A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Enable and Disable Connection to Router



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 17th 17, 03:26 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
David E. Ross[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,035
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
to my router. What routine handles this?

--
David E. Ross
http://www.rossde.com/

Yes, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and other
"founding fathers" owned slaves. However, they created
a nation. Robert E. Lee, Jefferson Davis, Thomas
"Stonewall" Jackson and other "heroes" of the
Confederacy tried to tear the nation apart. Statues
and other monuments to those "heroes" of the
Confederacy actually celebrate traitors and treason.

See my http://www.rossde.com/editorials/edtl_conf_flag.html.
Ads
  #2  
Old September 17th 17, 04:39 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,881
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

David E. Ross wrote:

I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
to my router. What routine handles this?


Create shortcuts or batch files that run (in one command line, no wrap):

C:\Windows\System32\netsh.exe interface set interface "Local Area Connection" DISABLED

C:\Windows\System32\netsh.exe interface set interface "Local Area Connection" ENABLED

The connectoid's name is within double-quotes. Go into your network
settings to see that is your connectoid's name to your router.
  #3  
Old September 17th 17, 12:56 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
G Ross
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

David E. Ross wrote:
Yes, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and other
"founding fathers" owned slaves. However, they created
a nation. Robert E. Lee, Jefferson Davis, Thomas
"Stonewall" Jackson and other "heroes" of the
Confederacy tried to tear the nation apart. Statues
and other monuments to those "heroes" of the
Confederacy actually celebrate traitors and treason.


Traitors and treason are flexible terms. They only apply if you lose.
George Washington and Thomas Jefferson were "traitors" until they won,
then they were "Heroes" and "founding fathers".

--
GW Ross







  #4  
Old September 17th 17, 03:17 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Mayayana
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,438
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

"David E. Ross" wrote

|I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
| to my router. What routine handles this?
|

I don't have an answer, but the first place I'd look is
with RunDLL. There are examples he

http://www.robvanderwoude.com/rundll.php

As you may know, MS created RunDLL to call
functions in system DLLs, typically with special
parameters, in order to allow system automation.
But I don't see a "disable network" option.

A second possibility might be the last item on
this page:

https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/1...ing-dll-calls/

It's an AutoIt version of a Windows script.
I tried a VBS version but it doesn't seem to work.
The Shell.Application object is a funky piece
of work and many things don't work properly.
I got stumped at trying to find the collection of
Verbs for network connections. That doesn't surprise
me. The "verbs" never seem to have worked properly.


  #5  
Old September 17th 17, 04:06 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

Mayayana wrote:
"David E. Ross" wrote

|I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
| to my router. What routine handles this?
|

I don't have an answer, but the first place I'd look is
with RunDLL. There are examples he

http://www.robvanderwoude.com/rundll.php

As you may know, MS created RunDLL to call
functions in system DLLs, typically with special
parameters, in order to allow system automation.
But I don't see a "disable network" option.

A second possibility might be the last item on
this page:

https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/1...ing-dll-calls/

It's an AutoIt version of a Windows script.
I tried a VBS version but it doesn't seem to work.
The Shell.Application object is a funky piece
of work and many things don't work properly.
I got stumped at trying to find the collection of
Verbs for network connections. That doesn't surprise
me. The "verbs" never seem to have worked properly.


There are some commands here, for disabling
individual network interfaces. There's a wmic one,
a netsh one, and a powershell applet.

https://www.petri.com/3-ways-disable...ion-windows-10

Paul
  #6  
Old September 17th 17, 06:09 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Good Guy[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,354
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

On 17/09/2017 03:26, David E. Ross wrote:
I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
to my router. What routine handles this?

This is the most stupidest question I have seen for a very long time.
Why do people resort to scripts when there are switches on the Windows
UI to do simple things like this. For example this switch has always
been available since the days of XP. I guess it was available in 95, 98
and 2000 but I have never used those OSs. They were before my time.

https://i.imgur.com/v5i3Z6D.png https://i.imgur.com/v5i3Z6D.png

It is time people become more practical and try to use the switches as
much as possible because that is what they are for. They are not made
for decoration or for Bill Gates' pleasure.



--
With over 500 million devices now running Windows 10, customer
satisfaction is higher than any previous version of windows.

  #7  
Old September 18th 17, 07:23 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
PeterC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 98
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

On Sun, 17 Sep 2017 10:17:48 -0400, Mayayana wrote:

"David E. Ross" wrote

|I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
| to my router. What routine handles this?
|

Possibly I don't fully understand this issue, or what I do isn't suitable,
but, in W7, I made a shortcut to Local Area Connection and placed it on the
Quick Launch Bar. Clicking on it brings up the Status with one of the
buttons being Disable.
I can check if it has worked on the Networx graph as the progress stops.

I don't have an answer, but the first place I'd look is
with RunDLL. There are examples he

http://www.robvanderwoude.com/rundll.php

As you may know, MS created RunDLL to call
functions in system DLLs, typically with special
parameters, in order to allow system automation.
But I don't see a "disable network" option.

A second possibility might be the last item on
this page:

https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/1...ing-dll-calls/

It's an AutoIt version of a Windows script.
I tried a VBS version but it doesn't seem to work.
The Shell.Application object is a funky piece
of work and many things don't work properly.
I got stumped at trying to find the collection of
Verbs for network connections. That doesn't surprise
me. The "verbs" never seem to have worked properly.



--
Peter.
The gods will stay away
whilst religions hold sway
  #8  
Old September 18th 17, 10:31 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,881
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

PeterC wrote:

Mayayana wrote:

"David E. Ross" wrote

I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
to my router. What routine handles this?


Possibly I don't fully understand this issue, or what I do isn't suitable,
but, in W7, I made a shortcut to Local Area Connection and placed it on the
Quick Launch Bar. Clicking on it brings up the Status with one of the
buttons being Disable.
I can check if it has worked on the Networx graph as the progress stops.


What if the OP wants to use commands (in a script) to do the enable or
disable of his network connectoid when the OP is *not* around, like for
a scheduled task? Your method requires more than clicking on the
shortcut. You then have to click an object within the dialog to effect
the disable.

Also, my recollection of using a shortcut to show the properties of the
LAN connectoid is that you only got a Disable button. Once disabled,
you could not use the same shortcut to [re]enable that connectoid. Say
you go to Control Panel - Network and Internet - Network Connections
and drag the LAN connectoid to the desktop. Double-click on that
shortcut (which references a GUID for connectoid, not a command to run
with parameters). You'll see the status dialog with a Disable button.
Click on the Disable button. Exit that dialog and use the shortcut
again. Is there an Enable button now in that dialog so you can reenable
to previously same disabled connectoid? I'll let you test. In the
past, I remember I could easily disable but reenabling required work,
like creating a new connectoid again.

To use some GUI-only method, you could right-click on the network tray
icon in the Windows taskbar's notification area, select "Open Network
and Sharing Center", and click on the "Connect or disconnect" link
there. Disconnect (disable) is easy: you kill the current connectoid.
However, [re]connect (enable) is harder: you have to walk through
wizards to define a new connectoid.

Much easier to create shortcuts to the commands that I mentioned. After
disabling, it's pretty easy to [re]enable. Since the OP wants to do the
enable/disable within scripts, those same commands can be used in those.
If you ever rename the connectoid (interface), you'll have to update the
command to also use the new name.
  #9  
Old September 18th 17, 01:12 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Mayayana
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,438
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

"PeterC" wrote

| Possibly I don't fully understand this issue, or what I do isn't suitable,
| but, in W7, I made a shortcut to Local Area Connection and placed it on
the
| Quick Launch Bar. Clicking on it brings up the Status with one of the
| buttons being Disable.

I don't understand it, either. I'm assuming the
desire is to avoid any more than one click. (You
have to click twice! How do you find time to get
anything else done?!

I have my cable running through a GPS on
the desk. I literally unplug it when I'm not online.
It's actually faster and easier than going through
Network Connections. But of course it only works
for a hard-wired desktop.


  #10  
Old September 18th 17, 02:47 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Char Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,449
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

On Mon, 18 Sep 2017 04:31:27 -0500, VanguardLH wrote:

What if the OP wants to use commands (in a script) to do the enable or
disable of his network connectoid when the OP is *not* around, like for
a scheduled task? Your method requires more than clicking on the
shortcut. You then have to click an object within the dialog to effect
the disable.

Also, my recollection of using a shortcut to show the properties of the
LAN connectoid is that you only got a Disable button. Once disabled,
you could not use the same shortcut to [re]enable that connectoid. Say
you go to Control Panel - Network and Internet - Network Connections
and drag the LAN connectoid to the desktop. Double-click on that
shortcut (which references a GUID for connectoid, not a command to run
with parameters). You'll see the status dialog with a Disable button.
Click on the Disable button. Exit that dialog and use the shortcut
again. Is there an Enable button now in that dialog so you can reenable
to previously same disabled connectoid? I'll let you test. In the
past, I remember I could easily disable but reenabling required work,
like creating a new connectoid again.

To use some GUI-only method, you could right-click on the network tray
icon in the Windows taskbar's notification area, select "Open Network
and Sharing Center", and click on the "Connect or disconnect" link
there. Disconnect (disable) is easy: you kill the current connectoid.
However, [re]connect (enable) is harder: you have to walk through
wizards to define a new connectoid.


If you have to define a new connectoid, I believe it means you deleted
the previous connectoid, rather than simply disabling it. I don't
recommend deleting when the intent is only to disable.

Much easier to create shortcuts to the commands that I mentioned. After
disabling, it's pretty easy to [re]enable. Since the OP wants to do the
enable/disable within scripts, those same commands can be used in those.
If you ever rename the connectoid (interface), you'll have to update the
command to also use the new name.


Agreed, the commands are fine, especially if the situation is meant to
be non-interactive.

--

Char Jackson
  #11  
Old September 19th 17, 07:59 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
PeterC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 98
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

On Mon, 18 Sep 2017 04:31:27 -0500, VanguardLH wrote:

PeterC wrote:

Mayayana wrote:

"David E. Ross" wrote

I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
to my router. What routine handles this?

Possibly I don't fully understand this issue, or what I do isn't suitable,
but, in W7, I made a shortcut to Local Area Connection and placed it on the
Quick Launch Bar. Clicking on it brings up the Status with one of the
buttons being Disable.
I can check if it has worked on the Networx graph as the progress stops.


What if the OP wants to use commands (in a script) to do the enable or
disable of his network connectoid when the OP is *not* around, like for
a scheduled task? Your method requires more than clicking on the
shortcut. You then have to click an object within the dialog to effect
the disable.

Also, my recollection of using a shortcut to show the properties of the
LAN connectoid is that you only got a Disable button. Once disabled,
you could not use the same shortcut to [re]enable that connectoid. Say
you go to Control Panel - Network and Internet - Network Connections
and drag the LAN connectoid to the desktop. Double-click on that
shortcut (which references a GUID for connectoid, not a command to run
with parameters). You'll see the status dialog with a Disable button.
Click on the Disable button. Exit that dialog and use the shortcut
again. Is there an Enable button now in that dialog so you can reenable
to previously same disabled connectoid? I'll let you test. In the
past, I remember I could easily disable but reenabling required work,
like creating a new connectoid again.

OK, so far more complex than I'd realised.
I'just tried it ; click icon, click Disable, connection stopped. Click icon,
connection started (no dialogue box), so 3 clicks for 2 actions - not too
bad.

To use some GUI-only method, you could right-click on the network tray
icon in the Windows taskbar's notification area, select "Open Network
and Sharing Center", and click on the "Connect or disconnect" link
there. Disconnect (disable) is easy: you kill the current connectoid.
However, [re]connect (enable) is harder: you have to walk through
wizards to define a new connectoid.

Much easier to create shortcuts to the commands that I mentioned. After
disabling, it's pretty easy to [re]enable. Since the OP wants to do the
enable/disable within scripts, those same commands can be used in those.
If you ever rename the connectoid (interface), you'll have to update the
command to also use the new name.



--
Peter.
The gods will stay away
whilst religions hold sway
  #12  
Old September 19th 17, 04:40 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Zaidy036[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 427
Default Enable and Disable Connection to Router

On 9/16/2017 10:26 PM, David E. Ross wrote:
I want to create a script to enable or disable the connection of my PC
to my router. What routine handles this?


How about a batch like the following:
================================================== =
:: _Net_Stop_Start.bat

@ECHO OFF

:: Change CMD Window title, size, and position
:: ================================================== ==============
SETLOCAL ENABLEEXTENSIONS & (TITLE _Network_Stop_Start.bat) & ENDLOCAL
START "" /WAIT "C:\Program Files\nircmd-x64\nircmd.exe" win setsize
stitle "Administrator" 400 200 600 500

netsh interface set interface "Local Area Connection" DISABLED

ECHO( & ECHO Press any key to reconnect to Network & ECHO( & PAUSE
NUL


netsh interface set interface "Local Area Connection" ENABLED

ECHO( & ECHO Network has been reconnected" & ECHO( & Timeout 5

EXIT
================================================== =============
The first commands set window size and placement.

Run batch to Disable and then click in window to Enable.
--
Zaidy036
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.