A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Performance and Maintainance of XP
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Application Non Responding (Vista)



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 26th 10, 09:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Silvio Galli
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

I am running Vista Home Premium SP2 and few days ago I added a new
graphic board. I also installed some new software and my system became
very slow. The system worked well and fast for just 30-40 seconds and
then freezed for 2-3 minutes with the windows of the application
saying "Non responding" ("Non risponde" in italian)

I was not able to understand the cause of the problem, so I decided to
reinstall from scratch.

I now have a system where Vista is just reinstalled with all the
current updates. I didn't see any problem related to the updates
installation.
But still I see from time to time some windows "Non Respondig"

On the system I have installed the drivers of the new graphic board. I
don't see any error or conflict of the boards. I had tried to run both
boards with two videos: it was funny and it worked.
Now I have disabled the original board that is on the mother board,
but with this board enabled or not, it doesn't make any difference.

On the system I have now installed only Firefox, Kaspersky 9 and Adobe
Reader. So it should be a very light system. Still I have some freezes
that became more severe while I was installing these few softwares or
while I was scanning the system for viruses.

I have just 2 Gb of RAM, but the system was working well before the
installation of the new graphic board, and at that time it was really
overlaoded with application, including the same Kaspersky 9, Firefox
and Adobe Reader plus many others.

How can I check if it is a problem of conflict of Graphic board, RAM,
conflict between some Windows updates and my applications or failure
of some other component?

Could somebody advise me on some diagnostic tool or process to follow?

Thanks in advance,
Silvio
Ads
  #2  
Old May 26th 10, 09:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Tom Willett[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 530
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

Would it not make sense to post a Vista question to a Vista newsgroup
instead of Windows XP newsgroup?

"Silvio Galli" wrote in message
...
:I am running Vista Home Premium SP2 and few days ago I added a new
: graphic board. I also installed some new software and my system became
: very slow. The system worked well and fast for just 30-40 seconds and
: then freezed for 2-3 minutes with the windows of the application
: saying "Non responding" ("Non risponde" in italian)
:
: I was not able to understand the cause of the problem, so I decided to
: reinstall from scratch.
:
: I now have a system where Vista is just reinstalled with all the
: current updates. I didn't see any problem related to the updates
: installation.
: But still I see from time to time some windows "Non Respondig"
:
: On the system I have installed the drivers of the new graphic board. I
: don't see any error or conflict of the boards. I had tried to run both
: boards with two videos: it was funny and it worked.
: Now I have disabled the original board that is on the mother board,
: but with this board enabled or not, it doesn't make any difference.
:
: On the system I have now installed only Firefox, Kaspersky 9 and Adobe
: Reader. So it should be a very light system. Still I have some freezes
: that became more severe while I was installing these few softwares or
: while I was scanning the system for viruses.
:
: I have just 2 Gb of RAM, but the system was working well before the
: installation of the new graphic board, and at that time it was really
: overlaoded with application, including the same Kaspersky 9, Firefox
: and Adobe Reader plus many others.
:
: How can I check if it is a problem of conflict of Graphic board, RAM,
: conflict between some Windows updates and my applications or failure
: of some other component?
:
: Could somebody advise me on some diagnostic tool or process to follow?
:
: Thanks in advance,
: Silvio


  #3  
Old May 26th 10, 09:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Tom Willett[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 530
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

Would it not make sense to post a Vista question to a Vista newsgroup
instead of Windows XP newsgroup?

"Silvio Galli" wrote in message
...
:I am running Vista Home Premium SP2 and few days ago I added a new
: graphic board. I also installed some new software and my system became
: very slow. The system worked well and fast for just 30-40 seconds and
: then freezed for 2-3 minutes with the windows of the application
: saying "Non responding" ("Non risponde" in italian)
:
: I was not able to understand the cause of the problem, so I decided to
: reinstall from scratch.
:
: I now have a system where Vista is just reinstalled with all the
: current updates. I didn't see any problem related to the updates
: installation.
: But still I see from time to time some windows "Non Respondig"
:
: On the system I have installed the drivers of the new graphic board. I
: don't see any error or conflict of the boards. I had tried to run both
: boards with two videos: it was funny and it worked.
: Now I have disabled the original board that is on the mother board,
: but with this board enabled or not, it doesn't make any difference.
:
: On the system I have now installed only Firefox, Kaspersky 9 and Adobe
: Reader. So it should be a very light system. Still I have some freezes
: that became more severe while I was installing these few softwares or
: while I was scanning the system for viruses.
:
: I have just 2 Gb of RAM, but the system was working well before the
: installation of the new graphic board, and at that time it was really
: overlaoded with application, including the same Kaspersky 9, Firefox
: and Adobe Reader plus many others.
:
: How can I check if it is a problem of conflict of Graphic board, RAM,
: conflict between some Windows updates and my applications or failure
: of some other component?
:
: Could somebody advise me on some diagnostic tool or process to follow?
:
: Thanks in advance,
: Silvio


  #4  
Old May 27th 10, 03:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Al[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 42
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

Silvio - Note from your post " am running Vista Home Premium SP2 and few
days ago I added a new graphic board. I also installed some new software and
my system became very slow...." - first logical troubleshooting step would
have been to run "System Restore" (of no value now) to reverse effects of
installing new board and software.

What is the "not responding" application? Use Task manager to what process
is "hogging" CPU utilization.

  #5  
Old May 27th 10, 03:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Al[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 42
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

Silvio - Note from your post " am running Vista Home Premium SP2 and few
days ago I added a new graphic board. I also installed some new software and
my system became very slow...." - first logical troubleshooting step would
have been to run "System Restore" (of no value now) to reverse effects of
installing new board and software.

What is the "not responding" application? Use Task manager to what process
is "hogging" CPU utilization.

  #6  
Old May 27th 10, 07:35 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Silvio Galli
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

On Wed, 26 May 2010 22:25:38 -0400, "Al" wrote:

What is the "not responding" application? Use Task manager to what process
is "hogging" CPU utilization.


Anyone from time to time. It could be an Explorer window, a Firefox
refreshing, even the Task manager may freeze for few seconds
In Task manager I don't notice high CPU usage: I see an overall use of
maximun 30% and the single applicaltion load up to 10%.
If I run Resource Monitor, I see moments of 100% usage and heavy disk
access, probably swapping, but I cannot detect which application is
the culprit.

I have also seen the other post asking me to move on a Vista forum: do
you want that I move the thread or can we continue here?

Silvio
  #7  
Old May 27th 10, 07:35 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Silvio Galli
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

On Wed, 26 May 2010 22:25:38 -0400, "Al" wrote:

What is the "not responding" application? Use Task manager to what process
is "hogging" CPU utilization.


Anyone from time to time. It could be an Explorer window, a Firefox
refreshing, even the Task manager may freeze for few seconds
In Task manager I don't notice high CPU usage: I see an overall use of
maximun 30% and the single applicaltion load up to 10%.
If I run Resource Monitor, I see moments of 100% usage and heavy disk
access, probably swapping, but I cannot detect which application is
the culprit.

I have also seen the other post asking me to move on a Vista forum: do
you want that I move the thread or can we continue here?

Silvio
  #8  
Old June 1st 10, 08:13 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Chuck
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 637
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

On 5/26/2010 4:47 PM, Silvio Galli wrote:
I am running Vista Home Premium SP2 and few days ago I added a new
graphic board. I also installed some new software and my system became
very slow. The system worked well and fast for just 30-40 seconds and
then freezed for 2-3 minutes with the windows of the application
saying "Non responding" ("Non risponde" in italian)

I was not able to understand the cause of the problem, so I decided to
reinstall from scratch.

I now have a system where Vista is just reinstalled with all the
current updates. I didn't see any problem related to the updates
installation.
But still I see from time to time some windows "Non Respondig"

On the system I have installed the drivers of the new graphic board. I
don't see any error or conflict of the boards. I had tried to run both
boards with two videos: it was funny and it worked.
Now I have disabled the original board that is on the mother board,
but with this board enabled or not, it doesn't make any difference.

On the system I have now installed only Firefox, Kaspersky 9 and Adobe
Reader. So it should be a very light system. Still I have some freezes
that became more severe while I was installing these few softwares or
while I was scanning the system for viruses.

I have just 2 Gb of RAM, but the system was working well before the
installation of the new graphic board, and at that time it was really
overlaoded with application, including the same Kaspersky 9, Firefox
and Adobe Reader plus many others.

How can I check if it is a problem of conflict of Graphic board, RAM,
conflict between some Windows updates and my applications or failure
of some other component?

Could somebody advise me on some diagnostic tool or process to follow?

Thanks in advance,
Silvio


The general logic is to return the system to the hardware configuration
before the slowdown. This will involve re enabling the on board graphics
chip, shutting down, and removing the added graphics card.

What was the graphics card make and model, and what is the rated wattage
of the power supply?

Certain versions of Firefox have caused or were related to slowdown/not
responding problems on one of my systems (Laptop, Vista Ultimate)

In a few cases, utilities supplied with graphics cards have
compatibility problems, and can slow a system down.

Try turning Aero off, along with most of the fancy whistles and bells,
and use windows "classic".

Some "off the shelf" Desktop systems have a power supply that is not
adequate for the current crop of medium to high end video cards. This
can cause a video card or the whole computer to fail in some manner.
  #9  
Old June 1st 10, 08:13 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.perform_maintain
Chuck
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 637
Default Application Non Responding (Vista)

On 5/26/2010 4:47 PM, Silvio Galli wrote:
I am running Vista Home Premium SP2 and few days ago I added a new
graphic board. I also installed some new software and my system became
very slow. The system worked well and fast for just 30-40 seconds and
then freezed for 2-3 minutes with the windows of the application
saying "Non responding" ("Non risponde" in italian)

I was not able to understand the cause of the problem, so I decided to
reinstall from scratch.

I now have a system where Vista is just reinstalled with all the
current updates. I didn't see any problem related to the updates
installation.
But still I see from time to time some windows "Non Respondig"

On the system I have installed the drivers of the new graphic board. I
don't see any error or conflict of the boards. I had tried to run both
boards with two videos: it was funny and it worked.
Now I have disabled the original board that is on the mother board,
but with this board enabled or not, it doesn't make any difference.

On the system I have now installed only Firefox, Kaspersky 9 and Adobe
Reader. So it should be a very light system. Still I have some freezes
that became more severe while I was installing these few softwares or
while I was scanning the system for viruses.

I have just 2 Gb of RAM, but the system was working well before the
installation of the new graphic board, and at that time it was really
overlaoded with application, including the same Kaspersky 9, Firefox
and Adobe Reader plus many others.

How can I check if it is a problem of conflict of Graphic board, RAM,
conflict between some Windows updates and my applications or failure
of some other component?

Could somebody advise me on some diagnostic tool or process to follow?

Thanks in advance,
Silvio


The general logic is to return the system to the hardware configuration
before the slowdown. This will involve re enabling the on board graphics
chip, shutting down, and removing the added graphics card.

What was the graphics card make and model, and what is the rated wattage
of the power supply?

Certain versions of Firefox have caused or were related to slowdown/not
responding problems on one of my systems (Laptop, Vista Ultimate)

In a few cases, utilities supplied with graphics cards have
compatibility problems, and can slow a system down.

Try turning Aero off, along with most of the fancy whistles and bells,
and use windows "classic".

Some "off the shelf" Desktop systems have a power supply that is not
adequate for the current crop of medium to high end video cards. This
can cause a video card or the whole computer to fail in some manner.
  #10  
Old June 8th 10, 07:42 AM
mjecson mjecson is offline
Registered User
 
First recorded activity by PCbanter: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I think non responding message is for the processes which are heavy for the processor and can't run easily as it seems. So basically you should it in the task manager which can give you the full support for the processes and all the access rights also. Shut down all the extra processes which are not useful for the PC.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.