A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » General XP issues or comments
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

O.T. FF browser issue?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 15th 17, 09:02 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I have a Dell XPS 8500, with Windows 7 Professional, SP1,
with Spywareblaster, Malwarebytes, Avast , Windows Defender
and Windows firewall.

(1) TB HD
Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-33-3770 CPU @ 3.40 GHz
Ram 12.0 GB
System type : 64-bit operating system

I also have

I have a Dell Optiplex 780 Tower, with Windows 7 Professional,
SP1, with Spywareblaster, Malwarebytes, Avast , Windows Defender
and Windows firewall.

Intel (R) Core 2 Duo 2.93 GHz
4GB RAM, 750 GB HD
System type : 64-bit operating system

and (external hard drives)

Seagate Backup Plus 1(TB) 2.5 USB Portable HD

WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200
RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal
Hard Drive


The problem is with the 8500 since I only use the 780 as
a backup computer. I've mentioned this before but it seems
to be getting worst especially with the Fox news site.

http://www.foxnews.com/

When I click on a story it cycles and cycles,. and when
it finally opens it keeps cycling through the story. Often
I have to copy/paste the story to You Tube just to listen.
Other times when I click on stories they don't open. I was
just on ebay and all of a sudden music started playing! I
only had ebay open and I didn't click on anything! Now how
does that happen?

In passing, I hate that now they put ads in the the story
so your constantly interrupted.

If I remember correctly, part of the reason FF has
slowed is because they changed and now are more like
Chrome where I have (4) FF exe all running at the same
time.

I've run all the scans and I don't detect any malware
but am puzzled by how long some pages take to load now
and this pop-up music on eBay.


Thoughts/suggestions?
Robert
Ads
  #2  
Old December 16th 17, 05:06 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Ok, I was just on MSN reading another story
when music just started playing from no where!
Just like it did when I was on eBay. There were
no-pops ups it just starts playing from I don't
know where? Again, I had nothing else opened.

Also, in relation to the slowness of connecting
to pages. I've literally seen it say it was
'handshaking' at the bottom of the screen while
it was trying to connect. I haven't seen that since
modems!

All this is not right.


Thoughts/suggestions,
Robert

  #3  
Old December 16th 17, 06:12 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul in Houston TX[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 833
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
Ok, I was just on MSN reading another story
when music just started playing from no where!
Just like it did when I was on eBay. There were
no-pops ups it just starts playing from I don't
know where? Again, I had nothing else opened.

Also, in relation to the slowness of connecting
to pages. I've literally seen it say it was
'handshaking' at the bottom of the screen while
it was trying to connect. I haven't seen that since
modems!

All this is not right.


Thoughts/suggestions,
Robert


The computer has a virus. Possibly vundo or some varient.
Possibly a redirect, also.
See if Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 gets rid of it.
  #4  
Old December 16th 17, 07:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,261
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
Ok, I was just on MSN reading another story
when music just started playing from no where!
Just like it did when I was on eBay. There were
no-pops ups it just starts playing from I don't
know where? Again, I had nothing else opened.

Also, in relation to the slowness of connecting
to pages. I've literally seen it say it was
'handshaking' at the bottom of the screen while
it was trying to connect. I haven't seen that since
modems!

All this is not right.


Thoughts/suggestions,
Robert


These problems aren't exactly easy to fix.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1055864

In the last section of the thread, one commenter thinks
there is a "newtab" setting that is setting up the
errant piece of software causing you grief. I can't
tell from the very last post though, how the original
poster fixed it.

In the example, plugin-container runs because it's
a piece of software which "isolates" plugins from the
main Firefox process. And the design of Firefox has
changed, from FF53 to FF57, so some people might
end up being interested in what version you're running.

FF57 (Quantum) can still have audio shenanigans, as FF57
likely supports some set of HTML5 video/audio standards,
as well as Adobe Flash still working in some capacity.
So there are still lots of things to be shoving into
plugin-containers, still lots of things to play rude
music when you don't want it. Lots of regular plugins,
no longer work on Quantum, but the trick being played
on you right now, will be engineered to work with
just about every Firefox version.

In FF57, your copy of QuickTime plugin should stop
working. And that's about the only positive thing
we can say about FF57.

The audio icon in the OS, has sliders per process.
But that isn't a solution to any sort of problem.
If you're viewing video on a page, while unexpected
music is also playing, there won't be a slider for
each thread. There may be a plugin to provide that
level of resolution, but then it would depend on the
version of Firefox, as to whether it would still
work. And managing audio problems that way is
stupid anyway - you need to remove the software
that has added something to "newtab". At a guess.

Paul
  #5  
Old December 16th 17, 04:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Ken Springer[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,152
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

On 12/15/17 10:06 PM, Mark Twain wrote:
Ok, I was just on MSN reading another story
when music just started playing from no where!
Just like it did when I was on eBay. There were
no-pops ups it just starts playing from I don't
know where? Again, I had nothing else opened.

Also, in relation to the slowness of connecting
to pages. I've literally seen it say it was
'handshaking' at the bottom of the screen while
it was trying to connect. I haven't seen that since
modems!

All this is not right.


Thoughts/suggestions,
Robert


I don't have 57 installed because it breaks too many of my FF add-ons.
I plan on waiting until updates are available. Sadly, for one of my
favorite add-ons, the author has decided to not develop it for 57 and later.

For FF troubleshooting, the very first thing you should do is restart FF
in Safe Mode. This disables any add-ons, and you are running bare bones
FF. Lots of times, problems go away, which means the issue is with one
or more add-ons and you'll simply have to track it down.

FF hasn't played nicely with Flash for a long time. When that happens,
I open that page in a different browser.

For a YouTube video, I just click on the pop up that says watch it on
YouTube.

Worst offenders for me, in this area, are the TV station videos.


--
Ken
Mac OS X 10.11.6
Firefox 53.0.2 (64 bit)
Thunderbird 52.0
"My brain is like lightning, a quick flash
and it's gone!"
  #6  
Old December 16th 17, 07:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Sorry, I have FF version 57.0.2 (64 bit)

From what you and Ken say, it may be the new version
of FF that may be causing this intermittent problem.

I checked the last comment on the link and I'm very
iffy about going into about:config because I may screw
things up royally.

I tried going into Safe Mode but it never did. I pressed
F8 repeatedly at intervals and the MBR appears but nothing
happens. I tried this several times.

Thoughts/suggestions,
Robert

  #7  
Old December 16th 17, 07:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
J. P. Gilliver (John)[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,024
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

In message , Mark
Twain writes:
Sorry, I have FF version 57.0.2 (64 bit)

From what you and Ken say, it may be the new version
of FF that may be causing this intermittent problem.

I checked the last comment on the link and I'm very
iffy about going into about:config because I may screw
things up royally.

I tried going into Safe Mode but it never did. I pressed
F8 repeatedly at intervals and the MBR appears but nothing
happens. I tried this several times.

Thoughts/suggestions,
Robert

Sometimes when people talk about safe mode in the context of Firefox,
they don't mean rebooting Windows, only restarting Firefox with add-ons
disabled (which is an option under the Help menu in Firefox). No F8
required.
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G()AL-IS-Ch++(p)[email protected]+H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

Lewis: ... d'you think there's a god?
Morse: ... There are times when I wish to god there was one. (Inspector Morse.)
  #8  
Old December 16th 17, 07:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?



I do or thought I had a Kaspersky rescue 10 disc but when I
inserted the CD nothing seems to be on it and I don't have
a reliable download link to create a new one.


Also I saw this:

https://s8.postimg.org/sttp2uw05/Win_7_New.jpg

where Win 7 New C: should it not be Win 7 Pro C:?

Also I tried to use Tinypic for this and this is what it shows:

https://s8.postimg.org/f05cdy0vp/tiny_pics.jpg

Robert
  #9  
Old December 16th 17, 07:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I had never heard of FF safe mode before,..
however, I found how to do so and typed
about:addons and this is what it gave:


https://s8.postimg.org/cldgt7fed/addons.jpg


Although it still begs the question of why the
F8 didn't work when I restarted the computer.

Robert
  #10  
Old December 16th 17, 09:26 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul in Houston TX[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 833
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:


I do or thought I had a Kaspersky rescue 10 disc but when I
inserted the CD nothing seems to be on it and I don't have
a reliable download link to create a new one.


Kaspersky website is a good place to start.
https://support.kaspersky.com/us/viruses/rescuedisk#kb

Also I saw this:

https://s8.postimg.org/sttp2uw05/Win_7_New.jpg

where Win 7 New C: should it not be Win 7 Pro C:?


The primary partition name can be almost anything (length limited) or nothing.
I name mine after the HDD model or serial number.


Also I tried to use Tinypic for this and this is what it shows:

https://s8.postimg.org/f05cdy0vp/tiny_pics.jpg

Robert


  #11  
Old December 17th 17, 04:14 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Ken Springer[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,152
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

On 12/16/17 12:53 PM, Mark Twain wrote:
I had never heard of FF safe mode before,..
however, I found how to do so and typed
about:addons and this is what it gave:


https://s8.postimg.org/cldgt7fed/addons.jpg


Although it still begs the question of why the
F8 didn't work when I restarted the computer.


Robert,

My apologies for misleading you on starting FF in Safe Mode. It was not
intentional.

J.P. is correct about how to enter FF's Safe Mode. You will get a
message to start in Safe Mode, or Refresh Firefox. I don't know what
Refresh does, but my suspicion is, you will get a new profile to work with.

To return to the old profile, you will need to edit profiles.ini, which
is a hidden file in your hidden App Data folder.


--
Ken
Mac OS X 10.11.6
Firefox 53.0.2 (64 bit)
Thunderbird 52.0
"My brain is like lightning, a quick flash
and it's gone!"
  #12  
Old December 17th 17, 04:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I was on MSN earlier and the music started up again
from nowhere (3) times while I tried to read a story.

Later I tried to read another story and it started again..
this is getting nuts.

As far as the HD I didn't rename it or anything,.. I
have Win 7 Pro so I don't understand this Win7 New?

I created and ran the Kapersky Rescue CD and ticked

disk boot sectors
hidden start-up objects
C:
and then afterwards I checked

sda1
sda2

It took 3 hours in all and showed no errors that I'm aware
of. However after completion I saw an update for Kapersky and
realized the one I just used was obsolete. So I have to redo the
scan? I'll do it again tomorrow,....

Robert


  #13  
Old December 17th 17, 04:27 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

No worries Ken,... I managed to find it
and posted a screenshot of what I found.

I didn't go into profiles and it offered
the same command in reverse to return to FF.

Robert
  #14  
Old December 17th 17, 04:29 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I forget to add the update information:

Threat types total database release date
Malware 6594390 10-7-15


Robert
  #15  
Old December 17th 17, 04:59 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,189
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I understand now about going into FF safe mode
although to be honest this is the first time I
had heard of this.

However, my concern about the F8 remains,. even
though that wasn't the safe mode I was suppose to
go to it doesn't work. It takes me to the MBR but
the F8 key doesn't take me to the safe mode menu.

So this is another problem,.. unrelated or maybe
it is to the music playing issue?

Robert

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.