A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » General XP issues or comments
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

O.T. FF browser issue?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old December 21st 17, 04:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul in Houston TX[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 836
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Paul wrote:
Paul in Houston TX wrote:
Mark Twain wrote:
I'm not getting tired of Kapersky but I
don't understand why it isn't working. I
did screw up at first with the copy/paste
but I corrected that when you reminded me
to use Imgbrun.

I deleted all the Kapersky files and emptied
the trash as per your instructions and used
a new CD-RW to create the Kapersky Rescue CD
and I verified the CD as well so it should be
OK.

In passing, I did a malwarebytes scan last night
which found 55 threats! I had never seen those
before and I do regular scans. So I quarantined
and deleted them, and then ran malwarebytes again
which came up clean.

http://i68.tinypic.com/166ep21.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/168j5ee.jpg

Could this be part of the problem and maybe the
reason why my F8 no longer functions?

I'll try your other link and let you know the
results.

Thanks,
Robert


Possible virus that kills Kaspersky.


Not while you're booting the Kaspersky Linux Rescue CD.

It's supposed to do an offline scan.

I tested the current (Dec.2017) Kaspersky offline disc, and I
did see the "corrupt database" message, which an update
would not fix. So the "bases" folder on the CD seems
to be a problem.

I rolled back my CD to Mar.2017 (I have a half dozen old
KAV ISO images), and that one worked OK for me. However,
Robert found doing the same thing, he was still getting
the "Corrupt" message. Which shouldn't happen, because
he did delete the C:\Kaspersky... folder before booting
the CD.

Paul


It seems that the 2013 version of KAV is the newest and they
do not update hardware drivers.

KAV will not recognize the network adaptors in this 2017 comp with
both and Intel and Killer Gbit adaptors.
Downloaded the stand alone updater and installer.
Will mess with it over the next few days if I have time.

I have 3 KAV iso's, 2013, 2016, and new Dec 20, 2017. All are the same
and updated db's tonight with no problem using the 2012 wireless laptop.
Found HijRMS.ag rootkit but I think it may be a false alarm.

Ads
  #62  
Old December 21st 17, 05:02 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,316
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
I was just reading another story on MSN
and the music came up again, it starts with
'if you ever ,....' while I was reading it.

I thought I had cleared this up by deleting
those threat files. So I ran malwarebytes again
and it came up clean, so why am I still getting
these unwanted pop-up music/ads or whatever they
are when all I did was click on a story to read?

It also not consistent because I have the story
opened now and I don't hear it. I should be able
to open any story on any site without having this
problem.

Thoughts/suggestions?
Robert


There is an addon which makes it so only elements
you click on, can play their content. This was a capability
that used to be in the browser code, but got removed. An
outside developer kept it going as a separate piece of code.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...ement/reviews/

But with Firefox Quantum (57 or later), only the newer style
of AddOns work, and that means anything useful no longer works.

I tested MSN.com here, and I got a sound-activated
item while scrolling the main body text on that page.
It seems to play once and stops. If I were to reload the
msn.com page, it will play it's little crap sound a
second time.

It's not the same advertisement you're getting (because
I'm in Canada and they send me to msn.ca).

And for the company paying money to do this, I
can't even make out what they're selling. I hear
some "jingle music" indicating an advertisement,
but the human voice is indistinct. Making the advert
a waste of money for someone. So while you noticed
"if you ever", I can't even make that much out.

Paul
  #63  
Old December 21st 17, 05:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,192
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Maybe this is the new 'norm' that we have
to put up with since they seem to put ads
etc everywhere now, even in emails which I
find particularly rude and offensive.


I still think it's odd that my Microsoft 4000
doesn't function with the F keys but the
no-name keyboard does?

Robert

  #64  
Old December 21st 17, 07:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,316
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:
Maybe this is the new 'norm' that we have
to put up with since they seem to put ads
etc everywhere now, even in emails which I
find particularly rude and offensive.


I still think it's odd that my Microsoft 4000
doesn't function with the F keys but the
no-name keyboard does?

Robert


I think it's odd too, but I don't have any
hardware ideas to contribute to fix it. I don't
know why the output of that keyboard doesn't work.
There are supposed to be defacto standards for this.

And it does also raise the question, that if the
4000 doesn't work, if you drove to the computer
store and bought another keyboard, what are the odds
that one would work any better ? I can't even
begin to guess what the 8500 expects for a keyboard.

You can run keyboards in parallel. If you did find
a keyboard with operational F keys, you could use
that keyboard only for the F key function, then use
your more comfortable 4000 for the rest of your
keyboard input. You can use two or more mice
and two or more keyboards at the same time on
a computer. I've even used an Apple ADB keyboard
on my PC, by using a Griffen ADB to USB adapter,
so a whole lot of stuff will work, and work in
parallel. Only the "CD eject" key doesn't work
on the Apple keyboard.

Paul
  #65  
Old December 21st 17, 11:08 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,192
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Well unless something else crops up and
hopefully wont,..

Thanks for all your help,
Robert
  #66  
Old January 5th 18, 10:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,192
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

This is what happened..

The space bar on my keyboard was getting
pretty noisy and I saw this video where
you could resolve it putting on some lithium
grease and I just happen to have some.

So I removed the surrounding keys but instead
of just prying it up (they said not to remove
it) it popped off! I did grease it but when I
put it back on it was very stiff.

However, (trying to make this short) I have other
keyboards I saved and so pulled the last one out
and although the number keys on the right don't
work (I spilled some coffee there) the rest does
and guess what? My F8 key functions ! So it was a
faulty keyboard.

I thought you'd like to know,.. everything else seems
OK although it still irks me why some stories on Fox
News etc. take forever to load, and can't stand pop-ups
and ad's that you have to watch before your story comes
up but I digress.

Robert





  #67  
Old January 5th 18, 11:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,316
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

Mark Twain wrote:


I thought you'd like to know,.. everything else seems
OK although it still irks me why some stories on Fox
News etc. take forever to load, and can't stand pop-ups
and ad's that you have to watch before your story comes
up but I digress.

Robert


I've been seeing some weird stuff in Windows 10 lately,
where google.com is very slow to load. Now Microsoft wouldn't
slow that down would they ?

We live in a weird weird world, that's for sure.

Every day, it's a new curve ball.

My P4 system just started acting up, and that's my current
project, is trying to root cause the thing. It keeps
saying "overclocking failed", but the weirdest part,
is the time clock keeps resetting to 1970... and that
just shouldn't happen (the CMOS battery is brand new).
On an overclock failure, the clock should not be affected.
Well, at least I have a hobby :-/

Paul
  #68  
Old January 6th 18, 03:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Mark Twain
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,192
Default O.T. FF browser issue?

exactly,... computers were suppose to make
things easier.

I'll soon be doing my monthly back-ups for
both computers and bookmarks as well.

Robert
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.