A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » The Basics
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Reverting to SP1?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 9th 11, 04:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics
William Lurie[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 59
Default Reverting to SP1?

I still have not solved the mystery of how to simply 'reply' to a
message posted here. That's why I'm unfortunately starting a new
thread......not even knowing if it will post.

Tim Meddick wrote:

If U have a reasonably large hard-disk (today's PC's are usually sized
160GB as standard and 300GB to be described as extra-large), then you
could re-size your current system partition on your hd and make a
smaller partition to install your original copy of XP again - but
[obviously] do not upgrade it to SP3. The second XP installation should
appear on the XP Boot/Startup menu as another operating system. Use
this second XP installation to install your older printer, and also,
when you need to print something off.


All good except that the machine came with XP installed, there just
ain't no installation disk, Tim.

But, I would seriously advise that, before going to the trouble of
creating your dual-boot system, that you try to find a friend who has XP
SP1 and see if the printer and it's drivers will install correctly.
But, if you can't find another XP SP1 installation, it's easier to
reverse the dual-boot procedure than to create it.


Don't need to, Tim...the scanner served well back in the SP1 days.
How troublesome would uninstalling SP3/SP2 be?

Hope this gives you some more ideas, at least!

==

Cheers, Tim Meddick, Peckham, London. :-)


Ads
  #2  
Old February 10th 11, 12:17 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics
philo[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 239
Default Reverting to SP1?


"William Lurie" wrote in message
...
I still have not solved the mystery of how to simply 'reply' to a message
posted here. That's why I'm unfortunately starting a new thread......not
even knowing if it will post.



Just hit group reply

anyway though you can revert to SP1 I'd advise you to keep sp3


what types of errors are you getting when you use the driver with SP3 ?


  #3  
Old February 10th 11, 02:20 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics
William Lurie[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 59
Default Reverting to SP1?

philo wrote:
"William Lurie" wrote in message
...
I still have not solved the mystery of how to simply 'reply' to a message
posted here. That's why I'm unfortunately starting a new thread......not
even knowing if it will post.



Just hit group reply

anyway though you can revert to SP1 I'd advise you to keep sp3


what types of errors are you getting when you use the driver with SP3 ?


The Visioneer software does not fully load. It hangs part way through.
Visioneer now has told me that the old software won't work in WSP3 and
they don't have an upgrade.

I'm going to deep six the 8920....cheaper than tilting at the windmill.
  #4  
Old February 10th 11, 08:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics
William Lurie[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 59
Default Reverting to SP1?



To end this thread:

Yes, I have a whole HP partition which is for Restore purposes, but I
have no stomach for reinstalling years of finely tuned apps.

As for Add/Remove, there is no sign of anything in there related to
SP1/Sp2/Sp3.

I wanted SP1 to be able to run an older Visioneer scanner which the
manufacturer claims won't run on SP3. But for a decent price, Visioneer
is selling me a factory-refurbished and warranted more modern version,
of the old scanner. So for only a moderate cost, I hope I will be back
doing hi-res scans of 35mm slides again.

Thanks for all suggestions.
  #5  
Old February 10th 11, 11:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics
philo[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 239
Default Reverting to SP1?


"William Lurie" wrote in message
...


To end this thread:

Yes, I have a whole HP partition which is for Restore purposes, but I
have no stomach for reinstalling years of finely tuned apps.

As for Add/Remove, there is no sign of anything in there related to
SP1/Sp2/Sp3.

I wanted SP1 to be able to run an older Visioneer scanner which the
manufacturer claims won't run on SP3. But for a decent price, Visioneer
is selling me a factory-refurbished and warranted more modern version,
of the old scanner. So for only a moderate cost, I hope I will be back
doing hi-res scans of 35mm slides again.

Thanks for all suggestions.



As much as I like to continue using old equipment...
I think it's a smart choice to keep with SP3...and not roll back to SP1
it's a shame the mfg did not update their driver


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.