A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » General XP issues or comments
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

O.T. FF browser issue?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old December 20th 17, 04:17 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,812
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
The first link suggests changing the user account
and logging out of safe mode and logging in as another
user. That isn't the problem,......

The second link is exactly what i'm doing but
neither the F8 or F12 are working ,... I even
tried F10 because I read somewhere to use that
instead of F12 but it didn't work either.

I'm not trying to get into Safe Mode per se, I'm
just saying the F8 and F12 keys aren't functioning.

Normally, when logging on the F12 flashes on the top
right of the screen but it doesn't do that it goes
straight to the MBR and there is only one choice: Windows 7

Whereas I tested the 780 and the F12 flashed as I logged on
and both the F8 and F12 worked and instead of just Windows 7
to choose from, it had Windows 7 and Restore.

So the 780 is functioning normally but the 8500 isn't.

I hope your not going to tell me that we need to rebuild
the entire HD all over again to regain this feature.

Robert


Absolutely not.

It's not an OS issue, when the OS isn't even running
yet. When it's BIOS time, the BIOS gets to call
the shots, on what keys it will listen to.

This is a BIOS issue as far as I'm concerned.

F2 should always work.

You need to start by testing that you can even
enter the BIOS. Do you use Fn F2 to enter
the BIOS or just F2 to enter the BIOS ?

I checked the 8500 user manual, and there is no
BIOS entry specifically affecting F2/F8/F12.
F2 enters the BIOS. F12 is the popup boot menu.
F8 isn't intercepted as near as I can tell
(F8 is not mentioned in the 8500 manual I'm using).

There is a setting called "Boot Menu Security" in
the BIOS, which *might* affect F12, but I can't
find additional information using that search term,
anywhere. "Boot Menu Security" is disabled by
default. You could enter the BIOS and see if it
happens to be enabled or not (a non-default value
for the setting).

Paul
Ads
  #47  
Old December 20th 17, 04:54 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,107
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I can't get into the BIOS or boot menu

I just tried it several times F2, F8, F12
and nothing works,. just skips over them
and goes directly to MBR.

As I said I've done this before on the 8500
and F8 and F12 should work just like the 780
which does work.

In passing, I tried the Kapersky CD again since
everything came up clean with the bitdefender and
I deleted all the malwarebytes threats but got the
same results as before.

I looked up possible solutions and they suggested
updating and if that doesn't work to rollback to a
earlier version and then update which is what we did.

Robert


  #48  
Old December 20th 17, 06:20 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,812
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
I can't get into the BIOS or boot menu

I just tried it several times F2, F8, F12
and nothing works,. just skips over them
and goes directly to MBR.

As I said I've done this before on the 8500
and F8 and F12 should work just like the 780
which does work.

In passing, I tried the Kapersky CD again since
everything came up clean with the bitdefender and
I deleted all the malwarebytes threats but got the
same results as before.

I looked up possible solutions and they suggested
updating and if that doesn't work to rollback to a
earlier version and then update which is what we did.

Robert


I seem to remember you had this function key
problem before ? And I thought at the time,
you had solved it (somehow).

Paul
  #49  
Old December 20th 17, 07:53 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,107
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Yeah,... we rebuilt my entire HD
because I lost my MBR.

Robert

  #50  
Old December 20th 17, 07:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,107
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Here's what I'm seeing on my MBR

http://i65.tinypic.com/351an92.jpg

I ran the Windows Memory Diagnostic

http://i67.tinypic.com/1z2f49y.jpg

Windows did restart but test results
were not displayed. I also tried
running it a second time to try the
F1 Options and it didn't do anything
when pressed it, just like F2, F8, and
F12


Robert


  #51  
Old December 20th 17, 09:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,812
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
Here's what I'm seeing on my MBR

http://i65.tinypic.com/351an92.jpg

I ran the Windows Memory Diagnostic

http://i67.tinypic.com/1z2f49y.jpg

Windows did restart but test results
were not displayed. I also tried
running it a second time to try the
F1 Options and it didn't do anything
when pressed it, just like F2, F8, and
F12


Robert


Is the keyboard used on the 8500, "original equipment",
or is it imported from some other computer.

Have you tried press and hold of the Fn key, then press F8
in that first screen ? Did it respond to that ? Some
keyboards have an Fn key, to select alternate functions
of the Function key set. And at least one laptop BIOS
for Dell, has an "invert" function to invert what
the Fn key does.

On my Acer laptop, I have to use the Fn key if
I want those functions you're looking for. On this
computer, there is no Fn key and the full-sized keyboard
has fixed (single) functions for each F key.

Paul

  #52  
Old December 20th 17, 11:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul in Houston TX[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 770
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
I'm not getting tired of Kapersky but I
don't understand why it isn't working. I
did screw up at first with the copy/paste
but I corrected that when you reminded me
to use Imgbrun.

I deleted all the Kapersky files and emptied
the trash as per your instructions and used
a new CD-RW to create the Kapersky Rescue CD
and I verified the CD as well so it should be
OK.

In passing, I did a malwarebytes scan last night
which found 55 threats! I had never seen those
before and I do regular scans. So I quarantined
and deleted them, and then ran malwarebytes again
which came up clean.

http://i68.tinypic.com/166ep21.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/168j5ee.jpg

Could this be part of the problem and maybe the
reason why my F8 no longer functions?

I'll try your other link and let you know the
results.

Thanks,
Robert


Possible virus that kills Kaspersky.

  #53  
Old December 21st 17, 12:17 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,812
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Paul in Houston TX wrote:
Mark Twain wrote:
I'm not getting tired of Kapersky but I
don't understand why it isn't working. I
did screw up at first with the copy/paste
but I corrected that when you reminded me
to use Imgbrun.

I deleted all the Kapersky files and emptied
the trash as per your instructions and used
a new CD-RW to create the Kapersky Rescue CD
and I verified the CD as well so it should be
OK.

In passing, I did a malwarebytes scan last night
which found 55 threats! I had never seen those
before and I do regular scans. So I quarantined
and deleted them, and then ran malwarebytes again
which came up clean.

http://i68.tinypic.com/166ep21.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/168j5ee.jpg

Could this be part of the problem and maybe the
reason why my F8 no longer functions?

I'll try your other link and let you know the
results.

Thanks,
Robert


Possible virus that kills Kaspersky.


Not while you're booting the Kaspersky Linux Rescue CD.

It's supposed to do an offline scan.

I tested the current (Dec.2017) Kaspersky offline disc, and I
did see the "corrupt database" message, which an update
would not fix. So the "bases" folder on the CD seems
to be a problem.

I rolled back my CD to Mar.2017 (I have a half dozen old
KAV ISO images), and that one worked OK for me. However,
Robert found doing the same thing, he was still getting
the "Corrupt" message. Which shouldn't happen, because
he did delete the C:\Kaspersky... folder before booting
the CD.

Paul
  #54  
Old December 21st 17, 12:29 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul in Houston TX[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 770
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Paul wrote:
Paul in Houston TX wrote:
Mark Twain wrote:
I'm not getting tired of Kapersky but I
don't understand why it isn't working. I
did screw up at first with the copy/paste
but I corrected that when you reminded me
to use Imgbrun.

I deleted all the Kapersky files and emptied
the trash as per your instructions and used
a new CD-RW to create the Kapersky Rescue CD
and I verified the CD as well so it should be
OK.

In passing, I did a malwarebytes scan last night
which found 55 threats! I had never seen those
before and I do regular scans. So I quarantined
and deleted them, and then ran malwarebytes again
which came up clean.

http://i68.tinypic.com/166ep21.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/168j5ee.jpg

Could this be part of the problem and maybe the
reason why my F8 no longer functions?

I'll try your other link and let you know the
results.

Thanks,
Robert


Possible virus that kills Kaspersky.


Not while you're booting the Kaspersky Linux Rescue CD.

It's supposed to do an offline scan.

I tested the current (Dec.2017) Kaspersky offline disc, and I
did see the "corrupt database" message, which an update
would not fix. So the "bases" folder on the CD seems
to be a problem.

I rolled back my CD to Mar.2017 (I have a half dozen old
KAV ISO images), and that one worked OK for me. However,
Robert found doing the same thing, he was still getting
the "Corrupt" message. Which shouldn't happen, because
he did delete the C:\Kaspersky... folder before booting
the CD.

Paul


ahhh.. ok. Thanks, missed that.

  #55  
Old December 21st 17, 12:57 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,107
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

No,.. the keyboard isn't original it's a
Microsoft ergonomic keyboard 4000 v.1.0
and doesn't have a Fn Key

https://www.google.com/search?q=micr...x364nWFNR 2M:

Robert
  #56  
Old December 21st 17, 01:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,107
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

However I'll try switching the 780 keyboard with
the 8500 and see if that works and will let you know.


Robert
  #57  
Old December 21st 17, 01:11 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,812
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
However I'll try switching the 780 keyboard with
the 8500 and see if that works and will let you know.


Robert


I expect you will get positive results from this.

But I won't be able to answer "why" it works.

Paul
  #58  
Old December 21st 17, 01:12 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,107
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Ta da! it worked!

This is a no nothing slim keyboard
and just has a serial number on the
back but it works.

Now why in the hell doesn't the Microsoft
ergonomic 4000? It's a far superior keyboard.

It still begs the question of why the Kapersky
Rescue CD failed yet the bitdefender didn't?

Robert
  #59  
Old December 21st 17, 01:37 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,107
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I was just reading this story on MSN

https://www.msn.com/en-us/entertainm...zDL?li=BBnbfcL

and the music came up again, it starts with
'if you ever ,....' while I was reading it.

I thought I had cleared this up by deleting
those threat files. So I ran malwarebytes again
and it came up clean, so why am I still getting
these unwanted pop-up music/ads or whatever they
are when all I did was click on a story to read?

It also not consistent because I have the story
opened now and I don't hear it. I should be able
to open any story on any site without having this
problem.


Robert


  #60  
Old December 21st 17, 02:08 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,107
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

I was just reading another story on MSN
and the music came up again, it starts with
'if you ever ,....' while I was reading it.

I thought I had cleared this up by deleting
those threat files. So I ran malwarebytes again
and it came up clean, so why am I still getting
these unwanted pop-up music/ads or whatever they
are when all I did was click on a story to read?

It also not consistent because I have the story
opened now and I don't hear it. I should be able
to open any story on any site without having this
problem.

Thoughts/suggestions?
Robert

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.