A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » Windows Service Pack 2
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

SP2 and Hard Disk



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 29th 05, 05:38 AM
Dick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default SP2 and Hard Disk

Introduction: Just an old retired computer USER that gets into a lot of
trouble.

I am not sure that it is the problem of the SP2 but did not have the problem
before installing it.
I have an Asus P4P800 Delux with chip set 865PE Intel Pent. 4 3.0 GHz
Serial ATA Controller.
I had a 200GB hard drive partitioned 80gb and 120gb. and a 30gb HD as the
boot drive. The problem started in that the boot drive only showed 8gb
capacity. The rest had to be there but not formated and I did not know how
to handle that so I removed that drive and installed a 40GB HD as the primary
drive. Before installing the new drive I disconnected the 200GB HD to ensure
a clean installation and installed all the programs I had on the original
drive includeing XP SP2 from a disk provided from Microsoft.
The Problem... When I reconnected the 200GB HD only one partiction is shown
and when I check the system properties under Volumes, I shows 191GB capacity
but the volume shows only 40gb and is not assigned a drive letter. Also it
does not show up on "My Computer"
Does anyone have any idea what my problem is.
\
Ads
  #2  
Old August 29th 05, 09:50 AM
BigJim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you have to reset it as a simple drive under drive manager
basically your telling the boot drive that it is there
"Dick" wrote in message
...
Introduction: Just an old retired computer USER that gets into a lot of
trouble.

I am not sure that it is the problem of the SP2 but did not have the
problem
before installing it.
I have an Asus P4P800 Delux with chip set 865PE Intel Pent. 4 3.0 GHz
Serial ATA Controller.
I had a 200GB hard drive partitioned 80gb and 120gb. and a 30gb HD as the
boot drive. The problem started in that the boot drive only showed 8gb
capacity. The rest had to be there but not formated and I did not know
how
to handle that so I removed that drive and installed a 40GB HD as the
primary
drive. Before installing the new drive I disconnected the 200GB HD to
ensure
a clean installation and installed all the programs I had on the original
drive includeing XP SP2 from a disk provided from Microsoft.
The Problem... When I reconnected the 200GB HD only one partiction is
shown
and when I check the system properties under Volumes, I shows 191GB
capacity
but the volume shows only 40gb and is not assigned a drive letter. Also
it
does not show up on "My Computer"
Does anyone have any idea what my problem is.
\



  #3  
Old August 29th 05, 03:51 PM
Dick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



"BigJim" wrote:

you have to reset it as a simple drive under drive manager
basically your telling the boot drive that it is there
"Dick" wrote in message
...
Introduction: Just an old retired computer USER that gets into a lot of
trouble.

I am not sure that it is the problem of the SP2 but did not have the
problem
before installing it.
I have an Asus P4P800 Delux with chip set 865PE Intel Pent. 4 3.0 GHz
Serial ATA Controller.
I had a 200GB hard drive partitioned 80gb and 120gb. and a 30gb HD as the
boot drive. The problem started in that the boot drive only showed 8gb
capacity. The rest had to be there but not formated and I did not know
how
to handle that so I removed that drive and installed a 40GB HD as the
primary
drive. Before installing the new drive I disconnected the 200GB HD to
ensure
a clean installation and installed all the programs I had on the original
drive includeing XP SP2 from a disk provided from Microsoft.
The Problem... When I reconnected the 200GB HD only one partiction is
shown
and when I check the system properties under Volumes, I shows 191GB
capacity
but the volume shows only 40gb and is not assigned a drive letter. Also
it
does not show up on "My Computer"
Does anyone have any idea what my problem is.
\



Thank you Big Jim, but does your terminalogy of Simple Drive mean Basic Drive?

On list volume, it does not show the hard drive at all. All it shows is the
dvd roms,the C drive and four removable drives that represent the multi card
reader installed. I tried useing the next drive letter but got a messgae
that there is no volume selected. Also in Devise manager it does not show a
letter assigned to the drive either but it does show that it is operating
correctely and healthy.
Thanks
\Dick
  #4  
Old August 29th 05, 04:47 PM
Yves Leclerc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Did you install the SATA drivers? Did you do the install with XP that had
at leest SP1 pre-installed? What partition type (FAT32 / NTFS)?


"Dick" wrote in message
...
Introduction: Just an old retired computer USER that gets into a lot of
trouble.

I am not sure that it is the problem of the SP2 but did not have the
problem
before installing it.
I have an Asus P4P800 Delux with chip set 865PE Intel Pent. 4 3.0 GHz
Serial ATA Controller.
I had a 200GB hard drive partitioned 80gb and 120gb. and a 30gb HD as the
boot drive. The problem started in that the boot drive only showed 8gb
capacity. The rest had to be there but not formated and I did not know
how
to handle that so I removed that drive and installed a 40GB HD as the
primary
drive. Before installing the new drive I disconnected the 200GB HD to
ensure
a clean installation and installed all the programs I had on the original
drive includeing XP SP2 from a disk provided from Microsoft.
The Problem... When I reconnected the 200GB HD only one partiction is
shown
and when I check the system properties under Volumes, I shows 191GB
capacity
but the volume shows only 40gb and is not assigned a drive letter. Also
it
does not show up on "My Computer"
Does anyone have any idea what my problem is.
\



  #5  
Old August 30th 05, 06:35 AM
Dick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



"Yves Leclerc" wrote:

Did you install the SATA drivers? Did you do the install with XP that had
at leest SP1 pre-installed? What partition type (FAT32 / NTFS)?


"Dick" wrote in message
...
Introduction: Just an old retired computer USER that gets into a lot of
trouble.

I am not sure that it is the problem of the SP2 but did not have the
problem
before installing it.
I have an Asus P4P800 Delux with chip set 865PE Intel Pent. 4 3.0 GHz
Serial ATA Controller.
I had a 200GB hard drive partitioned 80gb and 120gb. and a 30gb HD as the
boot drive. The problem started in that the boot drive only showed 8gb
capacity. The rest had to be there but not formated and I did not know
how
to handle that so I removed that drive and installed a 40GB HD as the
primary
drive. Before installing the new drive I disconnected the 200GB HD to
ensure
a clean installation and installed all the programs I had on the original
drive includeing XP SP2 from a disk provided from Microsoft.
The Problem... When I reconnected the 200GB HD only one partiction is
shown
and when I check the system properties under Volumes, I shows 191GB
capacity
but the volume shows only 40gb and is not assigned a drive letter. Also
it
does not show up on "My Computer"
Does anyone have any idea what my problem is.
\



Thank you Yves,

I installede XP with sp! and then installed SP2 from a disk from Micorsoft.
The drive is formated in NTFS, and as far as if
SATA is installed, if it was on the Motherboard CD I think I did, but not
sure. The BIOS IDE configuration shows that Configure S-ATA as RAID is NO,
but also shows "Onboard IDE Operate Mode" - (Enhanced Mode)
"Enhanced Mode Support On - (S-ATA)
So I assume that the S-ATA mode is suppirted but RAID is not.
I hope that gives you enough info.
Thanks,
Dick
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard disk failing after installing SP2? Chris Windows Service Pack 2 4 August 19th 05 05:35 AM
Seagate 200GB SATA Hard Disk in Winxp Pro sp2....problem... Frankie Windows Service Pack 2 12 August 10th 05 08:21 PM
Clone Won't boot jimbo Hardware and Windows XP 10 November 2nd 04 03:36 PM
XP SP2 EnableBigLBA=1 Hard Drive > 137g Neil General XP issues or comments 0 October 5th 04 05:11 AM
sp2 boot problems - hard disk error? twofourthree Windows Service Pack 2 1 August 28th 04 09:19 PM






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.