A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » General XP issues or comments
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Loss of connectivity



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 16th 19, 11:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,alt.windows7.general
XPer[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Loss of connectivity

My Win XP Home laptop has lost connectivity with my home LAN.
AT&T installed a replacement modem. Other devices made the proper hookup.

My laptop says it is connected and say it is an excellent connection but
it will not connect to the internet or to my Buffalo NAS that my other
desktop windows PC connects to without any hesitation.

Browsers do not work. Chrome say it cannot connect. As does Firefox.

Strangely my Buffalo NAS app finds the NAS but says it probably will not
work as it has a limited connectivity.

What does that mean ?

Please offer steps to troubleshoot.
Ads
  #2  
Old April 17th 19, 12:28 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 556
Default Loss of connectivity

On Tue, 16 Apr 2019 15:36:07 -0700, XPer
wrote:

My Win XP Home laptop has lost connectivity with my home LAN.
AT&T installed a replacement modem. Other devices made the proper hookup.

My laptop says it is connected and say it is an excellent connection but
it will not connect to the internet or to my Buffalo NAS that my other
desktop windows PC connects to without any hesitation.

Browsers do not work. Chrome say it cannot connect. As does Firefox.

Strangely my Buffalo NAS app finds the NAS but says it probably will not
work as it has a limited connectivity.

What does that mean ?

Please offer steps to troubleshoot.


I would start with a "Repair connection".
Start/Settings/Network/LAN Connection/Support
If no joy after that power everything off and back on and see how you
do.
  #3  
Old April 17th 19, 04:18 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,alt.windows7.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,758
Default Loss of connectivity

XPer wrote:
My Win XP Home laptop has lost connectivity with my home LAN.
AT&T installed a replacement modem. Other devices made the proper hookup.

My laptop says it is connected and say it is an excellent connection but
it will not connect to the internet or to my Buffalo NAS that my other
desktop windows PC connects to without any hesitation.

Browsers do not work. Chrome say it cannot connect. As does Firefox.

Strangely my Buffalo NAS app finds the NAS but says it probably will not
work as it has a limited connectivity.

What does that mean ?

Please offer steps to troubleshoot.


Have you manually assigned an IP address on the laptop ?

Or are you relying on the automated DHCP settings ?

The "obtain an OP address automatically" here, is the DHCP choice, the default.

https://it.ubc.ca/services/email-voi...and-windows-xp

*******

In Command Prompt, you can do

ipconfig

and the IP address should be listed. You can compare that
to addresses used for your other equipment.

Since the laptop says it's connected and is excellent,
then the ipconfig should have an IP address you can examine.

Paul
  #5  
Old April 17th 19, 06:48 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,alt.windows7.general
George[_11_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Loss of connectivity

XPer wrote:

My Win XP Home laptop has lost connectivity with my home LAN.
AT&T installed a replacement modem. Other devices made the proper hookup.

My laptop says it is connected and say it is an excellent connection but
it will not connect to the internet or to my Buffalo NAS that my other
desktop windows PC connects to without any hesitation.

Browsers do not work. Chrome say it cannot connect. As does Firefox.

Strangely my Buffalo NAS app finds the NAS but says it probably will not
work as it has a limited connectivity.

What does that mean ?

Please offer steps to troubleshoot.


Another possibility:

The AT&T tech probably configured the new modem / router for WPA2
security. The older WEP and WPA wireless security protocols have
been depreciated for security weakness. See link below:
https://www.howtogeek.com/167783/htg...hy-it-matters/
(mind the wrap)

Your XP installation. What service pack and patch level are
you running? Since WEP and WPA have been depreciated, your XP
installation needs to be at least Service Pack 2 plus KB917021.
This fix is included in SP3. In some cases, you may need to
update your WiFi driver. See links below: (mind the wrap)
WPA2 patch cannot be installed in SP3
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...1-12a7725cd647
WPA2 in Windows SP3
https://social.technet.microsoft.com...windows-xp-sp3
  #6  
Old April 17th 19, 08:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,alt.windows7.general
XPer[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Loss of connectivity

Thank you for your responces.

Win XP Home SP3 installed.

I plugged in the cat5 cable and am able to get to the internet that
way.

This is a Acer Aspire One laptop.

The wifi is Atheros AR5007EG

Network Connections shows for both WiFi and LAN.
Connected Firewalled

How do I get an update if needed ?

How do I check what securith protocol it is using ?

Tried Repair but it failed.
could not be copleted. connecting to the wifi

Wireless properties shows my WiFi network as selected.
WPA2-PSK
AES
Key is dots. Why can I not see to verify this ?
  #7  
Old April 17th 19, 09:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,alt.windows7.general
Big Al[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,351
Default Loss of connectivity

On 4/17/19 3:20 PM, XPer wrote:
Thank you for your responces.

Win XP Home SP3 installed.

I plugged in the cat5 cable and am able to get to the internet that way.

This is a Acer Aspire One laptop.

The wifi is Atheros AR5007EG

Network Connections shows for both WiFi and LAN.
* Connected Firewalled

How do I get an update if needed ?

How do I check what securith protocol it is using ?

Tried Repair but it failed.
*could not be copleted.* connecting to the wifi

Wireless properties shows my WiFi network as selected.
* WPA2-PSK
* AES
Key is dots.* Why can I not see to verify this ?You should know the key. Wifi setup programs will never show you the

password, it's a security thing. The only way to reset it that I know
of is to click 'forget' which disconnects that router and then reconnect
and of course you have to put in the password (now you type it as you
think it should be and slowly with one finger to make sure you do it right).

Al
  #8  
Old April 17th 19, 09:02 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,alt.windows7.general
Mike Easter
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 784
Default Loss of connectivity

XPer wrote:
Win XP Home SP3 installed.

I plugged in the cat5 cable and am able to get to the internet that way.

This is a Acer Aspire One laptop.

The wifi is Atheros AR5007EG

Network Connections shows for both WiFi and LAN.
* Connected Firewalled

How do I get an update if needed ?

How do I check what securith protocol it is using ?

Tried Repair but it failed.
*could not be copleted.* connecting to the wifi

Wireless properties shows my WiFi network as selected.
* WPA2-PSK
* AES
Key is dots.* Why can I not see to verify this ?


When I'm troubleshooting connectivity issues and the first simple steps
don't seem to work, I rebuild the network by powering down modem and
router. Sometimes I also power down the devices, depending on the issue.

Then I power up the modem and wait for its lights to get situated; then
the router and its lights, in that order.

Your Acer Aspire One has hot keys for its wifi and a light. This
article* describes resetting the AO w/ the Fn-F3 key (disable 10 sec/
enable) or w/ Win's CP Change adapter settings function Disable - then
Enable after the icon turns gray.

*
https://smallbusiness.chron.com/rese...one-48787.html
How to Reset the Wireless on an Acer Aspire One

--
Mike Easter
  #9  
Old April 17th 19, 09:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,alt.windows7.general
George[_11_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Loss of connectivity

XPer wrote:

Thank you for your responces.

Win XP Home SP3 installed.

I plugged in the cat5 cable and am able to get to the internet that
way.

This is a Acer Aspire One laptop.

The wifi is Atheros AR5007EG


Checking / updating the driver:

While you're connected via the Cat5, select

~ Via Windows Device Manager

Open Control Panel. Select Device Manager, then Network Adapters

Right click on Atheros AR5007EG. Select Properties. Device
properties panel opens.

Move to the Driver tab of the properties panel. You'll see the
details of the current driver.

On the Driver tab, select Update Driver. On the next panel,
select 'Search automatically for updated driver software'.
Windows Update (WU) will search for a later version of the driver

If an updated version of the WiFi driver exists, WU will install
it and prompt for a reboot.

~ Download and manually install

Go to the Acer Drivers and Manuals page (link below).
https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers
If your laptop is no longer supported, try the link below.
http://www.atherosdrivers.com/athero...-xp-32bit.html
(mind the wrap)

Find the model number, select the matching driver (latest
applicable version), and download. Run a virus scan of the
driver package. If it's safe, save a copy and install manually.

On other points:

Wireless properties shows my WiFi network as selected.
WPA2-PSK
AES


This is good. It's likely that the new router uses a different
default password. That information should be in the docs for the
new router.

Key is dots. Why can I not see to verify this ?


It's been a long time since I last argued with XP, but, IIRC,
there was an option to show the existing password. Maybe someone
else will remember.

Good hunting.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.