A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » General XP issues or comments
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

O.T. FF browser issue?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old December 18th 17, 10:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

On Monday, December 18, 2017 at 2:03:41 PM UTC-8, Mark Twain wrote:
I have ImgBurn Version 2.5.0.0 is that OK?

Robert


I found an downloaded version 2.5.8.

http://i64.tinypic.com/2zxqmxl.jpg

will try again,

Robert
Ads
  #32  
Old December 18th 17, 10:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

hows this?

http://i64.tinypic.com/152dv61.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/34hvyh5.jpg

Now will run Kapersky Rescue CD and will
let you know the outcome.

Thanks,
Robert

  #33  
Old December 18th 17, 10:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I inserted the Kapersky Rescue CD and it
came up again 'database corrupted'. I updated
it and still says 'database corrupted.

Here's the CD:

http://i68.tinypic.com/s1j539.jpg

Robert
  #34  
Old December 19th 17, 02:14 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,774
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
I inserted the Kapersky Rescue CD and it
came up again 'database corrupted'. I updated
it and still says 'database corrupted.

Here's the CD:

http://i68.tinypic.com/s1j539.jpg

Robert


My disc with the 313,604,096 byte count,
shows "obsolete" for the database, rather than
"corrupted". Obsolete just means it needs to
update. It will download close to 200MB of
database files if/when you click the update button.

https://s17.postimg.org/vu0ktxim7/mar_2017_disc.gif

Make sure you remove the Kaspersky folder right
under C: and put it in the Trash, before booting
that CD again.

Paul
  #35  
Old December 19th 17, 05:53 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

There is no Kapersky folder/file ... I
tried again with the same results.

I didn't think to do this before but I
took pics this time to show you. At first
it flashes 'corrupted' which disappears
but when I click on Updates it's there
and the logo remains red versus green.

http://i67.tinypic.com/2j662yq.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/qxjxjb.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/14v4r5x.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/vfcs5t.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/2h56z3k.jpg


Robert
  #36  
Old December 19th 17, 12:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,774
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
There is no Kapersky folder/file ... I
tried again with the same results.

I didn't think to do this before but I
took pics this time to show you. At first
it flashes 'corrupted' which disappears
but when I click on Updates it's there
and the logo remains red versus green.

http://i67.tinypic.com/2j662yq.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/qxjxjb.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/14v4r5x.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/vfcs5t.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/2h56z3k.jpg


Robert


OK, your fourth picture says

Completed 17515 days ago

Yet your first picture shows your Kaspersky
folder was deleted. These two pictures don't
jibe with one another. It can only know about
"17515 days", if it has a Kaspersky folder with
some sort of info in it.

How many hard drives are in the computer at
the moment you boot the Kaspersky CD ?

The Kaspersky folder can be stored on *any* C:
drive. For example, I have a Win2K disk and a
WinXP disk in the computer. The Kaspersky folder
goes into the Win2K C: drive, even though I almost
never use it.

One thing the Kaspersky boot CD looks for, is a
pagefile.sys to use. That is used to hold the
Linux swap for the boot CD OS. It finds such files
on OS partitions. It searches the computer, looking
for the first pagefile it can find.

It puts the Kaspersky folder on that same partition.

In addition, it queries the registry of that selected
C: partition, to get "mountvol" info. That's how
it decides what drive letters to use for each partition.
So when it refers to C: as in your fourth picture.
that's the same C: it has the pagefile on, and it
should also be the same C: with the Kaspersky folder.

In my case, the letters it extracts from the Win2K
registry file, cause the disk I want to scan to be
called E: . Which is not someone would predict in
advance. As a result, the letter choices shown by
Kaspersky should be treated with suspicion, until
you verify which partition is which by looking at the
partition contents.

In your fifth picture, it shows the "corrupt" status.
The database date is 12/15/2017. So the database that
picture is using, is from when you were fooling around
a few days ago (with the "bad" CD).

Make *sure* you've removed the Kaspersky folder
from the top level of all OS C: partitions.

If you have your backup drive connected, maybe it's
finding a folder on there.

Then try your Mar 2017 CD version again.

Paul
  #37  
Old December 19th 17, 06:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I only have the 1 HD in the computer and I
do not attach external HD's unless I'm doing
backups and there are no flash keys attached.

Here's my partitions........

http://i68.tinypic.com/333h5x4.jpg

I've already removed all the Kapersky files,
that I'm aware of, if there are more I do not
know where they are. Perhaps I should use Agent
Ransack to find them?

How can a newly made CD be bad?

The only CD I have is the last one I
made from your link.

Robert
  #38  
Old December 19th 17, 06:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I ran Agent Ransack:

http://i63.tinypic.com/2cibuw2.jpg


Robert
  #39  
Old December 19th 17, 07:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,774
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
I only have the 1 HD in the computer and I
do not attach external HD's unless I'm doing
backups and there are no flash keys attached.

Here's my partitions........

http://i68.tinypic.com/333h5x4.jpg

I've already removed all the Kapersky files,
that I'm aware of, if there are more I do not
know where they are. Perhaps I should use Agent
Ransack to find them?

How can a newly made CD be bad?

The only CD I have is the last one I
made from your link.

Robert


When you used Imgburn, the disc contents were verified
against the ISO file, to ensure correct-ness. So it passed
and the disc isn't corrupted.

A disc could obviously read bad a second time, if it was
marginal. But the verify runs at "max speed", and
gives the disk data a good workout. If the data was
marginal, there's a good chance the problem would
show up during the verify.

All I can tell you is, the Mar 2017 disc I used, said
the database was "obsolete", not "corrupted", and obsolete
means it can be repaired by a download. I'm not really
sure why the disc cannot download fresh copies of any
"corrupted" files.

If you look at how the Kaspersky disc works, it's very
careful with those files. It scans them for trouble.
It verifies the checksum on each file.

If you examine the contents of the "bases" folder on
the ISO, it uses crypto, presumably to prevent an AV
competitor from stealing the database contents. There have
been cases before, where another company steals the
files. To stop that, Kaspersky used to put "extra"
"bogus" definitions in a file, to trip up a competitor.

The disc contents consist of two key parts.

1) A set of URLs, as to which server or servers to
contact to get update files. On some days, you may
find there is an extra delay, before files are downloaded,
and this is the Kaspersky CD having to check the alternate
servers for files.

If you don't have the correct URLs, then the CD won't
be able to do any updates at all.

2) The "bases" folder has several hundred files which
represent all the virus definitions. But the assembly
of such is tricky, and I don't know of an easy way to
do "surgery" to remove just the wrong thing. If the error
message said which file was bad, things might be different.

And since the CD refuses to "correct" just the corrupted
part, that doesn't suggest that deleting "Bases" on the ISO,
will do any good. The stupid thing will probably stop
dead if you do that.

The bases folder gets copied to the C:\Kaspersky folder
the first time the CD is used. In your case, you did clean
things out properly, so it's not like the bad files were
left behind. That means I'm out of things to try.

*******

If you're getting bored with Kaspersky, this is another freebie.
I think I've only tried this the one time. This one comes closer
to filling a CD, at 667MB.

https://www.bitdefender.com/support/...ue-cd-627.html

http://download.bitdefender.com/resc...-rescue-cd.iso

Paul
  #40  
Old December 19th 17, 08:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?


I'm not getting bored with Kapersky I just
don't understand why it keeps coming back
corrupted when I've deleted the files and
emptied the trash and used a new CD to create
a Kapersky Rescue CD using the link you gave
me.

I realize I screwed up with the copy/paste
but that has been corrected above. So I don't
understand why it's not working

I'll try your new link with a new CD and let
you know what happens.

In passing, I ran malwarebytes yesterday and
it had 55 threats! I had not seen these before!
I quarantined them all and then deleted them. Ten
ran mawarebytes again which came up clean. Could
this be part of the problem and why my F8 no longer
functions?

http://i63.tinypic.com/24xmf6e.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/168j5ee.jpg


Robert
  #41  
Old December 19th 17, 09:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I'm not getting tired of Kapersky but I
don't understand why it isn't working. I
did screw up at first with the copy/paste
but I corrected that when you reminded me
to use Imgbrun.

I deleted all the Kapersky files and emptied
the trash as per your instructions and used
a new CD-RW to create the Kapersky Rescue CD
and I verified the CD as well so it should be
OK.

In passing, I did a malwarebytes scan last night
which found 55 threats! I had never seen those
before and I do regular scans. So I quarantined
and deleted them, and then ran malwarebytes again
which came up clean.

http://i68.tinypic.com/166ep21.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/168j5ee.jpg

Could this be part of the problem and maybe the
reason why my F8 no longer functions?

I'll try your other link and let you know the
results.

Thanks,
Robert

  #42  
Old December 19th 17, 09:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,774
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
I'm not getting bored with Kapersky I just
don't understand why it keeps coming back
corrupted when I've deleted the files and
emptied the trash and used a new CD to create
a Kapersky Rescue CD using the link you gave
me.

I realize I screwed up with the copy/paste
but that has been corrected above. So I don't
understand why it's not working

I'll try your new link with a new CD and let
you know what happens.

In passing, I ran malwarebytes yesterday and
it had 55 threats! I had not seen these before!
I quarantined them all and then deleted them. Ten
ran mawarebytes again which came up clean. Could
this be part of the problem and why my F8 no longer
functions?

http://i63.tinypic.com/24xmf6e.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/168j5ee.jpg


Robert


So it did find a PUP ? (I can see it in the first picture.)

The second picture says "WinYahoo" and "ByteFence".

ByteFence is a "pretend" anti-malware that puts up fake
warnings about malware. And one hit in Google mentions
it does URL redirection.

And WinYahoo does redirection too. WinYahoo has nothing
to do with Yahoo. It just borrows the name.

https://blog.malwarebytes.com/detect...onal-winyahoo/

*******

Did your problem stop completely ?

Or does Malwarebytes find the same culprits back again today too ?

You know how you've had trouble in the past, that kept coming
back.

Paul
  #43  
Old December 19th 17, 11:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I haven't heard the problem return so maybe those
55 malwarebyte threat files were the culprit?

I created a new Bitdefender CD

http://i64.tinypic.com/2e6au76.jpg

and then ran the scan which came up clean

http://i64.tinypic.com/2h4yibp.jpg

afterwards I ran another malwarebytes scan
which also came up clean

http://i63.tinypic.com/54dkcx.jpg

I then restarted the 8500 to check the F8 function
and still does not work and goes directly to the MBR


Robert

  #44  
Old December 19th 17, 11:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,774
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:

....
I then restarted the 8500 to check the F8 function
and still does not work and goes directly to the MBR

Robert


Does your BIOS key work ?

Can you get into the BIOS ?

Apparently some computers have a BIOS setting
to disable F8 (the popup boot key).

*******

If you're using the F8 key for Safe mode, there
are a couple links below with info.

The method to getting to Safe Mode, changes from
one OS version to the next. They're not always consistent
with this stuff.

In this sample article for Windows 7, none of the options
is particularly attractive, for getting into Safe Mode.

https://www.sevenforums.com/tutorial...safe-mode.html

This link shows how, but the timing can be tricky depending
on the setup. I have a couple OS disks set up to put up the
black screen with the OS listed in it, so I can do those.

https://www.sevenforums.com/tutorial...t-options.html

Not all the bcdedit examples I find in articles like these,
work out as expected. Things were a bit more predictable back
in the Windows XP days. For example, I have a dual boot
Windows 10 setup (two OSes on one disk), where a lot of
these examples just don't work, and the OS goes right
ahead and ignores user input.

Paul
  #45  
Old December 20th 17, 02:12 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,105
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

The first link suggests changing the user account
and logging out of safe mode and logging in as another
user. That isn't the problem,......

The second link is exactly what i'm doing but
neither the F8 or F12 are working ,... I even
tried F10 because I read somewhere to use that
instead of F12 but it didn't work either.

I'm not trying to get into Safe Mode per se, I'm
just saying the F8 and F12 keys aren't functioning.

Normally, when logging on the F12 flashes on the top
right of the screen but it doesn't do that it goes
straight to the MBR and there is only one choice: Windows 7

Whereas I tested the 780 and the F12 flashed as I logged on
and both the F8 and F12 worked and instead of just Windows 7
to choose from, it had Windows 7 and Restore.

So the 780 is functioning normally but the 8500 isn't.

I hope your not going to tell me that we need to rebuild
the entire HD all over again to regain this feature.

Robert


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.