A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » General XP issues or comments
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

O.T. Missing Folder/files



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #211  
Old May 27th 21, 08:02 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:

The 780 had a successful Macrium update V 7.3.5854 to Ver 7.3.5925

I followed your instructions and the bookmark's themselves all look intact.
All I'm missing is the actual bookmark menu. In other words to return the
screen to 'normal'. I don't remember hitting key or doing anything to cause
this? It just happened after uninstalling Sea Monkey.


https://postimg.cc/Xrxhhsx3

https://postimg.cc/v4Shfk31

https://postimg.cc/vDdJ4x4J

https://postimg.cc/FY1qMj6L

Robert


That "bookmarks" file is something you use in Bookmarks Manager
as an Import item. You Import that, and it should add the bookmarks
to whatever passes for a menu.

Paul

Ads
  #212  
Old May 27th 21, 08:27 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:
In passing the 780 had an optional update that it failed (4) times.

https://postimg.cc/rdZp8Cy2

https://postimg.cc/XZjZNYwd

https://postimg.cc/5YGjm5DS

Robert


My guess is, you don't really want to select that
IMEI driver update, as it's Optional. The 8500 and the 780,
both are likely to have Qxx chipsets. The Q means it has
Intel Management Engine.

The 780 may have had that disabled, when the machine was
refurbished. I don't know what the disposition is on the
8500.

The IMEI is used for remote control. There's a package an
IT guy would use to set it up, and it's not likely to be
set up on the 8500.

The size of the update is 11KB.

If you were to get the IMEI stuff right from Intel, it's
50MB in size. And contains a whole bunch of stuff you
don't want or need. (The 50MB package has three sections,
two sections are totally irrelevant to IMEI, the third
section is actually the IMEI part.)

The 11KB should tell you that the incoming driver is
mainly for "text labeling" in Device Manager. That's
the kind of empty driver that just puts a descriptive
label on the thing.

Using the catalog.update.microsoft.com server, my guess is
that this is the update.

http://download.windowsupdate.com/ms...78f1a1c606.cab

;Null Driver for Intel(R) Management Engine Interface
;updated inf decorations.(by thvarg)

[ManagementDriver64_61_Install.NT.Services]
AddService = ,2 === seems poorly formatted

[Strings]
ProviderName ="Intel Corporation"
DeviceName="Intel(R) Management Engine Interface"

Microsoft has been doing this for a while, including
low quality drivers for people to stumble on. There
have been some really bad ones, like the one that
caused all keyboards to stop working (a touchpad
filter driver with bad plug and play info in it).

If you could turn off the tick box for that, that
would be fine.

Paul
  #213  
Old May 27th 21, 02:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Robert in CA
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 785
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files


It's a good thing I showed you the optional update!


I tried importing the bookmarks but it did nothing. and I
still don't have my bookmark toolbar back. When I opened
it to the top right I just saw something that should be there.
It said Hide bookmark toolbar and I've been looking for a
Show bookmark toolbar so I clicked it and it changed to
Show bookmark toolbar but it still doesn't show it.

https://postimg.cc/YvhL6YBq

https://postimg.cc/vcdtQP9F

https://postimg.cc/jWCz8BVN

This is how my bookmark toolbar should look

https://postimg.cc/TL7J2Grt

This is how it looks

https://postimg.cc/VJgrPg9R

Although I don't have my bookmark toolbar and FF doesn't
look normal I can still access sites via the address bar.

https://postimg.cc/2Lnyc78n

Thoughts/suggestions?

Robert


  #215  
Old May 27th 21, 05:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:
It's a good thing I showed you the optional update!


I tried importing the bookmarks but it did nothing. and I
still don't have my bookmark toolbar back. When I opened
it to the top right I just saw something that should be there.
It said Hide bookmark toolbar and I've been looking for a
Show bookmark toolbar so I clicked it and it changed to
Show bookmark toolbar but it still doesn't show it.

https://postimg.cc/YvhL6YBq

https://postimg.cc/vcdtQP9F

https://postimg.cc/jWCz8BVN

This is how my bookmark toolbar should look

https://postimg.cc/TL7J2Grt

This is how it looks

https://postimg.cc/VJgrPg9R

Although I don't have my bookmark toolbar and FF doesn't
look normal I can still access sites via the address bar.

https://postimg.cc/2Lnyc78n

Thoughts/suggestions?

Robert


"Recover lost or missing Bookmarks"

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...sing-bookmarks

OK, I tried turning the Bookmarks bar ON and OFF, and
neither of my pictures match yours which only shows the

"Getting Started" [Firefox Icon]

as the bookmark item.

The following is from Firefox 88.0.1 or so.

There is an editor for the "overflow menu area".

Work on this, then get back to me.

https://i.postimg.cc/sxpXL3c9/firefo...enu-custom.gif

Paul






  #216  
Old May 27th 21, 05:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:
Just to make sure, did you want me to download the
link you gave to the 780 or were you just showing it
to me ? I only ask because you said to uncheck the
optional download and you don't usually give me a
download unless you want me to use it.

Also I have been using the incorrect term of 'bookmark
menu' when I should of been saying 'bookmark toolbar'.
So sorry for any confusion.

Robert


The optional item for Intel Management Engine (IMEI),
is a poor quality "text labeling" driver. Its only job
is to put a text string on a single hardware item in
Device Manager.

There is a very good chance, the Device Manager had that
string added *years ago*.

That damn update is not needed. It installs no driver files.
There are no DLLs, no services. It's not a "functionality affecting"
thing...

and should be left unselected (unticked).

Paul
  #217  
Old May 27th 21, 05:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:
Here are your instructions for cloning:

https://postimg.cc/HJ47srZ9

https://postimg.cc/TLtLgZXy

https://postimg.cc/GHWBFF6j

https://postimg.cc/v1McjQYg

https://postimg.cc/k6gDJft7

https://postimg.cc/gXtjn8v8

https://postimg.cc/7f2hZCbJ

https://postimg.cc/hJpP5TZ6

https://postimg.cc/mhc2mcYp

https://postimg.cc/w1zqx0Sn

https://postimg.cc/K4gxn6bd

https://postimg.cc/JGVmKp4t

Robert


Yes.

With the following caveats/details.

You look at the original disk in Disk Management.

See which partition or partitions, contain "Boot" and "System".

When you clone, you want the clone operation to copy items
labeled that way.

My filmstrip for cloning is not perfect, because it
does not match your disk setup.

If you show a picture of Disk Management, with the
current internal disk showing, that will make it easier
to see what is going on. Try to resize the Disk Management
box so it is as wide as the screen, to maximize the visibility
of the text strings.

But even without my help, you should be able to tick the boxes
for the "Boot" and "System" one or ones. You don't need to
clone over any (separate) data partitions.

Paul
  #218  
Old May 27th 21, 07:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Robert in CA
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 785
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

I typed aboutrofiles:

https://postimg.cc/MfK7H5xz

https://postimg.cc/8jYRkLYV

then I launched the other browser

https://postimg.cc/zLZTK85t

https://postimg.cc/xcNRzsMd

but I still don't have the bookmark toolbar back
and now I see bookmark menu so I was partially
correct.

I notice if bookmark toolbar is selected then below
the address bar it shows Getting Started, Yahoo, Mail,
Weather but if bookmarks menu is selected only Getting
Started is shown. The bookmark menu keeps coming
back to Getting Started.

https://postimg.cc/pmDJ0p0b

https://postimg.cc/K3kntzKW

I tried to work on aboutreferences#general but I don't
seem to be able to bring up the customize toolbar ? I don't
know where to click?

https://postimg.cc/d7QBfJkW


As far as cloning we only re-sized once and that was for
the 8200.

https://postimg.cc/MvkYS7ff

The 780 had a Malwarebytes update.

Robert


  #219  
Old May 27th 21, 10:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:
I typed aboutrofiles:

https://postimg.cc/MfK7H5xz

https://postimg.cc/8jYRkLYV

then I launched the other browser

https://postimg.cc/zLZTK85t

https://postimg.cc/xcNRzsMd

but I still don't have the bookmark toolbar back
and now I see bookmark menu so I was partially
correct.

I notice if bookmark toolbar is selected then below
the address bar it shows Getting Started, Yahoo, Mail,
Weather but if bookmarks menu is selected only Getting
Started is shown. The bookmark menu keeps coming
back to Getting Started.

https://postimg.cc/pmDJ0p0b

https://postimg.cc/K3kntzKW

I tried to work on aboutreferences#general but I don't
seem to be able to bring up the customize toolbar ? I don't
know where to click?

https://postimg.cc/d7QBfJkW


As far as cloning we only re-sized once and that was for
the 8200.

https://postimg.cc/MvkYS7ff

The 780 had a Malwarebytes update.

Robert


You can click in the black area in the menus area, and see some
menu options such as Customize at the bottom of the list.
Customize opens a separate tab which has the editing tools
to edit the overflow area on the third line.

Paul



  #220  
Old May 28th 21, 06:24 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Robert in CA
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 785
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files



Here's the 780 and 8500 together :

https://postimg.cc/MvkYS7ff

https://postimg.cc/4n83ytzB


I went back to complete your instructions;
I had to drag and drop Import Bookmarks and
that brought up Bookmarks Toolbar Items

https://postimg.cc/d7QBfJkW

https://postimg.cc/PPtF3p9s

https://postimg.cc/LhSy5gHY

https://postimg.cc/WhWS590g

Robert

  #221  
Old May 28th 21, 08:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Robert in CA
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 785
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

As far as I can see once we get my bookmark menu back
working normally then we can download Sea Monkey on
the 780 and see what it does and hopefully it'll install
correctly this time and do the same for the 8500 (install
new version) and hope it will install correctly also. Then
we can return to the backspace key problem although
there aren't many options left open to us. The reason I'm
concerned about the backspace key is that I have wrist
injuries and the less clicking the better and also it should
work. I can't think of anything that I've done that would
cause it not to function and we've tested everything yet it
must be 'something' that's causing it not to function normally.
It's a shame Microsoft isn't of any help.

Thoughts/suggestions?

Robert


  #222  
Old May 28th 21, 08:31 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Robert in CA
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 785
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Of course our ultimate goal is to clone (2) hd's for the 780
and (2) hds for the 8500 and maybe while were in the process
of doing so it might be a good idea to create Mrimgs, System
Restore points and check the Win 10 hd's?

Robert

  #223  
Old May 28th 21, 09:37 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:

Here's the 780 and 8500 together :

https://postimg.cc/MvkYS7ff

https://postimg.cc/4n83ytzB


I went back to complete your instructions;
I had to drag and drop Import Bookmarks and
that brought up Bookmarks Toolbar Items

https://postimg.cc/d7QBfJkW

https://postimg.cc/PPtF3p9s

https://postimg.cc/LhSy5gHY

https://postimg.cc/WhWS590g

Robert


For the 780:

https://postimg.cc/MvkYS7ff

the 3.76GB first partition and the 1859GB C: partition
need to be cloned. The second partition, you can resize the
C: partition according to how much space is used on it.
Maybe of the 1859GB, only 100GB is used. In which case
you'd resize to 120GB, leaving a little "slack space".

As a result, the C: on the new drive would be 120GB, there
would be 100GB of files, and there would be 20GB of space
left over.

That leaves plenty of room on the 780 clone disk, for the
addition of a D: data partition after the cloning is finished.
Your job then, on the 780, is checking the quantity of files
on the C:, by doing Properties on C: and seeing the pie chart
of disk usage.

*******

For the 8500:

https://postimg.cc/4n83ytzB

the 8500 is GPT partitioned. Now, in a lot of
my diagrams, I draw a MBR as a formalism. As a way of showing
there is "structure" to the disk besides just partitions. On
the GPT disk drive, there is room for a lot more partitions,
and besides the MBR (which is only partially used but still
gets copied), there is a primary and backup GPT partition table.
It isn't labeled. The only reason for mentioning this issue,
is it complicates the "dumber" way of moving disk materials
around, but Macrium is ready for this. So no problem there.

The first partition (30MB) is the EFI System Partion or ESP.
This is part of UEFI BIOS and GPT partitioned disk. It is
proposed (by Intel), that this year or next, disks only boot
this way, not like how the 780 boots right now.

The ESP is a FAT file system, with a few folders. It doesn't
take a lot of space. Some initial boot materials are in there.
When an OS which is GPT capable comes along, it adds a small
amount of materials to the folder. We need to copy the ESP partition
for cloning. Macrium will change the identifiers if necessary.

The second partition (RECOVERY) contains a copy of Windows 7.
And is used for putting the original OS back on the disk.
The partition would have the BCD file (the boot menu).
We need this partition, for its boot materials, not
necessary for the "RECOVERY" function. In your case, we're
just going to copy this partition, because doing brain surgery
on it, is a lot of work.

The third partition (marked "boot") is the C: partition.
We need to copy that, but resize it down to remove the excess
slack. If it had 100GB of files, we would resize the cloned
partition to 120GB, using the Next, then the Back button,
then using the size adjustment controls underneath the
partitions on the destination disk in the Macrium screen.
That should leave room later for adding a D: data partition
for backups and so on.

Summary: Copy all the materials on the 8500 disk, make the
C: partition smaller before clicking Next and
completing the clone.

*******

As for the Bookmarks, after making your changes and clicking
Done, then closing the adjustments tab you were working in,
the overflow bar should have your bookmark materials. But you still
need to check the menus in the Bookmark Menu items and see if
your bookmarks are there.

You can open the menu in there and move materials around,
create folders, but that is a *lot* of work, to organize
the bookmarks.

Paul
  #224  
Old May 28th 21, 09:57 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:
As far as I can see once we get my bookmark menu back
working normally then we can download Sea Monkey on
the 780 and see what it does and hopefully it'll install
correctly this time and do the same for the 8500 (install
new version) and hope it will install correctly also. Then
we can return to the backspace key problem although
there aren't many options left open to us. The reason I'm
concerned about the backspace key is that I have wrist
injuries and the less clicking the better and also it should
work. I can't think of anything that I've done that would
cause it not to function and we've tested everything yet it
must be 'something' that's causing it not to function normally.
It's a shame Microsoft isn't of any help.

Thoughts/suggestions?

Robert



Well, you know where the download for that one is.
The button is dynamic, and it will likely show a 64-bit
version for your usage.

https://www.seamonkey-project.org/

I don't know if you've used the Helper.exe in the current
Seamonkey folder or not, to remove it. Normally, you
would use "Programs and Features" control panel, if there
was an entry. If either Program Files or Program Files (x86)
had a populated Seamonkey folder, the uninstall folder
under Seamonkey would have "helper.exe". Seamonkey has an
"install.log" and might create an "uninstall.log" as its means
of keeping track of what to remove. In any case, the Helper.exe
is the one to use for intelligent removal. And it should bring
up a confirmation dialog, before doing the removal.

Then, after that, you could install your new 2.53.7.1 version.

*******

I saw in passing, you have some movie editor, and maybe it
uses the backspace key ? When programs use a key like that,
sometimes they have a Preferences panel, and in there you
can select an alternate key in place of backspace.

But I remain baffled as to how to snag the "thing" grabbing
backspace. I don't know how to find it. Applications such
as "Spotify", can snag the Multimedia keys (optional keys
above the regular key area), even when Spotify doesn't
have the input focus. And that would be an example of
an application "doing a bit more than it really should".
But with no evidence your backspace key is being used as
a multimedia key, I'm out of ideas as to how to find it,
and the snagging going on is a "more regular" kind.
Using an Upperfilters driver (as seen in Device Manager) would
be one way of intercepting keyboard input, but I don't know
how common such a practice would be in program design.

And programs have a couple choices. They could, for example
in the case of a Screen Recording Movie Editor, launch
a Startup Item (as seen in Sysinternals "Autoruns") and
have a background process loaded for "listening for the
Record key". That sort of thing, versus the user having
to launch the program from the menu, and manually kick
off a Screen Record session. But a Backspace key would be
a pretty strange choice for that. On your keyboards that
have Multimedia Controls, it would be more intelligent
to snag those controls (that's if the program even knows
they're present).

Paul
  #225  
Old May 28th 21, 10:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default O.T. Missing Folder/files

Robert in CA wrote:
Of course our ultimate goal is to clone (2) hd's for the 780
and (2) hds for the 8500 and maybe while were in the process
of doing so it might be a good idea to create Mrimgs, System
Restore points and check the Win 10 hd's?

Robert


Well, you have the instructions for the clone of each,
in my post of a few tens of minutes ago. I looked at your diagrams,
you have two partitions to clone on the 780, and three
partitions (GPT) to clone on the 8500. Once you've booted the
drives separately, then if there are other things, we
can move on from there.

Paul
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.