A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » New Users to Windows XP
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Startup Error



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 30th 10, 08:07 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Billy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 64
Default Startup Error

Each time I reboot my Dell Desktop I get a Windows Installer box that opens
says " Dell Resource CD" Windows installer....can't stop it from loading and
have to use task mgr. to stop it. It appears to be trying to reinstall
windows I guess.

How do disable that lil annoyance?

tks all

I use XP with Serv P3 and FireFox.

bw


Ads
  #2  
Old March 30th 10, 08:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
glee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,794
Default Startup Error

"Billy" wrote in message
...
Each time I reboot my Dell Desktop I get a Windows Installer box that
opens says " Dell Resource CD" Windows installer....can't stop it from
loading and have to use task mgr. to stop it. It appears to be trying
to reinstall windows I guess.

How do disable that lil annoyance?

tks all

I use XP with Serv P3 and FireFox.


Is there a disc in the CD drive? If so, remove it.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

  #3  
Old March 30th 10, 08:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Billy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 64
Default Startup Error


"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...
Each time I reboot my Dell Desktop I get a Windows Installer box that
opens says " Dell Resource CD" Windows installer....can't stop it from
loading and have to use task mgr. to stop it. It appears to be trying to
reinstall windows I guess.

How do disable that lil annoyance?

tks all

I use XP with Serv P3 and FireFox.


Is there a disc in the CD drive? If so, remove it.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/


no disc



  #4  
Old March 30th 10, 10:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
glee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,794
Default Startup Error


"Billy" wrote in message
...

"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...
Each time I reboot my Dell Desktop I get a Windows Installer box
that opens says " Dell Resource CD" Windows installer....can't stop
it from loading and have to use task mgr. to stop it. It appears to
be trying to reinstall windows I guess.

How do disable that lil annoyance?

tks all

I use XP with Serv P3 and FireFox.


Is there a disc in the CD drive? If so, remove it.


no disc


Have you installed anything recently.....this includes any update to an
already installed program, or a newer version of a program? I see
reports of something like this after updating a program (Firewall,
security program, or other) and the installer caused this error asking
for an unrelated disc.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

  #5  
Old March 31st 10, 12:09 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Billy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 64
Default Startup Error


"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...

"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...
Each time I reboot my Dell Desktop I get a Windows Installer box that
opens says " Dell Resource CD" Windows installer....can't stop it from
loading and have to use task mgr. to stop it. It appears to be trying
to reinstall windows I guess.

How do disable that lil annoyance?

tks all

I use XP with Serv P3 and FireFox.

Is there a disc in the CD drive? If so, remove it.


no disc


Have you installed anything recently.....this includes any update to an
already installed program, or a newer version of a program? I see reports
of something like this after updating a program (Firewall, security
program, or other) and the installer caused this error asking for an
unrelated disc.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/


Yes I have, a number of things.......can't recall exactly what though.


bw



  #6  
Old March 31st 10, 12:16 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Peter Foldes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,444
Default Startup Error

Billy

See if the following can help your situation
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301

--
Peter

Please Reply to Newsgroup for the benefit of others
Requests for assistance by email can not and will not be acknowledged.

"Billy" wrote in message
...

"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...

"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...
Each time I reboot my Dell Desktop I get a Windows Installer box that opens
says " Dell Resource CD" Windows installer....can't stop it from loading and
have to use task mgr. to stop it. It appears to be trying to reinstall
windows I guess.

How do disable that lil annoyance?

tks all

I use XP with Serv P3 and FireFox.

Is there a disc in the CD drive? If so, remove it.

no disc


Have you installed anything recently.....this includes any update to an already
installed program, or a newer version of a program? I see reports of something
like this after updating a program (Firewall, security program, or other) and the
installer caused this error asking for an unrelated disc.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/


Yes I have, a number of things.......can't recall exactly what though.


bw




  #7  
Old March 31st 10, 02:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
glee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,794
Default Startup Error


"Billy" wrote in message
...

"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...

"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...
Each time I reboot my Dell Desktop I get a Windows Installer box
that opens says " Dell Resource CD" Windows installer....can't
stop it from loading and have to use task mgr. to stop it. It
appears to be trying to reinstall windows I guess.

How do disable that lil annoyance?

tks all

I use XP with Serv P3 and FireFox.

Is there a disc in the CD drive? If so, remove it.

no disc


Have you installed anything recently.....this includes any update to
an already installed program, or a newer version of a program? I see
reports of something like this after updating a program (Firewall,
security program, or other) and the installer caused this error
asking for an unrelated disc.


Yes I have, a number of things.......can't recall exactly what though.



Well, which did you install just prior to this issue arising. If you
can recall, uninstall it and then reinstall it from a fresh updated
download if possible.

If you are familiar with the Registry Editor, run regedit and see if
anything is loading from these keys:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\RunOnce
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\RunOnce

Peter linked you to the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility in his reply.
You can install and run that, and may be able to use it to see if there
is an installation listed that is still running or incomplete, and
remove it using the tool.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

  #8  
Old April 1st 10, 12:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Billy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 64
Default Startup Error

I used MSCONFIG and deselcted some startup files and it eliminated the
error. Now I have to figure out which one it was.

tks again all


bw


  #9  
Old April 1st 10, 01:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
glee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,794
Default Startup Error

"Billy" wrote in message
...
I used MSCONFIG and deselcted some startup files and it eliminated the
error. Now I have to figure out which one it was.

tks again all


Post back and let us know which entry it was.
msconfig will show which registry key it loads from also, so you can
remove the entry from the registry instead of disabling via msconfig.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

  #10  
Old April 4th 10, 01:51 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Billy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 64
Default Startup Error


"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...
I used MSCONFIG and deselcted some startup files and it eliminated the
error. Now I have to figure out which one it was.

tks again all


Post back and let us know which entry it was.
msconfig will show which registry key it loads from also, so you can
remove the entry from the registry instead of disabling via msconfig.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/



I disabled a program Karen's Time Synch(sp) or something like that and
uninstalled it. I do not get the error msg. anymore. NOt sure if it a
coincidince or not.

tks aga in all

bw



  #11  
Old April 4th 10, 02:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
glee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,794
Default Startup Error


"Billy" wrote in message
...

"glee" wrote in message
...
"Billy" wrote in message
...
I used MSCONFIG and deselcted some startup files and it eliminated
the error. Now I have to figure out which one it was.

tks again all


Post back and let us know which entry it was.
msconfig will show which registry key it loads from also, so you can
remove the entry from the registry instead of disabling via msconfig.



I disabled a program Karen's Time Synch(sp) or something like that and
uninstalled it. I do not get the error msg. anymore. NOt sure if it
a coincidince or not.

tks aga in all


Hmm...Karen's TimeSync utility does not use Windows Installer (none of
her apps do), so it was not the cause of the message...it was just the
program that got "victimized" by the installer error.

What usually causes this is that some program that uses Windows
Installer did not install correctly or completely, and often brings up
the message when some other unrelated program starts....in your case
Karen's app was probably starting with Windows, so you saw it them.

I would continue looking for a program or update installed recently
*that uses Windows Installer*...it may need to be uninstalled and
reinstalled to prevent a future occurrence of this.

You probably won't miss Karen's app....it's functionality is already
built into Windows' Date and Time control panel:
Double-click the clock in the taskbar, on the right, then click the
Internet Time tab.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.