A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

*SIMPLE* process monitor - for peaks?



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old July 18th 18, 04:32 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Mayayana
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,647
Default *SIMPLE* process monitor - for peaks?

"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote

| Agreed on all points! (Where in the US _are_ you?)

Boston.

|
| Trouble is, if I asked you for a list of what I can turn off, you'd be
| reluctant - as I would - to give one, as all our situations are
| different. And also, if one goes around turning off low-level things
| like services, Windows itself isn't as helpful in telling you what needs
| turning back on when something doesn't work as it is when you turn of
| something basic.

Yes. That's the trouble. One needs to know the details.
I turn off DHCP because it was the only service that
I had running that needed to get through the firewall.
By disabling that I can block svchost going out. But that
means I need to use fixed IPs. Not a problem, but someone
else deciding to just shut off DHCP will find their connection
lost.

I think the biggest issue is with remote operation. I
shut down Server, Workstation and all remote functionality.
But some people want to send a job to a remote printer.
They probably need UPNP enabled. Or they want to use
Remote Desktop from work. We can't have ideal security
and ideal functionality at the same time.

| https://www.jsware.net/jsware/xpfix.php5#who1
|
| I seem to have downloaded it on 2015-9-26 (I'm presuming it hasn't
| changed since then). Is it _safe_ to try under 7? And will I get much
| benefit - you know by now my approximate level of competence, and how
| much (or little) research I'm willing to do (has declined quite a bit in
| recent months)?

As you said, it's hard to judge someone else's needs.
I made that utility just to put a lot of basic info in one
place, for myself and others. The difference in 7 will be
that the number of core services has increased. Is it
safe? Don't disable RPC. No, I wouldn't say it's safe.
It helps to get the lay of the land but it won't warn you
if you shut off something you need. Nothing can do that.

I discovered accidentally at one point that I needed
DCOM Server Process Launcher to use WMI. That's nuts.
It means that WMI won't work locally unless it's enabled
for remote use. I would never enable DCOM. Worse, the
services applet doesn't list DSPL as a dependency, which
meant it took awhile to figure out the problem. That's
trhe kind of complication that you [rightly, I think] fear.
Since I use WMI occasionally, I enable both services. For
a non-techie friend I'd probably disable both.


Ads
  #17  
Old July 18th 18, 11:23 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,894
Default *SIMPLE* process monitor - for peaks?

In message , Mayayana
writes:
[]
| https://www.jsware.net/jsware/xpfix.php5#who1
|
| I seem to have downloaded it on 2015-9-26 (I'm presuming it hasn't
| changed since then). Is it _safe_ to try under 7? And will I get much
| benefit - you know by now my approximate level of competence, and how
| much (or little) research I'm willing to do (has declined quite a bit in
| recent months)?

As you said, it's hard to judge someone else's needs.
I made that utility just to put a lot of basic info in one
place, for myself and others. The difference in 7 will be
that the number of core services has increased. Is it
safe? Don't disable RPC. No, I wouldn't say it's safe.


OK, I'll leave well enough alone (-:

It helps to get the lay of the land but it won't warn you
if you shut off something you need. Nothing can do that.

I discovered accidentally at one point that I needed
DCOM Server Process Launcher to use WMI. That's nuts.
It means that WMI won't work locally unless it's enabled
for remote use. I would never enable DCOM. Worse, the
services applet doesn't list DSPL as a dependency, which
meant it took awhile to figure out the problem. That's
trhe kind of complication that you [rightly, I think] fear.


That plus the fact that you're in way deeper than I: I have no idea what
DCOM, WMI, DSPL, HST etc. are. [HST I've added for fun - high-speed
train.]

Since I use WMI occasionally, I enable both services. For
a non-techie friend I'd probably disable both.


I've no idea whether I have it enabled or disabled (-:
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

"I hate the guys that criticize the enterprise of other guys whose enterprise
has made them rise above the guys who criticize!" (W9BRD, former editor of
"How's DX?" column in "QST")
  #18  
Old July 19th 18, 05:26 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Apd
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default *SIMPLE* process monitor - for peaks?

"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote:
That plus the fact that you're in way deeper than I: I have no idea what
DCOM, WMI, DSPL, HST etc. are. [HST I've added for fun - high-speed
train.]

Since I use WMI occasionally, I enable both services. For
a non-techie friend I'd probably disable both.


I've no idea whether I have it enabled or disabled (-:


In view of what you say above...

J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf


....what are you doing with "geek code" in your sig? Perhaps your
geekiness doesn't cover Windows services but it desn't seem to be
anything to do with Unix either.

Actually, it's not like any geek code I've ever seen so maybe it's a
****-take? I'd be interested in its meaning, if anything.


  #19  
Old July 19th 18, 06:01 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,894
Default *SIMPLE* process monitor - for peaks?

In message , Apd writes:
"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote:
That plus the fact that you're in way deeper than I: I have no idea what
DCOM, WMI, DSPL, HST etc. are. [HST I've added for fun - high-speed
train.]

Since I use WMI occasionally, I enable both services. For
a non-techie friend I'd probably disable both.


I've no idea whether I have it enabled or disabled (-:


In view of what you say above...

J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf


...what are you doing with "geek code" in your sig? Perhaps your
geekiness doesn't cover Windows services but it desn't seem to be
anything to do with Unix either.


Windows and Unix don't have a monopoly on geek codes (-:!

Actually, it's not like any geek code I've ever seen so maybe it's a
****-take? I'd be interested in its meaning, if anything.


It's a very light-hearted one: see
http://www.lowfield.co.uk/archers/geek.html for details. (Probably a
decade or two old.) DNAf - Douglas Adams fan.
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

Heaven forbid today's audience should feel bombarded with information or
worse, lectured. Dont'scare the horses by waving facts around.
- David Butcher, RT 2014/11/29-12/5
  #20  
Old July 19th 18, 08:00 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Apd
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default *SIMPLE* process monitor - for peaks?

"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote:
In message , Apd writes:
...what are you doing with "geek code" in your sig? Perhaps your
geekiness doesn't cover Windows services but it desn't seem to be
anything to do with Unix either.


Windows and Unix don't have a monopoly on geek codes (-:!


Ok, but it has computery origins.

Actually, it's not like any geek code I've ever seen so maybe it's a
****-take? I'd be interested in its meaning, if anything.


It's a very light-hearted one: see
http://www.lowfield.co.uk/archers/geek.html for details. (Probably a
decade or two old.) DNAf - Douglas Adams fan.


Argh! I wish I hadn't asked (but thanks for telling me, anyway).
I would be somewhat lower than "Ar-" as I know it's still on and
when I hear that music immediately change the station.

Since I've never listened to an episode I don't know why that music
irks me so much; it's like a warning. Perhaps its something I remember
as a kid growing up in the 1950s - we always hated what our parents
liked although I don't have conscious memory of them being fans. Maybe
its my general hatred of soap operas and indeed, "why is this crap
still on".


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.