A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows Service Pack 2
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

SP2 prevents usin our XP-CDs?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 24th 05, 06:30 AM
~ FreeSpirit ~
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default SP2 prevents usin our XP-CDs?

This is from the www.webtree.ca:

"Build an XP-SP2 Recovery Disc
Slipstreaming Service Pack 2
Here's the problem: Once you upgrade to SP2, you won't ever be able to
install the original version of Windows XP over it; you have thus rendered
the ancient practice of reinstalling the operating system impossible."

What happens if I have to reformat and reinstall my OS? All I have is the
CDs from HP with XP-Home/SP1. Should I uninstall SP2 to prevent that from
happening?

FS~

Ads
  #2  
Old August 24th 05, 07:14 AM
usasma
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nope, not true. May be difficult but not impossible. Here's 2 options that
will work quite well (I've done them both on my SP2 system with my SP1a CD):
1) a repair install
2) a format and reinstall.

Ya don't need much more than that!

"~ FreeSpirit ~" wrote:

This is from the www.webtree.ca:

"Build an XP-SP2 Recovery Disc
Slipstreaming Service Pack 2
Here's the problem: Once you upgrade to SP2, you won't ever be able to
install the original version of Windows XP over it; you have thus rendered
the ancient practice of reinstalling the operating system impossible."

What happens if I have to reformat and reinstall my OS? All I have is the
CDs from HP with XP-Home/SP1. Should I uninstall SP2 to prevent that from
happening?

FS~


  #3  
Old August 24th 05, 08:13 AM
~ FreeSpirit ~
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"usasma" wrote in message
...
Nope, not true. May be difficult but not impossible. Here's 2 options
that
will work quite well (I've done them both on my SP2 system with my SP1a
CD):
1) a repair install
2) a format and reinstall.


Ya don't need much more than that!

==============
## How did you do it if it's not possible with SP2 on your system? What do
you mean difficult? What made it difficult?

FS~


"~ FreeSpirit ~" wrote:

This is from the www.webtree.ca:

"Build an XP-SP2 Recovery Disc
Slipstreaming Service Pack 2
Here's the problem: Once you upgrade to SP2, you won't ever be able to
install the original version of Windows XP over it; you have thus
rendered
the ancient practice of reinstalling the operating system impossible."

What happens if I have to reformat and reinstall my OS? All I have is
the
CDs from HP with XP-Home/SP1. Should I uninstall SP2 to prevent that
from
happening?

FS~



  #4  
Old August 24th 05, 08:44 AM
Sjonia Harper [MSFT]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You have some options. The cd's you have from HP should be bootable. Make
sure you change your system bios settings to allow you to boot from your CD
drive first. You can also create a windows boot disk that will allow you
boot your computer with CD support and do another install.

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;314079
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;310994
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;311073

--
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
Please do not send email directly to this alias as it is used for newsgroup
participation only.
"~ FreeSpirit ~" wrote in message
...

"usasma" wrote in message
...
Nope, not true. May be difficult but not impossible. Here's 2 options
that
will work quite well (I've done them both on my SP2 system with my SP1a
CD):
1) a repair install
2) a format and reinstall.


Ya don't need much more than that!

==============
## How did you do it if it's not possible with SP2 on your system? What
do you mean difficult? What made it difficult?

FS~


"~ FreeSpirit ~" wrote:

This is from the www.webtree.ca:

"Build an XP-SP2 Recovery Disc
Slipstreaming Service Pack 2
Here's the problem: Once you upgrade to SP2, you won't ever be able to
install the original version of Windows XP over it; you have thus
rendered
the ancient practice of reinstalling the operating system impossible."

What happens if I have to reformat and reinstall my OS? All I have is
the
CDs from HP with XP-Home/SP1. Should I uninstall SP2 to prevent that
from
happening?

FS~





  #5  
Old August 24th 05, 06:26 PM
Harry Ohrn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You can remove SP2 by running a Repair Install using a version of XP that
doesn't contain SP2. To run a Repair Install simply boot the computer with
your XP CD. When prompted press a key to boot the CD. Select the option to
Install Windows. Press F8 to accept the license agreement. The XP installer
will search for a previous Windows installation. It will then prompt you to
press R to attempt to repair the Windows Installation it found. Press R and
setup will continue. The SP2 files will be removed and replaced by their
original system files. If your XP CD is an old original version it will be
restored back to pre SP1 state. If it contains SP1 then the setup will be
back to pre SP2 however all installed apps and data should be retained. As
always when making a major change like this you need to backup important
data. While a Repair Install is generally smooth there are very rare
occasions when it isn't.

--

Harry Ohrn MS-MVP [Shell/User]
www.webtree.ca/windowsxp


"~ FreeSpirit ~" wrote in message
...
This is from the www.webtree.ca:

"Build an XP-SP2 Recovery Disc
Slipstreaming Service Pack 2
Here's the problem: Once you upgrade to SP2, you won't ever be able to
install the original version of Windows XP over it; you have thus rendered
the ancient practice of reinstalling the operating system impossible."

What happens if I have to reformat and reinstall my OS? All I have is the
CDs from HP with XP-Home/SP1. Should I uninstall SP2 to prevent that from
happening?

FS~



  #6  
Old August 25th 05, 04:53 AM
~ FreeSpirit ~
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Sjonia Harper [MSFT]" wrote in message
...
You have some options. The cd's you have from HP should be bootable.
Make sure you change your system bios settings to allow you to boot from
your CD drive first.


** I don't feel qualified to change the BIOS settings. I'm just an average
PC user.

You can also create a windows boot disk that will allow you
boot your computer with CD support and do another install.


http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;314079


* I'm not sure I understand everything on this website but do believe I made
a floppy boot disk. There are 4 NTLDRs on my PC. The directions on the
site doesn't say WHICH one to put on the floppy. I just guessed and took
C:\I386\ . Is that correct? There are *SIX* Ntdetect's on my PC - why
doesn't the website tell us which one to choose??? How am I supposed to
know I GUESSED the correct one? Am I supposed to copy them all?

FROM PAGE: If the Bootsect.dos file or the Ntbootdd.sys file resides in the
system partition, repeat steps 2 through 4 to copy these files to the boot
disk.

What does that mean in plain English? I doesn't say to copy the
Bootsect.dos file above. What is the "system partition?"

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;310994
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;311073


I'm sorry but I really need non-technical information that applies to my HP
with WXP-Home/SP2 on it. Is there any MS pages for us regular PC users
explaining how to do this without the techie-speak?

TIA

FS~

--
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights. Please do not send email directly to this alias as it is used for
newsgroup participation only.
"~ FreeSpirit ~" wrote in message
...

"usasma" wrote in message
...
Nope, not true. May be difficult but not impossible. Here's 2 options
that
will work quite well (I've done them both on my SP2 system with my SP1a
CD):
1) a repair install
2) a format and reinstall.


Ya don't need much more than that!

==============
## How did you do it if it's not possible with SP2 on your system? What
do you mean difficult? What made it difficult?

FS~


"~ FreeSpirit ~" wrote:

This is from the www.webtree.ca:

"Build an XP-SP2 Recovery Disc
Slipstreaming Service Pack 2
Here's the problem: Once you upgrade to SP2, you won't ever be able to
install the original version of Windows XP over it; you have thus
rendered
the ancient practice of reinstalling the operating system impossible."

What happens if I have to reformat and reinstall my OS? All I have is
the
CDs from HP with XP-Home/SP1. Should I uninstall SP2 to prevent that
from
happening?

FS~






  #7  
Old August 25th 05, 04:57 AM
~ FreeSpirit ~
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Harry Ohrn" wrote in message
...
You can remove SP2 by running a Repair Install using a version of XP that
doesn't contain SP2. To run a Repair Install simply boot the computer with
your XP CD. When prompted press a key to boot the CD. Select the option to
Install Windows. Press F8 to accept the license agreement. The XP
installer
will search for a previous Windows installation. It will then prompt you
to
press R to attempt to repair the Windows Installation it found. Press R
and
setup will continue. The SP2 files will be removed and replaced by their
original system files. If your XP CD is an old original version it will be
restored back to pre SP1 state. If it contains SP1 then the setup will be
back to pre SP2 however all installed apps and data should be retained. As
always when making a major change like this you need to backup important
data. While a Repair Install is generally smooth there are very rare
occasions when it isn't.

===========================
Thank you! :-)) This is most helpful and easy to understand. I just
didn't want to find one day that my PC was useless because my WXP CD with
SP1 was unusable.

And yes, I always do backups. In fact before doing anything "chancy" I back
up everything......

FS~

  #8  
Old August 25th 05, 09:06 PM
Harry Ohrn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"~ FreeSpirit ~" wrote in message
...

"Harry Ohrn" wrote in message
...
You can remove SP2 by running a Repair Install using a version of XP

that
doesn't contain SP2. To run a Repair Install simply boot the computer

with
your XP CD. When prompted press a key to boot the CD. Select the option

to
Install Windows. Press F8 to accept the license agreement. The XP
installer
will search for a previous Windows installation. It will then prompt you
to
press R to attempt to repair the Windows Installation it found. Press R
and
setup will continue. The SP2 files will be removed and replaced by their
original system files. If your XP CD is an old original version it will

be
restored back to pre SP1 state. If it contains SP1 then the setup will

be
back to pre SP2 however all installed apps and data should be retained.

As
always when making a major change like this you need to backup important
data. While a Repair Install is generally smooth there are very rare
occasions when it isn't.

===========================
Thank you! :-)) This is most helpful and easy to understand. I just
didn't want to find one day that my PC was useless because my WXP CD with
SP1 was unusable.

And yes, I always do backups. In fact before doing anything "chancy" I

back
up everything......

FS~



You're welcome
--

Harry Ohrn MS-MVP [Shell/User]
www.webtree.ca/windowsxp




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Slow" Print Dialog with Win XP SP2? Warren J. Hairston Windows Service Pack 2 8 August 24th 05 06:28 AM
Problem about Window XP SP2 firewall and the buildin FTP command ping Performance and Maintainance of XP 0 June 24th 05 07:09 AM
Problem about Window Xp SP2 firewall and the buildin FTP command ping Windows Service Pack 2 2 June 23rd 05 02:47 PM
SP2 Boot failure, system freeze, AGPCPQ.SYS, AGP440.SYS lock-ups. Trebor Windows Service Pack 2 2 October 19th 04 07:55 PM
SP2 Boot failure, system freeze, AGPCPQ.SYS, AGP440.SYS lock-ups. Trebor Windows XP Help and Support 0 October 19th 04 07:35 PM






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.