A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » General XP issues or comments
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Any FTP wizards here.



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 1st 18, 05:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 456
Default Any FTP wizards here.

I am having a problem uploading to 2 web sites I maintain at Web.Com
Small files, 30kb or less go ok but I get an error Web,.com calls a
time out when the file gets much larger than that .Web says it is not
their problem. It fails on multiple PCs here using multiple FTP
clients using Century Link DSL but dial up works OK. It also works if
I take my lap top anywhere else, even the DSL customer right next
door. I have plugged the DSL modem right into the Dmark with no joy.
All other internet operations are OK including Emailing a large file
or posting it on usenet.
Speed tests range from 10m down/ 700k up to about a 3d of that using
different test sites. DSLreports seems to be the slowest.
Any ideas?
I am thinking it has to be something with the actual wire going to the
big silver box up the street that passes as a "central office" or the
IP address I am using. Nothing else is common.
Is there an easy to force an IP address change?
Is it possible that I am just getting so many line errors that the FTP
server gives up? Maybe the "fast" test sites only count bits, not good
packets. Are errors logged anywhere?
Ads
  #2  
Old January 1st 18, 07:26 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,774
Default Any FTP wizards here.

wrote:
I am having a problem uploading to 2 web sites I maintain at Web.Com
Small files, 30kb or less go ok but I get an error Web,.com calls a
time out when the file gets much larger than that .Web says it is not
their problem. It fails on multiple PCs here using multiple FTP
clients using Century Link DSL but dial up works OK. It also works if
I take my lap top anywhere else, even the DSL customer right next
door. I have plugged the DSL modem right into the Dmark with no joy.
All other internet operations are OK including Emailing a large file
or posting it on usenet.
Speed tests range from 10m down/ 700k up to about a 3d of that using
different test sites. DSLreports seems to be the slowest.
Any ideas?
I am thinking it has to be something with the actual wire going to the
big silver box up the street that passes as a "central office" or the
IP address I am using. Nothing else is common.
Is there an easy to force an IP address change?
Is it possible that I am just getting so many line errors that the FTP
server gives up? Maybe the "fast" test sites only count bits, not good
packets. Are errors logged anywhere?


Can you ping the FTP server ?

In a regular Command Prompt

ping ftp.someserver.com

and see whether ICMP is enabled on the server.

Some server operators want the additional security of
preventing ordinary users like you, from using ping
(ping has a variable length payload, and large large
packets have been used in the past, to tip over servers).

Now, ICMP supports ping, but it also supports other
more important things. If you do a poor job on a server
of disabling all of ICMP, something funny happens.

When you set up your router, it has an MTU, a maximum transfer unit
or the like.

If you offer a packet bigger than the MTU, then the "thing"
upstream says "your packet is too big, make it smaller".
And then the source must fragment the packet, so it
fits through the "tightest part" of the pipe.

When the server entirely disables ICMP, that mechanism is
also defeated. And the neat thing is, the TCP protocol
is "totally OK with this". If a too fat packet goes up
the pipe, *both* ends of the link are happy, and they
sit there waiting for the other end to respond. They
would sit there forever, unless an application level timer
detects "something is goofy here" and drops the connection.

I had this problem one day with my ISP and their email.
I could send a 1KB email message. If I made the email
too long, such that it took approximately two packets
to send, the transmission would jam up. My email program
wasn't expecting this kind of protocol failure. And the
connection would sit there "up and frozen", until I exited
the email program.

When I phoned the ISP, they said "why don't you change the
MTU on your router". As if users sit around all day, fixing
****ups caused by the ISP. I had managed to figure out the
symptoms were a "black hole" routing problem, but the
staff at the ISP support desk, refused to admit what
they'd done. Basically "it was all my problem that my
MTU setting was too big", not "we're sorry we made a mess of
ICMP on our email server, how about a $25 discount
on your next bill". Anyway, once I had that kind
of "belated admission of guilt" on their part,
I then had a couple options for correcting the
MTU on my end. And I no longer use those clowns,
so it doesn't matter any more :-)

*******

Your symptoms don't entire match. You got too much
data through before it broke. My point in giving
that rundown, is to point out that "not ever problem
is a broken wire on your street". Some problems are
actually caused by bad configurations, inadvertent
MTU choices (using a VPN changes the MTU), and so on.
Even if your neighbor has working DSL, that doesn't
mean that the entire LAN (configs and all) in your house,
matches the neighbor. There can be any number of
subtle differences, including whether maybe you
used a "TCP tuner" on the PC that is failing.

I don't have the skills to suggest what to try next,
and this anecdote is a reminder to keep an open mind.
Don't go running down the street plugging your
modem/router into the spigot on all the
neighbors. The problem lies elsewhere.

If you can do any kind of lengthy download, or even
an upload to virustotal.com, that should be sufficient
proof "it's not a wire problem". Virustotal.com accepts
uploads for virus scanning, when ever you send them a
file they've never seen before. You can use your
imagination to make something they don't have.

dd if=/dev/random of=mytestfile.exe bs=1048576 count=10

That would make a nice 10MB file for upload testing. Change
the length if you need to do a second test case, and so on.

Paul
  #3  
Old January 1st 18, 07:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 456
Default Any FTP wizards here.

On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 14:26:00 -0500, Paul
wrote:

Can you ping the FTP server ?

In a regular Command Prompt


Ping does not seem to work on the domain names or the FTP servers for
them.
  #4  
Old January 1st 18, 08:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,774
Default Any FTP wizards here.

wrote:
On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 14:26:00 -0500, Paul
wrote:

Can you ping the FTP server ?

In a regular Command Prompt


Ping does not seem to work on the domain names or the FTP servers for
them.


Do you know how to change the MTU in windows (temporarily) ?

http://my.bergersoft.net/2010/05/13/...-xpvista72008/

If you want the third option, it's still here, in the Legacy Tools section.
Normally your value might be 1500 or so. I can't check my WinXP right now,
as I'm doing maintenance on the WinXP drive :-( And I'm on Win8.1 as punishment.

http://www.dslreports.com/tools

Paul
  #5  
Old January 1st 18, 10:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 456
Default Any FTP wizards here.

On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 15:37:05 -0500, Paul
wrote:

wrote:
On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 14:26:00 -0500, Paul
wrote:

Can you ping the FTP server ?

In a regular Command Prompt


Ping does not seem to work on the domain names or the FTP servers for
them.


Do you know how to change the MTU in windows (temporarily) ?

http://my.bergersoft.net/2010/05/13/...-xpvista72008/

If you want the third option, it's still here, in the Legacy Tools section.
Normally your value might be 1500 or so. I can't check my WinXP right now,
as I'm doing maintenance on the WinXP drive :-( And I'm on Win8.1 as punishment.

http://www.dslreports.com/tools

Paul


What would that do for me?
  #6  
Old January 1st 18, 11:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_32_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,774
Default Any FTP wizards here.

wrote:
On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 15:37:05 -0500, Paul
wrote:

wrote:
On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 14:26:00 -0500, Paul
wrote:

Can you ping the FTP server ?

In a regular Command Prompt
Ping does not seem to work on the domain names or the FTP servers for
them.

Do you know how to change the MTU in windows (temporarily) ?

http://my.bergersoft.net/2010/05/13/...-xpvista72008/

If you want the third option, it's still here, in the Legacy Tools section.
Normally your value might be 1500 or so. I can't check my WinXP right now,
as I'm doing maintenance on the WinXP drive :-( And I'm on Win8.1 as punishment.

http://www.dslreports.com/tools

Paul


What would that do for me?


That's a workaround for a Black Hole routing
problem caused by the server end having ICMP
turned off and your MTU happens to be too big.

(Definition)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Path_MTU_Discovery

Apparently there is a modification to TCP/IP in
later OSes, to fix that somehow. But I don't think
it's present on WinXP.

*******

Another thing you could try, is to use Wireshark
packet sniffer and see whether any RST packets are
being sent (they show as RST in Wireshark). As those
can be a legitimate part of protocol that says the
server doesn't have sufficient resources and would
like to close the connection.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TCP_reset_attack

None of your evidence suggests that's what is going
on, but I had a three month stretch where my ISP
was randomly sending those. Right after they bought
a Deep Packet Inspection box...

Paul
  #7  
Old January 2nd 18, 01:59 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 456
Default Any FTP wizards here.

On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 18:46:46 -0500, Paul
wrote:

wrote:
On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 15:37:05 -0500, Paul
wrote:

wrote:
On Mon, 01 Jan 2018 14:26:00 -0500, Paul
wrote:

Can you ping the FTP server ?

In a regular Command Prompt
Ping does not seem to work on the domain names or the FTP servers for
them.
Do you know how to change the MTU in windows (temporarily) ?

http://my.bergersoft.net/2010/05/13/...-xpvista72008/

If you want the third option, it's still here, in the Legacy Tools section.
Normally your value might be 1500 or so. I can't check my WinXP right now,
as I'm doing maintenance on the WinXP drive :-( And I'm on Win8.1 as punishment.

http://www.dslreports.com/tools

Paul


What would that do for me?


That's a workaround for a Black Hole routing
problem caused by the server end having ICMP
turned off and your MTU happens to be too big.

(Definition)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Path_MTU_Discovery

Apparently there is a modification to TCP/IP in
later OSes, to fix that somehow. But I don't think
it's present on WinXP.

*******

Another thing you could try, is to use Wireshark
packet sniffer and see whether any RST packets are
being sent (they show as RST in Wireshark). As those
can be a legitimate part of protocol that says the
server doesn't have sufficient resources and would
like to close the connection.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TCP_reset_attack

None of your evidence suggests that's what is going
on, but I had a three month stretch where my ISP
was randomly sending those. Right after they bought
a Deep Packet Inspection box...

Paul


I doubt I am sending anything the server does not like since the same
laptop, sending the same file works fine on dial up, on cable at my
FILs house, DSL at the neighbor, using the same concentrator at the
end of the street and a free WiFi connection at a business. It even
works from here on dial up.
I am still waiting to hear back from the Telco. I expect they will be
back to work Tuesday. The tech support girl I talked to for 2 hours
was clueless. She kept going to ask someone, or so she said, until we
got cut off. She was probably handling other calls just to keep her
cycle time down.
This may not be the time for any of them to screw with me since I am
throwing all of my services on the table this week and reevaluating
how much I am paying for TV, internet, satellite, web hosting and
whatever.
I am even thinking about an air card but I expect that will be too
expensive.

  #8  
Old January 2nd 18, 03:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Ben Myers[_11_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 36
Default Any FTP wizards here.

On 1/1/2018 12:46 PM, wrote:
I am having a problem uploading to 2 web sites I maintain at Web.Com
Small files, 30kb or less go ok but I get an error Web,.com calls a
time out when the file gets much larger than that .Web says it is not
their problem. It fails on multiple PCs here using multiple FTP
clients using Century Link DSL but dial up works OK. It also works if
I take my lap top anywhere else, even the DSL customer right next
door. I have plugged the DSL modem right into the Dmark with no joy.
All other internet operations are OK including Emailing a large file
or posting it on usenet.
Speed tests range from 10m down/ 700k up to about a 3d of that using
different test sites. DSLreports seems to be the slowest.
Any ideas?
I am thinking it has to be something with the actual wire going to the
big silver box up the street that passes as a "central office" or the
IP address I am using. Nothing else is common.
Is there an easy to force an IP address change?
Is it possible that I am just getting so many line errors that the FTP
server gives up? Maybe the "fast" test sites only count bits, not good
packets. Are errors logged anywhere?


I had a problem similar to this and solved it by cloning the MAC address
of the ethernet connection of a computer with normal FTP function into
my router. For some reason, my ISP gave me an IP address that restored
normal FTP function.

Ben
  #9  
Old January 2nd 18, 03:04 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 456
Default Any FTP wizards here.

On Mon, 1 Jan 2018 22:00:13 -0500, Ben Myers
wrote:

On 1/1/2018 12:46 PM, wrote:
I am having a problem uploading to 2 web sites I maintain at Web.Com
Small files, 30kb or less go ok but I get an error Web,.com calls a
time out when the file gets much larger than that .Web says it is not
their problem. It fails on multiple PCs here using multiple FTP
clients using Century Link DSL but dial up works OK. It also works if
I take my lap top anywhere else, even the DSL customer right next
door. I have plugged the DSL modem right into the Dmark with no joy.
All other internet operations are OK including Emailing a large file
or posting it on usenet.
Speed tests range from 10m down/ 700k up to about a 3d of that using
different test sites. DSLreports seems to be the slowest.
Any ideas?
I am thinking it has to be something with the actual wire going to the
big silver box up the street that passes as a "central office" or the
IP address I am using. Nothing else is common.
Is there an easy to force an IP address change?
Is it possible that I am just getting so many line errors that the FTP
server gives up? Maybe the "fast" test sites only count bits, not good
packets. Are errors logged anywhere?


I had a problem similar to this and solved it by cloning the MAC address
of the ethernet connection of a computer with normal FTP function into
my router. For some reason, my ISP gave me an IP address that restored
normal FTP function.

Ben


That is why I was wondering how I could get the ISP to just give me a
new IP. I know it changes now and then anyway, I suppose when the
lease expires
  #10  
Old January 2nd 18, 04:04 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Ben Myers[_11_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 36
Default Any FTP wizards here.

On 1/1/2018 10:04 PM, wrote:
On Mon, 1 Jan 2018 22:00:13 -0500, Ben Myers
wrote:

On 1/1/2018 12:46 PM,
wrote:
I am having a problem uploading to 2 web sites I maintain at Web.Com
Small files, 30kb or less go ok but I get an error Web,.com calls a
time out when the file gets much larger than that .Web says it is not
their problem. It fails on multiple PCs here using multiple FTP
clients using Century Link DSL but dial up works OK. It also works if
I take my lap top anywhere else, even the DSL customer right next
door. I have plugged the DSL modem right into the Dmark with no joy.
All other internet operations are OK including Emailing a large file
or posting it on usenet.
Speed tests range from 10m down/ 700k up to about a 3d of that using
different test sites. DSLreports seems to be the slowest.
Any ideas?
I am thinking it has to be something with the actual wire going to the
big silver box up the street that passes as a "central office" or the
IP address I am using. Nothing else is common.
Is there an easy to force an IP address change?
Is it possible that I am just getting so many line errors that the FTP
server gives up? Maybe the "fast" test sites only count bits, not good
packets. Are errors logged anywhere?


I had a problem similar to this and solved it by cloning the MAC address
of the ethernet connection of a computer with normal FTP function into
my router. For some reason, my ISP gave me an IP address that restored
normal FTP function.

Ben


That is why I was wondering how I could get the ISP to just give me a
new IP. I know it changes now and then anyway, I suppose when the
lease expires


If your router supports this, go to a computer that allows normal FTP
access, press the Windows and "R" keys simultaneously, type
"control netconnections" into the "Open" box and click "OK".
Double-click the internet connection, then click "Details" and write
down the "Physical Address". Then enter this address into your router.
You may have to restart the computer for the change to take effect.

Ben

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.