A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows XP Help and Support
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Setting up Dual Boot XP and 2000



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 25th 14, 05:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Snuffy \Hub Cap\ McKinney
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Setting up Dual Boot XP and 2000

Hi folks,

I have a machine with 2000 and need to install XP as a 2nd indept OS. When I power up, I need to be able to select 2000 or XP.

I know there are ways to simulate 2000 with XP, but this in this special situation, I either have to have indept boots, or set up a 2nd computer for XP.

Thanks in advance.


Ads
  #2  
Old December 25th 14, 08:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Stef
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 364
Default Setting up Dual Boot XP and 2000

Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

I have a machine with 2000 and need to install XP as a 2nd indept OS. When I
power up, I need to be able to select 2000 or XP.

I know there are ways to simulate 2000 with XP, but this in this special
situation, I either have to have indept boots, or set up a 2nd
computer for XP.

Thanks in advance.


There are lots of ways of doing this.

This will give you a basic overview::

http://www.win.net/optimator/WinWiz/Tips/DualBoot.htm

However, I would do a lot more reading before actually doing it. Just
do a Google search for "dual boot windows."

One very important thing: Backup or create a clone of your W2k
installation in case you screw up.

Good Luck

Stef
  #3  
Old December 25th 14, 10:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Snuffy \Hub Cap\ McKinney
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Setting up Dual Boot XP and 2000

"Stef" wrote in message ...
Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

I have a machine with 2000 and need to install XP as a 2nd indept OS. When I
power up, I need to be able to select 2000 or XP.

I know there are ways to simulate 2000 with XP, but this in this special
situation, I either have to have indept boots, or set up a 2nd
computer for XP.

Thanks in advance.


There are lots of ways of doing this.

This will give you a basic overview::

http://www.win.net/optimator/WinWiz/Tips/DualBoot.htm

However, I would do a lot more reading before actually doing it. Just
do a Google search for "dual boot windows."

One very important thing: Backup or create a clone of your W2k
installation in case you screw up.

Good Luck

Stef


Thanks, Stef ! That's exactly what I need to read. I'll post back when it's completed -- won't be for a few days though.

  #4  
Old December 26th 14, 07:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Stef
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 364
Default Setting up Dual Boot XP and 2000

Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

"Stef" wrote in message ...
Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

I have a machine with 2000 and need to install XP as a 2nd indept OS. When I
power up, I need to be able to select 2000 or XP.

I know there are ways to simulate 2000 with XP, but this in this special
situation, I either have to have indept boots, or set up a 2nd
computer for XP.

Thanks in advance.


There are lots of ways of doing this.

This will give you a basic overview::

http://www.win.net/optimator/WinWiz/Tips/DualBoot.htm

However, I would do a lot more reading before actually doing it. Just
do a Google search for "dual boot windows."

One very important thing: Backup or create a clone of your W2k
installation in case you screw up.

Good Luck

Stef


Thanks, Stef ! That's exactly what I need to read. I'll post back when it's completed -- won't be for a few days though.


Those instructions are from 13 years ago when XP was first
released. With all the service packs and updates since, "today's" XP is
different. So, be cautious and don't blindly follow the instructions.

Stef
  #5  
Old December 26th 14, 10:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Snuffy \Hub Cap\ McKinney
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Setting up Dual Boot XP and 2000

"Stef" wrote in message ...
Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

"Stef" wrote in message ...
Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

I have a machine with 2000 and need to install XP as a 2nd indept OS. When I
power up, I need to be able to select 2000 or XP.

I know there are ways to simulate 2000 with XP, but this in this special
situation, I either have to have indept boots, or set up a 2nd
computer for XP.

Thanks in advance.

There are lots of ways of doing this.

This will give you a basic overview::

http://www.win.net/optimator/WinWiz/Tips/DualBoot.htm

However, I would do a lot more reading before actually doing it. Just
do a Google search for "dual boot windows."

One very important thing: Backup or create a clone of your W2k
installation in case you screw up.

Good Luck

Stef


Thanks, Stef ! That's exactly what I need to read. I'll post back when it's completed -- won't be for a few days though.


Those instructions are from 13 years ago when XP was first
released. With all the service packs and updates since, "today's" XP is
different. So, be cautious and don't blindly follow the instructions.

Stef


OK, will do. That reminds me - before I even start.... the version I have is SP1. I don't mind spending a few days downloading updates, but since support ended a few months ago, do you know if those updates are even still online? (I have a Win 7 OEM DVD also, but I can use this computer with XP. To upgrade for Win 7, I would have to get a new one.)

  #6  
Old December 27th 14, 06:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Stef
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 364
Default Setting up Dual Boot XP and 2000

Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

"Stef" wrote in message ...
Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

"Stef" wrote in message ...
Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:

I have a machine with 2000 and need to install XP as a 2nd indept OS. When I
power up, I need to be able to select 2000 or XP.

I know there are ways to simulate 2000 with XP, but this in this special
situation, I either have to have indept boots, or set up a 2nd
computer for XP.

Thanks in advance.

There are lots of ways of doing this.

This will give you a basic overview::

http://www.win.net/optimator/WinWiz/Tips/DualBoot.htm

However, I would do a lot more reading before actually doing it. Just
do a Google search for "dual boot windows."

One very important thing: Backup or create a clone of your W2k
installation in case you screw up.

Good Luck

Stef

Thanks, Stef ! That's exactly what I need to read. I'll post back when it's completed -- won't be for a few days though.


Those instructions are from 13 years ago when XP was first
released. With all the service packs and updates since, "today's" XP is
different. So, be cautious and don't blindly follow the instructions.

Stef


OK, will do. That reminds me - before I even start.... the version I have is
SP1. I don't mind spending a few days downloading updates, but since
support ended a few months ago, do you know if those updates are even
still online? (I have a Win 7 OEM DVD also, but I can use this
computer with XP. To upgrade for Win 7, I would have to get a new one.)



SP! should install fine, but just to be safe check the hardware specs of
your machine and what drivers are needed. You may have to download
drivers.

Updates for XP should still be available from MS. Whether you
can update automatically online, I don't know. Last time I check -- 5
months ago -- Microsoft's Update utility still worked.

I doubt if W7 will install and/or run effectively on a 13 year old
machine, if only that drivers for the hardware might not exist, but also
too slow a CPU or not enough RAM. Check the specs on W7, but double
the numbers to be safe. When MS says "these are the specs to install
and run the OS," they mean EXACTLY that and just barely. You'll start
hitting virtual memory if you run apps or try to do anything useful.
Gotta love Microsoft's marketing department. ;-)

Stef
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.