A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Windows 10 » Windows 10 Help Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Mounting a VHD



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 18th 20, 12:11 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Peter Jason
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Mounting a VHD

Instead of the Bit locker enter field, I get..

"This drive is locked by Bit Locker Drive Encryption. To open this
drive, you need to unlock it first."

And this sort of thing happens quite randomly.

How do I show the Bit locket password-entry field?
  #2  
Old September 18th 20, 01:20 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Carlos E.R.[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,356
Default Mounting a VHD

On 18/09/2020 01.11, Peter Jason wrote:
Instead of the Bit locker enter field, I get..

"This drive is locked by Bit Locker Drive Encryption. To open this
drive, you need to unlock it first."

And this sort of thing happens quite randomly.

How do I show the Bit locket password-entry field?


I think you can see the key only at creation time. If it is associated
with a Microsoft account, then you can read the key.




--
Cheers, Carlos.
  #3  
Old September 18th 20, 02:04 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default Mounting a VHD

Peter Jason wrote:
Instead of the Bit locker enter field, I get..

"This drive is locked by Bit Locker Drive Encryption. To open this
drive, you need to unlock it first."

And this sort of thing happens quite randomly.

How do I show the Bit locket password-entry field?



Picture at 50% down on the page, matches your description. Failure to mount.
Notice that they managed to get an icon in the second picture, to show,
but this might be the "success case" where it did prompt, and they got
an opportunity to add a password.

https://winaero.com/blog/encrypt-vhd...in-windows-10/

This article has a command line invocation. There's no proof it produces
a prompt, but you can try it. It smells of Powershell. The path string
needs quoting because of the space character in the username.

https://winaero.com/blog/automatical...in-windows-10/

Mount-VHD -Path "C:\users\Peter Jason\Downloads\some.vhd"

I still don't see any option which is somehow "guaranteed"
to do the right thing. Looks pretty flimsy and breakable.
While there is a command... you can be our tester and test it out.

Paul
  #4  
Old September 18th 20, 07:15 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Peter Jason
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Mounting a VHD

On Thu, 17 Sep 2020 21:04:19 -0400, Paul
wrote:

Peter Jason wrote:
Instead of the Bit locker enter field, I get..

"This drive is locked by Bit Locker Drive Encryption. To open this
drive, you need to unlock it first."

And this sort of thing happens quite randomly.

How do I show the Bit locket password-entry field?



Picture at 50% down on the page, matches your description. Failure to mount.
Notice that they managed to get an icon in the second picture, to show,
but this might be the "success case" where it did prompt, and they got
an opportunity to add a password.

https://winaero.com/blog/encrypt-vhd...in-windows-10/

This article has a command line invocation. There's no proof it produces
a prompt, but you can try it. It smells of Powershell. The path string
needs quoting because of the space character in the username.

https://winaero.com/blog/automatical...in-windows-10/

Mount-VHD -Path "C:\users\Peter Jason\Downloads\some.vhd"

I still don't see any option which is somehow "guaranteed"
to do the right thing. Looks pretty flimsy and breakable.
While there is a command... you can be our tester and test it out.

Paul


Thank you,

I was reduced to opening the Bit Locker screen and Rt clicking on the
drive in question. This produced the password-field box and all went
well.

Why is it so difficult?


  #5  
Old September 18th 20, 12:37 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,873
Default Mounting a VHD

Peter Jason wrote:

Thank you,

I was reduced to opening the Bit Locker screen and Rt clicking on the
drive in question. This produced the password-field box and all went
well.

Why is it so difficult?


To be honest with you, I don't understand why the automation
didn't cut in and prompt you. It smacks of some half-finished code.
How many years do they need, to finish it ?

Paul
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.