A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Security and Administration with Windows XP
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Windows Security Center incorrectly reports firewall status



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 28th 04, 05:39 PM
Travis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows Security Center incorrectly reports firewall status

Since installing Security Pack 2, the Security Center reports that the
Firewall is off and for some account sthe virus protection is off for
non-administrator accounts. I am using Norton Antivirus 2004 Pro and Zone
Alarm Pro so there (updated regularly) so there shouldn't be any
compatibility problems. The securiyt programs appear to be working, but SC
reporsts they are not. Any ideas how to rectify (or double chack that they
are actually working correctly).
Ads
  #2  
Old November 29th 04, 08:51 PM
ksdonaldson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows Security Center incorrectly reports firewall status

I am also experiencing the same issue. I have Zone Alarm (it is up to date)
and I have Norton AntiVirus 2002 (it is up to date). The Virus Protection and
Firewall portions of my Security Center are nagging me about these two not
being turned on. The facts are that NAV and ZA are in my system tray and are
active... I have shut both down and rastarted them just for giggles.

One of my concerns is that one of my lesser knowledgeable family members
will start trying to fix this issue and only make it worse!

"Travis" wrote:

Since installing Security Pack 2, the Security Center reports that the
Firewall is off and for some account sthe virus protection is off for
non-administrator accounts. I am using Norton Antivirus 2004 Pro and Zone
Alarm Pro so there (updated regularly) so there shouldn't be any
compatibility problems. The securiyt programs appear to be working, but SC
reporsts they are not. Any ideas how to rectify (or double chack that they
are actually working correctly).

  #3  
Old November 29th 04, 08:57 PM
Torgeir Bakken \(MVP\)
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows Security Center incorrectly reports firewall status

ksdonaldson wrote:

I am also experiencing the same issue. I have Zone Alarm (it is up to date)
and I have Norton AntiVirus 2002 (it is up to date). The Virus Protection and
Firewall portions of my Security Center are nagging me about these two not
being turned on. The facts are that NAV and ZA are in my system tray and are
active... I have shut both down and rastarted them just for giggles.

Hi

Try this:

Control Panel/Security Center, click on the "Change the Way
Security Center Notifies Me" link in the left pane.

Frequently asked questions about Windows Security Center
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=883792


If the "Change the Way Security Center Notifies Me" doesn't stick
when you reboot, or you want to disable the Security Center totally,
you can do the following:

Start/Run -- services.msc

Find "Security Center" in the list, double click on it, set
"Startup type" to Disabled.



--
torgeir, Microsoft MVP Scripting and WMI, Porsgrunn Norway
Administration scripting examples and an ONLINE version of
the 1328 page Scripting Guide:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/scr...r/default.mspx
  #4  
Old November 29th 04, 09:00 PM
Malke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows Security Center incorrectly reports firewall status

ksdonaldson wrote:

I am also experiencing the same issue. I have Zone Alarm (it is up to
date) and I have Norton AntiVirus 2002 (it is up to date). The Virus
Protection and Firewall portions of my Security Center are nagging me
about these two not being turned on. The facts are that NAV and ZA are
in my system tray and are active... I have shut both down and
rastarted them just for giggles.

One of my concerns is that one of my lesser knowledgeable family
members will start trying to fix this issue and only make it worse!

"Travis" wrote:

Since installing Security Pack 2, the Security Center reports that
the Firewall is off and for some account sthe virus protection is off
for
non-administrator accounts. I am using Norton Antivirus 2004 Pro and
Zone Alarm Pro so there (updated regularly) so there shouldn't be any
compatibility problems. The securiyt programs appear to be working,
but SC
reporsts they are not. Any ideas how to rectify (or double chack
that they are actually working correctly).


All this means is that Security Center isn't correctly identifying your
av (NAV 2002 is obsolete and should be replaced with a current version
av when your subscription expires) or your firewall. No biggie since
you apparently can keep track of this yourself. Just disable the Alerts
by going to the Security Center applet in Control Panel and on the left
side click "Change how Security Center alerts me" and uncheck the av
and firewall alerts.

Malke
--
MS MVP - Windows Shell/User
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
  #5  
Old November 30th 04, 03:55 PM
sumathi_alagar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows Security Center incorrectly reports firewall status

I have also installed EZ Armour free trial anti-virus software but still it
was alerted as install other software. Immediately I dowloaded AVG free
anti-virus software but once again the security alert shows the same message.
I wonder how this alert is coming from the security centre since every time
installed the anti-virus softwares recommended by the Microsoft corpn. It
means that I have to install only the professional editions not free
editions. I feel it is really a business knack. I want solution for this

"Travis" wrote:

Since installing Security Pack 2, the Security Center reports that the
Firewall is off and for some account sthe virus protection is off for
non-administrator accounts. I am using Norton Antivirus 2004 Pro and Zone
Alarm Pro so there (updated regularly) so there shouldn't be any
compatibility problems. The securiyt programs appear to be working, but SC
reporsts they are not. Any ideas how to rectify (or double chack that they
are actually working correctly).

  #6  
Old November 30th 04, 10:13 PM
Torgeir Bakken \(MVP\)
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows Security Center incorrectly reports firewall status

sumathi_alagar wrote:

I have also installed EZ Armour free trial anti-virus software but still it
was alerted as install other software. Immediately I dowloaded AVG free
anti-virus software but once again the security alert shows the same message.
I wonder how this alert is coming from the security centre since every time
installed the anti-virus softwares recommended by the Microsoft corpn. It
means that I have to install only the professional editions not free
editions. I feel it is really a business knack. I want solution for this

Hi

I suggest you just disable the message from the Security Center,
try this:

Control Panel/Security Center, click on the "Change the Way
Security Center Notifies Me" link in the left pane.

Frequently asked questions about Windows Security Center
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=883792


If the "Change the Way Security Center Notifies Me" doesn't stick
when you reboot, or you want to disable the Security Center totally,
you can do the following:

Start/Run -- services.msc

Find "Security Center" in the list, double click on it, set
"Startup type" to Disabled.


--
torgeir, Microsoft MVP Scripting and WMI, Porsgrunn Norway
Administration scripting examples and an ONLINE version of
the 1328 page Scripting Guide:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/scr...r/default.mspx
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebooting My Dell/Windows XP ? wreckgar Security and Administration with Windows XP 8 November 28th 04 07:51 PM
many in one (questions) Noname Windows XP Help and Support 3 October 4th 04 04:08 AM
Windows works not proper, to slow with strange things Roman Pankov General XP issues or comments 3 September 25th 04 10:45 PM
New SP-2 upgrade issues... George General XP issues or comments 5 September 17th 04 11:31 PM
After SP2 software will not work Zane Windows Service Pack 2 26 August 18th 04 01:26 AM






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.