A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Activation problems



 
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 29th 14, 09:52 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
Al Drake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 793
Default Activation problems

I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
well however Windows still says it is not activated. I have read
countless how to instructions but none about this specific issue.

Anyone?
Ads
  #2  
Old June 29th 14, 10:37 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
dadiOH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,020
Default Activation problems

"Al Drake" wrote in message

I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
well however Windows still says it is not activated. I have read
countless how to instructions but none about this specific issue.

Anyone?


Do it again.

--

dadiOH
____________________________

Winters getting colder? Tired of the rat race?
Taxes out of hand? Maybe just ready for a change?
Check it out... http://www.floridaloghouse.net


  #3  
Old June 29th 14, 11:30 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
Stan Brown
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,834
Default Activation problems

On Sun, 29 Jun 2014 04:52:01 -0400, Al Drake wrote:

I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
well however Windows still says it is not activated. I have read
countless how to instructions but none about this specific issue.

Anyone?


I'm struggling, and failing, to understand why you don't raise this
question with the authority that dispenses the activations.

--
Stan Brown, Oak Road Systems, Tompkins County, New York, USA
http://OakRoadSystems.com
Shikata ga nai...
  #4  
Old June 29th 14, 12:41 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Al Drake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 793
Default Activation problems

On 6/29/2014 5:37 AM, dadiOH wrote:
"Al Drake" wrote in message

I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
well however Windows still says it is not activated. I have read
countless how to instructions but none about this specific issue.

Anyone?


Do it again.

I guess I could try that. I was thinking they had a system that never
failed as it has never let me down in the past. I was wondering if
others have had this happen and can provide some successful experiences
of what the actual problem was. I figured by now there might be known
issues and a definitive answer.
  #5  
Old June 29th 14, 12:47 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Al Drake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 793
Default Activation problems

On 6/29/2014 6:30 AM, Stan Brown wrote:
On Sun, 29 Jun 2014 04:52:01 -0400, Al Drake wrote:

I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
well however Windows still says it is not activated. I have read
countless how to instructions but none about this specific issue.

Anyone?


I'm struggling, and failing, to understand why you don't raise this
question with the authority that dispenses the activations.

It would be nice if it were like contacting the cable company and
someone was actually there to help a paying customer. I have never had
luck getting a real line of communication open from Microsoft. Have you
had to call them about this and can say you don't have to speak to
someone with broken English?


  #6  
Old June 29th 14, 01:46 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Mayayana
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,017
Default Activation problems

|I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
| needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
| well however Windows still says it is not activated.

You were forced? Why wouldn't it work online? Also,
are you aware of the OEM vs full license distinction?
If it's an OEM license and the motherboard is not the
exact same, then according to Microsoft's inventive
licensing you don't have a right to activate. In other
words, if you have a Dell and get a Dell replacement
motherboard it should be fine. If you built it yourself
and replaced the motherboard with an exact match it
should activate. But if you did not buy a full license
(for about $100 more than the OEM version) and you
upgraded the motherboard, then you're out of luck.


  #7  
Old June 29th 14, 01:55 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Alias[_73_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 100
Default Activation problems

Mayayana wrote:
|I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
| needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
| well however Windows still says it is not activated.

You were forced? Why wouldn't it work online? Also,
are you aware of the OEM vs full license distinction?
If it's an OEM license and the motherboard is not the
exact same, then according to Microsoft's inventive
licensing you don't have a right to activate. In other
words, if you have a Dell and get a Dell replacement
motherboard it should be fine. If you built it yourself
and replaced the motherboard with an exact match it
should activate. But if you did not buy a full license
(for about $100 more than the OEM version) and you
upgraded the motherboard, then you're out of luck.



Are you aware of the 120 day slate clean MS does on activation?

--
Alias
  #8  
Old June 29th 14, 02:11 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Al Drake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 793
Default Activation problems

On 6/29/2014 8:46 AM, Mayayana wrote:
|I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
| needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
| well however Windows still says it is not activated.

You were forced? Why wouldn't it work online? Also,
are you aware of the OEM vs full license distinction?
If it's an OEM license and the motherboard is not the
exact same, then according to Microsoft's inventive
licensing you don't have a right to activate. In other
words, if you have a Dell and get a Dell replacement
motherboard it should be fine. If you built it yourself
and replaced the motherboard with an exact match it
should activate. But if you did not buy a full license
(for about $100 more than the OEM version) and you
upgraded the motherboard, then you're out of luck.


I guess I left out some details. I don't have OEM. I purchased several
disks. I have several home built systems. Over time I upgrade them with
CPUs and boards, etc. This is the first time I had problems with the
phone activation not working.
I chose the first recommended option after that.

"More support options

If you didn't find an answer here, try these additional support options.

Ask a person for help
Get a friend to help you over the Internet

If you have computer-savvy friends, use Windows Remote Assistance to let
a friend access your computer over the Internet and help you fix a
problem. You can watch what they're doing and interact with them while
they're helping you.

Ask experts and other Windows users

There are many knowledgeable people in online communities who can answer
questions like yours. The Microsoft Answers website is a great place to
start."

I since was successful in contacting support for chat. I had to
provide my phone number which is something I don't like to do. I agreed
to allow agent to have control of the system and he was successful in
activation. I would have preferred another alternative like having it
work from the start but...........

Thanks for you reply.

Regards.
Al

  #9  
Old June 29th 14, 02:12 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Al Drake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 793
Default Activation problems

On 6/29/2014 8:55 AM, Alias wrote:
Mayayana wrote:
|I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
| needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
| well however Windows still says it is not activated.

You were forced? Why wouldn't it work online? Also,
are you aware of the OEM vs full license distinction?
If it's an OEM license and the motherboard is not the
exact same, then according to Microsoft's inventive
licensing you don't have a right to activate. In other
words, if you have a Dell and get a Dell replacement
motherboard it should be fine. If you built it yourself
and replaced the motherboard with an exact match it
should activate. But if you did not buy a full license
(for about $100 more than the OEM version) and you
upgraded the motherboard, then you're out of luck.



Are you aware of the 120 day slate clean MS does on activation?

I'm not. What is it?
  #10  
Old June 29th 14, 02:14 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Al Drake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 793
Default Activation problems

On 6/29/2014 8:46 AM, Mayayana wrote:
|I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
| needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
| well however Windows still says it is not activated.

You were forced? Why wouldn't it work online? Also,
are you aware of the OEM vs full license distinction?
If it's an OEM license and the motherboard is not the
exact same, then according to Microsoft's inventive
licensing you don't have a right to activate. In other
words, if you have a Dell and get a Dell replacement
motherboard it should be fine. If you built it yourself
and replaced the motherboard with an exact match it
should activate. But if you did not buy a full license
(for about $100 more than the OEM version) and you
upgraded the motherboard, then you're out of luck.


Also, are you telling me that I can only use identical board with
retail that I built from scratch? I can't transfer to another computer
if this one dies completely?


  #11  
Old June 29th 14, 02:41 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Mayayana
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,017
Default Activation problems

| I since was successful in contacting support for chat. I had to
| provide my phone number which is something I don't like to do. I agreed
| to allow agent to have control of the system and he was successful in
| activation. I would have preferred another alternative like having it
| work from the start but...........
|
| Thanks for you reply.
|

And thanks for getting back with the details. That's
a bit worrisome. It sounds like MS may be trying to
make things difficult.

| Also, are you telling me that I can only use identical board with
| retail that I built from scratch? I can't transfer to another computer
| if this one dies completely?

I should have been more clear. OEM refers to premade
computers, but it also refers to the license. If you go
to someplace like buycheapsoftware.com you'll find that
there are different options. It's confusing because MS
tends to say "Full" and "OEM", while advertisers will say
things like "full oem". Fiull OEM is OEM.

The full version license allows for serial install on any
number of machines, as long as it's one at a time. The
OEM license is a creative invention on Microsoft's part.
They claim it's licensed to the motherboard. OEM version
usually costs about $100 less than full. There have been
fights over whether OEM is legal for do-it-yourselfers to
use. I don't remember where it stands at this point, but
you can buy OEM and the dealers ship a small piece of
hardware with the disk, to satisfy the license.

Some people say one can talk them into activating
OEM on a new box. Maybe so. I don't know. But it's
not licensed for that. So if you buy an OEM version
and try to install it to another computer with different
hardware it will likely fail to activate. It's a gamble. You
can save $100 and take a chance, or pay a lot more
and risk that you'll never need to reinstall.


  #12  
Old June 29th 14, 02:53 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Al Drake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 793
Default Activation problems

On 6/29/2014 9:41 AM, Mayayana wrote:
| I since was successful in contacting support for chat. I had to
| provide my phone number which is something I don't like to do. I agreed
| to allow agent to have control of the system and he was successful in
| activation. I would have preferred another alternative like having it
| work from the start but...........
|
| Thanks for you reply.
|

And thanks for getting back with the details. That's
a bit worrisome. It sounds like MS may be trying to
make things difficult.

| Also, are you telling me that I can only use identical board with
| retail that I built from scratch? I can't transfer to another computer
| if this one dies completely?

I should have been more clear. OEM refers to premade
computers, but it also refers to the license. If you go
to someplace like buycheapsoftware.com you'll find that
there are different options. It's confusing because MS
tends to say "Full" and "OEM", while advertisers will say
things like "full oem". Fiull OEM is OEM.

The full version license allows for serial install on any
number of machines, as long as it's one at a time. The
OEM license is a creative invention on Microsoft's part.
They claim it's licensed to the motherboard. OEM version
usually costs about $100 less than full. There have been
fights over whether OEM is legal for do-it-yourselfers to
use. I don't remember where it stands at this point, but
you can buy OEM and the dealers ship a small piece of
hardware with the disk, to satisfy the license.

Some people say one can talk them into activating
OEM on a new box. Maybe so. I don't know. But it's
not licensed for that. So if you buy an OEM version
and try to install it to another computer with different
hardware it will likely fail to activate. It's a gamble. You
can save $100 and take a chance, or pay a lot more
and risk that you'll never need to reinstall.


That was my understanding about OEM and why I decided to purchase
retail. I have never been know to be successful at saving $100. I rather
be free to do what I like at almost any cost.
I do have a laptop that must have OEM installed. I'm not into building
them yet. I enjoy the freedom of putting a desktop inside an aquarium if
I like. I could and have spend a lot of time looking at all the ways
some have them installed.


  #13  
Old June 29th 14, 05:43 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,281
Default Activation problems

Al Drake wrote:
On 6/29/2014 9:41 AM, Mayayana wrote:
| I since was successful in contacting support for chat. I had to
| provide my phone number which is something I don't like to do. I agreed
| to allow agent to have control of the system and he was successful in
| activation. I would have preferred another alternative like having it
| work from the start but...........
|
| Thanks for you reply.
|

And thanks for getting back with the details. That's
a bit worrisome. It sounds like MS may be trying to
make things difficult.

| Also, are you telling me that I can only use identical board with
| retail that I built from scratch? I can't transfer to another computer
| if this one dies completely?

I should have been more clear. OEM refers to premade
computers, but it also refers to the license. If you go
to someplace like buycheapsoftware.com you'll find that
there are different options. It's confusing because MS
tends to say "Full" and "OEM", while advertisers will say
things like "full oem". Fiull OEM is OEM.

The full version license allows for serial install on any
number of machines, as long as it's one at a time. The
OEM license is a creative invention on Microsoft's part.
They claim it's licensed to the motherboard. OEM version
usually costs about $100 less than full. There have been
fights over whether OEM is legal for do-it-yourselfers to
use. I don't remember where it stands at this point, but
you can buy OEM and the dealers ship a small piece of
hardware with the disk, to satisfy the license.

Some people say one can talk them into activating
OEM on a new box. Maybe so. I don't know. But it's
not licensed for that. So if you buy an OEM version
and try to install it to another computer with different
hardware it will likely fail to activate. It's a gamble. You
can save $100 and take a chance, or pay a lot more
and risk that you'll never need to reinstall.


That was my understanding about OEM and why I decided to purchase
retail. I have never been know to be successful at saving $100. I rather
be free to do what I like at almost any cost.
I do have a laptop that must have OEM installed. I'm not into building
them yet. I enjoy the freedom of putting a desktop inside an aquarium if
I like. I could and have spend a lot of time looking at all the ways
some have them installed.


http://support.microsoft.com/gp/cu_sc_prodact_master

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...#1TC=windows-7

"f activation isn't successful, stay on the line to be transferred to
a customer service representative who can assist you."

That's not going to happen in your case, because activation claims
to be successful.

When I installed Windows 7 from scratch in a VM, I tried this to get
to the phone activation menu.

slui 4

That article also points to a forum.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...install?auth=1

They use MGADiag to try to figure out what happened.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...9-c858e8476dce

You will notice that the log from MGADiag, blots out two sets of characters
in the license key. I wouldn't feel comfortable posting that in the open,
but that's just me.

There's an MGADiag here. Download is immediate. And no, I don't know how
to read these, what values are "good" or what values are "Bad". I just
happened to run into that forum doing other searches, and reading that
log seems to be like reading tea leaves. Some of the participants
seem to know exactly what is wrong.

http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=52012

*******

And here, they use msoobe (OutOfBoxExperience) to reset activation.
It gives an opportunity to enter the key again, like a key change.
I have no idea when to use this, what the side effects are.
Just mentioning it as another in a long line of programs.
You can do a key change with "slui 3", but I don't know
if msoobe was for older OSes, and slui is for newer OSes,
or what the story is.

http://www.ehow.com/how_5329129_chan...t-key-oem.html

If I was running "slui 3" or "slui 4", I would first start
a command prompt with "cmd.exe", right-click and select
"Run as Administrator", to ensure that any license related
activities have Administrator privilege.

*******

Support from Microsoft, for activation issues, is supposed
to be free. Because it's their burden on you, you paid
for the product, and activation is supposed to work.
Support for other things comes with terms, such as limited
time support for Service Pack updates (maybe a year after
a Service Pack comes out, and you're having trouble getting
it to take). So somewhere in that massive phone network of
theirs, they are supposed to support activation (with real
people).

Paul
  #14  
Old June 29th 14, 06:30 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Al Drake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 793
Default Activation problems

On 6/29/2014 12:43 PM, Paul wrote:
Al Drake wrote:
On 6/29/2014 9:41 AM, Mayayana wrote:
| I since was successful in contacting support for chat. I had to
| provide my phone number which is something I don't like to do. I
agreed
| to allow agent to have control of the system and he was successful in
| activation. I would have preferred another alternative like having it
| work from the start but...........
|
| Thanks for you reply.
|

And thanks for getting back with the details. That's
a bit worrisome. It sounds like MS may be trying to
make things difficult.

| Also, are you telling me that I can only use identical board with
| retail that I built from scratch? I can't transfer to another computer
| if this one dies completely?

I should have been more clear. OEM refers to premade
computers, but it also refers to the license. If you go
to someplace like buycheapsoftware.com you'll find that
there are different options. It's confusing because MS
tends to say "Full" and "OEM", while advertisers will say
things like "full oem". Fiull OEM is OEM.

The full version license allows for serial install on any
number of machines, as long as it's one at a time. The
OEM license is a creative invention on Microsoft's part.
They claim it's licensed to the motherboard. OEM version
usually costs about $100 less than full. There have been
fights over whether OEM is legal for do-it-yourselfers to
use. I don't remember where it stands at this point, but
you can buy OEM and the dealers ship a small piece of
hardware with the disk, to satisfy the license.

Some people say one can talk them into activating
OEM on a new box. Maybe so. I don't know. But it's
not licensed for that. So if you buy an OEM version
and try to install it to another computer with different
hardware it will likely fail to activate. It's a gamble. You
can save $100 and take a chance, or pay a lot more
and risk that you'll never need to reinstall.


That was my understanding about OEM and why I decided to purchase
retail. I have never been know to be successful at saving $100. I
rather be free to do what I like at almost any cost.
I do have a laptop that must have OEM installed. I'm not into
building them yet. I enjoy the freedom of putting a desktop inside an
aquarium if I like. I could and have spend a lot of time looking at
all the ways some have them installed.


http://support.microsoft.com/gp/cu_sc_prodact_master

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...#1TC=windows-7

"f activation isn't successful, stay on the line to be transferred to
a customer service representative who can assist you."

That's not going to happen in your case, because activation claims
to be successful.

When I installed Windows 7 from scratch in a VM, I tried this to get
to the phone activation menu.

slui 4

That article also points to a forum.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...install?auth=1


They use MGADiag to try to figure out what happened.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...9-c858e8476dce


You will notice that the log from MGADiag, blots out two sets of characters
in the license key. I wouldn't feel comfortable posting that in the open,
but that's just me.

There's an MGADiag here. Download is immediate. And no, I don't know how
to read these, what values are "good" or what values are "Bad". I just
happened to run into that forum doing other searches, and reading that
log seems to be like reading tea leaves. Some of the participants
seem to know exactly what is wrong.

http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=52012

*******

And here, they use msoobe (OutOfBoxExperience) to reset activation.
It gives an opportunity to enter the key again, like a key change.
I have no idea when to use this, what the side effects are.
Just mentioning it as another in a long line of programs.
You can do a key change with "slui 3", but I don't know
if msoobe was for older OSes, and slui is for newer OSes,
or what the story is.

http://www.ehow.com/how_5329129_chan...t-key-oem.html

If I was running "slui 3" or "slui 4", I would first start
a command prompt with "cmd.exe", right-click and select
"Run as Administrator", to ensure that any license related
activities have Administrator privilege.

*******

Support from Microsoft, for activation issues, is supposed
to be free. Because it's their burden on you, you paid
for the product, and activation is supposed to work.
Support for other things comes with terms, such as limited
time support for Service Pack updates (maybe a year after
a Service Pack comes out, and you're having trouble getting
it to take). So somewhere in that massive phone network of
theirs, they are supposed to support activation (with real
people).

Paul

Thanks Paul. I'll add this post to my collection of keepers. I don't
think MS support knew why this was a failure and I also think they don't
have a data base of keys attached to product ID numbers. They don't have
any way of knowing if one machine no longer exists when the activation
is granted again. That's just my take. I asked the guy if he could tell
me which key went with which machine so I could keep a record of my own
so I wouldn't get confused and he replied they had no way to tell.


  #15  
Old June 29th 14, 08:34 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 172
Default Activation problems

On Sun, 29 Jun 2014 04:52:01 -0400, Al Drake
wrote:

I installed a new CPU and Motherboard in a system and got a message I
needed to activate again. I was forced to use phone method which went
well however Windows still says it is not activated. I have read
countless how to instructions but none about this specific issue.

Anyone?


For future reference, use Advanced Tokens Manager. It saves your
activation and lets you restore it to a new install of Windows even if
you have changed hardware. It works. Read about it and download
he

http://joshcellsoftwares.com/product...tokensmanager/

DC
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.