A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Microsoft Windows XP » New Users to Windows XP
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

What's "Generic volume shadow copy"?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old November 29th 10, 03:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Tim Meddick[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,020
Default What's "Generic volume shadow copy"?

It is possible that some sort of malware is un-registering the Volume
Shadow Copy service, and, as a matter of course, I would run both MRT.exe
and MalwareBytes (both "full" scan - not the "quick").

This would explain the behaviour.

What service pack are you running - if you have not already done so, would
you consider upgrading to service pack 3 ??......

Windows XP Service Pack 3 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals
and Developers (316.4MB)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloadS/d...displaylang=en

Windows XP Service Pack 3 - ISO-9660 CD Image File (544.9MB)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

==

Cheers, Tim Meddick, Peckham, London. :-)




"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...
In message , Twayne
writes:
[]
Having read all your reponses to date here, it sounds very much like you


Are you sure you have done so, because:
1. it is not my AV, but the OS's own trap, that is objecting. You know
how when you add new hardware, and the system asks for a driver, and you
load the driver that came with it, as often as not you get a popup
warning you that said driver is not "Microsoft signed" or something like
that. What was happening was that - despite not having added any new
hardware - the "new hardware found" thing was popping up (saying the new
hardware was this "... shadow copy"), and when I let it find drivers for
it, the "not signed" box popped up.
2. I already had several restore points present; presumably the shadow
copy thing must have already been there in order to make those. So why is
it popping up again?
[]
just won't do it. A good firewall (ZoneAlarm?), a good AV package (not


I have a firewall (plus what's in the routers of course).

Avira) and good malware detectors are the "norm" for protection. Some
will
claim that programs like Super AntiMalware & such are all that's needed;
don't beleive them. Many programs may catch many of them, but no single
program yet will catch all of them; there are just too many of them and
increasing every day.


Agreed. (How many of each [AV, firewall, detector] - and which ones - do
_you_ run?)

HTH,

Twayne`





(Why the lines at the end?)
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985
MB++G.5AL-IS-P--Ch++(p)[email protected]+Sh0!:`)DNAf

If vegetarians eat vegetables,..beware of humanitarians!


Ads
  #17  
Old November 29th 10, 04:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Tim Meddick[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,020
Default What's "Generic volume shadow copy"?

What I was saying was; that at times, when you A the "New Hardware
wizard" popping-up to re-install the service, could indicate that "Volume
Shadow Copy" had [at that point] been un-registered.
However, obviously, if you are using the System Restore or NT Backup
utilities normally, then the "Volume Shadow Copy" service is registered
properly.
Nonetheless, it could indicate some malware / virus on the system, even
if the I effect of having to re-install the service doesn't happen all the
time and is quite intermittent. I still recommend that you do a [full]
scan with MRT.exe and Malwarebytes as soon as is practicable

==

Cheers, Tim Meddick, Peckham, London. :-)




"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...
In message , Twayne
writes:
[]
Having read all your reponses to date here, it sounds very much like you


Are you sure you have done so, because:
1. it is not my AV, but the OS's own trap, that is objecting. You know
how when you add new hardware, and the system asks for a driver, and you
load the driver that came with it, as often as not you get a popup
warning you that said driver is not "Microsoft signed" or something like
that. What was happening was that - despite not having added any new
hardware - the "new hardware found" thing was popping up (saying the new
hardware was this "... shadow copy"), and when I let it find drivers for
it, the "not signed" box popped up.
2. I already had several restore points present; presumably the shadow
copy thing must have already been there in order to make those. So why is
it popping up again?
[]
just won't do it. A good firewall (ZoneAlarm?), a good AV package (not


I have a firewall (plus what's in the routers of course).

Avira) and good malware detectors are the "norm" for protection. Some
will
claim that programs like Super AntiMalware & such are all that's needed;
don't beleive them. Many programs may catch many of them, but no single
program yet will catch all of them; there are just too many of them and
increasing every day.


Agreed. (How many of each [AV, firewall, detector] - and which ones - do
_you_ run?)

HTH,

Twayne`





(Why the lines at the end?)
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985
MB++G.5AL-IS-P--Ch++(p)[email protected]+Sh0!:`)DNAf

If vegetarians eat vegetables,..beware of humanitarians!


  #18  
Old November 29th 10, 05:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
Twayne[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,276
Default What's "Generic volume shadow copy"?

In ,
J. P. Gilliver (John) typed:
In message , Twayne
writes:
[]
Having read all your reponses to date here, it sounds very
much like you


Are you sure you have done so, because:
1. it is not my AV, but the OS's own trap, that is
objecting. You know how when you add new hardware, and the
system asks for a driver, and you load the driver that came
with it, as often as not you get a popup warning you that
said driver is not "Microsoft signed" or something like
that. What was happening was that - despite not having
added any new hardware - the "new hardware found" thing was
popping up (saying the new hardware was this "... shadow
copy"), and when I let it find drivers for it, the "not
signed" box popped up. 2. I already had several restore points present;
presumably
the shadow copy thing must have already been there in order
to make those. So why is it popping up again?
[]
just won't do it. A good firewall (ZoneAlarm?), a good AV
package (not


I have a firewall (plus what's in the routers of course).

Avira) and good malware detectors are the "norm" for
protection. Some will claim that programs like Super
AntiMalware & such are all that's needed; don't beleive
them. Many programs may catch many of them, but no single
program yet will catch all of them; there are just too
many of them and increasing every day.


Agreed. (How many of each [AV, firewall, detector] - and
which ones - do _you_ run?)


Router Gateway: Westell 327W & comes with NAT - almost as good as a firewall

Firewall: Norton 2010

AV: Norton's AV (real time monitoring) and AVG (used separately, is NOT set
to real time monitor.

Backup: Norton Ghost 14: Full once/month, incrementals nightly.

Spyware/Malwa *WinPatrol;
SuperAnti Spyware; Spybot Search & Destroy; Norton Internet Security;
Adaware; Malware Bytes. Probably a couple others I've missed.
*WinPatrol isn't per sae a scanner, but it WILL stop ANY application it
hasn't seen before from running, so it needs a short training course as you
use your machine. It does so many other things too that I won't go into
them; see their web site if interested.

I run the malware detectors in the approximate sequence as listed, first
one first run. Unless I have a really nasty problem I stop after usinig
Norton Internet Security. I've had both Adaware and MalwareBytes catch
something all the others miss, but not very often. Thus, I keep them around.
I keep AVG around likewise; just a tool for comparisons sometimes but
Norton's AV always catches, historycally, everything and more than AVAST and
AVG. Its heuristics are better than any other I've tried, and their new,
smaller memory footprint makes them faster and useful for the smaller
machines that always had speed complaints.

A not on AV programs: If they find something and fix it for you, run them
again. There is a possibbility the removal may have exposed something else
that was previously hidden. Always run them until they find nothing.

My only claim to "success" with these applications are that I have not had a
viral infection in almost three years now so I'm doing something right. Ymmv
of course because different grographic areas get different knds of viruses
quite often. The last problem I had was a GAIN infection that I stupidly
downloaded myself in another application. I now check reputations for any
sites I haven't visited before and I also use Google's attributes about
various web sites.

HTH,

Twayne`


HTH,

Twayne`





(Why the lines at the end?)




  #19  
Old June 11th 14, 06:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.newusers
No_Name
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default What's "Generic volume shadow copy"?

I've been getting warnings about "Generic Volume Shadow Copy" for several days, SINCE INSTALLING CARBONITE PRO. So far I have stopped the warning by saying STOP PROCESS. Now, I called my Carbonite rep, and she said it's OK to allow the process. Here goes....
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.