A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 10th 18, 09:59 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 45
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

I installed W7 on the antique emachines T3104, and all is fine except
I have no audio. Device Manager says it needs drivers for Multimedia
Audio Controller. Anyone tell me where I can find/download same? I
sure can't find it.
Thanks
J
Ads
  #2  
Old August 10th 18, 10:45 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
KenW[_8_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 35
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

The author has marked this message not to be archived. This post will be deleted on August 17, 2018.

On Fri, 10 Aug 2018 16:59:10 -0400, wrote:

I installed W7 on the antique emachines T3104, and all is fine except
I have no audio. Device Manager says it needs drivers for Multimedia
Audio Controller. Anyone tell me where I can find/download same? I
sure can't find it.
Thanks
J


You have to know what hardware you have. Maybe looking up that model
manual will tell you that.


KenW
  #3  
Old August 11th 18, 02:40 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,828
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

KenW wrote:
On Fri, 10 Aug 2018 16:59:10 -0400, wrote:

I installed W7 on the antique emachines T3104, and all is fine except
I have no audio. Device Manager says it needs drivers for Multimedia
Audio Controller. Anyone tell me where I can find/download same? I
sure can't find it.
Thanks
J


You have to know what hardware you have. Maybe looking up that model
manual will tell you that.


KenW


The trail is pretty damn cold.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/EMACHINES-T...UAAOSwv-NWax6F

Picture showing location of sound chip.

https://s33.postimg.cc/65h33ie27/Loo...audio_chip.gif

I tried and tried to get a chip ID through Google,
but nope. How can they sell so many of those,
and all the Google references are gone ?
Acer might be the last owner of Emachines.

RealTek offers drivers, but you have to classify the
chip a bit first, before you'll get the right
jumbo driver. The chip is either AC'97 or
HDAudio, and you have to know that much about
it, before following the path to the driver here.
A lot of people are downloading those audio drivers.

"PC Audio Codecs"

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...vel=3 &Conn=2

That's assuming it's RealTek. I can't trust a single
Ebay picture for this sort of thing. Look in the lower
left corner of the motherboard for the square audio
chip. There's usually a ring of ceramic coupling
caps around the chip, as all the channels are
AC coupled. A typical pin count might be 48 pins.
Four sides of 12 pins each.

Paul
  #4  
Old August 11th 18, 09:56 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 45
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

On Fri, 10 Aug 2018 21:40:30 -0400, Paul
wrote:

KenW wrote:
On Fri, 10 Aug 2018 16:59:10 -0400, wrote:

I installed W7 on the antique emachines T3104, and all is fine except
I have no audio. Device Manager says it needs drivers for Multimedia
Audio Controller. Anyone tell me where I can find/download same? I
sure can't find it.
Thanks
J


You have to know what hardware you have. Maybe looking up that model
manual will tell you that.


KenW


The trail is pretty damn cold.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/EMACHINES-T...UAAOSwv-NWax6F

Picture showing location of sound chip.

https://s33.postimg.cc/65h33ie27/Loo...audio_chip.gif

I tried and tried to get a chip ID through Google,
but nope. How can they sell so many of those,
and all the Google references are gone ?
Acer might be the last owner of Emachines.

RealTek offers drivers, but you have to classify the
chip a bit first, before you'll get the right
jumbo driver. The chip is either AC'97 or
HDAudio, and you have to know that much about
it, before following the path to the driver here.
A lot of people are downloading those audio drivers.

"PC Audio Codecs"

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...vel=3 &Conn=2

That's assuming it's RealTek. I can't trust a single
Ebay picture for this sort of thing. Look in the lower
left corner of the motherboard for the square audio
chip. There's usually a ring of ceramic coupling
caps around the chip, as all the channels are
AC coupled. A typical pin count might be 48 pins.
Four sides of 12 pins each.

Paul

I see a 1" squa
ITE
IT8705F
0529-FXS
N12AW1

and a:
PMC Flash
0528
Pm38F040-703C
I think

The latter seems to have ur foursidesof12pinseach.

Thanks
J

Thanks Paul
J
  #5  
Old August 11th 18, 01:45 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,828
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

wrote:
On Fri, 10 Aug 2018 21:40:30 -0400, Paul
wrote:

KenW wrote:
On Fri, 10 Aug 2018 16:59:10 -0400,
wrote:

I installed W7 on the antique emachines T3104, and all is fine except
I have no audio. Device Manager says it needs drivers for Multimedia
Audio Controller. Anyone tell me where I can find/download same? I
sure can't find it.
Thanks
J
You have to know what hardware you have. Maybe looking up that model
manual will tell you that.


KenW

The trail is pretty damn cold.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/EMACHINES-T...UAAOSwv-NWax6F

Picture showing location of sound chip.

https://s33.postimg.cc/65h33ie27/Loo...audio_chip.gif

I tried and tried to get a chip ID through Google,
but nope. How can they sell so many of those,
and all the Google references are gone ?
Acer might be the last owner of Emachines.

RealTek offers drivers, but you have to classify the
chip a bit first, before you'll get the right
jumbo driver. The chip is either AC'97 or
HDAudio, and you have to know that much about
it, before following the path to the driver here.
A lot of people are downloading those audio drivers.

"PC Audio Codecs"

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...vel=3 &Conn=2

That's assuming it's RealTek. I can't trust a single
Ebay picture for this sort of thing. Look in the lower
left corner of the motherboard for the square audio
chip. There's usually a ring of ceramic coupling
caps around the chip, as all the channels are
AC coupled. A typical pin count might be 48 pins.
Four sides of 12 pins each.

I see a 1" squa
ITE
IT8705F
0529-FXS
N12AW1

and a:
PMC Flash
0528
Pm38F040-703C
I think

The latter seems to have ur foursidesof12pinseach.


The PMC flash is 9+7+9+7 pins and isn't quite square.
That makes it a rectangle.

The ITE8705F is your SuperIO. It has things like
floppy controller, two serial ports, maybe a low
end IRDA, hardware monitor (voltages, fan speed).
Not all the interfaces on the SuperIO have to be
hooked up, and sometimes it's a bit of a waste.
On modern computers, maybe the floppy interface
isn't wired to anything.

The RealTek audio chip in the sample photo is smaller
and has 48 pins on it. 12+12+12+12 pins and soldered
right to the motherboard.

Another possibility is the audio chip is Sigmatel,
which was bought out by IDT (Integrated Device Technology).

The Acer web page for your Emachine, has no audio
drivers. It has some drivers, but not enough to
do an OS installation. I can't get a hint that way.
I couldn't find a "dmesg" output for the machine.

You could try utilities like Lavalys Everest (since
the machine was around when that utility was around).
I think this is the closest equivalent today (trial version0.
I don't collect these, so cannot comment on
whether they even identify a chip like that
properly.

https://www.aida64.com/downloads

Or maybe one like this.

https://www.hwinfo.com/download.php

The plug and play information for that bus, lives
in a pretty small space. I thought AC'97 only uses
a 12 bit value for the part number, and I'm not aware
of a central registry (i.e. who owns the registry). It's
possible on HDAudio they used a larger identifier. For
me, if the machine is in front of me, a flashlight and
magnifying glass gets an answer as quickly. A LED
flashlight is good, but must be held "just so",
to get the lasermark on the chip illuminated
properly for reading. Then I have a small magnifying
glass to read off the number. A digital camera may
be thwarted by a lot of reflections - it's difficult
to get the illumination just right for motherboard
photos.

Some electronic parts, the number on the part is so
short, there is actually a two-step reading process.
And that process, only the manufacturer could do it,
because only they know what brand and series the
component is, to select the correct datasheet to
look it up. Part identification doesn't have to
be easy, exactly.

Paul
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.