A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Windows 10 » Windows 10 Help Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

New features WANTED for Home versions



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 27th 15, 06:20 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
- Bobb -[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

I would like a checkbox in Defrag (and other time-consuming programs) to "
Shutdown System when complete".

What would you like to ADD, MODIFY, change procedure to make it more
user-friendly?



---
This email has been checked for viruses by Avast antivirus software.
https://www.avast.com/antivirus

Ads
  #2  
Old July 27th 15, 07:43 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Roger Blake[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 405
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

On 2015-07-27, - Bobb - wrote:
I would like a checkbox in Defrag (and other time-consuming programs) to "
Shutdown System when complete".


Auslogics Disk Defrag has that option. The latest version will also
display SMART attributes for the drive.

--
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Roger Blake (Change "invalid" to "com" for email. Google Groups killfiled.)

NSA sedition and treason -- http://www.DeathToNSAthugs.com
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
  #3  
Old July 28th 15, 05:30 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Maurice Helwig
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 164
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

On 28/07/2015 4:43 AM, Roger Blake wrote:
On 2015-07-27, - Bobb - wrote:
I would like a checkbox in Defrag (and other time-consuming programs) to "
Shutdown System when complete".


Auslogics Disk Defrag has that option. The latest version will also
display SMART attributes for the drive.

I would like a proper desktop Start menu !!!!!!!!! -- just like win 7
(or XP if you must) -- anything but that thing they call a menu now
?????. And please do not arrange things in alphabetical order. I
organize my menu according to function. Classic shell is the only way I
can make the thing go.
I cannot comment on the touch screen menu as I do not have one -- unless
an Android tablet counts.
--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Maurice Helwig
~~~~~~~~~~~~
  #4  
Old July 28th 15, 03:29 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Mark Lloyd[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,295
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

On 07/27/2015 11:30 PM, Maurice Helwig wrote:

[snip]

And please do not arrange things in alphabetical order. I
organize my menu according to function. Classic shell is the only way I
can make the thing go.


I experience that problem a lot. I arrange things the way I want, and
the "helpful idiot" makes a mess of that (alphabetizes).

[snip]



--
Mark Lloyd
http://notstupid.us/

"Happiness is the only good. The time to be happy is now, The place to
be happy is here." --R.G. Ingersoll
  #6  
Old July 28th 15, 10:00 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Big Al[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,246
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

Maurice Helwig wrote on 7/28/2015 12:30 AM:
And please do not arrange things in alphabetical order. I organize my menu according to function.


All you have to do is open
"C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Win dows\Start Menu\Programs"
and make a few folders like "--utilities--" or "--Fonts--" or "--Cleanup--" etc and then put in your programs either
single shortcut links or whole folders for some programs like Photoshop that make extensive folders.

WIndows 10 will then alphabetize but you'll see your proprietary folders at the top under the & symbol.

No need to scroll down unless you want something down there.

Also you know you can click on any letter of the alphabet in that list and it will change to something like a calculator
keypad with all the letters in the alphabet on there. And the highlighted ones are the ones you have software in. So
if you're looking for Photoshop and P is not highlighted, guess it might be under Adobe!

It's not that hard if you learn to USE the system and not abUSE it.

Yet I still agree, they did a dismal job (and that's saying nicely) of making a menu.

  #7  
Old July 28th 15, 10:02 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Big Al[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,246
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

Big Al wrote on 7/28/2015 5:00 PM:
Maurice Helwig wrote on 7/28/2015 12:30 AM:
And please do not arrange things in alphabetical order. I organize my menu according to function.


All you have to do is open
"C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Win dows\Start Menu\Programs"
and make a few folders like "--utilities--" or "--Fonts--" or "--Cleanup--" etc and then put in your programs either
single shortcut links or whole folders for some programs like Photoshop that make extensive folders.

WIndows 10 will then alphabetize but you'll see your proprietary folders at the top under the & symbol.

No need to scroll down unless you want something down there.

Also you know you can click on any letter of the alphabet in that list and it will change to something like a calculator
keypad with all the letters in the alphabet on there. And the highlighted ones are the ones you have software in. So
if you're looking for Photoshop and P is not highlighted, guess it might be under Adobe!

It's not that hard if you learn to USE the system and not abUSE it.

Yet I still agree, they did a dismal job (and that's saying nicely) of making a menu.

The All-Users start menu items are in
"C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs"
If you open both in windows you can drag and drop programs into your custom folders and tweak that sorted list.

  #8  
Old August 29th 15, 07:31 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Steve Silverwood [KB6OJS]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 77
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

On Tue, 28 Jul 2015 14:30:55 +1000, Maurice Helwig
wrote:

On 28/07/2015 4:43 AM, Roger Blake wrote:
On 2015-07-27, - Bobb - wrote:
I would like a checkbox in Defrag (and other time-consuming programs) to "
Shutdown System when complete".


Auslogics Disk Defrag has that option. The latest version will also
display SMART attributes for the drive.

I would like a proper desktop Start menu !!!!!!!!! -- just like win 7
(or XP if you must) -- anything but that thing they call a menu now
?????. And please do not arrange things in alphabetical order. I
organize my menu according to function. Classic shell is the only way I
can make the thing go.


By all means, try Start10 from Stardock (www.stardock.com). It works
nicely to give you exactly what you want. It's free for 30 days, and
only costs about $10 to register. You can click Start to get the Win7
style menu, and hold Ctrl and click Start to get the Win10 version at
any time you like.
  #9  
Old August 29th 15, 10:00 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Kirk Bubul[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 147
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

On Fri, 28 Aug 2015 23:31:57 -0700, "Steve Silverwood [KB6OJS]"
wrote:

On Tue, 28 Jul 2015 14:30:55 +1000, Maurice Helwig
wrote:

On 28/07/2015 4:43 AM, Roger Blake wrote:
On 2015-07-27, - Bobb - wrote:
I would like a checkbox in Defrag (and other time-consuming programs) to "
Shutdown System when complete".

Auslogics Disk Defrag has that option. The latest version will also
display SMART attributes for the drive.

I would like a proper desktop Start menu !!!!!!!!! -- just like win 7
(or XP if you must) -- anything but that thing they call a menu now
?????. And please do not arrange things in alphabetical order. I
organize my menu according to function. Classic shell is the only way I
can make the thing go.


By all means, try Start10 from Stardock (www.stardock.com). It works
nicely to give you exactly what you want. It's free for 30 days, and
only costs about $10 to register. You can click Start to get the Win7
style menu, and hold Ctrl and click Start to get the Win10 version at
any time you like.


The listed price for Start10 from Stardock is
$4.99, unless you are upgrading from Start8. If so, the price is
$3.99.
  #10  
Old August 29th 15, 02:26 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Steve Silverwood [KB6OJS]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 77
Default New features WANTED for Home versions

On Sat, 29 Aug 2015 04:00:13 -0500, Kirk Bubul
wrote:

The listed price for Start10 from Stardock is
$4.99, unless you are upgrading from Start8. If so, the price is
$3.99.


I stand corrected. Thank you.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.