A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows Service Pack 2
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

How will be affected XP SP2 after chaging the mainboard>



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 18th 05, 11:51 AM
Freemind
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How will be affected XP SP2 after chaging the mainboard>

Hi!
I work now on Windows XP 2002 SP2
I want to change my mainboard cause it's somehow old, supports SDRAM not
DDR, but works pretty well.
i want after removing it to install a new one with DDR 512 Mb or more.
Is that 100% necessary to REINSTALL Windows or i can somehov "repair the
drivers"?
If It is necessary, will i be able to Activate (and/or) Register my Windows
XP after that? (now it is already activated)
Thanks a lot.
Ads
  #2  
Old August 18th 05, 12:19 PM
Will Denny
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi

If you change the mobo, you will have to perform a 'Repair' install of XP.
Please have a look at the following article:

"Windows Product Activation (WPA) on Windows XP"
http://aumha.org/win5/a/wpa.htm

--

Will Denny
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
Please reply to the News Groups


"Freemind" wrote in message
...
Hi!
I work now on Windows XP 2002 SP2
I want to change my mainboard cause it's somehow old, supports SDRAM not
DDR, but works pretty well.
i want after removing it to install a new one with DDR 512 Mb or more.
Is that 100% necessary to REINSTALL Windows or i can somehov "repair the
drivers"?
If It is necessary, will i be able to Activate (and/or) Register my
Windows
XP after that? (now it is already activated)
Thanks a lot.



  #3  
Old August 19th 05, 03:42 AM
peterk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You will need to do a repair installation.........the problems come up if
you have SP2 installed but only have an original version of XP without SP2.
SP2 wiil not let you overwrite it with an older version.
The workaround is to make a Slipstreamed version of XP SP2
http://www.nu2.nu/bootcd/
scroll down to Bootable Windows XP installation CD-Rom (with SP1)
Follow the instructions and substitute SP2 for SP1
works very well.
peterk

--
Never trust a computer you can't throw out the window. - Steve Wozniak
"Freemind" wrote in message
...
Hi!
I work now on Windows XP 2002 SP2
I want to change my mainboard cause it's somehow old, supports SDRAM not
DDR, but works pretty well.
i want after removing it to install a new one with DDR 512 Mb or more.
Is that 100% necessary to REINSTALL Windows or i can somehov "repair the
drivers"?
If It is necessary, will i be able to Activate (and/or) Register my
Windows
XP after that? (now it is already activated)
Thanks a lot.



  #4  
Old August 19th 05, 03:48 AM
Ron Martell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Freemind" wrote:

Hi!
I work now on Windows XP 2002 SP2
I want to change my mainboard cause it's somehow old, supports SDRAM not
DDR, but works pretty well.
i want after removing it to install a new one with DDR 512 Mb or more.
Is that 100% necessary to REINSTALL Windows or i can somehov "repair the
drivers"?
If It is necessary, will i be able to Activate (and/or) Register my Windows
XP after that? (now it is already activated)
Thanks a lot.



If your Windows XP is an OEM version that came bundled with the
computer when it was new and if it is one of the "BIOS Locked" OEM
versions then it will not be possible to replace the motherboard
unless the new motherboard comes from the same manufacturer/assembler
as the original computer.

To check if your Windows XP is an OEM version open Control Panel -
System - General and look at the 20 character product i.d. code that
is shown on the last line of the "Registered to" section. If the
second segment of that code reads OEM then you have an OEM version of
Windows XP.

To check if your OEM version of Windows XP is "BIOS Locked" use Start
- All Programs - Accessories - System Tools and look for an "Activate
Windows" item on the menu. If there is no Activate Windows item then
your OEM version of Windows XP is BIOS Locked.

Note 1: The 20 character product i.d. code is not the same as the 25
character Product Key that is used to install Windows XP.

Note 2: OEM versions are not the only instance where there may not be
an Activate Windows entry on the System Tools menu. Volume Licensed
versions will also not have this entry.

Good luck

Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP - XP SP2 Hangs on COLD BOOT (Sorry, LONG) Al Waschka Windows Service Pack 2 22 June 6th 05 02:57 AM
SP2 64 bit version? Rob Windows Service Pack 2 14 December 8th 04 12:03 PM
'spare' SP2 stuff after uninstall k2lim Windows Service Pack 2 3 October 7th 04 04:26 PM
Splash Screen Changed After SP2 David W. Windows Service Pack 2 20 September 20th 04 09:22 PM
XP SP2 and system restore? jan nop General XP issues or comments 0 September 11th 04 12:39 PM






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.