A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows XP Help and Support
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

old gateway running xp pro need directions how to use restore cds



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 19th 14, 04:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
DJW
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 70
Default old gateway running xp pro need directions how to use restore cds

I have a gateway e4100 desktop tower I need to restore it back to the first time I used it. I took made the three restore CDs and the one driver CD. How do I use them? Are there online directions how to use them? I was going back to a restore point on this computer running windows XP Pro when the power went out. Now it will not go to any restore points with out an error and the computer is not acting right. That is why I want to redo the system.

Ads
  #2  
Old September 20th 14, 03:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Stef
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 364
Default old gateway running xp pro need directions how to use restore cds

DJW wrote:

I have a gateway e4100 desktop tower I need to restore it back to the
first time I used it. I took made the three restore CDs and the one
driver CD. How do I use them? Are there online directions how to use
them? I was going back to a restore point on this computer running
windows XP Pro when the power went out. Now it will not go to any
restore points with out an error and the computer is not acting right.
That is why I want to redo the system.


First the I'd do is pull out the user manual. Look for "Restoring to
System Defaults" or something similar. If you didn't get an install CD
with the system, it probably has a hidden parttion on the hard drive for
reinstalling the OS as you originally got it.

If you don't have a user manual, check with Gateway Online Support for
one or instructions on resetting the system to its original
configuration.

If no luck, then check online.

Are the 3 Restore CDs you burned really restore CDs or OS backups?

Stef


  #3  
Old September 20th 14, 05:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
DJW
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 70
Default old gateway running xp pro need directions how to use restore cds

On Friday, September 19, 2014 9:27:16 AM UTC-6, DJW wrote:
I have a gateway e4100 desktop tower I need to restore it back to the first time I used it. I took made the three restore CDs and the one driver CD. How do I use them? Are there online directions how to use them? I was going back to a restore point on this computer running windows XP Pro when the power went out. Now it will not go to any restore points with out an error and the computer is not acting right. That is why I want to redo the system..


when I made them the OS was calling them restore I thought if in at start up or after they mounted I could auto or manually start a recover process. Gateway I guess is now owned by acer and no help so far with tech support or can i find pages on the net where a step by step is laid out. I tried system restore and system recovery in controls panels and it either does nothing or errors not sure if the partition where windows put restore parts was not screwed up also when the power went out during a system back to restore point i was trying to do.
  #4  
Old September 20th 14, 10:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Cash[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13
Default old gateway running xp pro need directions how to use restore cds

DJW wrote:
I have a gateway e4100 desktop tower I need to restore it back to the
first time I used it. I took made the three restore CDs and the one
driver CD. How do I use them? Are there online directions how to use
them? I was going back to a restore point on this computer running
windows XP Pro when the power went out. Now it will not go to any
restore points with out an error and the computer is not acting
right. That is why I want to redo the system.


Try googling for "gateway e4100 desktop restore procedure" (without the
quotes) and yo will find around 40 items that may be of use to you


  #5  
Old September 21st 14, 10:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
philo[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 984
Default old gateway running xp pro need directions how to use restorecds

On 09/19/2014 10:27 AM, DJW wrote:
I have a gateway e4100 desktop tower I need to restore it back to the first time I used it. I took made the three restore CDs and the one driver CD. How do I use them? Are there online directions how to use them? I was going back to a restore point on this computer running windows XP Pro when the power went out. Now it will not go to any restore points with out an error and the computer is not acting right. That is why I want to redo the system.




http://smallbusiness.chron.com/use-g...isc-56513.html
  #6  
Old September 22nd 14, 08:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
DJW
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 70
Default old gateway running xp pro need directions how to use restore cds

On Friday, September 19, 2014 10:27:16 AM UTC-5, DJW wrote:
I have a gateway e4100 desktop tower I need to restore it back to the first time I used it. I took made the three restore CDs and the one driver CD. How do I use them? Are there online directions how to use them? I was going back to a restore point on this computer running windows XP Pro when the power went out. Now it will not go to any restore points with out an error and the computer is not acting right. That is why I want to redo the system..


Ok I finally got it to start its process but it got in a loop and just would not move on to xp booting from the HDD. So I put in an old windows 98se floppy and booted and ran fdisk and deleted the primary partition. I tried it again and it ran the restore process mostly I think from restore partition because it only asked for disc one of the three. I think now I can get things back to normal after I install drivers for the scanner and printer and other stuff.
I wanted to try a what if the HDD went bad so I swapped it for a 10 GB HDD and started the restore process. It ran and this time asked for all three disks. But when it was time to make the primary partition and install xp from the restore partition I believe it made and loaded while it asked for the three cds. Well when it got to that it looped and told me it could not. Now at the beginning it would have been nice or when it error to tell me why. Is 10 GB not a big enough HDD? The original drive was in the low 80 GBs

Additional question is how big a HDD would it need or am I seeing another problem using an HDD not originally OEM equipment?
  #7  
Old September 23rd 14, 03:27 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
philo[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 984
Default old gateway running xp pro need directions how to use restorecds

On 09/22/2014 02:05 PM, DJW wrote:
On Friday, September 19, 2014 10:27:16 AM UTC-5, DJW wrote:
I have a gateway e4100 desktop tower I need to restore it back to the first time I used it. I took made the three restore CDs and the one driver CD. How do I use them? Are there online directions how to use them? I was going back to a restore point on this computer running windows XP Pro when the power went out. Now it will not go to any restore points with out an error and the computer is not acting right. That is why I want to redo the system.


Ok I finally got it to start its process but it got in a loop and just would not move on to xp booting from the HDD. So I put in an old windows 98se floppy and booted and ran fdisk and deleted the primary partition. I tried it again and it ran the restore process mostly I think from restore partition because it only asked for disc one of the three. I think now I can get things back to normal after I install drivers for the scanner and printer and other stuff.
I wanted to try a what if the HDD went bad so I swapped it for a 10 GB HDD and started the restore process. It ran and this time asked for all three disks. But when it was time to make the primary partition and install xp from the restore partition I believe it made and loaded while it asked for the three cds. Well when it got to that it looped and told me it could not. Now at the beginning it would have been nice or when it error to tell me why. Is 10 GB not a big enough HDD? The original drive was in the low 80 GBs

Additional question is how big a HDD would it need or am I seeing another problem using an HDD not originally OEM equipment?



If your drive has a restore partition it would of course not be present
on another drive.

Though 10 gigs is pretty small, it's big enough to install XP
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.