A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Hardware and Windows XP
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Not showing 512mb of memory



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 6th 03, 09:50 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Not showing 512mb of memory

I just installed another stick of 256 ddr memory along
with the other 256ddr in the machine and restarted the
machine. When I right click my computer and go to
properties it says 480mg of memory is present. WHY?
Ads
  #2  
Old December 6th 03, 09:50 PM
Nicholas
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Not showing 512mb of memory

Does your computer have an on-board video chip installed?
This chip "shares" memory resources with your installed RAM.
Open your BIOS and take a peek.

--=20
Nicholas

-----------------------------------------------------------------

wrote in message:
...

| I just installed another stick of 256 ddr memory along=20
| with the other 256ddr in the machine and restarted the=20
| machine. When I right click my computer and go to=20
| properties it says 480mg of memory is present. WHY?
  #3  
Old December 6th 03, 09:51 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Not showing 512mb of memory

Yes it does,are you saying that 512 is being used by the
system?
-----Original Message-----
Does your computer have an on-board video chip installed?
This chip "shares" memory resources with your installed

RAM.
Open your BIOS and take a peek.

--
Nicholas

----------------------------------------------------------

-------

wrote in message:
...

| I just installed another stick of 256 ddr memory along
| with the other 256ddr in the machine and restarted the
| machine. When I right click my computer and go to
| properties it says 480mg of memory is present. WHY?
.

  #4  
Old December 6th 03, 09:51 PM
Nicholas
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Not showing 512mb of memory

You have 512MB total RAM installed. Your on-board video adapter
is setup to use 32MB of it, leaving a remainder of 480MB for system
usage. If you were to install a dedicated AGP or PCI video card and =
disable
your on-board video in the BIOS, then the full 512MB of RAM would be
available for system usage.

--=20
Nicholas

-------------------------------------------------------------------------=
-

wrote in message:
...

| Yes it does,are you saying that 512 is being used by the=20
| system?
| -----Original Message-----
| Does your computer have an on-board video chip installed?
| This chip "shares" memory resources with your installed=20
| RAM.
| Open your BIOS and take a peek.
|
| --=20
| Nicholas
|
| ----------------------------------------------------------
| -------
|
| wrote in message:
| ...
|
| | I just installed another stick of 256 ddr memory along=20
| | with the other 256ddr in the machine and restarted the=20
| | machine. When I right click my computer and go to=20
| | properties it says 480mg of memory is present. WHY?
| .
|
  #5  
Old December 6th 03, 09:51 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Not showing 512mb of memory

Thanks that's it
-----Original Message-----
Does your computer have an on-board video chip installed?
This chip "shares" memory resources with your installed

RAM.
Open your BIOS and take a peek.

--
Nicholas

----------------------------------------------------------

-------

wrote in message:
...

| I just installed another stick of 256 ddr memory along
| with the other 256ddr in the machine and restarted the
| machine. When I right click my computer and go to
| properties it says 480mg of memory is present. WHY?
.

  #6  
Old December 6th 03, 09:51 PM
Ron Martell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Not showing 512mb of memory

wrote:

Yes it does,are you saying that 512 is being used by the
system?


In a "shared memory" system with built-in video, a fixed amount of the
installed RAM is used for the video, with the rest being available for the
operating system.

I have exactly the same configuration on my own system - 512 mb of RAM
total, of which 32 mb is used for the built-in video leaving 480 mb for
Windows XP.

Hope this explains the situation.


Good luck


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

"The reason computer chips are so small is computers don't eat much."
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.