A Windows XP help forum. PCbanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PCbanter forum » Windows 10 » Windows 10 Help Forum
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

home to pro?



 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old December 7th 17, 07:37 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
....W¡ñ§±¤ñ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default O.T. winston - not the decoded nym in your From header

On 12/6/2017 9:51 PM, VanguardLH wrote:

Seamonkey is screwing up your nym in the From header

Everything views fine at this end in SeaMonkey, TBird, and WLM.

Only difference is new device but all above software installed with
default settings.

This one sent in TBird.

Maybe its not SeaMonkey. Or is it 40tude_Dialog/2.0.15.41 ?


--
.....w¡ñ§±¤ñ
msft mvp 2007-2016, insider mvp 2016-2018
Ads
  #17  
Old December 7th 17, 04:17 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Char Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,812
Default O.T. winston - not the decoded nym in your From header

On Wed, 6 Dec 2017 23:37:38 -0700, ....w񧱤
wrote:

On 12/6/2017 9:51 PM, VanguardLH wrote:

Seamonkey is screwing up your nym in the From header

Everything views fine at this end in SeaMonkey, TBird, and WLM.

Only difference is new device but all above software installed with
default settings.

This one sent in TBird.

Maybe its not SeaMonkey. Or is it 40tude_Dialog/2.0.15.41 ?


Using an older version of Agent, I see exactly what VLH described.

  #18  
Old December 8th 17, 07:01 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
...w¡ñ§±¤ñ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default O.T. winston - not the decoded nym in your From header

Char Jackson wrote:
On Wed, 6 Dec 2017 23:37:38 -0700, ....w¡ñ§±¤ñ
wrote:

On 12/6/2017 9:51 PM, VanguardLH wrote:

Seamonkey is screwing up your nym in the From header


Everything views fine at this end in SeaMonkey, TBird, and WLM.

Only difference is new device but all above software installed with
default settings.

This one sent in TBird.

Maybe its not SeaMonkey. Or is it 40tude_Dialog/2.0.15.41 ?


Using an older version of Agent, I see exactly what VLH described.

Thanks
As suspected, then it's not 'SeaMonkey is screwing up your nym in
the From header'

Any news client would do the same with the identical newsgroup
server's From field data entry.



--
....w¡ñ§±¤ñ
msft mvp 2007-2016, insider mvp 2016-2018
  #19  
Old December 8th 17, 07:07 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
Char Jackson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,812
Default O.T. winston - not the decoded nym in your From header

On Thu, 7 Dec 2017 23:01:28 -0700, ...w񧱤
wrote:

Char Jackson wrote:
On Wed, 6 Dec 2017 23:37:38 -0700, ....w񧱤
wrote:

On 12/6/2017 9:51 PM, VanguardLH wrote:

Seamonkey is screwing up your nym in the From header

Everything views fine at this end in SeaMonkey, TBird, and WLM.

Only difference is new device but all above software installed with
default settings.

This one sent in TBird.

Maybe its not SeaMonkey. Or is it 40tude_Dialog/2.0.15.41 ?


Using an older version of Agent, I see exactly what VLH described.

Thanks
As suspected, then it's not 'SeaMonkey is screwing up your nym in
the From header'

Any news client would do the same with the identical newsgroup
server's From field data entry.



--
...w񧱤
msft mvp 2007-2016, insider mvp 2016-2018


It's also messed up in your sig, quoted just above. I'm not sure what
you're doing differently but it wasn't always this way. I guess any of
us could scroll back and see exactly when it changed.

  #20  
Old December 8th 17, 07:53 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
...w¡ñ§±¤ñ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default O.T. winston - not the decoded nym in your From header

Char Jackson wrote:
On Thu, 7 Dec 2017 23:01:28 -0700, ...w¡ñ§±¤ñ
wrote:

Any news client would do the same with the identical newsgroup
server's From field data entry.

--
...w¡ñ§±¤ñ
msft mvp 2007-2016, insider mvp 2016-2018


It's also messed up in your sig, quoted just above. I'm not sure what
you're doing differently but it wasn't always this way. I guess any of
us could scroll back and see exactly when it changed.


Correct, it wasn't always this way. When I setup this new laptop/device
I just used the same signature file characters file for the sig and From
field for all news servers that is/was used in my Microsoft Answers
MSA/MVP profile. TBird just imported it from SeaMonkey when setup on
this new i7 8th Gen device.


--
....w¡ñ§±¤ñ
msft mvp 2007-2016, insider mvp 2016-2018
  #21  
Old December 8th 17, 07:56 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
...w¡ñ§±¤ñ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default O.T. winston - not the decoded nym in your From header

....w¡ñ§±¤ñ wrote:
Char Jackson wrote:
On Thu, 7 Dec 2017 23:01:28 -0700, ...w¡ñ§±¤ñ
wrote:

Any news client would do the same with the identical newsgroup
server's From field data entry.

--
...w¡ñ§±¤ñ
msft mvp 2007-2016, insider mvp 2016-2018


It's also messed up in your sig, quoted just above. I'm not sure what
you're doing differently but it wasn't always this way. I guess any of
us could scroll back and see exactly when it changed.


Correct, it wasn't always this way. When I setup this new laptop/device
I just used the same signature file characters file for the sig and From
field for all news servers that is/was used in my Microsoft Answers
MSA/MVP profile. TBird just imported it from SeaMonkey when setup on
this new i7 8th Gen device.


p.s...Now that we've all hijacked this thread(Subject name changed)
hopefully 'T' realizes that no 'upgrade' version of Windows 10 is
available for sale to his customers - full version/full pricing etc.


--
....w¡ñ§±¤ñ
msft mvp 2007-2016, insider mvp 2016-2018
  #22  
Old December 8th 17, 08:39 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,369
Default home to pro?

On 12/06/2017 05:00 PM, ....w¡ñ§±¤ñ wrote:
T wrote:

T wrote:

Anyone know if there is a Home to Professional upgrade
license out there?


I am hoping my distributors have something I can sell.
I am not real trusting having my customer give M$
their credit card numbers.


Upgrade 'ware' for Office and Windows ceased years ago. All versions
released are full versions and priced accordingly.

Windows 8.0 was the last 'upgrade' Windows version with upgrade pricing.
*Windows 8.1 and later is all full version/full price ware.
- Full version can be used to upgrade an existing device.

Office 2010 was the last upgrade 'Office' version with upgrade pricing.
*- Note: For a short period of time upgrade pricing was available(circa
2012) for Office 2010 to 2013 with qualification tied to the point in
time Office 2010 was purchased(i.e. it was a guarantee to upgrade to
2013 if 2010 was purchased within a short period of time prior to 2013
release).
*- Full can be used to upgrade 2013, but not 2010 or earlier. Those
earlier versions must be uninstalled.


Ya. My vendors confirmed that. Yo hae to go through the M$ store.
It is $99 to upgrade. You get RDP support, among other things, for
those that want to remote in from home.

I am really not comfortable giving my customer's credit card
numbers to M$.
  #23  
Old December 8th 17, 08:44 PM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,369
Default home to pro?

On 12/06/2017 12:53 PM, VanguardLH wrote:
Doomsdrzej wrote:

T wrote:

Anyone know if there is a Home to Professional upgrade license out
there?


You can upgrade directly within the System Settings - System - About.
As far as I know, it's still about $200. Its biggest feature is the
fact that it allows you to encrypt your hard disk but depending on
who you believe, this encryption already has backdoors and is
therefore utterly worthless. Besides, you can install Veracrypt which
will do the same thing for nothing.


Biggest? Depends on what the user/admin is looking for. You describe a
feature. Presumably you are talking about Bitlocker which itself is is
as secure as Veracrypt (a variant of TrueCrypt). The software got
patched LONG AGO. It is the hardware (TPM chips) that had a
vulnerability but that also got fixed. Please keep current on your FUD.

o http://www.securityweek.com/research...tlocker-bypass
"bypassed on systems that do not have the latest patches". Gee, what
might be the solution there and the same as with every other security
update? Duh! The article is dated November 18, 2015 (TWO YEARS AGO)
but the patch had already showed up on Nov 2015 Patch Tuesday.
o https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ability-in-tpm
https://community.sophos.com/kb/en-us/127650
What's the solution? Yeah, update the firmware. Duh!

If you are using Bitlocker then you should be keeping up with the news.
After all, either you are a sysadmin in a company or you choose to be an
admin of your own PC so you're the one supposed to be knowledgeable.
Doubtful that anyone looking at going from Home to Pro really cares
about Bitlocker if they weren't using it before or already employed an
alternative. Bitlocker can incorporate hardware, Veracrypt cannot.

Home editions cannot join a domain. A SOHO might decide they want to go
with a domain, add a server, and then want their workstations added to
the domain. Can do that with Pro, not with Home. Also, no group/local
policy editor in Home editions. You might figure out which registry
entries match which policies but that only works on simple policies.
Some policies (e.g., Software Restriction Policies) generate a unique
hash when they are created and you won't be able to do that with the
registry editor. There are templates you can add to the policy store
for a myriad of settings and control, often regarding specific software.
Yeah, try adding those with regedit.

Items in Pro that are missing in Home edition:
- Windows Information Protection (http://tinyurl.com/ya3vnxoc)
- Bitlocker (you mentioned but not by name, alternatives available).
- Group policy (noted above).
- Assigned Access (http://tinyurl.com/yaobzk6e)
- Dynamic Provisioning (http://tinyurl.com/y9gd2pzk)
- Shared PC Configuration (http://tinyurl.com/yak2hmt3)
- Join a domain (not possible with Home editions without hacking)
- Remote Desktop (alternatives available, T already knows some)
- Client Hyper-V (other virtualization available but may not be
compatible with Hyper-V deployed elsewhere in the organization).
- and more.

T never stated if this was for a standalone PC or used in a business and
why they (not T) feels the need to go to the Pro edition. From T's past
descriptions of his customers, they're boobs so the Pro version will
offer them no advantage, be beyond their abilities to administer, and
just waste money.


It is a new customer and Pro makes things easier on me,
which saves them billable hours. Classic Shell does that too.
Also RDP is wonderful for those that want to remote in,
including me.

Sorry for giving you the misimpression that my customers
are all "boobs". They vary all across the board.
The ones that are "boobs" can be challenging to get
something going for them that they can actually
understand and use -- that is why I make the medium
sized bucks.



  #24  
Old December 9th 17, 05:52 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,369
Default home to pro?

On 12/06/2017 12:53 PM, VanguardLH wrote:
Items in Pro that are missing in Home edition:
- Windows Information Protection (http://tinyurl.com/ya3vnxoc)
- Bitlocker (you mentioned but not by name, alternatives available).
- Group policy (noted above).
- Assigned Access (http://tinyurl.com/yaobzk6e)
- Dynamic Provisioning (http://tinyurl.com/y9gd2pzk)
- Shared PC Configuration (http://tinyurl.com/yak2hmt3)
- Join a domain (not possible with Home editions without hacking)
- Remote Desktop (alternatives available, T already knows some)
- Client Hyper-V (other virtualization available but may not be
compatible with Hyper-V deployed elsewhere in the organization).
- and more.


I stole your list. Thank you!
  #25  
Old December 12th 17, 07:18 AM posted to alt.comp.os.windows-10
...w¡ñ§±¤ñ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default home to pro?

T wrote:
On 12/06/2017 05:00 PM, ....w¡ñ§±¤ñ wrote:
T wrote:

T wrote:

Anyone know if there is a Home to Professional upgrade
license out there?

I am hoping my distributors have something I can sell.
I am not real trusting having my customer give M$
their credit card numbers.


Upgrade 'ware' for Office and Windows ceased years ago. All versions
released are full versions and priced accordingly.

Windows 8.0 was the last 'upgrade' Windows version with upgrade
pricing. Windows 8.1 and later is all full version/full price ware.
- Full version can be used to upgrade an existing device.

Office 2010 was the last upgrade 'Office' version with upgrade pricing.
- Note: For a short period of time upgrade pricing was
available(circa 2012) for Office 2010 to 2013 with qualification tied
to the point in time Office 2010 was purchased(i.e. it was a guarantee
to upgrade to 2013 if 2010 was purchased within a short period of time
prior to 2013 release).
- Full can be used to upgrade 2013, but not 2010 or earlier. Those
earlier versions must be uninstalled.


Ya. My vendors confirmed that. Yo hae to go through the M$ store.
It is $99 to upgrade. You get RDP support, among other things, for
those that want to remote in from home.

I am really not comfortable giving my customer's credit card
numbers to M$.


Not too many other choices since the upgrade when purchased($99), iirc
requires the entry of purchasers MSA unlike the other option to enter a
previous purchased or provided(by OEM, Builder, Microsoft) product key.

Thus the only remaining option would appear to be provider explicit
instructions for the user to do it themselves(to avoid you having to
give MSFT your customer's credit card numbers).

Maybe you can be like 'Doc' on 'Gunsmoke' and make house calls.

--
....w¡ñ§±¤ñ
msft mvp 2007-2016, insider mvp 2016-2018
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 PCbanter.
The comments are property of their posters.