A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 20th 18, 11:04 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,032
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

.... like Tab Mix Plus does in Firefox (or did? I'm running an old
Firefox, so don't know if TMP still works on the new one).
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

Anybody who thinks there can be unlimited growth in a static, limited
environment, is either mad or an economist. - Sir David Attenborough, in
Radio Times 10-16 November 2012
Ads
  #2  
Old September 20th 18, 02:12 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,669
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

... like Tab Mix Plus does in Firefox (or did? I'm running an old
Firefox, so don't know if TMP still works on the new one).


Like Firefox 57+ (Quantum), Chrome doesn't let extensions mess with the
chrome of the web browser, and the chrome includes the tabs. Mozilla
(and Google earlier) decided to stop extensions from corrupting or
destabilizing the chrome of their web browsers.

A while ago, there was a Stacked Tabs experimental flag in Chrome where
you could get Chrome to stack tabs rather than shrink them (go to
chrome://flags and search for Stacked Tabs). Google took that away.
That's what happens with these flags: they're considered experimental,
so new ones can show up and old ones disappear.

Google picked the name Chrome for their project's codename and it stuck
when it got released. All web browsers have a chrome. Google just
decided to use that attribute name for their project name.

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/googl...eason-revealed

In the meantime and if you don't like the TMP-alternative extensions to
manage multiple tabs in Chrome (Tab Outliner, OneTab, TooManyTabs, Tab
Glutton or Tab Menu), you could use Shift+Esc to get Chrome's own task
manager from which you can pick which to change its focus. The problem
is Chrome's task manager which mixes together all processes for Chrome,
including those for each tab.
  #3  
Old September 20th 18, 02:35 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,032
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

In message , VanguardLH
writes:
J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

... like Tab Mix Plus does in Firefox (or did? I'm running an old
Firefox, so don't know if TMP still works on the new one).


Like Firefox 57+ (Quantum), Chrome doesn't let extensions mess with the
chrome of the web browser, and the chrome includes the tabs. Mozilla
(and Google earlier) decided to stop extensions from corrupting or
destabilizing the chrome of their web browsers.

A while ago, there was a Stacked Tabs experimental flag in Chrome where
you could get Chrome to stack tabs rather than shrink them (go to
chrome://flags and search for Stacked Tabs). Google took that away.


)-:

That's what happens with these flags: they're considered experimental,
so new ones can show up and old ones disappear.

Google picked the name Chrome for their project's codename and it stuck
when it got released. All web browsers have a chrome. Google just
decided to use that attribute name for their project name.


A rather unfortunate choice of term - I don't mean for the browser, i
mean for the concept. It's far from obvious what it means - to me, and
I'm sure to many others too.
[]
In the meantime and if you don't like the TMP-alternative extensions to
manage multiple tabs in Chrome (Tab Outliner, OneTab, TooManyTabs, Tab
Glutton or Tab Menu)


Do any of them do multi-row tabs? (I could try them, but it sounds like
you have, so it's easier to ask you.)

, you could use Shift+Esc to get Chrome's own task
manager from which you can pick which to change its focus. The problem
is Chrome's task manager which mixes together all processes for Chrome,
including those for each tab.

I just tried it; it appears in a small window, sufficiently narrow that
all I can see are the icons for the tabs. OK, I can widen it. (It
doesn't help that the task titles for the tabs all start "Tab:", so I
have to widen it more.) It wasn't obvious how to change focus to one of
them - the only _button_ would kill that task, and clicking on one only
shifted focus in the window; I tried double-clicking, half expecting it
to kill the tab, but it did work. Thanks, but I think it's slower than
just hovering over the tabs to find the one I want (I don't have _that_
many open at the moment - about 32).
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

"I'm a self-made man, thereby demonstrating once again the perils of unskilled
labor..." - Harlan Ellison
  #4  
Old September 21st 18, 01:00 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,669
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

VanguardLH WROTE:

In the meantime and if you don't like the TMP-alternative extensions
to manage multiple tabs in Chrome (Tab Outliner, OneTab,
TooManyTabs, Tab Glutton or Tab Menu)


Do any of them do multi-row tabs? (I could try them, but it sounds
like you have, so it's easier to ask you.)


They all have pictures at the extensions' pages at the Chrome store.
You can get an idea of which layout you like best.

Right now I'm using the Tab Glutton extension: simple and works.
However, instead rows of tabs (which would have to be a separate side
panel or other in-document frame since the tab bar cannot be altered),
it shows a drop-down list of tabs. I don't see my eyes rolling left
and right to scan tabs (or rows of them) as easier then my eyes rolling
up and down to scan a list. I have used some others but eventually I
got rid of them simply because I didn't much use them.

In Firefox when you open lots of tabs, at the right end of its tab row
appears a down-arrow. Click on that and you see a list of the tabs.
Tab Glutton gives me a very similar listing, so it makes Firefox and
Chrome similar in behavior (except Firefox's down-arrow is at the end
of the tab row versus Tab Glutton which is a button in the command bar
in Chrome).
  #5  
Old September 21st 18, 12:22 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,032
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

In message , VanguardLH
writes:
J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

VanguardLH WROTE:

In the meantime and if you don't like the TMP-alternative extensions
to manage multiple tabs in Chrome (Tab Outliner, OneTab,
TooManyTabs, Tab Glutton or Tab Menu)


Do any of them do multi-row tabs? (I could try them, but it sounds
like you have, so it's easier to ask you.)


They all have pictures at the extensions' pages at the Chrome store.
You can get an idea of which layout you like best.


OK, Looking. Thanks for the list.
Tabs Outliner (couldn't find one without the s) looks rather complicated
- more like a bookmarks (OK, Favorites) manager.
OneTab is a bit extreme - reduces to one tab - but the memory saving
looks attractive. (Though presumably means switching tabs is slow.)
TooManyTabs - maybe.
Tab Finder Light - looks promising.
Tab Glutton - there are two with that name! I presume you're using the
one by nsand.
Tab Menu - looks nice and simple - nothing about groups etc.

The installation warning messages are ambiguous: when I try "Tab Finder
Light", Chrome tells me that "It can: Read and change all your data on
the websites that you visit". The word "on" is ambiguous: does it mean
"about", i. e. it can change locally-held data, or "at", i. e. change
data held remotely?
When I try "Tab Menu", it _doesn't_ give the above warning, just that
"It can: Read your browsing history". Again, ambiguous - does this mean
"and send it somewhere"? I don't mind the extension knowing it locally.
(In practice, my history's probably logged somewhere anyway.)
Think I'll go with that one - yes, nice and simple. (Would be nice if it
scrolled when I move the cursor to the bottom one rather than having to
use the almost-invisible scroll bar, but can't have everything!)

Right now I'm using the Tab Glutton extension: simple and works.
However, instead rows of tabs (which would have to be a separate side
panel or other in-document frame since the tab bar cannot be altered),


Since it can't be altered, it'd be nice if I could just make it
disappear altogether, since it serves no purpose.

it shows a drop-down list of tabs. I don't see my eyes rolling left
and right to scan tabs (or rows of them) as easier then my eyes rolling


And the up and down list can show more of the tab's title.

up and down to scan a list. I have used some others but eventually I
got rid of them simply because I didn't much use them.

In Firefox when you open lots of tabs, at the right end of its tab row
appears a down-arrow. Click on that and you see a list of the tabs.
Tab Glutton gives me a very similar listing, so it makes Firefox and
Chrome similar in behavior (except Firefox's down-arrow is at the end
of the tab row versus Tab Glutton which is a button in the command bar
in Chrome).

Tab Menu is the same. (In Firefox, I'm still using Tab Mix Plus, which
lets me have multiple lines of tabs, which I like.)
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

Anyone can do any amount of work provided it isn't the work he is supposed to
be doing at the moment. -Robert Benchley, humorist, drama critic, and actor
(1889-1945)
  #6  
Old September 22nd 18, 12:33 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,669
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

VanguardLH WROTE:

In Firefox when you open lots of tabs, at the right end of its tab
row appears a down-arrow. Click on that and you see a list of the
tabs. Tab Glutton gives me a very similar listing, so it makes
Firefox and Chrome similar in behavior (except Firefox's down-arrow
is at the end of the tab row versus Tab Glutton which is a button in
the command bar in Chrome).


Tab Menu is the same. (In Firefox, I'm still using Tab Mix Plus,
which lets me have multiple lines of tabs, which I like.)


I'm using Firefox Quantum which dropped legacy extensions, so TMP was
lost. Many of its features were already in Firefox and I didn't use a
lot of TMP's features, so it wasn't a big hit to me on losing TMP. The
multi-row tabs was missed, though. However, I tend to group my web
surfing within separate windows instead of mashing a bunch of tabs
together in one window. I also use dexpot to organize my desktops in
related tasks.

I'll be switching from Tab Glutton (by nsand) to Tab Menu. Tab Glutton
is prettier but it has too much whitespace; i.e., Tab Glutton wastes
space. For example, as a test and with both installed, I opened 22
tabs. Tab Menu displayed all 22 tabs with room to spare (no scrollbar
needed yet). Tab Glutton ran out of space to show only 10 of the 22
tabs and showed a scrollbar to get at the rest.
  #7  
Old October 4th 18, 06:26 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
FACE
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 36
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

On Thu, 20 Sep 2018 14:35:45 +0100, in alt.windows7.general, "J. P. Gilliver
(John)" , wrote

In message , VanguardLH
writes:
J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

... like Tab Mix Plus does in Firefox (or did? I'm running an old
Firefox, so don't know if TMP still works on the new one).


Like Firefox 57+ (Quantum), Chrome doesn't let extensions mess with the
chrome of the web browser, and the chrome includes the tabs. Mozilla
(and Google earlier) decided to stop extensions from corrupting or
destabilizing the chrome of their web browsers.

A while ago, there was a Stacked Tabs experimental flag in Chrome where
you could get Chrome to stack tabs rather than shrink them (go to
chrome://flags and search for Stacked Tabs). Google took that away.


)-:

That's what happens with these flags: they're considered experimental,
so new ones can show up and old ones disappear.

Google picked the name Chrome for their project's codename and it stuck
when it got released. All web browsers have a chrome. Google just
decided to use that attribute name for their project name.


A rather unfortunate choice of term - I don't mean for the browser, i
mean for the concept. It's far from obvious what it means - to me, and
I'm sure to many others too.
[]
In the meantime and if you don't like the TMP-alternative extensions to
manage multiple tabs in Chrome (Tab Outliner, OneTab, TooManyTabs, Tab
Glutton or Tab Menu)


Do any of them do multi-row tabs? (I could try them, but it sounds like
you have, so it's easier to ask you.)

, you could use Shift+Esc to get Chrome's own task
manager from which you can pick which to change its focus. The problem
is Chrome's task manager which mixes together all processes for Chrome,
including those for each tab.

I just tried it; it appears in a small window, sufficiently narrow that
all I can see are the icons for the tabs. OK, I can widen it. (It
doesn't help that the task titles for the tabs all start "Tab:", so I
have to widen it more.) It wasn't obvious how to change focus to one of
them - the only _button_ would kill that task, and clicking on one only
shifted focus in the window; I tried double-clicking, half expecting it
to kill the tab, but it did work. Thanks, but I think it's slower than
just hovering over the tabs to find the one I want (I don't have _that_
many open at the moment - about 32).




In any event it is a nice idea........maybe toggle it with a hot key......

Calling browsers' frames "Chrome" goes back to Steve Wozniak and Mosaic (if that
worked for Apple) who looked at it and said "hey, those frames look like the chrome
of a car....." (to paraphrase, probably). I understand he was also the guy who said
"it looks like a mouse", referring to the new pointing device.......

  #8  
Old October 4th 18, 09:16 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Ken Blake[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,790
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

On Thu, 20 Sep 2018 08:12:44 -0500, VanguardLH wrote:


Like Firefox 57+ (Quantum), Chrome doesn't let extensions mess with the
chrome of the web browser, and the chrome includes the tabs.



You say "the chrome." Can you be more specific, please. What does "the
chrome" mean in this sense.
  #9  
Old October 5th 18, 02:53 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,669
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

Ken Blake wrote:

VanguardLH wrote:

Like Firefox 57+ (Quantum), Chrome doesn't let extensions mess with the
chrome of the web browser, and the chrome includes the tabs.


You say "the chrome." Can you be more specific, please. What does "the
chrome" mean in this sense.


Chromium is an open-sourced project for a web browser. Google added
some proprietary components, so they called it Chrome. Before Chromium
or Chrome, the "chrome" of a web browser was its frame, toolbars, menus,
status bar, and other elements of its GUI distinct from its document
window (where the web page gets rendered). Chrome was used by
programmers to describe those components of a web browser long before
Google decided to adopt the terminology for their product name.

Newbies (Gen Z) not familiar with web browsers before Chrome showed up
(2008) only know chrome (small "c") as [Google] Chrome (big "C"). Old
farts, like me, know what was meant by the chrome for a web browser
before Google even existed.

https://www.pcmag.com/encyclopedia/t...browser-chrome

Trying to find out the definition of "chrome" before Google glomed onto
the term for a product name is pretty tough due to the flooding of
search databases with Google's Chrome.
  #10  
Old October 5th 18, 04:41 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Ken Blake[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,790
Default Chrome: is there an extension that puts tabs on multiple lines ...

On Fri, 5 Oct 2018 08:53:44 -0500, VanguardLH wrote:

Ken Blake wrote:

VanguardLH wrote:

Like Firefox 57+ (Quantum), Chrome doesn't let extensions mess with the
chrome of the web browser, and the chrome includes the tabs.


You say "the chrome." Can you be more specific, please. What does "the
chrome" mean in this sense.


Chromium is an open-sourced project for a web browser. Google added
some proprietary components, so they called it Chrome. Before Chromium
or Chrome, the "chrome" of a web browser was its frame, toolbars, menus,
status bar, and other elements of its GUI distinct from its document
window (where the web page gets rendered).



Thanks very much.


Chrome was used by
programmers to describe those components of a web browser long before
Google decided to adopt the terminology for their product name.

Newbies (Gen Z) not familiar with web browsers before Chrome showed up
(2008) only know chrome (small "c") as [Google] Chrome (big "C"). Old
farts, like me, know what was meant by the chrome for a web browser
before Google even existed.




I'm probably an older fart than you; I'm 80. And although I've been
working with computers (including programming them) since 1962, I
wasn't familiar with the term. I only programmed mainframes and
minicomputers

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.