A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Networking and the Internet with Windows XP
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Dialup BEFORE Logon



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 27th 10, 10:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
MIXIT
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon

Hi all,

XP Pro systems, (SP3+ latest), trying to get them to establish their dialup
connections before a user logs on. This is basically so that if a system
gets restarted remotely, it'll power up and re-connect via dialup so I can
remote back in. Don't ask why it's dialup, I wish it were't

I've set up a dialup connection icon in Windows that autodials and connects
without prompts once run, so if I stick it in the Startup group it'll
effectively connect to the Internet without interaction.

However this needs to be done before logon, so I tried the Scheduled Tasks
thing and specified it run When My Computer Starts but that doesn't happen,
no sound from the modem or anything.

Unfortunately, I don't have the option of having Windows auto-login with a
default username/pw or this would be my workaround using the dialup icon in
the Startup group.

Any suggestions? I had tried putting the path to the Dialup icon in the Run
keys (HKLM) but nothing happened - I'm not very well versed on manipulating
loadpoints in XP.

Thanks anybody.
Ads
  #2  
Old May 28th 10, 11:34 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
James Egan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 257
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon


On Thu, 27 May 2010 14:39:19 -0700, MIXIT
wrote:

Any suggestions? I had tried putting the path to the Dialup icon in the Run
keys (HKLM) but nothing happened - I'm not very well versed on manipulating
loadpoints in XP.


The old way of doing it (prior to xp) was simply to use the
RunServices key instead of Run which would then load it before logon
but I don't think you can do that with xp or later. However, there are
other ways to start services running so you might look into those. Try
googling for RunServices xp or something like that. That should point
you to some alternatives.


Jim.
  #3  
Old May 28th 10, 11:34 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
James Egan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 257
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon


On Thu, 27 May 2010 14:39:19 -0700, MIXIT
wrote:

Any suggestions? I had tried putting the path to the Dialup icon in the Run
keys (HKLM) but nothing happened - I'm not very well versed on manipulating
loadpoints in XP.


The old way of doing it (prior to xp) was simply to use the
RunServices key instead of Run which would then load it before logon
but I don't think you can do that with xp or later. However, there are
other ways to start services running so you might look into those. Try
googling for RunServices xp or something like that. That should point
you to some alternatives.


Jim.
  #4  
Old May 28th 10, 01:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
John John - MVP
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 780
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon

MIXIT wrote:
Hi all,

XP Pro systems, (SP3+ latest), trying to get them to establish their dialup
connections before a user logs on. This is basically so that if a system
gets restarted remotely, it'll power up and re-connect via dialup so I can
remote back in. Don't ask why it's dialup, I wish it were't


But if you do this all the internet traffic will route through the
slower dial-up connection! Do the users disconnect the connection once
they are logged on to the computer?

In any case... run the dial-up in a Machine Script and it will execute
before anyone logs on.

Other than a fail over I can't really see why you need to do this, you
can remote desktop into Windows XP without anyone being logged on (via
the high speed connection) and with a good modem you can wake up the
computer with Wake on Ring, providing that the Computer/BIOS has Wake on
Ring capability. The only time that I would see a need for this setup
is if the high speed connection (ISP) is down or experiencing outages.
If you have good modems on both ends you can even do a modem to modem
RAS/VPN connection over regular POTS lines... slow as all hell but good
enough to do basic stuff... like getting the unknown ISP assigned IP
address of a machine or like logging on and turning on the dial-up
connection then logging back off!

What's the background for this setup? How many remote users do you have?

John
  #5  
Old May 28th 10, 01:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
John John - MVP
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 780
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon


MIXIT wrote:
Hi all,

XP Pro systems, (SP3+ latest), trying to get them to establish their dialup
connections before a user logs on. This is basically so that if a system
gets restarted remotely, it'll power up and re-connect via dialup so I can
remote back in. Don't ask why it's dialup, I wish it were't


But if you do this all the internet traffic will route through the
slower dial-up connection! Do the users disconnect the connection once
they are logged on to the computer?

In any case... run the dial-up in a Machine Script and it will execute
before anyone logs on.

Other than a fail over I can't really see why you need to do this, you
can remote desktop into Windows XP without anyone being logged on (via
the high speed connection) and with a good modem you can wake up the
computer with Wake on Ring, providing that the Computer/BIOS has Wake on
Ring capability. The only time that I would see a need for this setup
is if the high speed connection (ISP) is down or experiencing outages.
If you have good modems on both ends you can even do a modem to modem
RAS/VPN connection over regular POTS lines... slow as all hell but good
enough to do basic stuff... like getting the unknown ISP assigned IP
address of a machine or like logging on and turning on the dial-up
connection then logging back off!

What's the background for this setup? How many remote users do you have?

John
  #6  
Old June 1st 10, 08:50 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
Anteaus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,330
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon

You could take a look at MyLogon and see if it will do what you need. The VPN
option, although not intended for that purpose, can be made to launch a
dialup connection before logon.

http://mylogon.net

This may not be a suitable route if you have multiple userprofiles, but then
I don't imaging you're using roaming profiles with such a setup anyway.

"MIXIT" wrote:

Hi all,

XP Pro systems, (SP3+ latest), trying to get them to establish their dialup
connections before a user logs on. This is basically so that if a system
gets restarted remotely, it'll power up and re-connect via dialup so I can
remote back in. Don't ask why it's dialup, I wish it were't

I've set up a dialup connection icon in Windows that autodials and connects
without prompts once run, so if I stick it in the Startup group it'll
effectively connect to the Internet without interaction.

However this needs to be done before logon, so I tried the Scheduled Tasks
thing and specified it run When My Computer Starts but that doesn't happen,
no sound from the modem or anything.

Unfortunately, I don't have the option of having Windows auto-login with a
default username/pw or this would be my workaround using the dialup icon in
the Startup group.

Any suggestions? I had tried putting the path to the Dialup icon in the Run
keys (HKLM) but nothing happened - I'm not very well versed on manipulating
loadpoints in XP.

Thanks anybody.

  #7  
Old June 1st 10, 08:50 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
Anteaus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,330
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon

You could take a look at MyLogon and see if it will do what you need. The VPN
option, although not intended for that purpose, can be made to launch a
dialup connection before logon.

http://mylogon.net

This may not be a suitable route if you have multiple userprofiles, but then
I don't imaging you're using roaming profiles with such a setup anyway.

"MIXIT" wrote:

Hi all,

XP Pro systems, (SP3+ latest), trying to get them to establish their dialup
connections before a user logs on. This is basically so that if a system
gets restarted remotely, it'll power up and re-connect via dialup so I can
remote back in. Don't ask why it's dialup, I wish it were't

I've set up a dialup connection icon in Windows that autodials and connects
without prompts once run, so if I stick it in the Startup group it'll
effectively connect to the Internet without interaction.

However this needs to be done before logon, so I tried the Scheduled Tasks
thing and specified it run When My Computer Starts but that doesn't happen,
no sound from the modem or anything.

Unfortunately, I don't have the option of having Windows auto-login with a
default username/pw or this would be my workaround using the dialup icon in
the Startup group.

Any suggestions? I had tried putting the path to the Dialup icon in the Run
keys (HKLM) but nothing happened - I'm not very well versed on manipulating
loadpoints in XP.

Thanks anybody.

  #8  
Old June 1st 10, 10:51 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
James Egan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 257
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon


On Fri, 28 May 2010 11:34:26 +0100, James Egan
wrote:

Any suggestions? I had tried putting the path to the Dialup icon in the Run
keys (HKLM) but nothing happened - I'm not very well versed on manipulating
loadpoints in XP.


The old way of doing it (prior to xp) was simply to use the
RunServices key instead of Run which would then load it before logon
but I don't think you can do that with xp or later. However, there are
other ways to start services running so you might look into those. Try
googling for RunServices xp or something like that. That should point
you to some alternatives.


http://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-1578294.php

I had a quick search myself about this and this user found a RunOnce
key which starts up before logon. Logic suggests a Run key will do
similar but I haven't tried it.

key
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Cur rentVersion\Runonce


I'd appreciate some feedback if anyone's had any success with it.


Jim.

  #9  
Old June 1st 10, 10:51 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.network_web
James Egan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 257
Default Dialup BEFORE Logon


On Fri, 28 May 2010 11:34:26 +0100, James Egan
wrote:

Any suggestions? I had tried putting the path to the Dialup icon in the Run
keys (HKLM) but nothing happened - I'm not very well versed on manipulating
loadpoints in XP.


The old way of doing it (prior to xp) was simply to use the
RunServices key instead of Run which would then load it before logon
but I don't think you can do that with xp or later. However, there are
other ways to start services running so you might look into those. Try
googling for RunServices xp or something like that. That should point
you to some alternatives.


http://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-1578294.php

I had a quick search myself about this and this user found a RunOnce
key which starts up before logon. Logic suggests a Run key will do
similar but I haven't tried it.

key
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Cur rentVersion\Runonce


I'd appreciate some feedback if anyone's had any success with it.


Jim.

  #10  
Old January 27th 11, 12:19 PM
mahaan45 mahaan45 is offline
Registered User
 
First recorded activity by PCbanter: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I'm not certain if this will work, but it looks promising:

All of the following items in quotes can be found under Start / Settings / Control Panel

Open "Network connections" and create a shortcut to your dial up connection somewhere convenient (like on your desktop).

Open "Internet Options" and look at stuff under the Connections tab and make sure things like autodial and save username/password are enabled.

Open "Scheduled Tasks" in the control panel and run the Add Scheduled Task wizard. After a list of programs popsup, click the browse button and select the shortcut to your dialup connection (the shortcut you made above).

Indiate to perform this task 'When my computer starts' You may need to enter Administrator credentials. I'd also tell the wizard to open advanced properties upon finish.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.