A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows 7 » Windows 7 Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Win7 / xmarks question



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 23rd 17, 03:25 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Art Todesco
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 272
Default Win7 / xmarks question

I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57. Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now empty.
So, I checked on the xmarks website in my account and sure enough,
they were now all empty. I have another computer, w7 laptop, where the
folders are all still in tact. I'm afraid to tell xmarks to sync now
because I fear that it will pump up the laptop with the empty folders
and I will loose those bookmarks. I don't know how to proceed. Is
there a way to make xmarks not update that computer? Any help would be
appreciated. I did google it but got lost in all the gobbldeGoogle.
Ads
  #2  
Old November 23rd 17, 06:06 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 956
Default Win7 / xmarks question

In message , Art Todesco
writes:
I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57. Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now
empty. So, I checked on the xmarks website in my account and sure
enough, they were now all empty. I have another computer, w7 laptop,
where the folders are all still in tact. I'm afraid to tell xmarks to
sync now because I fear that it will pump up the laptop with the empty
folders and I will loose those bookmarks. I don't know how to proceed.
Is there a way to make xmarks not update that computer? Any help would
be appreciated. I did google it but got lost in all the gobbldeGoogle.


What is xmarks?

(And before all those people tell me to Google it: if Art, who _does_
know what it is, gets lost in the gobbledeGoogle, then what chance would
I have.)

I and others who might like to try to help might get further if we knew
what it was. Of course, the best responses will come from other users,
but if they aren't forthcoming ...
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

.... warrant officer Ellen Ripley, Sigourney Weaver's indelible symbol of
resilience, experience and looking good with a flame-thrower.
- Andrew Collins, RT 2016/4/16-22
  #3  
Old November 23rd 17, 06:13 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,830
Default Win7 / xmarks question

Art Todesco wrote:

Is there a way to make xmarks not update that computer?


Disable or uninstall the Xmarks extension in the instances of Firefox
that you don't want synchronized to your Xmarks account.

Also disable sync, if enabled, in those same instances of Firefox.

While you have the bookmarks in the other instances of Firefox, use its
export/backup feature to save them outside of your Firefox profile to
somewhere else. You could recover the bookmarks in the problem instance
of Firefox by importing/restoring using the export/backup file, or by
restoring Firefox's profile folder from your regularly scheduled backups
(backups performed manually are rarely current for data recovery).

If you are fiercely determined not to use scheduled backups to ensure
you have fairly recent backups (which would include all data folders,
including Firefox's profile folders) then configure Firefox to
automatically save a copy of its bookmarks upon its exit. See:

Assuming you enabled display of the preview pane in Windows Explorer,
why can't you drag its left-side border to increase its width? Hover
the mouse cursor over the left vertical border of the preview pane until
the cursor turns into a doubled horizontal arrow then click and drag.
With Windows Explorer and with its preview pane expanded to occupy half
the screen, you can click on a .pdf file and read it in the preview pane
very easily without having to double-click the file to load it into a
PDF viewer program.

I haven't been on Windows XP for many years so I wasn't sure if its
Windows Explorer had a preview pane. So I searched online using:

https://www.google.com/search?q=%22w...view+pane+size

and found as the 2nd article:

https://www.microsoft.com/resources/...view_pane.mspx

If you don't want to use the preview pane then increase the size of the
thumbnails. In the above Google search, the following was the 1st
article:

https://www.askvg.com/tip-enable-aut...e-at-shutdown/

Only 1 copy of this exported file is saved. There is no versioning as
with backups. The file is created when you exit Firefox. Upon the next
exit of Firefox, an existing file will get stepped on. So, for example,
if some or all of the bookmarks got deleted while in Firefox, exiting it
would result in saving a new .html file that would step on (overwrite)
the old .html file and you end up with a backup that has no bookmarks.
You would have to realize you had missing or no bookmarks when loading
Firefox, NOT exit Firefox, copy the .html file to elsewhere, and then
exit Firefox. Or, when you noticed some or all bookmarks were missing
in the current session of Firefox, do an import of the .html file BEFORE
you exiting Firefox. Since there is good chance that you may not notice
missing bookmarks until some later session in Firefox, auto-exporting to
the .html file is likely not to be of much value. You'd end up using
Firefox once, or more, and notice later some or all bookmarks are
missing but also find that that the exported .html file has already been
overwritten with the [partially] empty list of bookmarks. That's why
real backups are better and with them scheduled to prevent data loss
from users that obviously don't perform backups at regular intervals
that are fine granular (close together) to ensure reasonable data
recovery.

By the way, the Xmarks extension is NOT a WebExtension add-on so why are
you still using it in Firefox 57? It should have gotten disabled in
Firefox 57 along with warning you in previous versions that it was a
legacy extension.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...n/xmarks-sync/

See the "Not compatible with Firefox Quantum" with the red hazard
symbol? Uninstall ALL legacy extensions. In the beta versions, there
was an option to reenable legacy extensions but I don't know if it made
it into the released 57 version. Running legacy extensions in FF57 is
hazardous as you've discovered.
  #4  
Old November 23rd 17, 06:27 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 956
Default Win7 / xmarks question

In message , VanguardLH
writes:
[]
If you are fiercely determined not to use scheduled backups to ensure
you have fairly recent backups (which would include all data folders,
including Firefox's profile folders) then configure Firefox to
automatically save a copy of its bookmarks upon its exit. See:

Assuming you enabled display of the preview pane in Windows Explorer,
why can't you drag its left-side border to increase its width? Hover
the mouse cursor over the left vertical border of the preview pane until

[etc.]

Was there supposed to be a URL after "See:"?
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

.... warrant officer Ellen Ripley, Sigourney Weaver's indelible symbol of
resilience, experience and looking good with a flame-thrower.
- Andrew Collins, RT 2016/4/16-22
  #5  
Old November 23rd 17, 07:41 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,830
Default Win7 / xmarks question

J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

VanguardLH WROTE (in the past, not writes in the past):

If you are fiercely determined not to use scheduled backups to ensure
you have fairly recent backups (which would include all data
folders, including Firefox's profile folders) then configure Firefox
to automatically save a copy of its bookmarks upon its exit. See:
...


Was there supposed to be a URL after "See:"?


Probably this one:

https://www.askvg.com/tip-enable-aut...e-at-shutdown/
  #6  
Old November 23rd 17, 08:29 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
VanguardLH[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,830
Default Win7 / xmarks question

J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

In message , Art Todesco
writes:
I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57. Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now
empty. So, I checked on the xmarks website in my account and sure
enough, they were now all empty. I have another computer, w7 laptop,
where the folders are all still in tact. I'm afraid to tell xmarks to
sync now because I fear that it will pump up the laptop with the empty
folders and I will loose those bookmarks. I don't know how to proceed.
Is there a way to make xmarks not update that computer? Any help would
be appreciated. I did google it but got lost in all the gobbldeGoogle.


What is xmarks?

(And before all those people tell me to Google it: if Art, who _does_
know what it is, gets lost in the gobbledeGoogle, then what chance would
I have.)

I and others who might like to try to help might get further if we knew
what it was. Of course, the best responses will come from other users,
but if they aren't forthcoming ...


Since the OP mentioned both "Firefox" and "xmarks", and if I had no clue
what was "xmarks", I'd first go search at addons.mozilla.org since my
guess is the OP was asking about an extension to that web client.

Although I have used Xmarks in the past (disliked it due to duplication
of bookmarks and vaporizing of others), I still checked at the addons
site where I noticed it is flagged as not compatible with FF57. It is a
legacy add-on. FF57 will disable legacy add-ons. For the OP to still
be using it means he had to go into about:config to change a setting to
reenable legacy add-ons (if it's still there in the released version
from when I saw it described for the nightly version). If the OP
reenabled legacy addon support in FF57 then the OP is or should be aware
of the consequences of his action. The new car can be made to use
tractor tires but the driver choose the consequences thereof: increased
vibration, traction loss, reduced drivability, reduced turn radius,
severe increase in wear on bearings, needing a ladder to enter/exit,
extra cost for fitting non-standard equipment, etc.

Don't know why the OP wants to use Xmarks instead of Sync already built
into Firefox. Sync synchronize more data types than Xmarks, it's
already there and doesn't require an add-on. At one time (and maybe
still available but probably legacy), there was an add-on to add a
muting control to the tabs. Since Mozilla added the sound icon at the
right end of tabs, that add-on became superfluous.

While Xmarks had add-ons for Firefox (Xmarks started as Foxmarks) and
Google Chrome, you have to run a separate program in Windows for
Internet Explorer (which keeps its favorites in a folder under the
user's profile so the external Xmarks program would sync your account's
bookmarks to that folder). They didn't want to write an ActiveX (OLE)
control to use inside of Internet Explorer. Whether Internet Explorer
was loaded or not, the Xmarks program kept running in the background to
consume memory, CPU cycles, and bandwidth.

The only advantage that I can think of for Xmarks is that it works with
other web clients. It is not solely linked to Firefox. For example,
while Firefox and Google Chrome both have their Sync functions, they are
independent. You cannot get Firefox Sync to synchronize to Google
Chrome or visa versa. Xmarks tries to sync bookmarks between several
web browsers. I found it unreliable and got rid of it long ago. Also,
shorting after dumping Xmarks, it died. Then it got resuscitated by
someone other than the original developer. If the original owner didn't
want to keep supporting Xmarks, didn't seem like anything that I would
want to stick with or retry. LastPass acquired Xmarks probably because
they already had sync'ing servers for their password function so
extending their server to handle bookmarks seemed a natural extension to
their business profile. Then LogMeIn acquired LastPass. Xmarks keeps
bouncing from company to company but with LogMeIn was not the aim of
their acquisition of LastPass. Remember what happened to WinFax as the
orphan got bounced from parent to parent: Delrina to to Symantec to
dead. LogMeIn has since merged with Citrix. Getting pretty muddy.

Although I have over 600 bookmarks, those have accumulated over years of
web surfing. They now change very little during a week or even over
many months. To sync bookmarks across web clients, I just export from
whichever has the latest list (which is likely in my default or primary
web browser) and then import into the others. Often I clear out all
bookmarks or favorites from the target clients because I don't want
duplicates. Wipe in the target clients, export from the source client,
import into the target clients. I maybe do that once every 3-4 months
but often just as insurance that the other non-primary clients have the
same bookmarks, not because there was a memorable change that I wanted
synchronized to the target clients.

Xmarks is not available everywhere. A court order blocks ISPs in India
from allowing access to the xmarks.com domain.

https://www.medianama.com/2012/05/22...ites-in-india/

While Xmarks provides an option to encrypt bookmarks in-transit (when
sending between clients and their server), is that the default behavior?
Why provide an option if the default is to encrypt that traffic? Also,
encryption during transfer is not the same as encrypted on the server.
First it was [Fo]xmarks privacy policy. Then LassPass'. Then LogMeIn's
privacy policy. Who's next? Citrix? Someone else again?
  #7  
Old November 24th 17, 01:35 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 956
Default Win7 / xmarks question

In message , VanguardLH
writes:
J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

VanguardLH WROTE (in the past, not writes in the past):

If you are fiercely determined not to use scheduled backups to ensure
you have fairly recent backups (which would include all data
folders, including Firefox's profile folders) then configure Firefox
to automatically save a copy of its bookmarks upon its exit. See:
...


Was there supposed to be a URL after "See:"?


Probably this one:

https://www.askvg.com/tip-enable-aut...la-firefox-boo
kmarks-in-html-file-at-shutdown/


Thanks for that.

To save others time (and the Chinglish or whatever!), it just say to set

browser.bookmarks.autoExportHTML

to true under about:config, with

browser.bookmarks.file

setting where it saves it if you want it to be other than in your
profile, though possibly only on older versions (one of the followup
comments says it still works up to his version 46).
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

A clean, neat and orderly desk is a sign of a sick mind. (G6JPG's mind is
clearly extremely healthy ...)
  #8  
Old November 24th 17, 05:36 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Art Todesco
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 272
Default Win7 / xmarks question

On 11/23/2017 1:16 PM, FredW wrote:
On Thu, 23 Nov 2017 09:25:44 -0500, Art Todesco
wrote:

I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57. Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now empty.



A lot of problems after "upgrading" to Firefox 57
are discussed in mozilla.support.firefox.
That is the location of Firefox supporters.

mozilla.support.* newsgroups are available
via newsserver - news.mozilla.org

As the OP I did more digging. I can't seem to add anything to bookmark
folders that are 3 folders deep or deeper. So I'm assuming that FF57
doesn't support folders deeper than 2. That would be totally
unacceptable for me.
  #9  
Old November 24th 17, 05:51 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Art Todesco
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 272
Default Win7 / xmarks question

On 11/23/2017 1:16 PM, FredW wrote:
On Thu, 23 Nov 2017 09:25:44 -0500, Art Todesco
wrote:

I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57. Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now empty.



A lot of problems after "upgrading" to Firefox 57
are discussed in mozilla.support.firefox.
That is the location of Firefox supporters.

mozilla.support.* newsgroups are available
via newsserver - news.mozilla.org

Well, apparently I was wrong. I can put stuff in a folder 3 deep,
manually. I don't know what stopped this when I tried yesterday. So
now it seems I can't seem to import the bookmarks via xMarks. I guess
I'll have to try the built in 'sync' for bookmarks.
  #10  
Old November 25th 17, 10:51 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
mick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 176
Default Win7 / xmarks question

On 24/11/2017 16:36:05, Art Todesco wrote:
On 11/23/2017 1:16 PM, FredW wrote:
On Thu, 23 Nov 2017 09:25:44 -0500, Art Todesco
wrote:

I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57. Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now empty.



A lot of problems after "upgrading" to Firefox 57
are discussed in mozilla.support.firefox.
That is the location of Firefox supporters.

mozilla.support.* newsgroups are available
via newsserver - news.mozilla.org

As the OP I did more digging. I can't seem to add anything to bookmark
folders that are 3 folders deep or deeper. So I'm assuming that FF57 doesn't
support folders deeper than 2. That would be totally unacceptable for me.


I am using 5 folders deep in FF57 and can add new url's to them.

--
mick
  #11  
Old November 26th 17, 06:54 AM posted to alt.windows7.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,492
Default Win7 / xmarks question

mick wrote:
On 24/11/2017 16:36:05, Art Todesco wrote:
On 11/23/2017 1:16 PM, FredW wrote:
On Thu, 23 Nov 2017 09:25:44 -0500, Art Todesco
wrote:

I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57. Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now
empty.


A lot of problems after "upgrading" to Firefox 57
are discussed in mozilla.support.firefox.
That is the location of Firefox supporters.

mozilla.support.* newsgroups are available
via newsserver - news.mozilla.org

As the OP I did more digging. I can't seem to add anything to
bookmark folders that are 3 folders deep or deeper. So I'm assuming
that FF57 doesn't support folders deeper than 2. That would be
totally unacceptable for me.


I am using 5 folders deep in FF57 and can add new url's to them.


Well, your paths could be different lengths, and maybe
Firefox has a maximum string length or something for the
entire assembled path.

Paul
  #12  
Old November 26th 17, 12:56 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
mick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 176
Default Win7 / xmarks question

On 26/11/2017 05:54:52, Paul wrote:
mick wrote:
On 24/11/2017 16:36:05, Art Todesco wrote:
On 11/23/2017 1:16 PM, FredW wrote:
On Thu, 23 Nov 2017 09:25:44 -0500, Art Todesco
wrote:

I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57. Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now empty.


A lot of problems after "upgrading" to Firefox 57
are discussed in mozilla.support.firefox.
That is the location of Firefox supporters.

mozilla.support.* newsgroups are available
via newsserver - news.mozilla.org

As the OP I did more digging. I can't seem to add anything to bookmark
folders that are 3 folders deep or deeper. So I'm assuming that FF57
doesn't support folders deeper than 2. That would be totally unacceptable
for me.


I am using 5 folders deep in FF57 and can add new url's to them.


Well, your paths could be different lengths, and maybe
Firefox has a maximum string length or something for the
entire assembled path.

Paul


On the Bookmark Bar the first folder is 9 characters long followed by
folders of 7, 6, 6, and 9. The longest url in the last folder is 93
characters in length.

I have another program, I think it is Multipar, that baulks at
excessively long paths. So I tried adding 40 extra characters to the
folder name of each of the last three folders in Firefox and I can
still add long url's to the last folder.

--
mick
  #13  
Old November 26th 17, 02:28 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
Art Todesco
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 272
Default Win7 / xmarks question

On 11/25/2017 4:51 PM, mick wrote:
On 24/11/2017 16:36:05, Art Todesco wrote:
On 11/23/2017 1:16 PM, FredW wrote:
On Thu, 23 Nov 2017 09:25:44 -0500, Art Todesco
wrote:

I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57.* Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now
empty.


A lot of problems after "upgrading" to Firefox 57
are discussed in mozilla.support.firefox.
That is the location of Firefox supporters.

mozilla.support.* newsgroups are available
via newsserver - news.mozilla.org

As the OP I did more digging.* I can't seem to add anything to
bookmark folders that are 3 folders deep or deeper.* So I'm assuming
that FF57 doesn't support folders deeper than 2.* That would be
totally unacceptable for me.


I am using 5 folders deep in FF57 and can add new url's to them.

Yes, me too. They just didn't import to the new FF Quantum 57 using
xmarks as the bookmark sync program.
  #14  
Old November 26th 17, 04:25 PM posted to alt.windows7.general
mick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 176
Default Win7 / xmarks question

On 26/11/2017 13:28:03, Art Todesco wrote:
On 11/25/2017 4:51 PM, mick wrote:
On 24/11/2017 16:36:05, Art Todesco wrote:
On 11/23/2017 1:16 PM, FredW wrote:
On Thu, 23 Nov 2017 09:25:44 -0500, Art Todesco
wrote:

I recently updated my main w7 computer to Firefox 57.* Apparently,
xmarks had some problems where all the folders of folders are now empty.


A lot of problems after "upgrading" to Firefox 57
are discussed in mozilla.support.firefox.
That is the location of Firefox supporters.

mozilla.support.* newsgroups are available
via newsserver - news.mozilla.org

As the OP I did more digging.* I can't seem to add anything to bookmark
folders that are 3 folders deep or deeper.* So I'm assuming that FF57
doesn't support folders deeper than 2.* That would be totally unacceptable
for me.


I am using 5 folders deep in FF57 and can add new url's to them.

Yes, me too. They just didn't import to the new FF Quantum 57 using xmarks
as the bookmark sync program.


Oops! sorry forgot about Xmarks.
I'm just using Firefox with Firefox sync.

--
mick
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.