A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows XP Help and Support
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Ethernet not working on DHCP



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 25th 09, 01:27 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
The Doctor[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default Ethernet not working on DHCP

Right why would DHCP Client not work on XP but if assigned
the WinXP box will work?

Makes no sense.
--
Member - Liberal International
This is Ici
God, Queen and country! Beware Anti-Christ rising!
Birthdate: 29 Jan 1969 Redhill Surrey England
Ads
  #2  
Old January 25th 09, 01:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Shenan Stanley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,523
Default Ethernet not working on DHCP

The Doctor wrote:
Right why would DHCP Client not work on XP but if assigned
the WinXP box will work?


The network does not hand out DHCP IP addresses (at all or only to specified
MAC Addresses)?

You need a newer/better network device driver installed?

Please give everyone here the benefit of knowing what you have, what you
have tried, etc.

- Operating System (specifically - including Service Pack.)
- Type of network being connected to.
- Network Device (and version of the driver installed.)

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html


  #3  
Old January 25th 09, 02:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
The Doctor[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default Ethernet not working on DHCP

In article ,
Shenan Stanley wrote:
The Doctor wrote:
Right why would DHCP Client not work on XP but if assigned
the WinXP box will work?


The network does not hand out DHCP IP addresses (at all or only to specified
MAC Addresses)?

You need a newer/better network device driver installed?

Please give everyone here the benefit of knowing what you have, what you
have tried, etc.

- Operating System (specifically - including Service Pack.)


XP SP3

- Type of network being connected to.


DHCP on Cable

- Network Device (and version of the driver installed.)


Realtek 3189 Most recent.

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html




--
Member - Liberal International
This is Ici
God, Queen and country! Beware Anti-Christ rising!
Birthdate: 29 Jan 1969 Redhill Surrey England
  #4  
Old January 25th 09, 02:14 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Buffalo[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 329
Default Ethernet not working on DHCP



The Doctor wrote:
[snip]

You should NEVER put your real email addy in a post in a newsgroup, unless
you just love getting SPAM.


  #5  
Old January 25th 09, 02:33 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
The Doctor[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default Ethernet not working on DHCP

In article ,
Buffalo wrote:


The Doctor wrote:
[snip]

You should NEVER put your real email addy in a post in a newsgroup, unless
you just love getting SPAM.



Filter implemented a long time ago.
--
Member - Liberal International
This is Ici
God, Queen and country! Beware Anti-Christ rising!
Birthdate: 29 Jan 1969 Redhill Surrey England
  #6  
Old January 25th 09, 02:46 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Shenan Stanley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,523
Default Ethernet not working on DHCP

The Doctor wrote:
Right why would DHCP Client not work on XP but if assigned
the WinXP box will work?


Shenan Stanley wrote:
The network does not hand out DHCP IP addresses (at all or only to
specified MAC Addresses)?

You need a newer/better network device driver installed?

Please give everyone here the benefit of knowing what you have,
what you have tried, etc.

- Operating System (specifically - including Service Pack.)
- Type of network being connected to.
- Network Device (and version of the driver installed.)


The Doctor wrote:
XP SP3

DHCP on Cable

Realtek 3189 Most recent.


- Windows XP Home, Professional, or superset of Professional?

- DHCP on cable is not much of an explanation of your network. I am
guessing 'cable modem' of some sort? With a separate router or is it built
into the cable modem? Or is it even a cable modem? And what are the
settings on the router - if one is involved?

- Realtek 3189... Is this on a laptop of some sort?
- What is the name brand/model of your computer?

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html


  #7  
Old January 25th 09, 06:22 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
Patrick Keenan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,415
Default Ethernet not working on DHCP

"The Doctor" wrote in message
...
Right why would DHCP Client not work on XP but if assigned
the WinXP box will work?

Makes no sense.


Sometimes things don't make sense, yet are the way they are.

I have within the last year seen two cases of network adapters failing in
the opposite way, so I don't doubt that yours can fail this way.

In both cases I dealt with, the network adapters lost the ability to accept
fixed IP addresses. Only DHCP would work, and as DHCP, the cards worked
fine and immediately after being switched from fixed.

Adding another adapter also worked and allowed use of a fixed IP, which
indicates the point of failure as being the original network adapter itself
and not the OS.

Network adapter cards can be had for under $20 for PCI models, a bit more if
you have to get a PCMCIA or USB version (as appropriate for a laptop).
That would be your next step.

HTH
-pk

--
Member - Liberal International
This is snippage God, Queen and country! Beware Anti-Christ rising!




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.