A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » The Basics
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 20th 11, 05:18 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Doc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 95
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

I got a 320 gig SATA WD Caviar drive to install XP Pro on a Core2 Duo
machine. I get as far as the last stage or so of the install and got a
blue screen "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut
down to prevent damage to your computer" If this is the first time
you've seen this yada yada yada - then Stop 0x00000024 (0x001902FA,
0xF76A6300, 0xF76A6000, 0x805380B2)

I saw a mention somewhere that XP doesn't support SATA. Not sure how
that can be if I've been running this machine with auxilliary SATA
drives installed on it. Why would it let me get this far in the
installation process? Of course I don't know for sure what the root
cause of the problem was to begin with. I decided to try a different
drive since I seened to have ongoing issues ever since installing that
other IDE drive and the drive was on sale under $50 for 320 gigs.

Thanks for all input
Ads
  #2  
Old March 20th 11, 02:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Don Schmidt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 547
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

Got three SATA drives and Windows XP SP3 here.

--
Don
Vancouver, USA


"Doc" wrote in message
...
I got a 320 gig SATA WD Caviar drive to install XP Pro on a Core2 Duo
machine. I get as far as the last stage or so of the install and got a
blue screen "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut
down to prevent damage to your computer" If this is the first time
you've seen this yada yada yada - then Stop 0x00000024 (0x001902FA,
0xF76A6300, 0xF76A6000, 0x805380B2)

I saw a mention somewhere that XP doesn't support SATA. Not sure how
that can be if I've been running this machine with auxilliary SATA
drives installed on it. Why would it let me get this far in the
installation process? Of course I don't know for sure what the root
cause of the problem was to begin with. I decided to try a different
drive since I seened to have ongoing issues ever since installing that
other IDE drive and the drive was on sale under $50 for 320 gigs.

Thanks for all input



  #3  
Old March 20th 11, 02:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
BillW50
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,556
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

On 3/19/2011 11:18 PM, Doc wrote:
I got a 320 gig SATA WD Caviar drive to install XP Pro on a Core2 Duo
machine. I get as far as the last stage or so of the install and got a
blue screen "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut
down to prevent damage to your computer" If this is the first time
you've seen this yada yada yada - then Stop 0x00000024 (0x001902FA,
0xF76A6300, 0xF76A6000, 0x805380B2)

I saw a mention somewhere that XP doesn't support SATA. Not sure how
that can be if I've been running this machine with auxilliary SATA
drives installed on it. Why would it let me get this far in the
installation process? Of course I don't know for sure what the root
cause of the problem was to begin with. I decided to try a different
drive since I seened to have ongoing issues ever since installing that
other IDE drive and the drive was on sale under $50 for 320 gigs.

Thanks for all input


Yes, it is true. Windows XP doesn't come with any SATA drivers and you
must (if you need them) install them in the very beginning of the
install by pressing F6 to install RAID, SATA, or any other device
driver(s) to work with Windows XP. And this is usually done by having
the driver(s) on a floppy disk. Yes an USB floppy drive will work too.

If you are using a recovery disc to install XP and not a MS one, odds
are good that it includes the driver that you need. So you don't have to
worry about it. Another thing one can do without the driver on some BIOS
is toggle a setting for the drive. It will read and write a tad slower,
but you can get by without a driver.

Having said all of this, I don't believe this is your problem. As if it
was, the install couldn't see the SATA drive in the first place to start
the install.

Now that STOP 0x24 error is the key to your whole problem. Basically it
means your file system is corrupt. So now what? Well here is pretty good
advice and it is a good start. And good luck!

http://www.geekswhoknow.com/articles...error-code.htm

--
Bill
Gateway M465e ('06 era)
Centrino Core Duo 1.83G - 2GB - Windows XP SP3
  #4  
Old March 20th 11, 04:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Ken Blake, MVP[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,702
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

On Sat, 19 Mar 2011 21:18:06 -0700 (PDT), Doc
wrote:

I saw a mention somewhere that XP doesn't support SATA. Not sure how
that can be if I've been running this machine with auxilliary SATA
drives installed on it.



It's correct that XP doesn't support SATA. But that doesn't mean that
you can't use SATA with XP, it means that the support for SATA has to
come from outside of XP.


--
Ken Blake, Microsoft MVP (Windows Desktop Experience) since 2003
Please Reply to the Newsgroup
  #5  
Old March 20th 11, 04:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
philo[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 67
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

On 03/20/2011 08:01 AM, Don Schmidt wrote:
Got three SATA drives and Windows XP SP3 here.



Xp sp3 does support SATA drives

but there must be some hardware error


I'd run a RAM test
  #6  
Old March 20th 11, 05:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Alias[_46_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 406
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

On 03/20/2011 04:34 PM, philo wrote:
On 03/20/2011 08:01 AM, Don Schmidt wrote:
Got three SATA drives and Windows XP SP3 here.



Xp sp3 does support SATA drives


So does XP SP2.

--
Alias
  #7  
Old March 20th 11, 05:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
BillW50
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,556
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

On 3/20/2011 11:07 AM, Steve Hayes wrote:
On Sun, 20 Mar 2011 08:47:54 -0500, wrote:

Yes, it is true. Windows XP doesn't come with any SATA drivers and you
must (if you need them) install them in the very beginning of the
install by pressing F6 to install RAID, SATA, or any other device
driver(s) to work with Windows XP. And this is usually done by having
the driver(s) on a floppy disk. Yes an USB floppy drive will work too.


Strange.

I had XP installed on a machine with two IDE drives, and when I wanted toi
upgrade to a bigger one, I had to battle to find one, because they were all
selling SATA drives. Eventually I found one, but then other things started to
go wrong with the machine, do I bought a new one with two SATA drives.

I backed up the system on the old machine, restored it on the new one, and it
worked perfectly. So it must have SATA drivers somewhere to work with the SATA
drives. I didn't install a thing, just copied the whole lot.


There is a good reason for this. As "many SATA controllers offer
selectable modes of operation: legacy Parallel ATA emulation, standard
AHCI mode, or vendor-specific RAID... Legacy mode is a software
backward-compatibility mechanism intended to allow the SATA controller
to run in legacy operating systems which are not SATA-aware or where a
driver does not exist to make the operating system SATA-aware."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advance...ller_Interface

Thus if you are running your SATA controller in legacy mode, you don't
need a SATA driver. Although you also give up the advantages of AHCI.

And your claim that you copied Windows XP from one system and restored
on another system sounds very fishy if you ask me. As unless the two
systems are very much alike, it just won't work. As when Windows
installs, it loads the correct CPU, chipset, etc. drivers for that
machine. And moving it to another system, the odds are great that it
will be all wrong and it won't work at all.

There are ways to fix this. As sometimes a repair install can correct
this. And there are programs like Paragon Adaptive Restore that plugs in
all generic drivers which should work far better to make it runnable.
Then you allow Windows to detect all of the new devices to replace the
generic drivers.


--
Bill
Gateway M465e ('06 era)
Centrino Core Duo 1.83G - 2GB - Windows XP SP3
  #8  
Old March 20th 11, 06:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
BillW50
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,556
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

On 3/20/2011 11:39 AM, Alias wrote:
On 03/20/2011 04:34 PM, philo wrote:
On 03/20/2011 08:01 AM, Don Schmidt wrote:
Got three SATA drives and Windows XP SP3 here.



Xp sp3 does support SATA drives


So does XP SP2.


Actually no they don't. At least not AHCI/SATA support anyway. If you
turn off AHCI in the BIOS, then you don't need a SATA driver. Although
to run the SATA controller in either AHCI or RAID mode, you need to
install a driver otherwise XP can't see it.

~~~~~~~~~~

Windows XP (and any OS older than Vista or linux kernel 2.6.19) does not
have came pre-packaged with driver to support AHCI/SATA mode, thus
creating a very common error that Wikipedia also described as "when
attempting to install Microsoft Windows XP or a previous version on an
AHCI-enabled system will cause the setup to fail with the error message
'set up could not detect hard disk drive…'".

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/1...-on-ahci-mode/

~~~~~~~~~~

--
Bill
Gateway M465e ('06 era)
Centrino Core Duo 1.83G - 2GB - Windows XP SP3
  #9  
Old March 21st 11, 01:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
BillW50
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,556
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

On 3/20/2011 6:46 PM, Steve Hayes wrote:
On Sun, 20 Mar 2011 11:40:11 -0500, wrote:

On 3/20/2011 11:07 AM, Steve Hayes wrote:
I backed up the system on the old machine, restored it on the new one, and it
worked perfectly. So it must have SATA drivers somewhere to work with the SATA
drives. I didn't install a thing, just copied the whole lot.


There is a good reason for this. As "many SATA controllers offer
selectable modes of operation: legacy Parallel ATA emulation, standard
AHCI mode, or vendor-specific RAID... Legacy mode is a software
backward-compatibility mechanism intended to allow the SATA controller
to run in legacy operating systems which are not SATA-aware or where a
driver does not exist to make the operating system SATA-aware."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advance...ller_Interface

Thus if you are running your SATA controller in legacy mode, you don't
need a SATA driver. Although you also give up the advantages of AHCI.


I didn't know that.

I thought that the drivers must have come in one of those automated updates.


Well if you need a SATA driver (this laptop don't sport a legacy
setting), then Windows XP won't see the drive at all.

If you set it to legacy mode and use Windows Updates, can you get the
SATA driver that way? I am not sure. And I can't test it here since all
of my computers doesn't have a legacy mode.

And your claim that you copied Windows XP from one system and restored
on another system sounds very fishy if you ask me. As unless the two
systems are very much alike, it just won't work. As when Windows
installs, it loads the correct CPU, chipset, etc. drivers for that
machine. And moving it to another system, the odds are great that it
will be all wrong and it won't work at all.


Well, it did work. Windows detected new hardware the first time I ran it in
the new machine, and asked me to validate it or something.

Apart from the SATA drives, the other main difference was the new motherboard,
which is faster and had more memory. It also has speakers, which Windows
detected and installed something to make them work.

I'm typing this on it, and I've had it for about 6 months now.


Well you lucked out then. It was close enough to the old system and it
worked. I have six M465 and the only difference is the CPU and memory
among them. Some are Celerons, Core Dual, or Core2 Dual.

And I swap the drives among them all of the time and Windows XP is ok
with it. Although one game doesn't like Core2 machines. As it refuses to
save and some graphics becomes corrupted. But it was installed on a
Celeron machine, so that might explain this problem.

--
Bill
Gateway M465e ('06 era)
Centrino Core Duo 1.83G - 2GB - Windows XP SP3
  #10  
Old March 28th 11, 06:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment,microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics,microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Yousuf Khan[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,140
Default Can XP Pro be installed on a SATA drive?

On 20/03/2011 7:46 PM, Steve Hayes wrote:
On Sun, 20 Mar 2011 11:40:11 -0500, wrote:
And your claim that you copied Windows XP from one system and restored
on another system sounds very fishy if you ask me. As unless the two
systems are very much alike, it just won't work. As when Windows
installs, it loads the correct CPU, chipset, etc. drivers for that
machine. And moving it to another system, the odds are great that it
will be all wrong and it won't work at all.


Well, it did work. Windows detected new hardware the first time I ran it in
the new machine, and asked me to validate it or something.

Apart from the SATA drives, the other main difference was the new motherboard,
which is faster and had more memory. It also has speakers, which Windows
detected and installed something to make them work.

I'm typing this on it, and I've had it for about 6 months now.


Yes, it's true, sometimes wholesale major changes in components such as
the motherboard, processor, chipset, etc. can result in having nothing
more to do than boot into it, and it'll just redetect everything and
away you go. Maybe add some non-critical drivers downloaded from the
Internet or from a CD.

It is also true that sometimes just a minor component change can result
in all hell breaking loose and your system refuses to boot up anymore,
and you have to reinstall the OS from scratch.

Yousuf Khan
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.