A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » General XP issues or comments
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

O.T. Speakers static/humming



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old August 9th 18, 09:03 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 517
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

On Thu, 9 Aug 2018 07:15:07 -0700 (PDT), Mark Twain
wrote:

The speaker hum/static sound came back today
and this time I tried the diagnostics. I unplugged
the speakers and tried each one in the diagnostics
port for low and high frequencies and both played
although they sounded the same to me. So according
to the test the speakers are working normally.

Afterwards the humming stopped.

Robert


Humming PC speakers are usually caused by a bad connection on the
plug. I use corrosion block on them.

https://filterace.com/images/Product/large/246.jpg
Ads
  #17  
Old August 9th 18, 11:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,078
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

Mark Twain wrote:
The speaker hum/static sound came back today
and this time I tried the diagnostics. I unplugged
the speakers and tried each one in the diagnostics
port for low and high frequencies and both played
although they sounded the same to me. So according
to the test the speakers are working normally.

Afterwards the humming stopped.

Robert


http://stuartconnections.com/product...uide/setup.htm

You could try just connecting the green connector
and leave the black disconnected. Then listen for hum.

The multichannel setup likely requires different
balancing than the stereo (green plug only) setup.
This would be something you'd attempt to adjust
from a "full featured" sound control panel on
the computer end. You have to adjust the output mode,
play some music, and rebalance the bass and treble
or adjust the multiband software equalizer.

I've had a couple sound cards, where they had absolutely
no bass and treble control at all. And then I have two
computers now, with the "software multiband equalizer"
(sound correction done with DSP software). And I've used
that on occasion to correct the really bad
amplifier characteristics. You adjust until the
sound is natural.

I'd suggest trying TOSLink, except neither end has that.
(That's optical SPDIF.) TOSLink emits a red LED color
from the emitter and uses "dental fiber", a relatively
large diameter plastic fiber cable with high loss. The
TOSLink emitter costs the manufacturer around $1. A number
of motherboards have it. It's the "digital" connector
in the manual. Some laptops, the green lineout connector
is dual purpose, and if you look into the barrel
of the green connector, you'll be greeted by red
LED light output. The connector will accept some
sort of TOSLink adapter to pick up the light.

Another way to break a DC path between components,
is with Radio Shack "wireless" extenders. Which is
way too expensive to be worth it. Radio Shack also
used to sell a "hum breaker", with a carefully
balanced transformer inside, and that's for cases
where there is a ground loop. Since the HK695 has no
Safety Ground, there should not be a ground loop
present. The HK695 is isolated and floating with
respect to the power source. Only the PC establishes
ground potential. A hum breaker should not be needed.
Even a good quality hum breaker only has a 10KHz
bandwidth, so it's not exactly "high fidelity".
But compared to a situation that hums, it's
quite acceptable.

Paul
  #18  
Old August 10th 18, 10:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

This is a brand new set of speakers not more
than 6 months old.

Robert

  #19  
Old August 10th 18, 10:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

Thing is it's an intermittent problem..

I'll try working with the green plug...
these are new speakers from when all
the electronics in my home got fried
when the guy wired it for 220 instead
of 110, remember?


In fact, I'm in the process of getting
ductless A/C and I told them the story
of the outage and re-wiring so I'm being
careful not to let that happen again!


Here are my sound controls for the speakers:

http://i66.tinypic.com/2pzzfjr.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/2w223xg.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/2ih07qc.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/1238wa8.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/jjurf4.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/huoemv.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/10seqdy.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/514rk0.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/2ccmp84.jpg


Here's the sound controls for applications:

http://i67.tinypic.com/auk0nd.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/30ii7h3.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/4t7kn6.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/120i837.jpg

Robert
  #20  
Old August 11th 18, 01:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,078
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

Mark Twain wrote:
Thing is it's an intermittent problem..

I'll try working with the green plug...
these are new speakers from when all
the electronics in my home got fried
when the guy wired it for 220 instead
of 110, remember?


In fact, I'm in the process of getting
ductless A/C and I told them the story
of the outage and re-wiring so I'm being
careful not to let that happen again!


Here are my sound controls for the speakers:

http://i66.tinypic.com/2pzzfjr.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/2w223xg.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/2ih07qc.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/1238wa8.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/jjurf4.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/huoemv.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/10seqdy.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/514rk0.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/2ccmp84.jpg


Here's the sound controls for applications:

http://i67.tinypic.com/auk0nd.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/30ii7h3.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/4t7kn6.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/120i837.jpg

Robert


Well, reading the manual, the HK695 does two things.

1) 2.0 computer output to 2.1 speaker output

2) 4.0 computer output to 2.1 speaker output

When you use both the green and the black connector,
the computer should be set to "four channel", perhaps
referred to in the disco era as "quadraphonic".

The RealTek sound hardware, currently driven by the
Microsoft driver, I don't see a reference to output
mode. Whether it's 2.0, 2.1, 5.1, 7.1 isn't clear. The
panel shows you have four jacks for a total of eight
channels (7.1).

The thing is, the "multimedia content" on your computer,
starts with an initial set of channels. If you download
a typical consumer tune, it might be stereo. If you had
WinAmp running, that would be 2.0 stereo source.

Some sound chips have software, to "transform" the sound
field of the source content (2.0 MP3, 5.1 Movie Soundtrack)
to the number of channels the user selected (2.0, 2.1, 5.1, 7.1).
This might be referred to as HRTF (Head Related Transfer Function).

So if you were listening to a movie which only had a stereo
sound track, yet you had the sound card set to 5.1, the
software would "synthesize" the missing channels. It doesn't
sound as good as real 5.1, but you get a slight bit more
depth of field from the transformation.

However, your *speakers* have their own HRTF. And your
speakers only have two input modes. 2.0 and 4.0.

And another factor here, is the original owner of the patent
for at least one of the transfer functions, sold the patent
to Creative. Creative "yanked" the licensing from it's
competitors. This meant that CMedia had to pull its
drivers from the website for an entire year, while
they re-wrote their driver and removed the
transformation matrix stuff.

Source Realtek HK695
(at a guess)
(not verified)
2.0 2.0 2.0 __\ 2.1 out
5.1 2.1 4.0 /
5.1
7.1

One issue, is back when sound cards were PCI, those
products still had a software support for 4.0
(green jack and black jack). AFAIK, the RealTek of
today, is likely missing 4.0 output. If you set the
RealTek to 5.1, then the "Center/Sub" receive a signal,
which in effect "subtracts some energy from front
stereo and back stereo channels". So selecting 5.1
on the RealTek level, isn't "exactly right" either.

In summary, you probably want to play any source
you want on the left. Don't worry about that. The
media player is likely to see the Realtek column
is 2.0 and the source will do the right thing.

The RealTek should be set to Stereo. I didn't see
a setting in the Microsoft GUI admitting only
the green jack has a signal on it.

Once the RealTek is stereo, plug the green plug
of the HK695 in. The 2.0 signal in, will have
a low pass filter applied to Left and Right,
and the LPFs will be mixed together. This
drives the Sub unit of your speakers. Maybe the
sub will be given a signal from 60Hz to around 200Hz.
And the rest of the energy will come from the
wine-glass side speakers.

One thing I'm worried about here, is whether the
hum might be coming from the HK695 HRTF digital
processing or something. If the RealTek isn't driving
a signal on the black plug, maybe while the plug
is "floating", the HRTF inside the HK695 is doing
a transform on it, and redirecting "energy" below
200Hz to the sub unit.

By disconnecting the Black cable from the HK695,
then in theory it should stop trying to mix in
the signal from the Black pair of channels.

If you had an older sound card, a PCI one,
it might have the old Quadraphonic setting
and with that in place, you could try the HK695
doing the 4.0 to 2.1 transformation. The front
and rear speakers would be mixed to make a stereo
signal. All four channels would be LPF and mixed
together, to drive the sub. That's roughly how
you might turn 4.0 to 2.1.

*******

If you get the actual RealTek driver, the panel
can look like this.

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/a...re1-png.52998/

You can look to see if it has a Quadraphonic setting
and supports 4.0 or not. By clicking the orange
tick boxes, you can change the output mode of the
RealTek.

The "dismiss" in that panel, is on the upper right.
Somebody "on drugs" did the GUI design :-) It
always annoys me when I see it. But I have
installed that here. If you hold your
mouse over the "plugs" near the top of the
panel, you'll be in for a surprise (over the top
visual effect).

This is a Realtek driver page. Tick the "I accept".
This "I accept" nonsense, prevents me from giving
the direct links I'd like to use.

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...Audio%20Codecs

If you're using the 64-bit OS, then

*64bits* Vista, Windows7, Windows8, Windows8.1, R2.82 2017/7/26 264424k Global
Windows10 Driver only (Executable file)

Click the Global button and the download will begin.
It'll take a while.

That driver will give that goofy control panel, and
the branding will be RealTek. If you don't like it,
you can go to Programs and Features and remove it.
The Dell "auto-updater" might try to destroy the
RealTek driver install, and I don't know what the
Dell stuff does when a "foreign" driver is present.

If you got the driver from Dell, Dell might sneak
their logo into the panel.

In any case, you have options other than to use
the rather boring Microsoft generic panels. In
your search for the right setting for the
number of plugs you're using.

2.0 green plug only
4.0 green and black plugs both used

I hope the above isn't too much to digest. The
sound software has really gotten out of hand.

HTH,
Paul
  #21  
Old August 11th 18, 01:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,970
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

In message , Paul
writes:
[]
I hope the above isn't too much to digest. The


Saved for future reference though (-:

sound software has really gotten out of hand.

[]
A lot because they _tried_ to make things easier by implementing
autosense, so the drivers and hardware between them automatically
detected what you plugged in, including especially whether that was an
input or an output. (Cynics could also say that that was done to reduce
the number of sockets.) Last time (not recently) I played with sound
setup software (I agree, done by someone on something - particularly
irritating to me as part of what I do is set it up for my blind friends;
too much of it is graphic only, so I have to do it for them), I _think_
it was possible to override the autosense and _tell_ it what you had
connected to each socket, but I have the feeling that it creeps back,
especially with "up"grades (including the ordinary Windows ones - though
I've just noticed this is in the XP 'group only).
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

Grief generates a huge energy in you and it's better for everybody if you
harness it to do something. - Judi Dench, RT 2015/2/28-3/6
  #22  
Old August 12th 18, 01:02 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

It was allot to digest *L*

I disconnected the black plug and no difference,
then disconnected the green plug and it lost sound.

I had Realtek driver installed in programs:

http://i67.tinypic.com/2rh9z5c.jpg

I tried to reinstall it but it failed.

I tried your link to install it but it kept giving me the
'I accept' nonsense. I tried over 10 times. How many
does it take before it activates?

Thanks,
Robert


  #23  
Old August 12th 18, 01:22 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,078
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

Mark Twain wrote:
It was allot to digest *L*

I disconnected the black plug and no difference,
then disconnected the green plug and it lost sound.

I had Realtek driver installed in programs:

http://i67.tinypic.com/2rh9z5c.jpg

I tried to reinstall it but it failed.

I tried your link to install it but it kept giving me the
'I accept' nonsense. I tried over 10 times. How many
does it take before it activates?

Thanks,
Robert



It's in a redirect loop.

Try again tomorrow.

Maybe hackers broke in, and they have to
restore from backup.

Paul
  #24  
Old August 14th 18, 05:19 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

I tried it again and it's still
in a re-direct loop.

Robert

  #25  
Old August 14th 18, 07:38 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,078
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

Mark Twain wrote:
I tried it again and it's still
in a re-direct loop.

Robert


It still isn't behaving quite right.

What should happen, is this URL should take you back
to the "I accept" page. It's a direct link, but they
won't allow me to direct link, without that stupid
"I accept" page showing up instead. I was able to get
here with SRWare Iron.

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...&GetDown=false

Paul
  #26  
Old August 15th 18, 11:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

I was finally able to download:

http://i64.tinypic.com/2qsusuo.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/k2lpom.jpg

Is this just an update because I
don't see any changes.

Robert
  #27  
Old August 16th 18, 12:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,078
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

Mark Twain wrote:
I was finally able to download:

http://i64.tinypic.com/2qsusuo.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/k2lpom.jpg

Is this just an update because I
don't see any changes.

Robert


It would be an update.

In Control Panels, you should have a RealTek.
You should be able to set it to Quadraphonic.

That would give 4.0 for the two plugs on the
HK speakers, and the HK will transform the
4.0 to 2.1 for the sub and two satellite speakers.

https://s15.postimg.cc/g5d8hudgr/quadraphonic.gif

Or, you can set it to stereo and use just the
green plug.

Paul
  #28  
Old August 16th 18, 01:20 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

I don't seem to be able to locate the
Realtek HD Audio Manager? My setup
still looks the same.

http://i67.tinypic.com/bbh46.jpg


Robert
  #29  
Old August 16th 18, 01:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,078
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

Mark Twain wrote:
I don't seem to be able to locate the
Realtek HD Audio Manager? My setup
still looks the same.

http://i67.tinypic.com/bbh46.jpg


Robert


A Google search offers this suggestion. The
executable mentioned here would be on a 64-bit OS.

"How do I get to Realtek HD Audio Manager?

You can go to Control Panel and view items by "Large icons".
Realtek HD Audio Manager can be found there.

If you cannot find Realktek HD audio manager in
Control Panel, browse to here

C:\Program Files\Realtek\Audio\HDA\RtkNGUI64.exe.

Double-click on the file to open Realtek
HD audio manager.
"

You can see the RtkNGUI64.exe in the picture here.

https://i.imgur.com/JoeZ3ux.png

Another thread mentions

"In Task Manager the RAVBg64.EXE (HD Audio background
process) and RAVCp64.EXE (Realtek HD Audio Manager)
are present in the process list."

If I use sysinternals.com "Autoruns64" program,
the top two entries are the RealTek ones. Example here.
The entries are apparently in the registry.

https://s15.postimg.cc/fnn4zh4ln/how...ts_started.gif

I tried using Task Scheduler but there was
nothing RealTek in there.

Paul
  #30  
Old August 16th 18, 06:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. Speakers static/humming

I tried it several times but it doesn't do
anything when I double click it, or right
click to open it or run as administrator.

http://i63.tinypic.com/atu1ac.jpg


So what am I doing wrong?

Robert
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.