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Cash[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

Ron Hardin wrote:
I reinstalled XP pro 32bit after a HD failure on
a new HD, but windows update says the page cannot
be displayed.

Using the version 6 internet explorer.

How do I get past this roadblock?

I'd like to get the SP3 updates for the version on
the restore DVD but can't get windows update to
work.

I take it something about the old v6 doesn't like
the windows update site.


Ron,

A few days ago, after a computer crash, I had to reinstall XP Home SP2 and
had problems connecting to the update site until I installed SP3. Once that
was done, all went without a hitch downloadind and installing over a 130
updates.

Whilst this is not your version of Windows, I hope this helps?

Cash



  #10  
Old September 7th 15, 01:02 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 208
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

Cash wrote:

Ron Hardin wrote:
I reinstalled XP pro 32bit after a HD failure on
a new HD, but windows update says the page cannot
be displayed.

Using the version 6 internet explorer.

How do I get past this roadblock?

I'd like to get the SP3 updates for the version on
the restore DVD but can't get windows update to
work.

I take it something about the old v6 doesn't like
the windows update site.


Ron,

A few days ago, after a computer crash, I had to reinstall XP Home SP2 and
had problems connecting to the update site until I installed SP3. Once that
was done, all went without a hitch downloadind and installing over a 130
updates.

Whilst this is not your version of Windows, I hope this helps?

Cash


I think this is new, that IE6 won't work with windows update at all (can't display the
page redirection).

As a result, SP3, which comes with IE6, can't get the updates, which includes an update
to IE8.

In addition, microsoft seems to have disabled getting IE8 for XP. I think this is a
play to force you to buy win7 or higher when your HD crashes and you try to reinstall
XP from the reinstall disk you have.

It used to work, just to install SP3 and then do windows update. No longer, unless
somebody knows a way.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
  #11  
Old September 7th 15, 12:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
John Dulak[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 61
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

On 9/6/2015 8:02 PM, Ron Hardin wrote:
Cash wrote:

Ron Hardin wrote:
I reinstalled XP pro 32bit after a HD failure on
a new HD, but windows update says the page cannot
be displayed.

Using the version 6 internet explorer.

How do I get past this roadblock?

I'd like to get the SP3 updates for the version on
the restore DVD but can't get windows update to
work.

I take it something about the old v6 doesn't like
the windows update site.


Ron,

A few days ago, after a computer crash, I had to reinstall XP Home SP2 and
had problems connecting to the update site until I installed SP3. Once that
was done, all went without a hitch downloadind and installing over a 130
updates.

Whilst this is not your version of Windows, I hope this helps?

Cash


I think this is new, that IE6 won't work with windows update at all (can't display the
page redirection).

As a result, SP3, which comes with IE6, can't get the updates, which includes an update
to IE8.

In addition, microsoft seems to have disabled getting IE8 for XP. I think this is a
play to force you to buy win7 or higher when your HD crashes and you try to reinstall
XP from the reinstall disk you have.

It used to work, just to install SP3 and then do windows update. No longer, unless
somebody knows a way.


Ron:

Try he

http://www.oldversion.com/windows/in...xplorer-8-0-xp

John

--
\\\||///
------------------o000----(o)(o)----000o----------------
----------------------------()--------------------------
'' Madness takes its toll - Please have exact change. ''

  #12  
Old September 8th 15, 10:24 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
hp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

On 9/6/2015 7:10 AM, Ron Hardin wrote:
Linux User wrote:

No, I have SP3. The problem is IE6 doesn't work with microsoft
update. I think this is new.


Explain the "something from here first," which sounds like the
right path.



The last several times I installed XP (x64 mainly) But your experience
has merit for this.

The first thing I needed to 'update' was 'get away from IE6'

I used a search 'internet explorer 8 offline installer' to get a IE 8
that I could install.
Once IE8 was in the computer, I next installed an 'offline installer'
version of an antivirus program.
THEN off to the MS site to get all the win XP updates

Years ago MS strongly suggested to web site developers to DROP all
IE 6 support and coding. to reinforce their desire to 'Kill' IE6 they
also dropped all coding that supported IE6 in their sites.
This might have happened before win 7 was out.

(Psst, it was suggested that Most all the servers running the MS updates
stuff was actually running on linux machines.)

SO, given that MS has a history of dropping support for their own
products I wouldn't be suprised at the dropping of XP update support
unless you learn what it takes to get around some of their restrictions.
I think I had to dig out the 'No way IE6 was gonna work' information
before I learned to just skip trying with the default IE6 that is
installed with XP.
  #13  
Old September 9th 15, 02:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Ron Hardin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 208
Default XP 32 bit reinistalled on new HD, how to do windows updates?

hp wrote:

On 9/6/2015 7:10 AM, Ron Hardin wrote:
Linux User wrote:

No, I have SP3. The problem is IE6 doesn't work with microsoft
update. I think this is new.


Explain the "something from here first," which sounds like the
right path.


The last several times I installed XP (x64 mainly) But your experience
has merit for this.

The first thing I needed to 'update' was 'get away from IE6'

I used a search 'internet explorer 8 offline installer' to get a IE 8
that I could install.
Once IE8 was in the computer, I next installed an 'offline installer'
version of an antivirus program.
THEN off to the MS site to get all the win XP updates

Years ago MS strongly suggested to web site developers to DROP all
IE 6 support and coding. to reinforce their desire to 'Kill' IE6 they
also dropped all coding that supported IE6 in their sites.
This might have happened before win 7 was out.

(Psst, it was suggested that Most all the servers running the MS updates
stuff was actually running on linux machines.)

SO, given that MS has a history of dropping support for their own
products I wouldn't be suprised at the dropping of XP update support
unless you learn what it takes to get around some of their restrictions.
I think I had to dig out the 'No way IE6 was gonna work' information
before I learned to just skip trying with the default IE6 that is
installed with XP.


wsusoffline.net solved my problem. Download v9.2.1 , goto Legacy products,
and you can get all the updates for XP, in updategenerator.exe.

Then run client/updateinstaller.exe on the target machine.

Along the way it installs IE8.

There were about a half-dozen additional updates that IE8 found after it all
ended, presumably the 0-day bug that MS fixed in May 2014.

The XP updates take a tiny bit more than 2gb on a USB flash drive, and no
internet access is required.

A very handy USB stick to have around for when you have to reinstall XP after a
crash, particularly now that the update set won't change again.
--


On the internet, nobody knows you're a jerk.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.