A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46  
Old August 18th 18, 02:10 AM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,177
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:
In message , Char Jackson
writes:
On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 16:14:53 -0400, wrote:

[]
on w10 PC:
ping gmail.com worked fine (got IP add for gmail,com = 74.208.232.28)

on XP PC:
ping gmail.com worked too (got IP add for gmail,com = 172.217.15.69))


Cool, DNS works. From a networking perspective, you're golden!

But why did he get different IP addresses?


Google has multiple IP addresses.

And a person in North America gets a different set
than you'd get in the UK.

*******

Over the years, I've used "www.sun.com" for this
test case, because it uses one IP address and
as far as I know, the same value world-wide.
And I think you can still ping it, amongst
other things. It's not a "pretty" web site,
but from a test perspective, it's been
consistent.

nslookup
www.sun.com

156.151.59.35

Paul
Ads
  #47  
Old August 18th 18, 06:14 AM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Char Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,655
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 16:14:53 -0400, wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 10:00:22 -0500, Char Jackson
wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 08:16:12 -0400,
wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 08:12:53 -0400,
wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 11:28:20 +0100, "J. P. Gilliver (John)"
wrote:

In message ,
writes:
On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 00:46:10 -0500, Char Jackson
wrote:

On Thu, 16 Aug 2018 15:52:01 -0400,
wrote:

[]
On 15/08/2018 22:41,
wrote:
[]
This emachine T3104 ran fine then - had both internet and
audio once I
installed the drivers, However it was horrendously slow, so
I decided
to try XP on it. Now I have reached the point where I can't connect
to the web. All else seems fine. I have tried and tried to
install/reinstall the connection, but I can't find the place
[]
I pinged the above 192.168.1.200 from my W10 PC and it found it.
I pinged this W10PC IPV4 Address 192.168.1.155 (taken from ping on
that machine) from the emachine WXP and it did not.

Mean anything?

Could just be that ICMP is disabled on the W10 firewall.


192.168.1.1 worked - 4 packets sent and received.
8.8.8.8 worked - 4 packets sent and received.
216.58.203.133 (gmail.com) - worked - 4 packets sent and received.
both machines. One is WXP, one is W10.

Now what?
Thanks
J

That's weird! Sounds like you have a connection. (Did you ping gmail.com
using its name, or did you specify its numerical IP address?)
numerical
J



Be sure to check that your DNS is working properly by pinging a site by
its name rather than its IP address.


Sorry I have not replied. Had to take wifey to doc.

on w10 PC:
ping gmail.com worked fine (got IP add for gmail,com = 74.208.232.28)

on XP PC:
ping gmail.com worked too (got IP add for gmail,com = 172.217.15.69))
Thanks
J


Hey, try this link on your XP box. It's about the only site I can think
of that's http rather than https, so I'm guessing it'll work.

http://notstupid.us/clox/clockie.html

It's a site developed and maintained by Mark Lloyd, one of the folks
active here in these newsgroups. It should give you a large-font digital
clock that runs and shows the current time. Well, nearly current. It
seems to be about 10 minutes slow, but it's still a good test for a
browser that seems to have trouble with current https sites.

--

Char Jackson
  #49  
Old August 18th 18, 06:38 AM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Char Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,655
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 21:10:56 -0400, Paul wrote:

Over the years, I've used "www.sun.com" for this
test case,


I tend to use 3-letter domains, as well, because they're easy to type,
but I usually use dull stuff like cnn, msn, aol, abc, etc.

because it uses one IP address and
as far as I know, the same value world-wide.
And I think you can still ping it, amongst
other things. It's not a "pretty" web site,
but from a test perspective, it's been
consistent.

nslookup www.sun.com

156.151.59.35


Interestingly, or perhaps not, www.sun.com is a CNAME pointing to
legacy-sun.oraclegha.com, and that domain then points to 156.151.59.35.
I let it run for a while and never saw anything else.


--

Char Jackson
  #50  
Old August 18th 18, 09:55 AM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 78
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 18:27:16 -0500, Char Jackson
wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 16:14:53 -0400, wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 10:00:22 -0500, Char Jackson
wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 08:16:12 -0400,
wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 08:12:53 -0400,
wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 11:28:20 +0100, "J. P. Gilliver (John)"
wrote:

In message ,
writes:
On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 00:46:10 -0500, Char Jackson
wrote:

On Thu, 16 Aug 2018 15:52:01 -0400,
wrote:

[]
On 15/08/2018 22:41,
wrote:
[]
This emachine T3104 ran fine then - had both internet and
audio once I
installed the drivers, However it was horrendously slow, so
I decided
to try XP on it. Now I have reached the point where I can't connect
to the web. All else seems fine. I have tried and tried to
install/reinstall the connection, but I can't find the place
[]
I pinged the above 192.168.1.200 from my W10 PC and it found it.
I pinged this W10PC IPV4 Address 192.168.1.155 (taken from ping on
that machine) from the emachine WXP and it did not.

Mean anything?

Could just be that ICMP is disabled on the W10 firewall.


192.168.1.1 worked - 4 packets sent and received.
8.8.8.8 worked - 4 packets sent and received.
216.58.203.133 (gmail.com) - worked - 4 packets sent and received.
both machines. One is WXP, one is W10.

Now what?
Thanks
J

That's weird! Sounds like you have a connection. (Did you ping gmail.com
using its name, or did you specify its numerical IP address?)
numerical
J


Be sure to check that your DNS is working properly by pinging a site by
its name rather than its IP address.


Sorry I have not replied. Had to take wifey to doc.

on w10 PC:
ping gmail.com worked fine (got IP add for gmail,com = 74.208.232.28)

on XP PC:
ping gmail.com worked too (got IP add for gmail,com = 172.217.15.69))


Cool, DNS works. From a networking perspective, you're golden!


New day, new try.
I turned evrything off lst nite. Restarted both machines. Command
window was gone of course. Re-tried ping to gmain.com on XP machine -
still works fine. Now get 216.58.218.229. I think I told you last
night that I tried this on the XP machine with the co-connected W7
machine off - still worked.

Now I'll look at your subsequent posts to see what to try next.
Thanks
J
  #51  
Old August 18th 18, 09:56 AM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 78
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

On Sat, 18 Aug 2018 01:01:47 +0100, "J. P. Gilliver (John)"
wrote:

In message , Char Jackson
writes:
On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 16:14:53 -0400, wrote:

[]
on w10 PC:
ping gmail.com worked fine (got IP add for gmail,com = 74.208.232.28)

on XP PC:
ping gmail.com worked too (got IP add for gmail,com = 172.217.15.69))


Cool, DNS works. From a networking perspective, you're golden!

But why did he get different IP addresses?


Same Q
J
  #54  
Old August 18th 18, 10:12 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 78
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 09:58:19 -0500, Char Jackson
wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 05:54:09 -0400, wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 00:46:10 -0500, Char Jackson
wrote:

On Thu, 16 Aug 2018 15:52:01 -0400,
wrote:

On Thu, 16 Aug 2018 13:10:34 -0500, Char Jackson
wrote:

On Thu, 16 Aug 2018 13:02:37 -0400, Paul wrote:

wrote:
On Thu, 16 Aug 2018 09:03:30 -0400, Paul
wrote:

wrote:
On Thu, 16 Aug 2018 01:58:31 +0100, Patrick
wrote:

On 16/08/2018 01:55, Patrick wrote:
On 15/08/2018 22:41,
wrote:
On Fri, 10 Aug 2018 16:59:10 -0400,
wrote:

I installed W7 on the antique emachines T3104, and all is fine except
I have no audio. Device Manager says it needs drivers for Multimedia
Audio Controller. Anyone tell me where I can find/download same? I
sure can't find it.
Thanks
J
Hi

Well I found the site with the downloads I wanted:
http://www.emachines.com/ec/en/US/content/drivers.html

This emachine T3104 ran fine then - had both internet and audio once I
installed the drivers, However it was horrendously slow, so I decided
to try XP on it. Now I have reached the point where I can't connect
to the web. All else seems fine. I have tried and tried to
install/reinstall the connection, but I can't find the place wherein I
supply my modem info. I intend to go to a XP group to ask help.

Thanks for helps you guys.
J

Drivers for XP 32 bit only (try all three of the LAN drivers there);
http://www.emachines.com/ec/en/US/content/drivers.html
Sorry, that's the same address you gave, anyway find your model and see
there are 3 LAN drivers there.
Thanks. I had downloaded all the drivers from that support site, and
I think they are all installed okay on the XP SP3 installation. See
my current, but unanswered post on the xp group alt.windows-xp.
Anyway, the XP device manager looks to be fine. I even have audio. I
think what I need is 1-2-3 guidance on how to set up the XP network
setup wizard and/or network connection in control panel so it knows
the name/password of my router. At least that would seem so. That's
what I have done in the past. I can't seem to find/do that. My
old-age dumbness is probably my problem.
Sorry to be a nuisance.
J
You should be able to use a web browser,
to access the router.

Keep the router password written on a PostIT note and
tape the note to the router so it doesn't get lost. That's
the password that gets you into the router.

That's different than the username/password actually
*in* the router setup.

The "address" of the router can be found one of two ways.
It could be the numeric gateway address.

http://192.168.1.1

Or on some routers, there is a symbolic address
mentioned in the user manual for the router. The router
has an address translation for whatever magic word they use
for the symbolic value. So in this example, the router
looks up "router" and gets 192.168.1.1 as the answer.
Each cheesy router brand, uses a different word.

http://router

If you need a further hint, you could always try
"ipconfig" in a Command Prompt window, and the
Default Gateway numeric address could be the address
of the router.

But sometimes it's just better to crack open the router
manual and refresh your memory about "how to get there".

Paul

Hi Paul:

My Verizon router ls cat5-connected (altho it is wireless which I
tried and thought it was too slow), and it came with a sticker
identifier stating the router's wifi name and password. In the past
when I installed W7, W8, or W10, I have had to supply both of those to
the installed OS.

On this XP installation, Device Manager shows the internet drivers are
installed, but when I try Internet Explorer, it hangs because it
cannot find the internet. Ergo I figger I have to use the Control
Panel's Network Setup and/or Network Connection to supply the
aforementioned names, like I did before, but have forgotten how.

This XP's connections are 3-fold and are said to be:
(1) a Broadband WAN miniport said to be My ISP and disconnected
(2) a Internet Gateway said to be a connected internet connection
and (3) a LAN or High-Speed Internet said to be a connected local
area Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast connection

Having said all that then - what do I need to do? I'll write it down
this time!
Thanks again
J

OK, I see a problem with my answer.

My answer assumed a wired connection to the router, and
we were just solving the broadband authentication.

Your questions amounts to "how do I connect the wifi
on my desktop to the router". And the connection could
be using WPA2 and using some sort of key. That's
another step involving authentication.

At some point, this process was called

"Wireless Zero Config"

and WZC took the place of the custom dialogs provided
with the actual Wifi driver for the OS.

1) You need a Wifi driver to start.
Check in Device Manager and see if the WIfi device
is present and it has no yellow marks or anything.

2) Verify that WZC service is running.

https://kb.netgear.com/20021/Enablin...-on-Windows-XP

3) Follow the rest of the instructions to actually use
the Networking panel (now that WZC is running and
the Networking panel can see wifi stuff).

Here's another example, where they work on using a
secure method for the setup. Notice how unlike the
Netgear article, they click Properties and do a bit
more work. A passphrase is used to protect the
connection. This is a passphrase you set on the
router when setting up the Wifi. Or, the ISP put
a long string of random crap on some sort of label
for you to use - that's if you don't remember
writing the passPhrase on a PostIT note earlier
on when setting up the router.

http://www.wi-fiplanet.com/tutorials...ep-by-Step.htm

Just a guess, as I have *no Wifi here at all* to test with.
All I can do is read web pages :-) Oh, and
remember the odd keyword. Keywords are my breadcrumbs.

He mentions that he's connected via Cat5 cable and that wireless was too
slow when he tried it, so I'd focus on the wired connection.

Copied from above:
My Verizon router ls cat5-connected (altho it is wireless which I
tried and thought it was too slow),

He provided the following info on his current connection status:
This XP's connections are 3-fold and are said to be:
(1) a Broadband WAN miniport said to be My ISP and disconnected
(2) a Internet Gateway said to be a connected internet connection
and (3) a LAN or High-Speed Internet said to be a connected local
area Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast connection


If it were me, I'd run "ipconfig /all" in a Command Prompt to see the
current status of everything. I could list and chase 3 dozen possible
situations, but things get narrowed down immensely when you can see the
output of that command.

I'll add one thing, though: assuming the network adapter has a valid IP
address, netmask, and gateway, he can try to ping an address on his LAN
and an address on the Internet. The results of those tests (ipconfig and
two pings) will tell you just about everything you need to know in order
to proceed.

Here is my output of ipconfig /all:
Host Name................................ : main
Primary Dns Suffix.................
Node Type ............................... : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled................ : No
WINS Proxy Enabled ............ : No
DNS Suffix Search List ........ : fios-router.home

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix : fios-router.home
Description .......................................: Realtek
RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
Physical Address .....................: 00-40-CA-A8-8B-A7
Dhcp Enabled ................ : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled .. : Yes
IP Address ................................ : 192.168.1.200
Subnet Mask ............................. : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway ...................... : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server ............................ : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers ............................. : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained ........................ : Sunday, July 16, 2017
Lease Expires.... ....................... : Monday, July 17,2017

We can see that this XP PC obtained a valid IP address (192.168.1.200)
and a valid subnet mask (255.255.255.0) via DHCP, and that it thinks its
gateway resides at 192.168.1.1.

From this PC, I would have pinged 192.168.1.1 to make sure it responds.
That has to work before you can expect anything else to work, and I
assume it will. Assuming it does, I would ping an IP address on the
Internet. I use 8.8.8.8 simply because it's easy to type. If that also
works, then you have Internet connectivity.


If the 192.168.1.1 ping fails, the problem is local: the XP PC, its
Ethernet cable (check the status LEDs next to the Ethernet port on your
XP PC), or the router/modem.

If the 192.168.1.1 ping is successful but the 8.8.8.8 ping fails, then
the issue lies with your router/modem.

ping 8.8.8.8
You can (and should) run the ping tests from your W10 PC, as well, and
compare the results, but pinging one PC from the other PC introduces
other variables, such as Windows Firewall configs. I'd just keep things
simple until you get it figured out.

I pinged the above 192.168.1.200 from my W10 PC and it found it.
I pinged this W10PC IPV4 Address 192.168.1.155 (taken from ping on
that machine) from the emachine WXP and it did not.

Mean anything?

Could just be that ICMP is disabled on the W10 firewall.



192.168.1.1 worked - 4 packets sent and received.
8.8.8.8 worked - 4 packets sent and received.
216.58.203.133 (gmail.com) - worked - 4 packets sent and received.
both machines. One is WXP, one is W10.

Now what?
Thanks


You've confirmed that both PCs do indeed have Internet access, so that's
good. There are no issues with network drivers or TCP/IP configuration
or the Ethernet cables or the router/modem.

As near as I can tell, the issue seems to be that the browser on your XP
PC doesn't support the HTTPS protocol properly/fully. You could try a
different browser, or possibly try some different websites. Just now, I
tried to find a web site that doesn't use https, but those are becoming
rare. There's been increasing talk lately about certain browsers no
longer supporting XP, but I'm not sure that explanation fits your
situation.

Now that you've confirmed that your networking stack is working
properly, I'll hand you off to folks who are better at troubleshooting
the Layer 7 applications, such as web browsers. Layers 1 thru 4 seem to
be fine.

Bye
Thanks
J
  #55  
Old August 18th 18, 02:50 PM posted to alt.windows7.general,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Char Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,655
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation

On Sat, 18 Aug 2018 05:03:19 -0400, wrote:

On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 21:10:56 -0400, Paul
wrote:

J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:
In message , Char Jackson
writes:
On Fri, 17 Aug 2018 16:14:53 -0400,
wrote:
[]
on w10 PC:
ping gmail.com worked fine (got IP add for gmail,com = 74.208.232.28)

on XP PC:
ping gmail.com worked too (got IP add for gmail,com = 172.217.15.69))

Cool, DNS works. From a networking perspective, you're golden!

But why did he get different IP addresses?


Google has multiple IP addresses.

And a person in North America gets a different set
than you'd get in the UK.

*******


But I was in same place.


It doesn't matter. Every organization gets to set the rules for how
their domains will resolve. In the simplest case, a request to resolve
www.mydomain.com will always return the same IP because the
authoritative DNS system only contains a single A record for that
domain.
But things can quickly become more complicated after that. You can trust
Google not to use the simplest DNS configuration so it shouldn't be
surprising that requests for any of their domains will return a range of
results. That doesn't indicate an error of any kind, it's just how they
have their DNS configured. The important part is that your request was
resolved.


--

Char Jackson
  #56  
Old August 19th 18, 01:25 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 222
Default Need Multimedia Audio Controller for W7 installation (continued) (problem solved)

On Sat, 18 Aug 2018 05:12:36 -0400, wrote:


Now that you've confirmed that your networking stack is working
properly, I'll hand you off to folks who are better at troubleshooting
the Layer 7 applications, such as web browsers. Layers 1 thru 4 seem to
be fine.

Bye
Thanks
J


Yesterday, I installed two other copies I have of XP SP3 on the
subject emachine PC - both suffered the same connecting problem.
Then I did what I should have done in the first place - I googled the
subject (on my W10 PC), and discovered that my problem is a known
problem with many suggested solutions. The suggestion that worked for
me was:

https://appuals.com/solved-internet-...y-the-webpage/

Reset Internet Explorer

This will reset all settings and custom options set in Internet
Explorer. Your bookmarks will not be deleted.

Hold the Windows Key and Press R. In the Run Dialog, type inetcpl.cpl
and Click OK.

Click on the Advanced tab. Click on the Reset button below. Place a
check next to Delete Personal Settings and click Reset. Internet
Explorer will now be reset to its default settings.

My XP installation on the emachine T3109 seems to work fine after
doing the above. How about that. I only hope the problem does not
recur.

The following sites offer solutions to the same problem:

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...displayed.html

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...-when-you-acce

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/57...page-displayed

https://www.techrepublic.com/forums/...error-xp-ie-6/

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...-webpage-error

http://www.tomsguide.com/answers/id-...connected.html

http://pcerrorpedia.com/how-to-fix-i...error-message/

Thanks for all ur helps.
J
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.